What is the opinion of Reddit about the
ZINUS SmartBase Tool-Free Assembly Mattress Foundation / 14 Inch Metal Platform Bed Frame / No Box Spring Needed / Sturdy Steel Frame / Underbed Storage, Full,Black?

A total of 17 reviews of this product on Reddit.

7 points

·

29th Jul 2020

I have to return a 40”x30”x30” package, it’s huge. I have a return label, does anyone have ideas of how to pack this thing up and advice? It’s a queen sized platform like this but about 8” thicker.

1 point

·

20th Dec 2021

You could get an adjustment base or something like zinus base to insert in the body of the frame..just have to measure the height of the platform and mattress to the rails and headboard.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2020

Is this your entire living space? Do you need a “kitchen” area? What’s your budget? Can you hang anything like shelves on the wall? This a great space with tremendous potential. Depending on your answers to those questions I can give a lot of feedback. One thing I can tell you right off the bat, is that your bed “platform” is not doing you any favors. For people with small spaces I always recommended a bed frame like this Zinus SmartBase Zero Assembly Bed Frame, Full, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MISZOC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_unqQFbKQJXNHD . With a small space you need to maximize your space and a large under bed space can work wonders for things you don’t need to access daily.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2020

I think the bed should go in the corner where the black chair is, feet towards the closet. Look into some under bed storage for your shoes to free up that white shelf. I agree with the other person about moving all your storage stuff to the current kitchen nook. You could put the fridge and kitchen stuff where the brown dresser is now. You could use the white shelf to place a small tv on top of and place a small 2 seater couch on the wall directly opposite where it is now. You could put your table on the side of the couch, closer to the closet doorway. You’d even. Have room for a small coffee table and maybe even a very small side table in the corner by the couch.
Edit: adding a bed frame like this Zinus SmartBase Zero Assembly Bed Frame, Full, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MISZOC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_XoFMFb9NYGSP5 gives you a lot of unserved storage that can be hidden with a bed skirt.

Second edit: forgot to add that framing those drawings in a frame with matting would also make the space look nicer
Edit 3: if you place the table where I suggests you could add shelving above it to hold your desk items. Also curtains, even some simple sheer ones would make the space more cozy.

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2020

Are you talking about this,

https://www.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MISZOC/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&qid=1599025912&refinements=p_89%3AZinus&s=furniture&sr=1-1

They are alright, I do feel they are not supportive enough ie the gap is way too large.. What I suggest is putting something like a 5/8th plywood on it to make sure your mattress is supported well enough or something like Zinus AnneMarie .

1 point

·

30th Apr 2020

Only a problem on concrete or humid areas without ac. I learned that. I own my home with ac mattress on the concrete, no problems . And now during my divorce, the apartment I’m in right now has led to a moldy mattress, all because of poor drainage and laying it on the ground.

Definitely get the bed lifted off the ground or use wood planks to give some air under the mattress. Not sure what can be used, but I got a 75$ 14 inch steel frame from mattress discounters, and it’s sold on Amazon for the same price. It’s also free storage under there. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MISZOC I don’t know if this is acceptable to post urls.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2019

/r/interiordesign is not your personal shopping army. This is not an appropriate submission for this subreddit. I’ve removed it under rule 5.

Try /r/furniture, /r/furniture_design, /r/home, or maybe /r/designmyroom. Maybe /r/homeowners or /r/homeimprovement as well, for particular questions.

Best of luck.


That said, I personally recommend one that looks like this. Bed might slide around a bit but you can use it with a memory foam mattress (which you should get, they’re very affordable) without a boxspring.

Vet different brands.

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2017

Can I ask you a question about foundations and bed frames ? You seem very knowledgable about the subject. What are you supposed to put a 9″ natural latex mattress on ? Do you need a metal bed frame + a foundation ? Is this type of frame good for a latex mattress ?

1 point

·

6th Jun 2017

I have the mattress directly on the frame with a sheet over the frame to protect the underside of the mattress – I’m paranoid that way. I like lower to the ground – I’ve noticed the high mattresses are no longer fashionable. The trend is to scandahoovian-style very low mattresses.

With the 8″ mattress and frame, you’ll be about 30″ above the floor. There is storage space under the frame too, large enough for boxes – these frames are higher than the standard mattress frame you use with a boxspring.

Weird, the price of these has doubled since I got mine a year ago. I wonder if anybody else is less expensive? To be certain, it’s this one

1 point

·

27th Aug 2015

What’s a good make/model of interceptors?

The bed frame I’m looking at has 12 points of contact, so it could cost a small fortune with interceptors.

Could something like durable plastic cups full of rubbing alcohol work for cheaper?

2 points

·

7th Jan 2021

This is the bed frame I have had for three or four years now:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MISZOC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_qvQ9Fb0XEDMKH

I bought it after breaking 2 cheap big lots bed frames . Have had 0 issues with it and it’s awesome. It’s easy to move around as a bonus. Only issue might be it is not compatible for a headboard but reviews have said people have been able to.drill holes with no problem for headboards.

My mattress for almost 2 years:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00Q7EPPDA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_FxQ9Fb4VDE2HM?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I like it. You will need to rotate it often but I like it other than that. As long as you don’t have it in a corner, it is easy to rotate. I had to get use to complete memory foam mattress but I’m going strong with it. However, if you have a bigger budget I suggest getting a nicer mattress. This is good one and not a cheapo but there are nicer ones out there.

2 points

·

20th Jul 2020

Also cyber security and many adults suck horribly at this. You lock up your house and car, why wouldn’t you lock up your money? Visit ASU’s GetProtected site and do the 1-year trial of Last Pass Premium. Set it up with Multi-Factor Authentication with Duo Security or Google Authenticator. Look into Yubikey, but realize you must have at least two of them. Use different emails for different kind of accounts.

Ex:
for finances
for e-commerce
for career stuff (LinkedIn, Glassdoor, resumes, job applications)
for social media

Use an email provider that has MFA, like Gmail or Proton Mail.

Enable MFA on anything that has it or a hacker may do it for you.

This also creates a tricky situation: your phone becomes a key too, except this key can break if you drop it. A Yubikey is useful as a backup, but a $100 is not a drop in the bucket if you’re a new adult player to the earth server.

Also, for LastPass, realize all your passwords are in one safe. I use a very personal pass phrase that is 50+ characters and disable all “keep me signed in” cookies in all browsers. DO NOT CHEAP OUT HERE, but also do not forget that.

You can use Have I Been Pwned to see if your credentials have been compromised.

Many people are under the impression hackers manually target individuals, when its actually automated through scrips or programs. Social engineering is a method that is a bit more personal and just as dangerous.

This ties in with a part of adulting that I didn’t realize at first: you have to put effort into not getting fucked (and, well, also effort to get fucked, but that’s probably a different subreddit, lol).

Also, beware of consumerism as it will suck your cash and unless you own a house, YOU WILL HAVE TO MOVE THAT SHIT EVENTUALLY. I am and have been fucked by books and tools. I do not enjoy moving. I recall a classmate who had to move several book cases of anime figurines. Banker’s Boxes may be a worthy investment if you are freshly on your own. If you get the moving ones on Amazon, they come packed in a box of their own. SAVE THAT BOX. It makes keeping them in a closet after a move easier. I find some degree of self-reliance to be worth the labor of moving. I have others that pained to move crap that offered no benefit besides “I have it and can look at it.”

If you or a friend have a pickup truck, you can get a lot of good pre-owned furniture for free around complexes in Tempe around move out times. DO YOUR RESEARCH ON DETECTING BED BUGS.

Also, Gracie’s Thrift Store has decent inexpensive mattresses. A full-size is about $80. Throw a $60-ish 2-3” mattress topper on that the following paycheck and it’s pretty cozy. Down size to a twin if you think you can. Folding bed frames like this are easy to move and you can skip the box springs.

If getting your own internet service, don’t rent all-in-one modem-routers. They are trash and waste money. This site seems to have fair reviews.. Keep a diary of service outages. If you starting have more than a few or notice a pattern, call Cox and set up a technician appointment. Every Tempe rental home or condo I’ve been in had an issue with its cable infrastructure. Once a tech found the problem, it was mostly good after that. If you are in a high density area, look into changing your WiFi to an uncluttered channel. For online classes and video calls, use a wired connection as much as possible, which may require an Ethernet single for modern notebook computers.

I advise you all to turn in assignments early this semester. ASU’s network is good, but these servers will still be getting hammered with homework uploads during that last hour. It seems all networks are getting hammered this year, but companies have been decent at adjusting to higher traffic.

I was a student worker for 4 years at one of the ASU schools. Helped a lot of faculty and students with these issues.

I’m just flipping through my archived brain files off university-era “fuck me’s”.

Life is chaos. More so if you lack the money to pay other people to fix your problems.

Don’t frame life as “I’ll relax when all my problems are fixed”. That is a carrot on a stick and you will never reach it. Triage them by what will fuck you the hardest and soonest. It’s made my life more bearable.

Also, try to learn from other people’s pain.

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

Just get a cheap platform bed frame. Hell, a $$100 fold-able one from Amazon is plenty as well.

https://smile.amazon.com/Zinus-SmartBase-Foundation-Replacement-Noise-Free/dp/B006MISZOC/

1 point

·

9th Dec 2020

Thank you!! Will keep all of this in mind. I currently live in a ground level apartment (first apt) and am moving into this 5th floor studio. The furniture I do have isn’t much, as most of it was inherited from previous houses I lived in w roommates and I wasn’t in a position to really invest in nice BIFL furniture for this apartment. I currently sleep on a queen size memory foam mattress, that sits on this zinus no assembly bed frame from Amazon, which I am bringing with me. bed frame

I have a small very cheap futon that I bought on sale through Amazon through some 3rd party furniture website/company, that is somehow still in tact, that I plan to bring but only as a temporary filler, as I want to replace it with a more functional couch, this one is way too small for multiple people and not the most comfortable. It’s perfect for just me and you can fold it out, but it’s not big. Other than that I just have miscellaneous furniture like floor lamps I inherited or ikea floor lamps I bought from fb market place. I will have 7 white/color hue light bulbs available to me in the new place so that’s something I look forward to, and am thinking about set up for those w whatever floor lamps work for the place.

I have a 55” tv. I will see if I can mount it or get a new table for it, it’s currently sitting on an ikea coffee table i bought in college. So lots of upgrade possibilities here! Just looking to do it with in reason. And yes taking your time w this stuff I believe is the best method as everything will fall into place as your vision for what you want to accomplish starts becoming more and more clear. Thanks again for this, and for any suggestions anyone may have!

Couch photo https://imgur.com/a/liJyYcP

Couch, lamps, hue lights https://imgur.com/a/fH7cdb3

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

I got one if you want something cheap and convenient https://www.amazon.com/dp/B006MISZOC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fab_Y3NHFbXV7T3D8

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2018

i use this bed frame and this futon mattress.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2015

Maybe one of these? I think they’re even easier to move than the longer pieces.