What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Vanicream Moisturizing Lotion with Pump Dispenser – 16 fl oz (1 lb) – Formulated Without Common Irritants for Those with Sensitive Skin?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

7 points

·

24th Sep 2018

Not a gel, but I recently started using Vanicream Lite. It is very moisturizing and affordable. Cruelty free and vegan, recently CVS (or Walgreens?) started carrying it! It was created for people with eczema so it is AMAZING for sensitive skin. I started using it because I needed something very soothing, after starting differin.

I have a such a hard time finding CF/vegan skincare because I don’t want anything fancy, expensive, or “natural.” I just want products that work and don’t hurt animals. Vanicream fits the bill for me.

You could try asking in /r/VeganBeauty as well.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2018

It could be the method of BC you’re using since you recently changed it, did you notice any correlation of your skin worsening when you did?

My suggestion aside from looking into your BC is to switch to a really bland moisturizer specifically for eczema, like Vanicream Lite. Also, using a foaming cleanser and a clairisonic sounds really drying if you have extremely dry and scaley skin. Foaming cleansers are already not recommended for dry skin, adding a physical exfoliate on top of that sounds super drying. You should look into either dropping the clairsonic, or changing to a non-foaming bland cleanser (or both, IMO).

I would slow down on any actives or scrubs until your skin can repair its moisture again.

1 point

·

24th Sep 2017

This is the lotion: Vanicream Lite Lotion, For Sensitive Skin, Free of Dyes, Lanolin, Fragrance, Parabens, & Formaldehyde, 16 Ounce Pump https://www.amazon.com/dp/B003XWG880/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_h63dsk9lPQFbu

I mist my face with Fiji water and apply this when my face is still a wet-ish. It will feel almost like a gel when applied this way. I always hated heavy creams so I understand you completely.

Try taking an antihistamine such as Allegra or Claritin and see if the itching and inflammation will stop. If it does you’re clearly allergic to something. I was taking Allegra everyday trying to get the itching to stop and it helped a little…

Also get hypoallergenic EVERYTHING if you can spare the money. Go see a real derm and ask for your money back from Curology. Luckily I got my stuff for free and but still spent a fortune trying to fix what they fucked up.

1 point

·

11th Jun 2015

I swear by Vanicream lite lotion. CeraVe in the tub broke me out, and Cetaphil stung.

Vanicream is love, Vanicream is life. I use it on my whole body and my face 🙂

32 points

·

18th Feb 2018

Rave: Vanicream Lite Lotion

I’ve been using this for 4 weeks now, and it’s become a staple. It’s wonderfully simple and sinks into the skin quickly. It doesn’t leave a film on my face and is cosmetically elegant imo. I can use this in the AM, under sunscreen & makeup without it pilling! This is the first AM moisturizer I’ve found that is so functional. I’ve also been using this Vanicream Moisturizer at night for awhile longer, this one is more heavy duty (I like using it as my last step to seal everything in), while the Lite Lotion is more hydrating. I suggest both these moisturizers if you have oily or sensitive skin.

New Purchases: Vanicream in the tub

I like it. I’ll use it up. I’ve used it for over a week, and it makes my skin soft. It has prevented dry skin so I should be satisfied. I think I’m going to try other heavy cream moisturizers after this, because I’m not wowed by it. The tub version is different than the 4 oz moisturizer in the tube, even though the ingredient lists are pretty similar. The 4 oz tube is really not greasy at all and blends into the skin quickly. The larger tub is greasier, and takes a bit longer to sink into the skin.

Cotz spf 45 lip balm

I like this one a lot! It’s not too stiff or waxy, but it’s also not too greasy. I chose it because of this awesome review. It has a brown tint that blends into the lips well, there’s a pic in the review I linked showing how it looks on the lips.

Unrelated Rave: Redken All Soft Heavy Cream

I’ve tried countless drugstore hair masks, and this one beats them all. It was worth every penny. I didn’t use any product afterwards and my hair was soft down to the ends, shiny, and frizz free.

2 points

·

23rd May 2019

My hg moisturizer I always recommend to people who are acne-prone ,oily, or have sensitive skin is Vanicream. Vanicream has a very simple ingredient list and is great for people who are prone to skin allergies. Vanicream Light Lotion or the cream are both good. The light lotion is ideal for those who are acne prone and oily. Here’s the amazon link for the light lotion.

I’ve seen others recommend Cerave Baby Lotion

Sometimes plain carrier oils can be good for sensitive skin, I’ve found grapeseed oil doesn’t break out my skin and is moisturizing.

There are more moisturizers that are good for sensitive skin–off the top of my head Avene is a good brand. Hopefully more people will chime in 🙂

2 points

·

26th Oct 2019

> Can I ask, does this process take a lot of time for you?

Nah, not at all! I guess the thing that takes the most time is cleansing, since I apply moisturizer & sunscreen while watching stuff, multitasking, whatever. Takes under 30 seconds to apply those anyway!

> And with moisturizer and sunscreen, does it not feel sticky or thick on the face?

Depends on the kind you get! There are tons of cosmetically elegant options if you’re looking for a thin moisturizer or matte drying sunscreens.

Using light layers for your moisturizer also helps, and you don’t have to use products that you don’t enjoy using, y’know? If you only like applying moisturizer in the PM, go for it! Whatever works for you and your skin.

If you’re looking for lighter, matte drying things, you might want to check out:

Moisturizers

  • CeraVe Baby Lotion: personal favorite, it’s a thicker lotion that dries totally matte and feels lightweight on the skin. (review 1, review 2)

  • Vanicream Lite Lotion: haven’t tried it, but I’ve heard excellent things about this being a nice, lightweight yet still moisturizing lotion! Probably some reviews if you do a sub search

  • CosRx All In One 92 Hundred Thousand Snail Cream Gel: not the real name, but it should be. This is a lightweight gel-cream (exactly what it sounds like, somewhere between a gel and a cream), dries matte, nicely moisturizing, great choice

  • Sebamed Gel: I honestly can’t remember too much about this one, but it’s recommended it the sidebar and it sounds nice!

Sunscreen:

This is a mixture of Western sunscreens and Asian sunscreens. A lot of the common Western sunscreens are kinda shitty, at least if you’re looking for one that dries matte, has sufficient protection, and doesn’t feel heavy. They usually hit one or two of those factors but completely bungle the third. That means that a lot of these recs will be Asian sunscreens. Don’t write them off because of that (or because the names are a bit extra) – they’re easy to get a hold of, typically hit most of the “perfect sunscreen” factors, and they’re a whole different ballgame from your mum’s Coppertone. If you want a lightweight, matte sunscreen, go for one of these.

There’s some Western ones thrown in here too – not all Western sunscreens are bad! – it’s just typically easier to find a cosmetically elegant sunscreen from Korea or Japan.

1 point

·

20th Jan 2022

I bought 1 and this one https://www.amazon.com/Vanicream-Sensitive-Fragrance-Parabens-Formaldehyde/dp/B003XWG880?ref_=ast_sto_dp&th=1&psc=1 In comparison cream is more rich and occlusive with vaseline and lotion is lot lighter. For reference I have combo-oily skin but for dry Russian winter with raging central heating + tret cream is a perfect match.

The 2 one looks really promising and ingredients are great. It contains ceramides like CeraVe which stung my face for some reason (both cream and lotion) so I really want to try this one.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2020

Okay I posted earlier about needing a new moisturizer after trying Cerave in the tub, Cerave PM, Cerave AM, and Cerave baby cream and them all causing some form of cystic acne or milia.

I’m now trying to decide between the Vanicream Lite Lotion and the Neutrogena Hydro Boost Gel-Cream Face Moisturizer.

Opinions? I have Type 1 combination, acne-prone skin.

I’m still not sure what specific ingredient is breaking me out but I have it narrowed down to a list of common ingredients.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2020

As someone who has taken a course of Accutane, I would advise you to not touch them at all. Try not to even sleep on them which could make them pop. You might be super self-conscious about it now, but if you pick at them and pop them there’s a chance that it’ll scar, and that lasts forever unless you get really expensive treatments done to minimize the scarring. I’m dealing with that now myself. Accutane is way too harsh to try to do anything else on top of it. I will recommend a moisturizer to use with the link down below. But please, gently wash your face (I’ll list a great face wash to use too) and moisturize. That’s it. Most importantly, use sunscreen, your skin is so sensitive to the sun on Accutane, and you need to be avoiding the sun like the plague until you are done, and a month or two after too. You should be using a sunscreen every day regardless, though. Find a fragrance free sunscreen that you can tolerate. I’ll list the one I used down below. Let Accutane do its thing. You’ll look back at this picture and be so happy you didn’t pick at your skin or irritate it more, patience!

​

Coincidentally, all of these are from the same brand. Feel free to use a different sunscreen, this one might not be the most cosmetically elegant one, but I was running around outside a lot, so I didn’t care.

You can find these are your local Walgreens too if you don’t want to wait for shipping or have Amazon.

Click here for moisturizer

Click here for face wash

Sunscreen spf 35 (not sure if I used the 35 or 50+, I don’t remember).

Sunscreen spf 50+

1 point

·

28th Apr 2019
  • The issue(s) Really no issue, just want to be proactive (22M). Occasional breakout but nothing consistent. Am outside studying for 3+ hours a day, I’m sure there is damage I can’t see yet.
  • Skin type. Normal skin type? Never had an issue with oil/dryness
  • Current routine NOTHING. Shower every day or every other day
  • Anything new No
  • Your location USA

​

Going through the subreddit I’ve more or less randomly picked the following:

Vanicream Lite Lotion Pump

Vanicream Gentle Facial Cleanser

– Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution

– Skin Aqua UV Super Moisture Milk *PLEASE* if you have any other recommendations here it would be greatly appreciated.

​

Thank you (:

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2018
  • The issue(s) Can’t tell if I have razor bumps or acne (or a combination). Probably started around 4 weeks ago, but it’s getting worse now. Looking for products that may help get rid of it. Do I need a better routine? Masque? Scrub? Asian Male, 27 years old.

  • Skin type. Oily, sensitive skin. I have eczema in certain places of my body like finger, arm, and back so I avoid products with MCI/MI, fragrance, and tea tree oil (very allergic)

  • Current routine

  • How long 9 months

  • Anything new I had just started using a new electric razor and I [am ashamed to] admit that I haven’t changed my pillowcase in these 4 weeks. The bumps/acne appear around the places I have more difficulty shaving. Immediately after, I see bumps, but I don’t know this is a combination of bumps and acne. Also, don’t know how much diet plays a role but I have been indulging in sweets lately. I have also been really stressed (job interview, internship hours, applying for graduation, certification exam)

  • Your location Texas

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2018
  • The issue(s) Can’t tell if I have razor bumps or acne (or a combination). Probably started around 4 weeks ago, but it’s getting worse now. Looking for products that may help get rid of it. Do I need a better routine? Masque? Scrub? Asian Male, 27 years old.

  • Skin type. Oily, sensitive skin. I have eczema in certain places of my body like finger, arm, and back so I avoid products with MCI/MI, fragrance, and tea tree oil (very allergic)

  • Current routine

  • How long 9 months

  • Anything new I had just started using a new electric razor and I [am ashamed to] admit that I haven’t changed my pillowcase in these 4 weeks. The bumps/acne appear around the places I have more difficulty shaving. Immediately after, I see bumps, but I don’t know this is a combination of bumps and acne. Also, don’t know how much diet plays a role but I have been indulging in sweets lately. I have also been really stressed (job interview, internship hours, applying for graduation, certification exam)

  • Your location Texas

1 point

·

24th Feb 2018

I like Vanicream Lite Lotion & Olay Moisturizing Lotion Sensitive Skin. I personally prefer using the Vanicream Lite Lotion in the AM. My skin has felt really balanced after using Skinlex 10% niacinamide serum. This is a really watery, light weight serum that’s moisturizing. Niacinamide helps the skin retain moisture & boosts lipid levels, I find it layers well under light moisturizers. Paula’s 10% niacinamide, Stratia Rewind (5% niacinamide) are good too.

edit: A lightweight sunscreen I like is Olay spf 30 in the yellow box, also the Biore UV Watery Gel is nice. There are a lot of great, light weight Asian sunscreens

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

This one