What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)?

A total of 30 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

6th Apr 2022

OP here, looking for thoughts on this device. I’ve seen a LOT of people who are finding needs to adapt old equipment into new equipment. I don’t like that it uses Micro USB (who would) and it seems to have a lot of odd limitations. Probably not very safe, but, it might be useful for some. The Wacom Link and Link Plus adapter seems to be the best option for most, seeing as it combines video and data, this is video only. Interesting though.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2021

Answering my own question. Wacom makes the “link plus”. Turns out Wacom also uses DP alt mode on their products, and this cheap adapter is supposed to enable it for any pc display.
https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ

1 point

·

24th Nov 2021

The Wacom Link Plus dongle can convert an HDMI or Mini DisplayPort into a USB-C port: https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/

You’ll also need a USB-C charger that will provide power to the Asus Zenscreen through the dongle.

1 point

·

10th Nov 2021

The Laptop to Hub connection is pretty clear but for Xbox, you need a device like the Wacom Link Plus
* USB-A (Xbox) –(USB-A to USB-C cable)–> Wacom Link Plus
* HDMI out (Xbox) –(HDMI to HDMI cable)–> Wacom Link Plus
* Wacom Link Plus –(USB-C 3.1 cable)–> Hub

However there’s a lot of uncertainties. First of all, unlike Thunderbolt 4, TB3 does not guarantee USB compatibility and the cables/hubs you will use might not just work properly as regular USB-C 3.1 hubs.

Secondly, I do not know whether the Wacom Link Plus will work with a USB-A to USB-C cable.

As for your diagram:

It would be much better if you make a text post and describe your requirement simply. You can upload your “diagram” to Imgur and link it in the text post instead of uploading two image posts.

And also, HDMI to TB3 cable does not exist. TB3 to HDMI cables don’t really exist, internally they are plain USB-C 3.1 -> DP 1.4/DP1.2 –> HDMI and do not work in the reverse direction. You will lose high resolution support and VRR or any fancy features of HDMI 2.1 if you have a new Xbox.

1 point

·

25th Jul 2021

Hello again! Would the Wacom Link Plus work by connecting the Epson BO-IC400 USB-C port (that supports DP Alt mode) to the USB-C input on the Wacom Link Plus, and then connect my DJI Mini 2’s Remote Controller to the Wacom Link Plus’s micro-USB input port, thereby combining the two sources to output via the Wacom Link Plus’s USB-C output port to my Epson BT-40 Smartglasses.

Is it worth a shot?

1 point

·

17th Feb 2021

I use this adapter from Wacom to transform separate DisplayPort and USB signals to a single USB-C connection:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/

I have no idea if it is standards compliant or certified (would love to know!), but I don’t really have any other choice to use my Ultrafine 4K display. It seems to work great, and it enables full USB-C hub functionality and brightness/audio controls for the display.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2020

You might be able to use something like this Wacom display adapter.

It would convert the Switch HDMI output to USB-C and would you could then connect it to your Thunderbolt adapter.

The caveat here is that like the display adapter, whatever you use to convert HDMI to USB-C/thunderbolt 3 cant be passive. It needs to be actively powered to enable the bi-directional output of your existing thunderbolt 3 to 2 adapter.

5 points

·

4th Jun 2021

That’s not really how it works. You can’t magic a video signal out of thin air.

There are some adapters which can convert a HDMI or DP signal into USB-C, like the Wacom Link Plus, or a bidirectional cable. That allows you to connect a screen with only a USB-C input to a device with a HDMI/DP output.

You could also use a DisplayLink adapter, which transfers video over a data-only USB connection. However, the quality of this is quite poor and it tends to be laggy. Probably enough for the occasional office use, but I wouldn’t use it for anything like watching movies or gaming.

1 point

·

29th Mar 2022

It’s expensive, but you can use the Wacom Link Plus to connect the HP Elite Display S14 to your PC.

You’ll also need a USB-C charger to power the Wacom Link Plus.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2022

You should look at the Wacom Link Plus.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2022

The Wacom Link Plus may work for you if your webcam is USB 2.0 only.

If your webcam is USB 3.0, you’ll need to connect it directly to your old laptop.

1 point

·

14th Mar 2022

The Wacom Link Plus is all you need.

1 point

·

20th Dec 2021

use wacom link plus Works with UHD and QHD displays for class-leading visuals. Supports up to UHD/4k resolution (USB-C port or Mini DisplayPort and USB-A port)* or QHD (HDMI and USB-A port)

https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ

1 point

·

7th Dec 2021

the wacom link is your only option, theres no other adapters that will inject power for you: https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ

1 point

·

7th Dec 2021

This might work but there is no way to be 100% sure. If you are a hero enough to take the risk, please report on your findings here for others. https://www.amazon.com.au/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ

1 point

·

16th Nov 2021

Wacom Link Plus (Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819) https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_XW2EMKXEC3S3VQQPYBS7) also works for LG ultrafine 4K with resolution of 2k, does this cable support higher resolution?

1 point

·

17th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

16th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

15th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

14th Oct 2021

Your laptops, docking station and monitors should work together without problem.

The 3 remaining issues are the NVIDIA GTX 1660 Super, the MSI B450 Tomahawk Max and the means to send 2 displays to the docking station using DP 1.4 MST.

For the NVIDIA GTX 1660 Super, I hope it supports MST and can be configured to serve 2 monitors via its DP 1.4 port.

The MSI B450 Tomahawk Max doesn’t support Thunderbolt, so you can’t use a PCIe Thunderbolt card such as Gigabyte Titan Ridge or Maple Ridge, or ASRock Thunderbolt AIC.

So your, probably, only option to send DP through USB-C to your docking station is the Sunix UPD2018 PCIe card, or the Delock or Dell rebrands of the Sunix. They are listed in /u/surfacedockguy’s article https://dancharblog.wordpress.com/2020/07/20/add-usb-c-with-dp-alt-mode-to-your-desktop-pc/. Unfortunately, the Sunix UPD2018 PCIe card only supports DP 1.2, so no MST, so only 1 monitor.

I searched for Sunix UPD2018 on Ebay and got this result: https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2334524.m570.l1313&_nkw=sunix+upd2018

There is one offer at $144 from Australia, I guess it can be ignored.

The second offer at $24 is a Dell rebrand, but with a low-profile bracket: https://www.ebay.com/itm/274671522010?hash=item3ff3b2d0da:g:2ZAAAOSwGUJfWPtj

The next offer at $30 is also a Dell rebrand, but with a full-height bracket: https://www.ebay.com/itm/154628564982?hash=item240094a7f6:g:qckAAOSw7iZeMbQS

I said above: “probably, only option”. There is, however, another option: at $69, the Wacom Link Plus can convert an HDMI or Mini DisplayPort into a USB-C port, but I don’t know if it supports DP 1.4 and MST, I guess not: https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/

Best of luck! 😃

1 point

·

10th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021

Thank you, I’ve been searching for this answer for weeks.

If you don’t mind answering a quick question… do you think this will do the trick?

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DX9CJFZ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Wacom Link Plus for Cintiq Pro 13/16 (ACK42819)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

1st Oct 2021

I guess the Wacom Link Plus is the adapter you’re looking for: https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/

If your touchscreen needs to be powered, you’d also need to connect the Wacom Link Plus to a USB-C charger.

1 point

·

11th Jun 2021

So I did end up getting the new wacom link and it does work 100% as intended with adaptive sync. Just gotta make sure the adapter is getting good power. This is the one i got
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2019

Wacom Link, the $100 one.

I was shopping for a Link last week and saw that the Link Plus was only $28 on Amazon, but Wacom Customer Support replied to a question asking if it could be used with the MSP and Wacom said no, it’s only for Cintiq.

https://www.amazon.ca/Wacom-Link-Plus-Cintiq-ACK42819/dp/B07DX9CJFZ/