What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Wharfedale – Diamond 225 (Black)?

A total of 32 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

4th Apr 2019

Receivers, refurbished with a one year factory warranty:

Speaker recommendations from AverageJoeAudiophile and r/HTBuyingGuide.

If not getting a subwoofer now or later, consider 6.5″ mid bass driver bookshelf speakers or towers instead of 5.25″ speakers.

Internet Manufacturer Direct can be a good bang for the buck with 30 day in home trials so you can try 2 or 3 pairs.

On sale:

Towers:

DIY build your own: Add around $50+ for tools and supplies. Kits includes pre-cut cabinets. Glue, solder, paint, assemble. Comparable to built speakers costing twice as much.

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 16 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft. and self adjusting wire strippers. Or Micca with banana plugs for $20. Also DFWCableConnection or Speaker Cable at Blue Jeans Cable.

Speaker Stands: Dayton Audio SSMB24, Monoprice Glass or Monolith by Monoprice and Audio Advisor, most also available at Amazon.

Home Audio Guides: • Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s GuidesHow to position your speakers for great sound – U-Turn AudioSpeaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening

Also check out r/BudgetAudiophile.

2 points

·

25th Jul 2017

I would say to get the Denon X1300 for ~$308 shipped from A4L. It’s a factory refurb receiver (like new and inspected by the factory). It’s much better than the S720z

I’d look at the Wharfedale Diamond 225’s (some of the stats on the Amazon page are incorrect, here are the full stats.

I like them better than the UB5’s (the UB5’s are harder to drive and start to sound bad out at like 90dB).

I would also look at the HTD Level Three’s. They competed on even footing with the Diamond 10 series, and you can but together a 3.0 right now (spend a bit more than $600 for the ebony finish).

2 points

·

31st May 2019

What is your speaker budget?

Stand mounted:

Towers:

Subwoofers:

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 14 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft, and self adjusting wire strippers with optional banana plugs to add. Or already with banana plugs, Micca, DFWCableConnection or Blue Jeans Cable.

Speaker Stands: Sturdy Monolith by Monoprice or lower budget Dayton Audio SSMB24 and Monoprice Glass Also Audio Advisor where most are also available at Amazon. Size to get speaker center or tweeter at ear height from your seated listening position.

Speaker Positioning: Speaker Placement for Stereo Music ListeningHow to position your speakers for great sound

Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides

2 points

·

4th Sep 2020

Best deal are 6″ Infinity R162 ~~$449~~ $159. A poor mans budget Revel Concerto that are designed by the same designers.

6″ ELAC 2.0 B6.2 are not worth $350 full MSRP. Wait for a $250 sale or they were $150 2 years ago around the holidays.

5″ KEF Q150 also go on sale often at $300 around the holidays.

Can you ship 5″ Wharfedale DIAMOND 220 from the UK for a good price?

RP400M are smaller 4″ mid bass drivers for a small room. Get the larger 5″ RP500 or 6″ RP600 or look for the previous models used, 5″ RP150 or 6″ RP160.

6″ Wharfedale Diamond 225 $~~449~~ $299.

6″ Canton Chrono 502.2 ~~$949~~ $299. Or see if you can find Canton direct from Germany.

6″ FOCAL Chorus 706 ~~$375~~ $219 each. Or see if you can find Focal direct from France.

My speakers of choice are 6″ Ascend CBM-170SE $298 + shipping. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response and a great mid range that many speakers in the price range lack. Internet direct, no middlemen or resellers so compare to $500 retail speakers.

DIY: 5″ C-Note $100. Add around $35 for supplies then budget for tools if you don’t have any. Glue, clamp, solder, paint, assemble. Compare to built speakers costing over twice as much.

Internet Direct Speaker Brand Comparison | Audioholics

Audio Guides and Accessories and also check out r/BudgetAudiophile and their PSA.

2 points

·

1st Sep 2020

Audio Guides and Accessories

Receiver or integrated amp:

Internet Direct Speaker Brand Comparison | Audioholics

Stand mount speakers:

Towers: Then you don’t need to build or buy speaker stands.

DIY: Add around $50 for supplies then budget for tools if you don’t have any. Glue, clamp, solder, paint, assemble. Compare to built speakers costing over twice as much.

1 point

·

10th Nov 2021

My speakers of choice are 6.5″ Ascend CBM-170 SE $349 or B-stock on sale $288 pair and you can’t tell the difference. My speakers of choice. Neutral sound with a linear frequency response and a great mid range that many speakers in the price range lack. Manufacturer direct value, compare to retail speakers costing $500.

If you like the Klipsch sound there is also 6.5″ Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-160M ~~$549~~ $375.

Add a powered subwoofer for lower bass than what the speakers can provide.

More speaker options:

Towers:

https://www.audioholics.com/how-to-shop/internet-direct-comparison

Thanks for the price updates.

1 point

·

1st Nov 2021

Also 6.5″ Wharfedale Diamond 225 ~~$449~~ $299.

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2021

Also some larger speaker options:

1 point

·

13th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wharfedale – Diamond 225 (Black)$299.00$299.004.4/5.0
Wharfedale Diamond 11 Series Diamond 11.cs Black…5.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

12th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wharfedale – Diamond 225 (Black)$299.00$299.004.4/5.0
Wharfedale Diamond 11 Series Diamond 11.cs Black…5.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

11th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wharfedale – Diamond 225 (Black)$299.00$299.004.4/5.0
Wharfedale Diamond 11 Series Diamond 11.cs Black…5.0/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

4th Oct 2021

Yes for a large room larger speakers or at least add a subwoofer to your setup.

ELAC B6.2 go lower than some other speakers if not adding a subwoofer but they still don’t replace a subwoofer.

For a large room floor standing towers and then you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands if you don’t already have any:

Amp upgrades:

More stand mount speakers:

Internet Direct Speaker Brand Comparison, a bit dated but a good read.

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Speaker Stands and Placement, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

26th Sep 2021

What is your budget?

What is a Craigslist or nearby zip code to search for used options?

Speaker deals:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Or optional 5.1 speaker package for an AV receiver: Jamo Pair S 809 + S 83 Center + Pair S 803 + S 810 SUB ~~$1,786~~ $499 .

Internet Direct Speaker Brand Comparison, a bit dated but a good read.

1 point

·

25th Sep 2021

The Debut Carbon EVO does not have a built in phono stage preamp. Most all turntables over $300 don’t have a built in phono stage preamps. Outside of the turntable is preferred so you have many choices and for isolation from the turntable. Most built in phono stage preamps built into sub $300 turntables only have a $10 value anyways. For a $500+ turntable use a better $100 or more external one or one in a better than entry level stereo receiver or integrated amp.

A good deal on a stereo receiver up the level of the Debut Carbon EVO is the Cambridge Audio AXR85 $399 $269 with a good built in phono stage preamp via the phono input to start with. If you get good speakers you can try an external phono stage preamp later and if it doesn’t sound any better then send it back.

More amp options up to the level of the EVO and with a built in phono stage preamp:

Or if there is also a TV in the room an AV receiver with 4K HDMI starting at $329 with a basic built in phono stage preamp. Then you can optionally later add more than 2 speakers for movie and TV surround sound.

Speaker deals:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Or optional 5.1 speaker package for the AV receiver: Jamo Pair S 809 + S 83 Center + Pair S 803 + S 810 SUB ~~$1,786~~ $499 .

Internet Direct Speaker Brand Comparison, a bit dated but a good read.

1 point

·

15th Sep 2021

Have you considered buying some or all components used? I can search for you.

Sure Wirecutter has some good review writing however the site is paid affiliate marketing so they are only going to recommend what they can get a referral fee for if you click on one of their links to buy whatever they are reviewing.

Pass on the Orbit that is a $200 turntable before adding options that don’t make the turntable and tonearm itself any better, it lacks user adjustable anti-skate, and the acrylic platter is mostly for looks at this level.

The EVO has a better tonearm, better motor, better bearings, a good new improved platter, and a good Sumiko Rainer cartrdige with 2 later stylus upgrade options. You can always buy an acrylic platter for it later if you must have one.

You could start with the Sony or consider getting an amp or receiver up to the level of the EVO.

Or an AV receiver with 4K HDMI if there is also a TV in the room and you can optionally add more than 2 speakers for movie and TV surround sound.

Tower speakers may be overkill for a 1 bedroom NYC apartment however they do go a bit lower than stand mount speakers if not adding a subwoofer that will go much lower than tower speakers and speaker stands won’t take up that much of your budget.

More stand mount speakers:

Floor standing towers:

Or optional 5.1 speaker package for the AV receiver: Jamo Pair S 809 + S 83 Center + Pair S 803 + S 810 SUB ~~$1,786~~ $499 .

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Speaker Stands and Placement, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

12th Sep 2021

$600 turntable, $600 amp, $250 speakers is a bit out of balance since speakers often make more of a difference in sound quailty than the amp does.

So consider also spending $600 on the speakers or spend more on the speakers and less on the amp.

If you want ELAC speakers, 6.5″ ELAC Debut Reference $699.

Amps:

More speaker options:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

9th Sep 2021

Cambridge Audio AXR85 ~~$399~~ $269 has a good built in phono stage preamp to start out with.

Or if there is also a TV in the room an AV receiver with 4K HDMI starting or $329 with a basic built in phono stage preamp. Then you can optionally later add more speakers for movie and TV surround sound. Also upgrade to a better external phono stage preamp later.

Diamond 225 are great to start out with. The EVO does have a better tonearm and cartridge so you may hear a difference though it may be minor. However the EVO may last longer through some later possible upgrades you your setup. You may want to upgrade sooner with the RT82 to a $1000+ turntable if you later upgrade from the Wharfedales.

More speaker options besides the ELAC and Diamond 225:

Subwoofers to add later: Rythmik Audio, HSU Research, SVS, REL, RSL, Emotiva.

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

5th Sep 2021

A stereo receiver is an integrated amp with a radio tuner. AV receiver if there is also a TV in the room and you want HDMI switching and optionally want to add more than 2 speakers for movie and TV surround sound.

What is a Craigslist or nearby zip code to search for used options?

More options in addition to the Denon:

Stereo receiver:

Integrated amp:

Speakers:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

5th Sep 2021

Vintage or used?

Or a new stereo receiver:

Or new integrated amp:

More speaker options:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

1 point

·

1st Sep 2021

You already have a great cartridge for that good setup. If you must upgrade something then upgrade to a better than entry level analog stereo receiver or integrated amp and some good passive speakers for $500+ or $300 on sale or used.

What is a Craigslist or nearby zip code to search for used options?

New stereo receiver:

Or integrated amp:

Or an AV receiver if there is also a TV in the room so you can add more than 2 speakers for movie and TV surround sound.

New speaker deals:

Or floor standing towers and you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Or optional 5.1 speaker package for the AV receiver: Jamo Pair S 809 + S 83 Center + Pair S 803 + S 810 SUB ~~$1,146~~ $449 .

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

1st Sep 2021

6.5″ Wharfedale Diamond 225 ~~$449~~ $299.

6.5″ Ascend CBM-170 SE $349 or B-stock on sale $288 pair. My speakers of choice. Manufacturer direct value, compare to retail speakers costing $500.

6.5″ Klipsch Reference Premiere RP-160M ~~$549~~ $375.

5.25″ KEF Q150 ~~$599~~ $399.

6″ Canton Chrono 502.2 ~~$949~~ $399.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2021

What makes the EVO more flexible or upgrades than other turntables?

Stereo receiver or integrated amp with a good built in phono stage preamp:

Or if there is also a TV in the room an AV receiver with 4K HDMi switching starting at $329 with a basic built in phono stage preamp.

Speakers:

Or floor standing towers and then you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Optional 5x speakers for the AV receiver:

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2021

Turntable: Pro-ject Debut Carbon EVO $499.

Stereo Receiver: Cambridge Audio AXR85 ~~$399~~ $269.

Speakers on sale:

Or floor standing towers and then you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Plus OFC Speaker Wire or cheaper Basic CCA then How to Install Speaker Wire and How To Strip Speaker Wire.

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

15th Mar 2021

> Why would a passive setup be better?

There are a few reasons. First is flexibility. I mentioned that amp with different features. If you get the regular amp and decide down the line you need a remote or you need bluetooth, you can add it on. If you’ve got something like the Presonus Eris or Yamaha HS5 (or many others that you were recommended), if you decide you need a remote, you basically can’t do it, unless you’re into spending money on a separate preamplifier just to get a remote. Same thing with bluetooth. But if you just need to swap out your amp for a new one, then you’ve got an extra amp for a secondary system, or you could sell it, rather than having to start from scratch. Let’s say you decide you want a setup to be at your TV setup instead of your desk for whatever reason. If you’ve got smaller powered speakers like the Klipsch Promedia, Prosonus Eris, or Kanto YU2, they won’t be able to get loud enough for that. If you have separates, you could get a more powerful amp or larger speakers, and just sell the extra speakers or use them in a different system.

Another reason is upgrades. Basically the same as we just discussed. If you’ve got powered speakers and want to upgrade, it can be difficult. With a lot of them, adding a subwoofer requires a separate preamplifier, same as adding a remote. And let’s say you just want something better? With passive systems, you can always just keep the amp and get new speakers. With a powered system, you have to start over completely.

Finally, options. At this price point, you don’t have too many passive options unfortunately, but just above this price point you get a lot of options. Powered speakers are very often monitors, and are going for a flat sound. If you don’t want a flat sound (I don’t), it can be hard to find something you like. If you look at the recommendations other people mentioned, the iLoud, Presonus, Mackie, Yamaha, KRK, Adam, JBL, and Kali are all montitors, which means they’re going for a flat and accurate sound. Personally, that isn’t interesting to me. I don’t want that. Let’s say, for example, your budget is around $300 for the speakers. You’ve got the Wharfedale Diamond 225, which have a really rich midrange that makes vocals sound great. Elac Debut B6.2 are neutral but have excellent bass response, so if you’re looking for something without a sub, these are a great option. Ascend CBM-170 are just a tad on the bright side, so you get a bit of extra detail in the top end. HSU HB-1 MK2 are neutral and dynamic with good bass, so if you like rock they’re a good option. Jamo S803 have emphasized bass and treble, so if you want a ton of detail in the top end and a lot of bass but don’t mind the midrange being a bit scooped out, these can be really fun. And there are loads more like KLH, Wharfedale, Cambridge, Polk, etc, so based on what you listen to and what sound you’re going for, you can find something that fits your needs. I personally like a warm midrange because I listen to a lot of slower music with an emphasis on vocals.

Also, while we’re talking about these different options, I have one more to recommend for you. PSB Alpha P3. They’d be out of your budget after the amp and cables that you need, but I strongly recommend you check them out. They’re actually the speakers that I recommend to friends and family when they ask for speakers. Some of the best bang for your buck out there. At a desk, they’re outstanding. For real, if you can stretch your budget to this, definitely check them out. Free returns at Amazon if you don’t like them.

> I have a fiio k3 dac/amp could that work?

Could that work for what? If you mean powering speakers, unfortunately not. It can work as a DAC, but not as a speaker amplifier.

> I have found liking for the edifier s350db. Are those garbage? And if yes, why?

I personally wouldn’t go for them. 2.1 systems like that are never really a good option. Subwoofers are quite expensive to make. The cheapest ones you can even get are $100ish. So that means it’s either a good sub and bad speakers, or a bad sub and good speakers. Or possibly, a bad sub and bad speakers.

I just looked at the amazon listing for that sub and actually got some good information. First things first, I totally forgot about this being a negative of powered speakers. There is a proprietary cable that goes between these, and someone left a bad review because they need a longer one and contacted Edifier, and Edifier doesn’t make them longer. So I guess you’re limited to having the speakers close together? Also, the sub gets to 40hz according to the Q&A. That isn’t really all that low. The S1000DB get to 48 without a sub. And that sound is all coming from the speakers, not the sub on the floor. But we’ll get to that in a moment. According to the Q&A as well, the sub plays up to 160hz. That’s a problem. Anything above 100hz is locateable, meaning you’ll know where it’s coming from. If there are low guitar notes, drums, piano, etc that are lower than 160hz, it won’t sound like they’re coming from in front of you, it will sound like they’re coming from the box under the desk, and that is not good. So in short, the subwoofer isn’t really playing that low, and it’s playing stuff that it shouldn’t be. And something is lacking heavily, since you can’t make a real sub and a real pair of speakers at this price point, as far as I know. Especially with the finish that they’ve got, and the features like the remote and bluetooth. They’re cutting corners somewhere, and it’s most likely the sound.

> Is there an alternative for the above speakers? They are not available on the european market (hungary) to be specific.

I’m not sure what you’ve got available, but Wharfedale, Elac, and PSB are probably all available there. I’m not 100% sure though unfortunately.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2020

> For the same budget, bookshelves will out perform towers until you start getting into the top tier of equipment.

I’ve got a bit of a problem with the top tier of equipment bit. It’s more like, if you specifically like a line of speakers, get the best towers from that line of speakers because it’s the sound you like.

To clarify here, the towers I have are Quad Z-3. I have those because I specifically like them. Something about the sound of that line of speakers made me want the top of that line, rather than going for bookshelf speakers of a “better” line.

> What is it that makes the cheaper bookshelves better than the towers though? I know it’s a super general question but my experience in trying to evaluate speakers generally stops at frequency response to get an estimate of their bass, and harmonic distortion which I probably am misinterpreting. If the towers go lower and louder, where are the cheaper bookshelves outperforming?

These are all fantastic questions. So those $1000 towers, from the top end all the way down to about 60hz, they’ll sound almost identical to the $250 bookshelf speakers, the R-51M. Now, let’s exaggerate just for fun. If you compare a pair of $250 speakers to a pair of $2,500 speakers, the more expensive ones are going to be better. Even if they both roll off at 60hz, everything above that, theoretically, should be better with the more expensive speakers. This works the same when the speakers are $250 (R-51M) or $650 (RP600M). The RP600M are a whole step above the R-51M (which sound the same as those $1000 towers). So yeah, the towers get louder and lower, but I’ve never needed bookshelf speakers to be louder, and you can always add a subwoofer later if you need it, and adding a subwoofer will get you lower bass anyways. Those $1000 towers get to 35hz but you can get a $500 sub they’ll get down to 20hz.

> Also clarity is a huge deal to me personally. Picking up my first real pair of headphones and experiencing my favourite songs almost like for the first time again has changed me. Hearing individual instruments, hearing small things in the background. It made it all so… real. How do you evaluate clarity when examining speakers? Reviews seem too fluffy when I read them, and all seem to repeat the same things for every product. But I’d hazard that’s because they come with affiliate links at the bottom of the webpage.

This is tough to explain if you can’t hear it. Usually, more expensive speakers just sound better, but they’re all going for something different. They all want a different sound, but as you go up in price, generally everything gets better. So let’s say you go from a pair of $500 horns (like those Klipsch RP600M) to a pair of $5000 horns (LaScalas probably are that much idk), you’ll get speakers going for a similar sound, but the more expensive ones do it better.

I’ve got a good example actually. Wharfedale Diamond 225s are really interesting to me because they do vocals very well. Vocal clarity is excellent. The bass is sweet and rich, and the top end is rolled off to make them easy and fun to listen to.

Gershman Acoustics Avant Garde are very similar. Vocals are their strong suit, with a rich bass and relaxed top end to make them easy and fun to listen to.

So I just described those speakers almost exactly the same. In your head, you might be thinking that these speakers sound the same, or at least I hope that’s what’s happening haha. Well, they’re going for the same sound. They both want something pleasing to listen to. I didn’t mention the prices on purpose. The Wharfedales are $300 and the Gershmans are $13,000. So, while I described them as having the same sound, the Gershmans have a much better sound.

So when you red reviews and they should that a speaker have good vocal clarity, you’ve got to compare it to other speakers in that price range. If someone says a $500 pair of speakers has good vocal clarity but another $500 pair doesn’t, it’s easy to compare them. But if you read reviews about a $500 pair and a $5,000 pair, it’s a bit harder to tell what’s going on. Also, it can be extremely tough to conceptualize what better speakers sound line when you’ve never heard them. I have no problem with it because I’ve heard so many speakers at so many price points, but if you’ve never heard anything, it’s near impossible to know what these reviews are talking about.

> Reviews seem too fluffy when I read them, and all seem to repeat the same things for every product. But I’d hazard that’s because they come with affiliate links at the bottom of the webpage.

I’m glad you mentioned this, because this is exactly how I felt when I first got here. You’re totally right. Especially when you can’t find reviews by the same reviewer, it makes it really hard to tell what speakers actually might sound like. Reviewer A says these ones are like this and reviewer B says this other pair is like that, but what do those words mean to them? This is exactly why I started doing what I do. I just started buying all of the speakers that people ask about, so I can do reviews of them and answer questions. So when I say a pair of speakers have good vocal clarity and another pair doesn’t, you know that I personally have listened to both pairs and compared them.

And yeah, my last 2 reviews do have affiliate links, but that’s because I buy everything myself. I would never tell people to buy something just because of an affiliate link though. My two reviews that have amazon affiliate links are for the Jamo S803 and the AmazonBasics bookshelf speakers. I said that the Jamos aren’t my cup of tea, and I specifically said do not buy the AmazonBasics speakers. So, while it would be nice to make some money back because I buy everything myself, I would never tell someone to buy anything just because I’ll make money from it. Just for fun while we’re talking about it, my favorite speakers at almost every price range can’t be bought on amazon lol. Overnight Sensations are $130, not on amazon. HSU HB-1 MK2 are $350, not on amazon. SVS Prime Bookshelves are $500 and these actually are on amazon. Salk Sound SongSurround I are $900 and not on amazon. Wharfedale Lintons are either $1200 or $1500 with included stands and they’re on amazon. LS3/5a are between $2,000 and $3300, not on amazon. Klipsch Heresy IIIs are $3000, not on amazon. Opera Callas (the new ones) are like, $6000 or $7000, I’m not sure, but idk where to even get them to be honest. Not amazon. And finally, Gershman Acoustics Avant Garde are $13000, and not on amazon. I’ve heard speakers at every price point above this and I’m not interested. Those are, without question, my favorite speakers. If I had an unlimited budget, I’d get those.

So as you can see, most of those aren’t on amazon. However, this doesn’t mean other speakers are bad. The KEF LS50, for example, is a fantastic speaker. If I review those (which I probably won’t), I’d say they’re great and I highly recommend them, and that’s true. They’re not on my list of favorite speakers because, while they’re great speakers, I would personally rather buy something else. You’ll never see me review Klipsch RP600M because I don’t like them so I won’t buy them. That doesn’t mean they’re bad.

I bet I confused you more here lol. Keep the questions coming if you have them!

1 point

·

24th Aug 2020

watch this :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q5itOydYkEw&t=554s

Cheap subs don’t go low, are Boomy and Farty. a flatter HZ response is Less Boomy

you need Decent LCR for Sure but there’s Better Deals than what you posted – Good Bookshelf with a Good sub will Sound Great.

if no sub, Floorstanders are Better as they can go lower than bookshelf – usually.

I run Infinity R162 Bookshelf with RC252 Center with dual 10″ subs in a 15 x 18″ Room and Sounds Great. R162 are Large Bookshelf

https://www.svsound.com/blogs/subwoofer-setup-and-tuning/75040195-why-go-dual

https://www.audioholics.com/subwoofer-setup/two-subs#:

but if you are set on Floorstanding I’d take these Canton over SPolk S55/ S30

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/cantgle4702blka/canton-gle-470.2-7-3-way-floorstanding-speaker-black-each/1.html

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/cantgle4552blka/canton-gle-455.2-6-2-way-center-channel-speaker-black-each/1.html

but Canton Has Nice bookshelf too

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/cantgle4202blka/canton-gle-420.2-6-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-black-pair/1.html

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/cantgle436.2blka/canton-gle-436.2-7-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-black-pair/1.html

Wahrfedale 225 Bookshelf 11.cs Center (but Center is Pricey)

https://www.amazon.com/Wharfedale-12d54a46-a33d-4b09-8dad-86b99255bfd1-Diamond-225-Black/dp/B01D3JUCVG/ref=sr_1_2_sspa

https://www.amazon.com/Wharfedale-Diamond-Standard-Channel-Speaker/dp/B07S28XNLQ

Subs – RSL, SVS, HSU –

https://rslspeakers.com/products/rsl-speedwoofer-10s/

but at minimum – BIC PL-200II

1 point

·

12th Dec 2019

Bookshelf on Stands ? No floor Standing/Towers?

Boston Acoustics

A26

A225C

Soundware Surrounds

Wharfedale

Diamond 225

11.cs center

Micca Surrounds

Surround speaker wall mounts

Fluance

Signature 5.0

HTD Level 3

Bookshelf

Center

Def Tech

CLR 2002 x’s 3 for R /C/ L

BA Soundware surrounds

Ascend Acoustics

Ascend CMT-340

Ascend 340 Center

1 point

·

24th Nov 2017

Hey all,

So I’m looking at picking up a pair of Wharfdale Diamond 225’s and a Polk Audio PSW Series PSW505. The sub was a last minute addition but I was wondering what receiver I can use that will be compatible with what I have listed above? I’m not hooking anything more or less up to it, just a simple 2.1 system.

I was initially going to get an Emotiva Audio A-300 but that only works for a 2.0 system something in a similar price range would suffice. Thanks!

1 point

·

24th Nov 2017

Hey all,

So I’m looking at picking up a pair of Wharfdale Diamond 225’s and a Polk Audio PSW Series PSW505. The sub was a last minute addition but I was wondering what receiver I can use that will be compatible with what I have listed above? I’m not hooking anything more or less up to it, just a simple 2.1 system.

I was initially going to get an Emotiva Audio A-300 but that only works for a 2.0 system something in a similar price range would suffice. Thanks!

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2016

If I were you, this round I’d get two KEF Q500s and get rid of that sub. Those towers would reach almost as low and would sound infinitely better doing so.

Then depending on what you want to add first, you can decide between a good sub ($700-800) and a center.

Alternatively you could get a Q300s, Diamond 225s or Zensor 3s and move up the subwoofer purchase as soon as possible.

Getting L, R and center now like you suggested would mean for example getting a pair of ELAC B6s and a C5, which is certainly doable but would force you to put up with a sub that would lower the overall sound quality considerably. If you want to keep it, cross it as low as possible, 50-55Hz.

0 points

·

29th May 2019

Speakers go on speaker stands or tower/floor-standing speakers go directly on the floor so the tweeters are at ear level while seated. They don’t go in wall or ceiling corners.

See Speaker Positioning: Speaker Placement for Stereo Music Listening and How to position your speakers for great sound

Bookshelf Speakers:

With speaker stands: Sturdy Monolith by Monoprice can be filled with lead shot, sand or kitty litter. Also Audio Advisor where most are also available at Amazon. Size to get speaker center or tweeter at ear height while seated.

Towers:

Subwoofers:

Speaker wire: Pure Copper Oxygen Free 14 Gauge Speaker Wire 50 ft, and self adjusting wire strippers with optional banana plugs to add. Or already with banana plugs, Micca, DFWCableConnection or Blue Jeans Cable.

Guides: Intro to home stereo systemsZeos Tutorials, Diagrams and VideosGuide to Home AudioAverageJoeAudiophile’s Guides