What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Vanicream Liquid Cleanser | Fragrance, Gluten and Sulfate Free | For Sensitive Skin | 8 Fl Oz | Packaging May Vary?

A total of 13 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

13th Aug 2020

Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser | Fragrance, Gluten and Sulfate Free | For Sensitive Skin | 8 Fl Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000ZHOEU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_RxxnFbEEK05GE

I have super sensitive skin. This is The only wash I’ve not had a problem with! Plus it’s super affordable
!

2 points

·

29th Aug 2020

I can’t use cerave products either. I’m currently using Vanicream Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser and am enjoying it. It foams but isn’t stripping or drying like most cleansers seem to be in my experience. The amazon link has it at $7.99 for 8 fluid oz so it’s pretty cheap. You only need a little to get plenty of foaming action so the bottle should last several months at least.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2021

I use free and clear liquid cleanser which has been a godsend for my dyshydrotic eczema. Also had the same issue with regular hand soap and dish soap Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser | Fragrance, Gluten and Sulfate Free | For Sensitive Skin | 8 Fl Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000ZHOEU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_R1KF0AVGNFMTP8XVJA22?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

13th Aug 2020

Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser | Fragrance, Gluten and Sulfate Free | For Sensitive Skin | 8 Fl Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0000ZHOEU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_RxxnFbEEK05GE

This stuff. Lifesaver. I’m telling you.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

My skin type is dry, sensitive, prone to clogged pores and dehydration. It’s also prone to reactions as I have ingredient allergies (including fragrance).

For about 9 months I used and enjoyed the Ceramedx Extra Gentle Cleanser. It’s a creamy, super gentle, non-foaming cleanser. IMO it’s comparable to the Cerave Hydrating cleanser, except in my experience it didn’t leave behind any film. AFAIK it did not cause me any reactions or breakouts. This is not really intended to remove makeup or skincare but on days I skipped my micellar water I feel like it removed more than the cerave would’ve. I liked this but won’t be repurchasing as I found a different cleanser I’m now enjoying.

Ingredients: Aqua, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Behentrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Ceramide NP, Lecithin, Phospholipids, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Lauroyl Glycinate, Citric Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

Currently using and enjoying the Vanicream Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser, not to be confused with the popular Vanicream gentle facial cleanser. This is a foaming cleanser but it surprisingly doesn’t feel stripping like most others do. I once googled the pH of this cleanser and found this post sharing the brand’s feedback that the Vanicream free & clear liquid is between 5-5.8 while the Vanicream facial cleanser is between 6-7. That info could now be outdated but I do wonder if that’s why the free & clear feels less stripping for me. It removes skincare but I still use a micellar water first to break up makeup and sunscreen. The free & clear can sting my eyes if I really rub it in to take off mascara, but it doesn’t cause a problem if I just gloss over the area after removing makeup.

Ingredients: Purified water, glycerin, disodium lauroamphodiacetate, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, PEG-120 methyl glucose dioleate, sodium myristoyl sarcosinate, isostearamidopropyl morpholine lactate, sodium chloride, citric acid, bis-PEG-18 methyl ether dimethyl silane, potassium sorbate, tetrasodium EDTA.

For anyone curious, I use the YourGoodSkin brand micellar water from Walgreen’s. I previously used the bioderma sensibio (red cap) but turns out I am super allergic to something in it unfortunately. (Since the product smells so wonderful I wonder if there may be some natural fragrant component to one of the ingredients).

Overall, I’d recommend each of these cleansers to try out for different purposes!

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

My skin type is dry, sensitive, prone to clogged pores and dehydration. It’s also prone to reactions as I have ingredient allergies (including fragrance).

For about 9 months I used and enjoyed the Ceramedx Extra Gentle Cleanser. It’s a creamy, super gentle, non-foaming cleanser. IMO it’s comparable to the Cerave Hydrating cleanser, except in my experience it didn’t leave behind any film. AFAIK it did not cause me any reactions or breakouts. This is not really intended to remove makeup or skincare but on days I skipped my micellar water I feel like it removed more than the cerave would’ve. I liked this but won’t be repurchasing as I found a different cleanser I’m now enjoying.

Ingredients: Aqua, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Behentrimonium Chloride, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Ceramide NP, Lecithin, Phospholipids, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Sterols, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate, Panthenol, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Sodium Lauroyl Glycinate, Citric Acid, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

Currently using and enjoying the Vanicream Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser, not to be confused with the popular Vanicream gentle facial cleanser. This is a foaming cleanser but it surprisingly doesn’t feel stripping like most others do. I once googled the pH of this cleanser and found this post sharing the brand’s feedback that the Vanicream free & clear liquid is between 5-5.8 while the Vanicream facial cleanser is between 6-7. That info could now be outdated but I do wonder if that’s why the free & clear feels less stripping for me. It removes skincare but I still use a micellar water first to break up makeup and sunscreen. The free & clear can sting my eyes if I really rub it in to take off mascara, but it doesn’t cause a problem if I just gloss over the area after removing makeup.

For anyone curious, I use the YourGoodSkin brand micellar water from Walgreen’s. I previously used the bioderma sensibio (red cap) but turns out I am super allergic to something in it unfortunately. (Since the product smells so wonderful I wonder if there may be some natural fragrant component to one of the ingredients).

Overall, I’d recommend each of these cleansers to try out for different purposes!

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2020

A few weeks ago I purchased the Vanicream Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser and was so happy to discover that it’s wonderful! It’s one of the gentlest foaming cleansers I’ve ever tried, even more so than the popular Vanicream Gentle Facial Cleanser. I liked Cerave Baby wash a few years ago but eventually found that Cerave products also caused me problems (no fault of theirs though, turns out I’m allergic to at least one of the ingredients they use). Cetaphil gentle cleanser and Kose speedy cleansing oil were also stripping on my skin. The Free & Clear is effective but gentle enough that even if I don’t moisturize right after cleansing, my skin still feels pretty comfortable, which never happens w/ other cleansers.

According to this post, the vanicream free & clear liquid cleanser’s ph is between 5-5.8 while the vanicream gentle facial cleanser is 6-7.

Ingredients: purified water, glycerin, sodium lauroamphoacetate, sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, PEG-120 methyl glucose dioleate, sodium chloride, citric acid, sodium laurate, bis-PEG-18 methyl ether dimethyl silane, potassium sorbate, tetrasodium EDTA

I will say, I don’t like rubbing the vanicream into my eyes to break up mascara. it stings a tiny bit. But if I remove my eye makeup with micellar water first and then just wash the cleanser over my eyes & face as you normally would, it’s fine and there’s no stinging whatsoever. So I wouldn’t recommend this to remove make up but as a follow up cleanser to remove skincare and sunscreen (it removes my water resistant Uriage sunscreen w/o issue).

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2018

Free & Clear Liquid Cleanser, Hada Labo Skin Plumping Gel Cream, and Fenty foundation sound like they’re worth a shot. Best of luck finding products that work for you!

1 point

·

20th May 2018

Yes, you not only can but really should! Your skin type sounds a bit similar to mine. I used to think I had oily skin that needed to be dried out in order to get rid of breakouts. Nope! Turns out that switching to a cleanser that was 1) low ph and 2) gentle enough actually caused my skin to balance itself out and stop being so oily. It took some time to get used to because I was so used to the “squeaky clean” feeling of using a harsher foaming cleanser. But turns out that feeling (and any tightness) is actually a sign of skin barrier harm. Boo.

The gentle cleanser alone wasn’t enough to get rid of breakouts, but that’s what other topical treatments (for me, Paula’s Choice BHA) are for. The point of gentle cleansing is to first stop making your skin worse (ie overdrying it/ irritating it/ damaging the barrier with harsh cleansers), so you can get out of the way and let your actives do their job.

To add to the list of suggestions, here are some more low ph gentle cleansers that have worked for me, in order of gentle to stronger. I use the gentler ones in the winter and slightly stronger ones in the summer.

Personally I haven’t been able to find any cleansing oils that have worked for my skin :/, somehow my skin just hates most oils. But I moisturize plenty after cleansing with hyaluronic acid and squalane, with no breakouts.

https://www.laroche-posay.us/toleriane-hydrating-gentle-cleanser-3337875545778.html

http://www.hadalabousa.com/products/moisturizing/

https://www.dermstore.com/product_Derma+Topix+NonDrying+Gentle+Cleansing+Lotion_31959.htm#!

https://www.amazon.com/Free-Clear-Liquid-Cleanser-Ounce/dp/B0000ZHOEU

1 point

·

16th Aug 2015

http://www.amazon.com/Free-Clear-Liquid-Cleanser-Ounce/dp/B0000ZHOEU

Doesn’t contain any ingredients that are aggravating and is very gentle.

1 point

·

1st Aug 2015

This is my favorite cleanser because it cleans effectively (I double cleanse with mineral oil) and it is the most gentle I’ve ever used. Cerave foaming is popular on this sub but it’s not my personal favorite.