What is the opinion of Reddit about the
ZINUS SmartBase Tool-Free Assembly Mattress Foundation / 14 Inch Metal Platform Bed Frame / No Box Spring Needed / Sturdy Steel Frame / Underbed Storage, Queen?

A total of 46 reviews of this product on Reddit.

17 points

·

7th Aug 2018

Memory foam is always suppose to be on a bed frame, not on a spring box or on any type of surface that doesn’t allow air flow. I don’t know whether what’s on your mattress is causing your migraine but maybe it’s your actual mattress. We sleep for most of our lives and having a good, comfortable mattress is important.

Anyway this is the frame I got off Amazon for $65 for my memory foam mattress.

this one

4 points

·

31st Jan 2019

I got mine from Amazon and was skeptical because of the price but ended up buying cause of the great reviews. It’s pretty simple but you can add a headboard/footboard if you want. The best part is that I’ve had it for 2 years and it’s still as sturdy as when I got it! No squeaking or anything.

​

Not sure if this is adult enough for you but thought it was worth mentioning!

3 points

·

16th Jan 2021

The thing that pops out to me is having a “large” amount of sheets for guests. Seems like anything more than 2 sets is excessive.

What do you do with the mattresses when you don’t have guests? I’m unfamiliar with your living conditions, but can you get a raised frame for the mattress and store the other items in bins underneath? Something like this.

2 points

·

30th Jul 2017

The frame hardly matters. You could put your mattress directly on the floor if you needed to. I purchased this one from Amazon and it’s just as good as advertised.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=twister_B071VVZG6D?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

20th Jun 2015

The box spring helps distribute you weight, which prevents this from happening.

Those cheap metal bed frames you find everywhere (example) claim to support 2500-3000 lbs. “supported evenly”. The problem is you put too much weight in the wrong place, or apply force in the wrong direction; you break some important structural element and the rest collapses.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2021

Can you get one or two of these to replace boxsprings, and some rolling bins to store underneath?

1 point

·

12th Jun 2021

Suggestion 1: I have this bed frame from Amazon. It is really quick to set up. All metal. No wood. Don’t need a box spring.

I hope you were just kidding about setting it on fire. The paint probably wouldn’t stand up to flames super good.

https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=bed+frames&qid=1623538473&sprefix=bed+fram&sr=8-3

Suggestion 2: get a high quality mattress cover. Keeps bugs out and can be washed to keep things extra tidy in bed.

Suggestion 3: If you literally do live in a barn, go to Home Depot or Lowes and buy some diatomaceous earth. It is next to the ant killer. It won’t hurt you or other animals. (Just try not to breathe in the dust. It can irritate the lungs,) spread that shit around. It kills bugs by drying out the waxy coating on their body, then they get dehydrated, and die.

1 point

·

14th May 2021

It’s been directly on this frame, so plenty of breathability as far as the foundation is concerned. I think the mattress protector was effectively creating a non-breathable bottom layer, though.

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2019

I own this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MIUM20/ – no tools to disassemble, one person can carry it down stairs, the grid has some spring, and WD40 eliminates creaking. idk if they make your size.

Cool: depends on the style. If your room is minimalist, people will pay attention to the frame because they’re bored… but, usually, people won’t notice the frame unless everything else also failed. The bottom of your mattress is not a natural focal point.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2018

Check out something like this. The answers section says it’s 75” long.

Zinus 14 Inch SmartBase Mattress Foundation, Platform Bed Frame, Box Spring Replacement, Quiet Noise-Free, Maximum Under-bed Storage https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_-GA8BbJ609Q0K

1 point

·

8th Nov 2018

For the frame issue, you can look into this Zinus Queen frame. I have the same one – it ends up being two individual “half-queen” platforms held together with screws. Each one would definitely hold on its own, so it might solve your problem. No idea about the sheets issue though. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MIUM20/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

30th Sep 2017

Metal bed frame.

Good condition and free. All you have to do is come pick it up. It’s already dismantled and can fit in a small car.

Edit: claimed. Thanks!

1 point

·

4th Apr 2017

I was worried about the heat. I’m a bigger guy and the thought of memory foam always made me think of trapped heat and sweat. No problems. I love this mattress. No box spring either so it opened up space under my bed for storage. I bought this frame for it. My entire bed was cheaper than some people pay for a box spring, let alone a frame and mattress. It’s insane how expensive beds can be.

1 point

·

5th Jul 2016

Zinus 14 Inch SmartBase Mattress Foundation/Platform Bed Frame/Box Spring Replacement/Quiet Noise-Free/Maximum Under-bed Storage, Queen https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_cLWExbZMZ0BP6

Would this be a good example? Sorry for pestering, I’m all so new to this and I don’t want to get the wrong thing lol

1 point

·

30th Apr 2016

Yea, we have a 8-inch foam mattress and this fold-up platform that doubles as a boxspring and a frame

So easy to flip the legs to lay it flat. Really easy to move, as it’s 2 parts. And the mattress can be folded in half, etc.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2016

How about a Japanese screen/room divider to make yourself a bedroom? They are only about an inch thick, I think you could just slide it between the bed and the couch.
Also, I just bought a bed frame on amazon, that was surprisingly good quality, considering it was less than $90. It is here

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2015

If you aren’t picky about looks this is what I have, it makes it so you don’t need a box spring and you can’t feel it at all. It is also unbelievably easy to move as it screws together in the middle. http://www.amazon.com/Sleep-Master-Platform-Mattress-Foundation/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=lp_3733101_1_1?s=furniture&ie=UTF8&qid=1427934292&sr=1-1

I have also heard about negotiating with mattress stores about price. Especially if you can pay in full, start with half the price then go from their, or research what others say about this, there was some pretty good advice last time i looked.

Those should be your two most important purchases. Ikea has some very cheap end tables and coffee tables (in the 10-20 range) but if you don’t have an outlet the shipping may be too much. You could try target if you can’t get to an Ikea store. Desk look on Craigslist, Ikea, Target, or Office stores. You can probably find a glass and metal one for cheap on craigslist and there shouldn’t be anything gross on their as long as you clean it before you bring it inside.

Dresser will probably be the most expensive item and I am not entirely sure where to look. Try Ikea or waiting a few months to get one when you have extra money.

If you have a SAMS or COSTCO membership they also have cheap furniture.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2013

I couldn’t fit my whole bed up the stairs to my room, so I got one of these to put the mattress straight on and gained some storage space. The mattress alone puts it at a better height than the foundation, and once assembled and tightened it’s surprisingly quiet for a metal frame. Haven’t heard a squeak out of it.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2013

My friends and I once hacked a queen box spring up, but never quite got around to splitting it properly. It worked for the few months we lived in the apartment and we picked up a new box spring when we moved out. My fiance and I recently ran into a similar issue and found these. Not a DIY solution, but a lot less of a headache and not exorbitantly expensive. In my experience, splitting a box spring is not worth it, but I am kind of bad at these things.

32 points

·

17th Oct 2018

Ok I have moved about a dozen times in my life. Trust me I’m a pro at this. This will be long so I’m gonna divide into sections.

Furniture

  • Don’t buy most furniture until after you move. Why pay to move it when you can just have it shipped to your door, probably for free, or if you buy it locally have it delivered?
  • Don’t buy more than the bare necessities at first. It is tempting to make your whole house pretty, but money won’t go as far as you think, and its easy to buy things in the beginning that don’t work as well as you think or end up being wrong for the space. Better to have what you really need and take time to consider what you actually want to make your life better in that particular space. For me the necessities are:

  • Craigslist, Amazon, Ikea are your friends. Online, read reviews critically. If people are saying it fell apart, don’t buy it.

    • I have to give a particular shout out to Ikea stuff, I have some furniture I bought 10 years ago from them still in my home
  • Shop Homegoods for discounted decorations, housewares, kitchen stuff, etc when you are ready aka after the move.

  • If you need bedding Target often has cute bedding on sale.

Moving itself

  • Don’t hire a moving company. Hire a U-haul, then through the U-haul website hiring people to load/unload the truck. You can have them load/unload only heavy stuff and take the rest yourself to save cash.

    • I did this on my last move and they moved all furniture from our 3 br house as well as most of our boxes for like $200. I think we spent less than $500 total on truck and movers (including gas).
    • I actually highly recommended this over moving furniture yourself in a borrowed pickup, or even yourself with a U-haul. The cost is well worth the convenience. Moving is hard.
  • Don’t pay for boxes. Boxes are easy to find for free. Typically I take 2 or 3 evenings late at night (around 10 pm) and just drive around behind strip malls until I find enough. (They don’t put gross stuff in the dumpster, if there is I skip that one). Sometimes it only takes 1 night. Don’t bother with grocery stores or large department stores, they crush their boxes. Check out liquor stores and the dumpsters behind strip malls.

    • Places I have found boxes in plenty:
      • Behind a Barnes and Noble
      • Behind a party store
      • Behind an Ulta
      • Behind clothing stores in strip malls (these are usually pretty larger, great for bigger and lighter items)
      • Liquor stores (they get so many they are usually happy to tell you what day they get their deliveries if you call. These are smaller boxes great for heavier items like books)
  • Don’t box clothes. Take plastic trash bags, cut a hold in the bottom, put clothes hangers through the hole, close the tie part, now your clothes are still hanging up but contained and ready to move. When you get to the new house, hang up in the bag, then just rip the bag off. Way easier than unpacking.

  • Don’t buy bubble wrap, find a place that stocks free local papers (every city usually has these around) and use paper to wrap your dishes and breakables. Save junk mail and store flyers as well for this.

  • The one thing you should buy is moving plastic wrap, the kind on a 14″ roll. Use it to secure blankets around wooden furniture to protect from scratches. Use it wrap any fabric furniture to protect from tears. Use it to group some awkward small boxes into one entity. I only discovered this the last time I moved and will never move without doing this again. This is the only time I have ever moved nothing got damaged, and there is also this very satisfied and “mission accomplished” feeling when your couch is wrapped and ready to go.

  • Label everything with not only the contents but the room it goes in. Even in a small apartment this helps a ton when you unload. When you go to unpack everything will already be in the correct room. I recommend these inexpensive, color coded labels to make it even faster/more convenient: https://www.amazon.com/Immuson-Removable-Packing-Different-Stickers/dp/B07DQDSX9H/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1539805227&sr=1-1-spons&keywords=moving+stickers&psc=1

  • Pack a box in each room of the things you will need your first night/week so you can easily find it in the unpacking chaos. So in your bathroom pack your shower stuff separate, in the bedroom your sheets, and in the kitchen keep your pots/pans and dishes clearly marked. This may not seem like a money tip but if you don’t do this you will find yourself running to the store for paper plates or toothpaste you don’t really need.

Once you are in

Don’t forget you are going to have to buy things you forgot about or that just come up those first few weeks. Somehow you will move in and realize you don’t have a mop, or a kitchen trashcan, or about 50 other things that just happened to be your roommates, or where the hell is the dish detergent and oh fuck I forgot that I need toilet paper and I ran out two days ago.

I try to set aside about $100-$200 for these weird incidentals. If you are worried about running low buy stuff at the dollar store, you can get a better version next paycheck. Also if you are low on dishes this a great place to get some that are honestly perfectly fine. Big lots is also good for cheap dishes. Also not a bad idea to plan for the money to eat out a few days during the move when you normally wouldn’t. For me its the one time I let myself have fast food.

Once you are moved in, be careful about your grocery bill if previously you were splitting groceries and not just buying your own. Buying for one is very different than buying for two, easier for things to go bad in your fridge.

Utilities/Bills

There will be deposits and unexpected service fees. When you set up your accounts ask specifically what will be on the first bill other than normal recurring charges. Do not think the bills will somehow be half of what you used before. Use A/C or heat sparingly until you see a couple bills. Replace all your lightbulbs with LEDs. Shop around to make sure you buy the cheaper ones they work just as well and they will save you a fortune on electric.

Buy a programmable thermostat if your unit doesn’t already have one. They are easy to install yourself, will save you a lot of money buy avoiding running the heat/air while you aren’t home, and are only about $40 on Amazon.

You need internet, you do not need cable. You do not need the fancy internet plan the company wants to sell you. Start with the lowest tier internet plan and buy Hulu or Netflix or maybe both. If you have streaming issues upgrade the internet later. When you set up cable request that you not be on a contract (cancelation fees when you move and don’t want it are a bitch).

3 points

·

10th Jun 2020

My apartment is built like a goddamn funhouse. This cheap one off Amazon has been great.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MIUM20/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It’s plenty flexible enough to account for the slant of your bedroom. Add a bed skirt & a decent headboard and you can have a stable frame & look like a full-blown adult for less than $250. Also makes moving much easier without a box spring or bulky frame.

My 2 cents.

2 points

·

23rd May 2021

We have one of these and you can’t beat it for the price. I want to upgrade eventually, but there is a high bar when it comes to beds being silent and not wobbly now.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MIUM20/

2 points

·

2nd May 2018

In that case i am 90% sure its this one. Its only $88 but that is just the frame no mattress.

Edit: If you just want a bedframe where you dont need a box spring and like the metal look i suggest the Zinus platforms from Amazon. It is less than a $100 for a queen size and its high enough you can easily store stuff under it. And if you ever decide you dont like the look a $20 bed skirt will hide the frame and make your bed look nice.

1 point

·

12th Jan 2022

Not OP, but you made me realize something of mine that may need addressing.

I use this frame.. How bad is this for a memory foam mattress?

1 point

·

21st Dec 2021

Zinus platforms!!! https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MIUM20/ref=sr_1_3?qid=1640063646&refinements=p_89%3AZinus&s=furniture&sr=1-3

I have one and 10/10 would recommend. They are hella sturdy and the extra room underneath for storage is dope. I have a low end mattress that I inherited and I fully believe it has stayed firm due to my Zinus platform. They’re super affordable, too 🙂

1 point

·

12th Jul 2021

I got this Zinus frame last year in a 14 inch height full size. It was hard to put together. It was difficult to tighten the screws in by myself. But it was well worth it. It doesn’t squeak and it’s very solid. I was around 260-270 when I got it and it could hold way more weight imho. I’m sure the queen would accommodate for much more weight. A few months ago I swapped frames and now have this Zinus frame in 18 inch height, and again full size. It’s very sturdy, no squeaking, and this one wasn’t as hard to put together as the other. I only swapped because the person who got it is shorter than I am and had problems getting into a bed that high. IMHO the 18 inch height frame was better just because the 14 inch height one couldn’t hold taller storage boxes underneath. And both frames have unevenness in the bottom middle, where it lifts a little. But when you sit on it it goes into place and has never been an issue.

And as for the bed bug reviews take those with a grain of salt. I’ve had bed bugs before and I’ve seen some of the pictures they post as “evidence” and it’s usually been black flakes. Also, a lot of those reviews are so unreliable. I’ve seen some say they can’t return it and throw it out. Which is BS. I’ve never bought as single thing on Amazon that was not returnable. I even considered returning my bed in a box and Amazon said I could return it. I think a lot of people either lie or exaggerate about it or are simply dumb and don’t bother to try and return it.

1 point

·

5th May 2021

Amazon has some great collapsible frames

Sleep Master SmartBase Mattress… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MIUM20?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2020

I recommend this one from Amazon! It’s clean and adds extra storage if you opt for the taller frame. It also easy on the wallet

Bed Frame

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

Np. I bought the Zinus Smartbase https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MIUM20
No squeaks or any noise/issues so far. Using it on carpet as well.

1 point

·

10th Aug 2020

Is this the smartbase you bought by chance?
https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MIUM20/ cuz this is the one I’m looking at.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2019

Not sure if it counts as BIFL, since I only had it a couple of years, but this frame was extremely solid for me: no squeaks or creaks, and very sturdy. Held two people for a total of double your weight with no issues (though probably a lighter-weight mattress). I had the “standard” frame, but it looks like they also have a “deluxe” frame that’s even heavier-duty.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B006MIUM20/

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2019

Thanks for the reply! I don’t even have a box spring. I only have a metal bed frame that looks like this

Are they just hiding in my mattress?

1 point

·

25th Apr 2019

You absolutely do not need the Casper foundation specifically for the Casper mattress, the foundations are all pretty similar. These look marked up a lot, even compared to traditional retail.

I don’t recommend the Zinus mattresses, but their foundations / frames / storage frames are pretty good & inexpensive, and I’ve heard good nothing but things about them:

https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MIUM20/

https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-Platform-Mattress-Foundation-Headboard/dp/B01B8GQAOO/

https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-Standing-Mattress-Foundation-Platform/dp/B07D7J77VL/

Check Casper’s latest terms to see what restrictions (if any) they have on the mattress return policy (visible damage and not using a foundation typically invalidates the warranty / return policy of a few bed in a box offerings). They might specify slats or something like that.

The foundation you choose will affect the feel of the mattress to some extent, but not a lot. The main thing you can do with the foundation to make the whole experience a bit firmer (if you end up wanting that) is to build or buy a bunkie board (which is basically just a sheet of plywood between the mattress and the foundation).

And if it’s not obvious, huge gaps in the slats are going to cause some wear and tear on the mattress. For example, a 4″-6″ gap is fine (12″ is not).

1 point

·

18th Jun 2018

For sure! I was not sure whether I wanted to commit to a foam mattress when I bought, so I went for a “cheap” option that I’ve actually been really happy with. I bought this base and this mattress, with some headboard brackets (to use with a headboard I already had) for about $300 all-in.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2017
1 point

·

7th Feb 2017

Yea there’s no box spring or headboard anymore. I just got this metal frame

1 point

·

12th Nov 2016

> Zinus SmartBase off Amazon

Their video made me laugh. I love what they show you can store under it. 🙂 Hehe

My newest ideas to build my own bed frame by creating a vinyl coated aircraft cable mesh. I can’t find anyone else online who has tried it, so it makes me more excited to do it. If it works I’ll have to post pictures to Pinterest.

My goal is a lightweight trundle bed frame on casters.

1 point

·

16th May 2016

This is the same one, for $89 and prime eligible.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2015

what’s your budget?

  1. Get the bed off the floor. You can buy a frame for under $100 and put storage underneath. Use a dust ruffle to hide anything you don’t want to see.Like this

  2. Get a slipcover for that sofa and some cute throw pillows. I like discount stores like TJMaxx or Home Goods. Or you can re-cover an old ugly pillow with fabric without knowing how to sew. example video

  3. get some wicker or reed baskets for storing your things in that coffee table. It will look neater and instantly cuter.

  4. Get some chalk paint and re-do your dresser! I like Annie Sloan. You can thin it down to get a light wash then sandpaper the corners for a vintage look. The small size will do that whole dresser if you thin it a little. If it’s fake wood then lightly sand it then make sure it’s nice and clean and dry. If you can cure it in the sun for a day after painting it then that’s even better. Some cheap knobs from the hardware store can also update the look.

  5. All Posters has a bunch of cheap art and you can buy cheap poster frames at Wal-Mart.

  6. Add some greenery with an indoor plant (I like spider plants) or fake flowers/plants.