What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Yamaha NS-6490 3-Way Bookshelf Speakers Finish (Pair) Black?

A total of 36 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2021

Honestly, I didn’t know this about the Wharfedale Diamond 220s, but they are as sensitive as Klipsch RP-600M. Now the sound will be different, but Wharfedale is about as big of a name in audio as Klipsch, so I would say look for them used or look at Amazon for the “used” returns from the warehouse deals area.

Another option, the Yamaha bookshelfs that seem to have decent specs. Link HERE They are under $100 through Warehouse Deals. Good thing is, you can buy them now and return them by January 31st if you don’t like them.

1 point

·

26th Apr 2021

I have connected external speakers to TVs just by connecting to the wires that originally went to the built-in tiny speakers. This worked well for me but I wasn’t trying to run the TV loud.

I recommend this Yamaha bookshelf pair. They are amazing for the price and pretty efficient.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2021

I’m interested in 4 of these yamaha speakers? Would they be worth my time? I do like yamaha sounds but is that quality in these or better sought in other speakers? Like polks?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_CSSBMME8MTAN1KA5VBH5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

1st Feb 2018

For inexpensive speakers, I’ve been knocked out by these for the price. Sound good on music or TV audio, reasonably efficient, nice bass. Also nice size and wife-pleasing.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

I highly recommend these Yamahas. Awesome for the price. Best bass I’ve heard from a small speaker ’cause of the 8-inch woofer, great smooth highs ’cause it’s a 3-way.

1 point

·

4th Jul 2017

I strongly reocmmend the Yamaha NS6490s. Best low-end of any small bookshelf I’ve ever tried. With 8-inch woofers, you can do well without a subwoofer.

1 point

·

18th Jun 2017

These guys are amazing for the price, and the 8-inch woofer gives them better low-end than about anything else in the small-bookshelf class.

1 point

·

10th May 2017

The Yamaha NS-6490’s may be a good option for that type of environment & will get plenty loud on that little Lepy.

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1494415214&sr=8-1&keywords=Yamaha+NS-6490

1 point

·

10th Apr 2017

Hello guys!
I am a complete amateur when it comes to home audio systems. My dad has put together a very nice home theatre setup, however, I would like some speakers in my room. My budget is around 150 Pounds Sterling, as I live in the U.K. Currently, I have only really been looking at the style of speaker I would like, and I’ve narrowed it down to either Bookshelf Speakers, or Floorstanding speakers. I would be using my laptop as the main audio source, however, I could invest in a DAC/Headphone Amplifier at another time. I have been looking at these, however other than this, I have absolutely no idea what I’m really looking for, other than something that will offer good sound for the price, and looks acceptable. Listening is the primary function, however, and therefore should take priority. If anyone could put together a list or just a few suggestions I should look at, I would really appreciate it! Thanks, guys!

Louis.

1 point

·

22nd Mar 2015

What’s your max budget? If you are truly budget limited and want decent sound then you might want to consider these: http://smile.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1426994159&sr=8-1&keywords=ns6490+speakers

OTOH, if you are considering eventually putting together a 5.1 system you need to change your strategy.

3 points

·

18th Jul 2021

Yes, your turntable is entry level, but you can upgrade the stylus to get a much better sound out of it and get some more time out of it.

https://www.lpgear.com/product/LPGCFN3600LE.html

I have this one and it is really nice for the price.

https://www.lpgear.com/product/LPGATN3600DLXVL.html

As for receivers. Check these out just make sure to estimate shipping before you bid on anything.

https://www.shopgoodwill.com/Listings?st=Audio&sg=&c=401&s=&lp=0&hp=999999&sbn=False&spo=False&snpo=False&socs=False&sd=False&sca=False&caed=7/18/2021%2012:00:00%20AM&cadb=7&scs=False&sis…

Most inexpensive decent passive speakers I know of.

https://www.parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-B452-4-1-2-2-Way-Bookshelf-Speaker-Pair-300-452

Best deal on speakers I know about. They are the bigger but sound really nice.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_FZSKV1B5Z3PHBGRH5XTJ

2 points

·

29th Jun 2021

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=yamaha+ns6490&qid=1624934340&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com/AIYIMA-A07-TPA3255-Amplifier-Digital/dp/B08CJZGT6H/ref=sr_1_20?dchild=1&keywords=stereo%2Bamplifier&qid=1624934391&sr=8-20&th=1

There you go. Big ol’ 3 way Yamaha’s that will work without a sub in the meantime and a cheap but not too cheap chip amp. The RMS is actually more like 60W on that amp but that’s plenty. No sub out so when you add one you’ll just need one with speaker level inputs but that’s pretty common.

2 points

·

29th Jun 2021
2 points

·

19th Jun 2021

I have a pair of Sony cs5s. I got them for sale on Amazon for $74. I too was underwhelmed. I would never recommend these to anyone at $148 a pair. Now, full disclosure I tried to use them on the floor of my sunporch which is a decent sized room. I believe they would have been helped a lot by stands in that room. I now have them in the bedroom which is smaller and I like them a whole lot better in a smaller room. These are 8ohm speakers, your stereo is switchable between 4ohms and 8ohms. Make sure it is set to 8ohms. They are decent front speakers for a 5.1 setup but they would definitely benefit from the use of a subwoofer, but they are expensive for that. I would take them back and get a pair of these, maybe replace the center with something less expensive, and put your money towards a sub.

https://www.parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-B652-6-1-2-2-Way-Bookshelf-Speaker-Pair-300-652

Just remember this is a complicated hobby that is made difficult by the fact that everyone is different and hears things a little different so finding speakers that are right for you can be a little frustrating.

Food for thought I think these are the best bargain on speakers anywhere. But, they are not small.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00018Q4GA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_BZCDD77M4QYA15RC6HSW

1 point

·

24th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Yamaha NS-6490 3-Way Bookshelf Speakers Finish (P…$129.94$129.944.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

24th Dec 2021

That is going to be a tough sell. Generally you divide a system like this –

  • 1x Turntable
  • 1x Amplifier/Receiver
  • 2x Speakers

That is a total of 4x, assuming $500, that is about $125 per “X”. So, this is what you have to work with –

  • $125 Turntable
  • $125 Amp/Receier
  • $250 Pair of Speakers

Again, very difficult, but the following is the best I can do and still assure that you get some degree of quality equipment –

$250 = Audio Technica AT-3 Turntable

https://www.crutchfield.com/p_057LP3BK/Audio-Technica-AT-LP3-Black.html?tp=75887

$170 Yamaha R-S202 Receiver with Bluetooth (100w/ch)

https://www.crutchfield.com/p_022RS202/Yamaha-R-S202.html?tp=47041

Yamaha N-6490 – 8″ 3-Way Speakers

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/yamns6490-rb/yamaha-ns-6490-8-3-way-bookshelf-speakers-black-pair/1.html

The Yamaha NS-6490 Speakers can be bought from alternate sources for $130/pr –

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA/

Here they are from another source –

https://www.parts-express.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-3-Way-Acoustic-Suspension-Bookshelf-Speaker-P-312-606

So – $250 + $170 + 110/pr = $530

If you have to use an alternate source, then

$250 + $170 + $130/pr = $550

Plus shipping and tax.

There are cheaper turntables, for example –

Audio Technica AT-LP60 – $200

https://www.crutchfield.com/p_05760XBTB/Audio-Technica-LP-60XBT-Black.html?tp=75887

But that turntable has a very poor Tonearm. Compare the arm on the LP-60 to that of the AT-3 and you will see a world of difference.

If you want to go to a Receiver with more features, then consider the Yamaha R-S303. The R-S303 is a Network Receiver that can play music from SPOTIFY and other Streaming Services. It also has PHONO IN for a turntable, and Optical and Coaxial Digital Inputs, which will be nice if you want to connect a TV to the Stereo System.

Yamaha R-N303 2-Ch x 100 Watts Networking Stereo Receiver – $300 –

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/yamrn303bl-rb/yamaha-r-n303-2-ch-x-100-watts-networking-stereo-receiver/1.html

As an alternative Turntable, also from Accessories4Less, the Denon DP300F Semi-Auto Turntable.

DENON DP-300F Belt Drive Fully Automatic Analog Turntable – $250 –

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/dendp300f/denon-dp-300f-belt-drive-fully-automatic-analog-turntable/1.html

Semi-Auto Turntable means you press a button and the Turntable Auto Starts and the Tonearm moves to the record. At the end of the record, the Tonearm goes to rest, and the motor shuts off. Very handy in my opinion.

A complete system from Accessories4Less would be –

$250 + $300 + $110/pr = $660

I can think of cheaper systems with fewer features, they they are not going to be remotely as good.

In all honesty, if you can swing the Accessories4Less system with the Yamaha R-S303 Network Receiver, you are going to be miles ahead of the game.

What are you thoughts?

1 point

·

15th Oct 2021

You will have a hard time finding something better than these.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2020

Hard to beat these Yamaha speakers for the price. They will need an amplifier of some kind.

1 point

·

14th Dec 2019

8″ woofer Yamaha NS-6490 3-Way Bookshelf Speakers $129.

4″ Micca RB42 go low for their size $149.

1 point

·

20th Dec 2019

The classic Yamaha NS6490

Nobsound amp

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ez05YLveZTE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rvGgIG2bKBc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RU8dqeHs-gU

Some people complain that the speakers lack booming subwoofer bass however they have plenty of tight bass and sound like a small tower speaker with a big woofer. They seem to be very popular with Russians who bump loud techno on youtube…. Zeos made a video on them and he also found the old version from the 80’s in the garbage and they worked and sounded great and had good bass.

or

https://www.parts-express.com/6-1-2-2-way-tower-speaker-pair-and-hi-fi-mini-amplifier-bundle–300-6532

1 point

·

12th Sep 2019

I am looking to get an amp for these: Yamaha-NS-6490.

1 point

·

10th Aug 2019

You could go Old Skool Style……… https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00018Q4GA

1 point

·

9th May 2019

Nah, these are Yamaha NS-6490s, haven’t heard the Numans before.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2018

Yamaha has very-well-regarded bookshelf-sized monitors.

These would probably be the modern equivalent of your downstairs speakers:

https://smile.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA/

These would be a bit of an upgrade. Slightly less bass, but more accurate and musical:

https://smile.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-333-Reflex-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B0000W4U1S/

Both would also require a small amp of some sort, such as the SMSL SA-50 or AD-18.

Yamaha also makes powered studio monitors. The sound will be more accurate; the speakers include an amp which makes them a little more expensive as well. The HS5 or HS7 would work well:

https://smile.amazon.com/Yamaha-HS5-Powered-Studio-Monitor/dp/B00CFOX420/

The HS8 has more bass, at the cost of a little midrange accuracy.

You will still probably feel shorted on bass, especially for smaller speakers, because good deep musical bass requires large drivers and a whole lot of amplification. You might want to start looking into subwoofers!

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2017

I did what you want to do with a pair of these, one of these and one of these. The combo works great and sounds really good. Of course you’ll need cables to go from your TV to the amplifier. If your TV has a headphone output, use that and you can control the volume with the TV remote.

Hope this helps.

1 point

·

25th Sep 2017

Used stereo receiver is the best way to save money. For garage speakers these Yamaha’s would be great option.

https://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA

They are a bit older, but have gotten many solid reviews.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2017

These speakers and this amplifier. A little more than $100 but the Yamamha speakers have great bass and you don’t need a subwoofer.

1 point

·

31st Jul 2017

Moved to a new house a few months ago, similar problem. Ended up going with at 2.0 system with a pair of these driven by one of these. Inexpensive solution that really sounds good. Previous owners had a Bose surround system in the same room but because of the crazy shape, it sounded like hell. In small or odd-shaped rooms, I’ve found several times that 2.0 or 2.1 is better than surround and a helluva lot cheaper.

1 point

·

17th Feb 2017

Do you plan on having both pairs of speakers running at once? If so, what was the plan for using one receiver to run both pairs?

Buying 4 speakers, a sub, and a receiver for under $400 isn’t impossible, it’s just that it won’t sound good. Regardless, here’s the best I could cook up.

  • Receiver: Yamaha R-S202 Has A+B speaker terminals for two sets of speakers so you can choose to run A, B, or both A+B. Buying refurb saves you $50.
  • Speakers: Yamaha NS-6490 Definitely not audiophile speakers, but these should get LOUD.
  • Subwoofer: Dayton SUB-#### Bigger the better, don’t bother with the 8″.

If the bottom stairs speakers don’t matter as much, I’d seriously just craigslist it. Buying used is definitely where you’ll get the bang for your buck.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2015

200 dollars, and you want music?

http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-NS-6490-Bookshelf-Speakers-Finish/dp/B00018Q4GA

+

http://www.amazon.com/SMSL-50Wx2-TDA7492-Amplifier-Adapter/dp/B00F0H8TOC

I know for a fact the amp can be had for cheaper than it’s at right now.

EDIT: Got rid of some Amazon referral links, I didn’t realize that’s why the URL was so long.

0 points

·

3rd Jun 2021

I gotta recommend these Yamaha speakers. They are rare sealed cabinets that makes smooth bass without being overpowering. Since the woofers are 8-inch there’s very little bass distortion, either. I don’t think there’s anything that can touch them for less than twice the price.

0 points

·

30th Sep 2019

Those would be very good for that amp. Appropriate suggestion IMO.