What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream with Pump Dispenser – 16 fl oz (1 lb) – Moisturizer Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin?

A total of 36 reviews of this product on Reddit.

13 points

·

1st Jan 2018

Vanicream Skin Cream With Pump Dispenser,16 oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NWGCZ2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_FmMsAbD58RBDP

Great stuff! No perfumes and it’s quite hydrating. I wash my face, apply jojoba oil, and last the Vanicream. I have a few pimplies occasionally and I have combination skin so I usually only need two applications during the winter as long as I work it with some jojoba oil. Target will have this too and will likely be a little cheaper in store than amazon.

8 points

·

15th Jun 2021

If you’re not too picky about cosmetic elegance, Vanicream sells their 16oz moisturizing cream in tubs with a pump. For the amount, it’s about $13-$14 depending on where you shop.

3 points

·

24th Jun 2021

Agree with this person ^ In my experience, having dealt with bad hand eczema, Vanicream Moisturizing Cream (has the pump) is like the tank of moisturizers for those with sensitive skin. And for about $15, you get 16oz of product.

1 point

·

7th Mar 2022

Hi! OP PLEASE READ THIS!!

This looks like contact dermatitis. We had the same thing with our little! We finally figured out he was getting these little face and cheek patches from us picking him up and him rubbing his little cheeks against our clothes (which we did not launder with his special fragrance free baby detergent). We tried everything for weeks and this is what finally worked…

First, wash her face at least once in the morning and once at night with just plain water, dab dry with a clean burp cloth or paper towel, then apply Vanicream atop the damp skin, (I’ll link below-it’s the cleanest product you can get for skin, and cheap!), wait a few minutes to soak in and apply aquaphor atop that.

It literally worked within like 1.5 days and his skin is PERFECT now. Not a bump. We notice that if we have visitors and they pick him up the bumps do return so in those instances we make sure to rinse his face with plain water, and repeat the process as soon as possible.

Also-launder all of your clothing in fragrance free “clean” detergent from now on. She’s got sensitive skin like our little guy 😣

Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream with Pump Dispenser – 16 fl oz (1 lb) – Moisturizer Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NWGCZ2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_32XWXYJMNMHHN65ZXA49?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

7th Feb 2022

Vanicream in the tub. I swear by it. I’m still struggling with some maskne but overall my skin has improved since I stopped obsessing over this sub and developing a million-step routine. Every moisturizer in the sub-$30 range broke me out and it took weeks to get my skin back to it’s starting point. I finally switched to vanicream and it’s been the most inoffensive, I’ve used it for over a year now. $12 for a 16 oz. tub that lasts almost 12 months. Simple ingredient list, and it’s free of parabens, lanolin, fragrance etc (the major offenders for acne-prone skin). Can buy at walmart or on Amazon. I will warn you it’s a bit thick so it takes some getting used to, but my oiliness actually reduced after using a heavier moisturizer.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NWGCZ2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_EXT2JQBV0PR7GMQ339BZ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

15th Mar 2021

Vanicream Moisturizing Cream (With Pump) is my favorite by far! Super inoffensive/bland (no actives), great for dry and sensitive skin. (Don’t use it if you have an allergy to vaseline, though, it’s used in the formula as a humectant.)

During my retinization process, I’d use three pumps of the stuff and leave my face coated, with all but the last bit rubbed in. Now that I’m adjusted, I use one and a half pumps.

Should be available at any nearby CVS if you don’t want to order online. Might be at Walmart etc. too, but I haven’t checked.

1 point

·

5th Aug 2020

If this is your second time using Tret, it is normal to experience symptoms similar to this when you first get started. I am not a doctor but it sounds like retinol burn or some other kind of irritation. Some people recommend applying a mild hydrocortisone cream to the burnt area(s) to reduce inflammation. Aloe vera is a good option to get some relief as well.

Either way, I would hold off using tret for a few days and reintroduce slowly once your skin stops burning when you apply other products. Once reintroduced, you may choose to layer the tret over your moisturizer to act as a buffer. A lot of people do that when they first start Tret. That is what I did and it helped minimize (but not completely eliminate) dryness and irritation.

In the meantime, I would evaluate all of the products you use in other areas of your routine to ensure your products are fragrance-free and recommended for sensitive skin, because your upcoming journey with Tret will make your skin sensitive. In order to help your skin retain moisture, you may want to invest in some ceramides and hyaluronic acid. And get comfortable with the idea of using occlusives like Aquaphor or Vaseline on your dry patches before bed – when all else failed and my skin was a red flaky mess, this is what really helped me.

When I first started using Tret, every moisturizer I tried made my skin burn (even the one by First Aid Beauty that a lot of people in this sub recommend) except for Vanicream, which I still use.

1 point

·

13th Dec 2019

I find that knitting tends to dry my hands out and lead to the same itchiness! I think it’s the yarn pulling the oils out or the friction from the yarn doing something.

I recommend keeping some hand lotion in your knitting bag. I recommend this lotion if you have very sensitive skin or any allergies.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2018

No worries!

I’d first try Vanicream Moisturizing Cream. It looks like it’s less than 10 euros on Amazon Prime. This moisturizer is pretty bland but effective. It really, really gets the job done without any extra ingredients (that you *could* be sensitive to). Nivea is not bad but it is pretty heavily fragranced.

For spot treatment, I’d try De La Cruz Sulfur Ointment. If you feel like you’ve been applying other types of spot treatments and nothing has been happening, it’s worth it to try sulfur. (Which is not in the clean and clear spot treatment)

Echoing other posters, you do need a sunscreen while using differin. I know it seems crazy in the UK, but it creeps up on you for sure.

Check out r/asianbeauty’s recommendations for a more light weight, less ‘greasy feeling’ sunscreen. I’m sensitive to chemical sunscreens unfortunately (give me eczema) so I embrace the dewy look, They’ve got some good recs on that subreddit though for really light, not-even-there feeling sunscreens. Off the top of my head, Biore Watery Essence comes highly recommended, as does Corsx Aloe Soothing Sun Cream. Haven’t personally tried them because again, eczema.

Cleanser I’d consider going to a more gentle cleanser like La Roche-Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Cleanser, but honestly unless you start getting extra tight/irritated feeling in your skin after starting differin, you can just stick with the cetaphil!

1 point

·

4th May 2018

I have pretty severe eye eczema and recently my dermatologist suggested Vanicream. Glycerin is a common facial skin allergy for people with eczema, and it looks like it’s in the Cetaphil gel.

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2016

I’ve been using Vanicream to moisturize for 1.5 years and added in argan & jojoba oils a couple months ago. My skin’s never looked better. I also had severe acne for years and thought the scarring would disfigure me for life. I’ll never have perfect skin, but I am so grateful that it’s come as far as it has. I think I’ll also be ordering some of that Vitamin C tonight!

1 point

·

4th Aug 2015

You should try VaniCream You can get it over the counter/was suggested by my allergist. Sometimes I get slight eczema on my face. This + what ever medication (usually alight cortizone) is the fastest I have seen my eczema clear up without minimal recurrence. You need to get it over the counter but it does not require a prescription.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2015

Please do yourself a favor and try Vanicream. My son had pretty nasty eczema through 18 months or so (thank you Dad’s side of the family), and this was the ONLY thing that cleared it up. Now he doesn’t have it full-out, but anytime I see a dry patch starting up I slap some on 2-3 times a day, and it’s gone within 24 hours.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2015

I’m trying to figure this out, does my moisturizer have silicone in it? Thanks. link

1 point

·

20th Jan 2022

Do you buy option 1, 2, or 3? I think I want to try vanicream, but idk which to buy for my face. I think people are talking about the first one, but the other 2 look interesting.

  1. Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream with Pump Dispenser – 16 fl oz (1 lb) – Moisturizer Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NWGCZ2/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_T5VW9BCSAWPX3JJFK17E

  2. Vanicream Facial Moisturizer – 3 fl oz – Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08BW46XXK/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_8VRAWRK6H8R0Q7ZV5FRA

  3. Vanicream Facial Moisturizer – 3 fl oz – Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08BW46XXK/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_8VRAWRK6H8R0Q7ZV5FRA

1 point

·

28th Jun 2021

Wow your skin looks great!

Question: Which version of vanicream do you use? I see a lot of people mention vanicream in this sub but not sure which moisturizer to purchase?

Is this the correct one?

https://www.amazon.com/Vanicream-Moisturizing-Sensitive-Irritated-Dermatologist/dp/B000NWGCZ2/ref=sr_1_2?crid=1R2L5AUV79QPB&dchild=1&keywords=vanicream+moisturizer&qid=1624847198&sprefix=vanicream+moi%2Caps%2C187&sr=8-2

1 point

·

21st Jun 2021

Deal link: Amazon (additional 15% off coupon on app)


Want additional discounts and coupon codes?

Download newly launched Android App – ShoppingSaga

Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

31st Mar 2021

Sometimes I get like this too. I like a combo of Azeliec Acid and a heavy, heavy moisturizer. They seem to help to build that derm up that has been compromised. If it gets awful you may need an antibiotic. I try to avoid those, but they have been needed in the past.

I like this moisturizer: xhttps://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000NWGCZ2/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

and this acid: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07QM5KGDK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

26th May 2018

I buy it from Amazon, I’ve never noticed it in a store. Although I just googled it and it looks like riteaid and Wal-Mart carry it. I buy this one with the pump on it: https://www.amazon.com/Vanicream-Skin-Cream-Pump-Dispenser/dp/B000NWGCZ2

1 point

·

18th Sep 2020

This was extremely helpful. Thank you so much for putting the time and effort into your response.

I actually just purchased this Vanicream Moisturizer yesterday. I do hear great things about the Neutrogena one, and it was recommended to me by someone in school to become an esthetician, but I think trying something different wouldn’t hurt.

I also decided I would hold off of using any toner for a bit. I’ll go ahead and get the one you recommended to have ready when I introduce that back into my routine! I don’t want to introduce too many new things at once. I’ve heard that can cause issues.

Also, thanks for the facial cleanser recommendation. I might as well go with your favorite and stick with the Vanicream brand!

I actually just bought that Azelaic Acid Suspension 10% product from Sephora yesterday. Glad to know I made a good purchase. I also bought this Cicapair™ Tiger Grass Color Correcting Treatment from there as well, I’d love to hear what you think about that.

I’ll have to look into the Grapeseed oil, that’s the first I’ve heard of that for helping oily skin! Definitely worth checking out.

This helps a TON. Thank you again!!

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2020

Vanicream Moisturizing Cream

I’ve been using this for years for dry skin and acne.

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Checkout ^^our ^(Telegram channels) ^^for ^^deals ^^on ^^specific ^^categories ^^of ^^products.

1 point

·

28th Sep 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

19th May 2020

Hi there! I found a recommendation for Avene Cicalfate Restorative Cream on here months ago that helped me significantly with my PD. I also just started using VaniCream, which my Dermatologist recommended for extra dry and sensitive skin, especially skin prone to PD. I also only use Garnier Micellar water to cleanse my face. All three of these are pretty affordable and can be found on Amazon. I hope this helps!

Avene Cicalfate Restorative Skin Cream
https://www.aveneusa.com/cicalfate-restorative-skin-cream?gclid=CjwKCAjw5Ij2BRBdEiwA0Frc9UTV76fkrNkeeT1NmpuGpukr3sqpoBnuUrh6T78oJVJBJSwqHTgJOxoCjusQAvD_BwE#185=527

Vanicream Moisturizing Cream
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000NWGCZ2?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water, For All Skin Types, 13.5 Fl Oz
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017PCGABI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_1h1WEb5J600DE

1 point

·

26th May 2019

I’m sorry the Aveeno didn’t work out! The thing with all these products is that YMMV comes into play. I don’t think you were doing something wrong – it’s probably just sticky on your skin. I’ve found some creams are sticky, but usually they absorb after awhile.

Out of curiosity what lotion are you using? If stickiness and texture bothers you, switching to a high-powered lotion and skipping the cream is an option. Amlactin is another great lotion I forgot to mention, that’s available in a lot of stores. It has a lot of lactic acid which is both exfoliating and softening.

Another option is just trying different creams until you find one that suits your skin. Keep the receipts, most major retailers will accept returns (Target, Walgreens, CVS, Walmart, etc) if you’re in the US. Another cream I’ve used is Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream and this CeraVe cream is an hg for a lot of people. Consider giving the CeraVe a try – from what I remember it absorbed very well into my skin and wasn’t too sticky. The Vanicream feels sticky on my skin for about 30 minutes until it absorbs.

Applying a small amount of the cream can help too. I’m the worst at pumping out too much lotion or cream and that always leaves my skin extra sticky. Some creams/lotions just don’t absorb well. Cetaphil is like that for me. It works for other people but feels like glue on my skin.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2017

I use vanicream’s heavier lotion and it seems to have curbed my dryness. I’m on day 109, 60mg daily. https://www.amazon.com/Vanicream-Moisturizing-Skin-Cream-sensitive/dp/B000NWGCZ2

1 point

·

20th Sep 2017

Haha yeah, it doesn’t have a lot of slip, so it’s hard to spread it out.

What moisturizer do you use? Try to find Vanicream. It comes in a large, inexpensive pump bottle and they sell it at most drug stores. That’s what I use most of the time.

I wouldn’t apply the oil yet, but that would be the first thing I would add on to your routine when it’s time. The fewer things you apply at first the better.

You should always wear sunscreen. The sun damages and ages everyone’s skin. The most effective thing you can do to improve your skin as you age is to wear sunscreen regularly.

Sunscreens in the USA are pretty terrible due to a classification issue that makes it difficult for new sunscreen ingredients to be approved by the FDA. I use Japanese sunscreens. They sell them on Amazon, but they ship from Japan. They are non-greasy and better at protecting skin from the sun. Many of them, even the inexpensive ones, include things like hyaluronic acid. They’re awesome. Some examples: here, here, here.

1 point

·

17th Feb 2016

I would highly recommend Vanicream/Vaniply products. They use extremely hypoallergenic chemicals in their product so for me it doesn’t cause any irritation. You can find a lot of their products in most Walgreens, but I order the rest on Amazon and haven’t had an issue with it at all.

I put on Vanicream Moisturizing Skin Cream whenever I have any dryness (right side of my face gets it the worst). I put on a pretty decent amount, and rub in until you don’t see any white. Then I apply a layer of Vaniply Ointment overtop and rub until I have a nice thin layer.

I do this across my whole face every day and the Vaniply Ointment tends to help lock in the moisture so it doesn’t dry out as quickly. I used to have to moisturize about 3 times a day but now I only have to do it in the mornings.

My skin is very sensitive to most lotions and soaps and whatnot, after years of struggling and “getting by” I went to an allergy doctor instead of a dermatologist and he recommended Vanicream brand products. Soaps, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and the ointment. Saying that it will be a lot more gentle on my skin, and he was right. I barely ever have to use my medicated cream now (maybe once a week I’ll apply it after the lotion and before the ointment).

I’m not saying this will have the same results on you, but you should definitely give it a shot.

Edit: the vaniply ointment is very similar to vaseline but it doesn’t make me feel as “greasy” as vaseline does

1 point

·

4th Aug 2015

I am not at home by my doctor gave me a cream that could be used on my face + VaniCream. It cleared it right up. I can check when I am home if you are curious.

1 point

·

4th Aug 2015
0 points

·

8th Oct 2021

i use vanicream moisturizing cream. right now you can get a pound of the stuff for $13 off amazon. $20 for a tiny jar is theft.