What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Wacom Intuos Graphics Drawing Tablet for Mac, PC, Chromebook & Android (small) with Software Included – Black (CTL4100)?

A total of 37 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

31st Jul 2020

Not at all! I use an Wacom tablet (the cheapest one) I have tried other brands (they all sucked) but my first tablet lasted me 7 years and this one has lasted me quite a while as well. (I think I’m on 6?? Idk math). I paint on my PC using Paint Tool Sai. It definitely has amazing blending / colour selection. It doesn’t have as many layer settings as photoshop so I use it combination for lighting / finishing effects. Hopefully that answers your question! And by tablet I mean one of these: https://www.amazon.ca/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=wacom+tablet&qid=1596176498&sr=8-3

2 points

·

26th Feb 2021

Wacom son las más famosas.
Cómo esta.

Hay distinto tamaños.
Las más avanzadas tienen botones en el borde que se pueden asociar a acciones o macros.

Buena búsqueda!

2 points

·

25th Mar 2019

Ok yeah that would explain a lot ��. I would advise buying this. It’s a professional drawing trackpad that comes with 3 different softwares. Right now, you are being limited by the tools you have. Buying this would be a bit of a splurge, but I can’t say with confidence that you’re going to become much better with a mouse and mspaint.

1 point

·

14th Mar 2021

My absolute favorite tablet is this one from Wacom. I also went the route of buying an older Wacom model tablet off ebay when I was learning digital art in middle school.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2021

There’s a good one called watcom intuos. I probably spelt it wrong but I think that’s the best one (also reliable) for around 100. I tried this other one from Huion, it was around 40, and I couldn’t get it to connect just right when I was about to teach. So yeah I ended up returning that one. It was called huion inspiroy. Your best option is to go with watcom intuos.

Edit: it’s Wacom and here’s the link: https://www.amazon.ca/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=asc_df_B079HL9YSF/?tag=googlemobshop-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=292981412351&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=9783981703001253441&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvq…

1 point

·

12th Jan 2021

For amateur level I think the cheapest Wacom tablets are good enough which is similar to what I have. I don’t really feel a need to upgrade tbh, I’m using the medium size and I’ve been very happy with my tablet.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2020

I use the wacom intuos draw graphics tablet (known as the wacom intuos graphics tablet now). It was the first tablet I’ve used and I think it works great. I think you can buy it at around $100 (CAD). There’s definitely a learning curve if you’re transitioning from traditional art since there’s a disconnect between hand and screen, so keep that in mind. ^_^
Here’s the link for amazon if you’re interested in looking further. Hope this helped!

1 point

·

21st Aug 2020

Wacom Intuos Graphics Drawing Tablet with Bonus Software, 7.9″ X 6.3″, Black (CTL4100),Small https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_CX-pFbWT6GTNA

I have the BT version because I will also use it walking around the classroom once things settle back to “normal”.

1 point

·

1st Jan 2020

Amazon has a deal on the Intuos small model ( CTL4100 ). It’s down to $59.99 CAD from about $110 CAD. As a beginner artist who’d mainly use a new drawing tablet for notetaking in class, is it worth it to spend $60 on the Wacom over a base model Huion?

1 point

·

21st Mar 2019

I can list a few, but I can’t say I’ve used them as I personally have a intous pro medium tablet which I got for 300$.

But I can say Wacom tablets are some of the best, but pricey, while there are others out there.

My opinion, do some research, look up reviews on YouTube

Other than that I’ve used one tablet at school in the past and loved it and it’s within your price range

Newer version: https://www.amazon.ca/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?keywords=wacom+bamboo+tablet&qid=1553199010&s=gateway&sr=8-1

1 point

·

28th Jan 2019

When I got into digital art I bought an $80 Wacom tablet. Not cheap, but cheaper than an iPad. You just connect them to a Laptop/PC of any type with a USB port. Amazon Link if you’re interested!: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_F03tCbN4X2EKZ

You should try FireAlpaca as well. It’s free, so it’s great to just test the waters of digital art with. The features are very limited though. No idea if there’s an app for it. I used it on my laptop.

3 points

·

31st Dec 2018

I recall some OK KO episodes being made in Krita, a program doesn’t define for how long an animation is supposed to be but it is supposed to give a workflow. Some people make entire feature films in Blender as an example (which is also free open source software for 3D related stuff and since recently 2D)

​

Everyone almost who draws digitally draws with a graphics tablet or a screen based tablet, a mouse lacks pressure sensitivity and the precision

​

What do you mean with realistic? If you mean hyperrealism, you can even do that in MSpaint, watch this

​

I recommend buying a cheapo Wacom for 40 to 80 bucks to try it out, Krita is a fine program for it. Amazon link

​

I assume you are new to animation, I recommend you to read this book to get into it or buy it: Animator’s survival kit

​

It’s fine to ask questions, that’s what this sub is for.

2 points

·

20th Aug 2020

This is the one I started with a few years back and still use today:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_IURpFbG47NECM

2 points

·

12th Mar 2019

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B079HL9YSF/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

​

This wacom is my current drawing tablet. I have a Huion Kamvas 191, but I always have issues with drivers and loose USB ports. My current wacom is small, but the trade off is control and sensitivity. Even this cheap wacom has better sensitivity than the Huion Display Tablet. I typically do line art, and the Huion had a noticeable jagginess that I had to use third party apps (Lazy Nezumi) to fix. Wacom get shit on because of the pricepoint of their higher end Cintiqs but you can’t deny their build quality and control. Just my 2 cents.

1 point

·

29th Jan 2022

It’s like $60 new

1 point

·

27th Oct 2021

Thank you! And it’s wonderful you want to support your daughter in her interest in art 🙂

I was lucky that my parents enrolled me in a weekly drawing class (1hr/week for 10 years) and I’d recommend that if possible! I’d say any kind of structured time to learn drawing techniques is super useful for developing as an artist. Other ways to learn/improve drawing are youtube videos, and drawing from real life (buildings, landscapes, household objects, anything really).

Is your daughter very young? If so I’d also recommend art camps! Visual Arts Mississauga has art camps. I volunteered at a summer camp there a long time ago and I thought the program was really fun for kids.

For digital art, I started with a laptop, Sketchbook by AutoDesk, and a Wacom drawing tablet. Now I draw on an iPad using Procreate and would recommend this setup. But I didn’t really start doing digital art seriously until last year. I was drawing with pencil & paper for 15+ years before that.

The most important thing is consistency – 1h a week does wonders over time!

1 point

·

26th Aug 2021

Yeah, it’s a wacom intuos CTL4100 I bought it through amazon here, also I’m using Clip Studio Paint 😀

1 point

·

5th May 2021

i use this one
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_R5KEHR4AX0JSZY2ADR7Y

its smaller than the ones you mentioned but i recommend it for beginners

1 point

·

12th Mar 2021

Hello. I found this video helpful when I was starting out.

My process is generally:
1. Make the art. I use Procreate on my iPad these days but started out using Clip Studio Paint which came with this Wacom tablet. I would recommend getting a digital drawing tool of some sort. You can also make the art traditionally but would then want to scan it or photograph it well to put it on a computer and touch it up.
2. Add a border around the stickers. You can draw it by hand, but a lot of digital art programs have an option to make a selection, expand the selection, and outline the selection. I do that in Clip Studio Paint and then smooth it.
3. Format the stickers as close together as possible in a paper-sized canvas in a digital art program. I use photoshop for this.
4. Print the art on sticker paper. This gets tricky. I have an HP Envy 6055 which is a newer home printer. It’s not terribly fancy but it gets the job done. You’ll probably waste a lot of sticker paper figuring out which print settings to use and getting your colors right. I recommend Neato’s white glossy paper. Make sure the paper you get is designed for whatever printer you are using (inkjet or laser).
5. Wait for the ink to dry thoroughly. You can leave it a few hours or over night.
6. Laminate the whole sheet of stickers. I use Fellowes Self-Adhesive Sheets.
7. Cut the stickers out. I’m currently cutting them by hand.

Good luck! It can get really expensive, but you don’t really need anything but some sort of digital art program, sticker paper, and a printer. There are some free art programs like Fire Alpaca as well. It’s very rewarding to have an idea and be able to turn it into a sticker yourself. Please remember to only use art and designs you yourself created. Art theft is still theft.

1 point

·

11th Nov 2020

You’re right, the combo is expensive. I just meant an iPad that is compatible with Apple Pencil.

https://imgur.com/R5wxDcK.png

Look up info on which iPad’s are compatible, but definitely I know the iPad Pros are compatible.

The pencil and iPad are a very good combo. Pretty much as good as Photoshop and a tablet. It’s portable too.

I still recommend using Photoshop with a tablet like this though; Photoshop is a bit more versatile than ProCreate. But both are great.

When you post later be sure to include the drawing with the post too so we can help you better.

1 point

·

1st Nov 2020
1 point

·

16th Sep 2018

Here’s the Wacom site link: https://us-store.wacom.com/Catalog/Pen-Tablets/wacom-intuos/wacom-intuos-s#/undefined1

Here’s an Amazon link: Wacom Intuos Drawing Tablet, with Free Creative Software Download, 7.9″x 6.3″, Black (CTL4100) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B079HL9YSF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_cpTNBbGPYF4Y4

1 point

·

13th Oct 2020

I use this

1 point

·

8th Sep 2020

all the cheaper drawing tablets on the market are screen-less (you’d have to look at your computer to see what you’re drawing) from my experience the screen tablets are fairly expensive as you’re basically getting a second monitor with a stylus.

I’d recommend starting with a cheaper tablet like the Wacom Intuos, because while not the greatest, it’s a good start and definitely works once you get a hang of it. Or if you want to, you can try and get a stylus for your laptop.

I used a Wacom Bamboo and Wacom Intuos for my early digital art days, but just didn’t enjoy the feel/workings of my $400 monitor tablet. I now have an iPad Pro + pencil and that’s all I use, occasionally making tweaks in photoshop. Of course this is just my personal experience, you might experience something different. Do some looking and research before you do what I did and blow your cash on something you won’t use! Good luck!

1 point

·

18th Aug 2020

it is far more natural to draw on a drawing tablet than it is on a screen. Wacom does a good quality but cheap one

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2020

I just started and I use this. It’s kinda small and the pen’s buttons are uncomfortable but those are the only downsides.

1 point

·

12th Jul 2020

Hey man im 19 too. I’d imagine you don’t want to go work somewhere which is how i feel. I’ve been at it for over a year now and I’ll tell you where to go. You do need a drawing tablet such as a wacom cintiq or an xp pen. So first you just need to know your budget. A cintiq or xp pen you can see what your drawing on the tablet itself. On a wacom intous you can’t see the screen on the tablet itself just on the laptop which really isn’t a big deal just different. Don’t worry I’ll give you some links to them so you can see yourself. Thats first off is the drawing tablet, next is the program. Two free programs are krita and opentoonz. If you’re a student or get through it on adobe you can get adobe animate with all the other adobe programs for 20 dollars a month. Which actually is an advantage since the editor is also included. If not and you go with krita or opentoonz which are also great choices, id just pay for an editor such as easy video maker for $30 out right. Which is a great option, i used it for a long time. About how to animate it, i would look at gingerpale’s video on how to animate storytime animations and domics video on it. They are both in adobe animate but it doesn’t really matter what program you’re in, there is just different approaches to them. I think definitely the best way of learning how to do it is reanimating some of you’re favorite scenes from odd1sout, alex clark and so on. It will definitely help you gain lots of understanding rapidly fast. Now the best way of staying motivated, yeah it takes alot of work but also just remember to have fun because you really are making a cartoon. You’ll have to learn how to animate, just the basics of editing and the different programs. But that’s just a thing that you gotta do. Some advice is k.i.s.s ” keep it simple stupid” in the wise words of dwight from the office. Just go through the tutorials and stay calm. Make sure not to get frustrated and keep it simple. Once you’ve got it, your just chillin after that. Here are some links to some stuff for you to check out of some different price ranges. Hope it helps have a good one!

Drawing tablets:

Wacom intuos $80
https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF

Huion kamvas 13 $239
https://store.huion.com/products/kamvas-13?gclid=Cj0KCQjw6ar4BRDnARIsAITGzlBiqo26wxqub4iYWRRKcMV-g3W4F3_50TVXPmnwgbgmsnv8c5rovsoaAiupEALw_wcB

Xp pen artist display 15.6 $350
https://m.storexppen.com/buy/artist15_6.html?gclid=Cj0KCQjw6ar4BRDnARIsAITGzlANvUfbeWf9oGOPcWZjaANq_KcYMGKaugS7vnP3LgC_UlTpgWNoMsoaAgWYEALw_wcB

There is more expensive ones and cheaper ones on their websites if you wanna look at more.

Animation program:

Krita – free
https://krita.org/en/download/krita-desktop/

Opentoonz – free
https://opentoonz.github.io/e/

Adobe Animate plus all other adobe programs – student price $20 a month. Standard price $50 a month. http://www.adobe-students.com/creativecloud/buy/students.html?kw=ccm&sdid=KKTGX&mv=search&ef_id=Cj0KCQjw6ar4BRDnARIsAITGzlCc82sMqDRSFWq7RU7XsSJb_t5QTKPWYXx6e9iOoe9Us4OHDzJLq3oaAtY7EALw_wcB:G:s&s_kwcid=AL!3085!3!377834292368!e!!g!!c…

Editing software:

If you get adobe an editor is already included which is Premier pro.

Easy video maker – $30
Is free if videos are under 5 minutes and the exporting quality is lessoned so I’d recommend purchasing it.
https://www.easymakevideo.com/buynow.html

Vsdc Editor – Free
http://www.videosoftdev.com/free-video-editor/download

Vegas Post 365 $22 a month
https://www.vegascreativesoftware.com/us/vegas-post/

So what ever your price range is it doesn’t matter. You can still achieve everything you want to.

1 point

·

7th Apr 2020

I actually got clip Studio the same way. I bought a Wacom Intuos on amazon which came with the software. Here’s the link:
https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF

1 point

·

21st Oct 2019

What would you think is better a semi used intuos 3, or this https://www.amazon.com/Wacom-Drawing-Software-Included-CTL4100/dp/B079HL9YSF

1 point

·

16th May 2018

Well there’s a Wacom intuous tablet that’s about $80 (and this one comes with software apparently which is a bonus) . Wacom is a big company and even though they can have incredibly annoying glitches, I’ve been pretty impressed with the customer service on the whole. I had an issue with a charging jack on my last Wacom tablet and they repaired it free of charge as the issue was a manufacturing problem.

For a strict under 70 budget there’s also something called the Ugee . I have zero personal experience but I’ve read the name on a couple “top ten tablets for less $$$” lists.

1 point

·

20th Mar 2018

Get a cheap Wacom tablet like this. I got one for my kids, best purchase ever.