What is the opinion of Reddit about the
V-MODA Crossfade LP Over-the-Ear Headphones (Gunmetal Black)?

A total of 14 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2015

http://www.amazon.com/V-MODA-Crossfade-Over-Headphones-Gunmetal/dp/B003BYRGKY

Just buy these and be happy with the purchase. They’re well liked and apparently bomb proof. I’ve personally never listened to them but a coworker has the on-ear version and likes them. Pop on over to /r/headphones and look up some reviews if you want to know more about the sound. From what I’ve read the general consensus is the sound quality is about average with a bit of an emphasis on the low end. This seems to cause people to say the mids are muddy and the highs are too far back but I would guess this is just personal preference.

Don’t read too much though. Going down the audio rabbit hole is terrible and people are really opinionated. Odds are these will probably fit the bill rather nicely and spending more money won’t get you any benefits for sound quality.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2015

I would suggest the V-MODA Crossfade LP headphones. Now I know they aren’t technically a headset made for gaming, however I have loved using them with my PS4. I have had them now since last October and they are amazing quality. They will probaly last another 2 years just fine. They are the best sounding headphones I have ever had and the most durable. One of my friends who also plays PS4 bought them a couple of weeks ago and loves them. It has a built in mic that sound just as good as others. They are a great buy if you want headphones that will last years, sound great, work with gaming, and work with other devices.

3 points

·

19th Jul 2013

For those who are interested, the cans are V-Moda Crossfade LPs that can be picked up on Amazon for half price from retail (my particular pair are Gunmetal, but they come in other colors). The ear shields on the sides are interchangeable and can be custom ordered and laser engraved from the official V-Moda website in various colors, and this is the image I used for engraving… cost around $50 for the custom etching if memory serves correctly.

On the nerdier side of audio, the headphone amp/DAC (digital audio converter) combo sitting on the left is a portable FiiO e07k Andes, all being played from a Google Nexus 10.

Out of the box, the LPs are a bit bassy (or “muddy” as some people call it), but using an amp really cleans everything up, in my personal opinion, and pushes the cans to their potential. For those who don’t really consider themselves “audiophiles” or whatever you want to call it, headphone amps make a pretty big difference on mid – high range audiogear… near night and day in my opinion.

Hope this answers any questions about the set up! 😀

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2015

I use V-Moda Crossfade LPs with their Boom Mic. Crazy comfortable even for long gaming sessions. I have a second pair I use at work.

1 point

·

20th Nov 2015

I don’t have much experience with that price range and closed headphones, but the popular options are: V-Moda Crossfades, Beyer DT770s, and ATH-A900x. They’re around the 150 mark. The A900x are a little more balanced than the other two, and have an adequate amount of bass without sacrificing mids and soundstage. The DT770s are the closed versions of what I have, and the treble can be a bit piercing if you’re not into that (but the bass is bouncing). The V-Modas are favorites for gamers too, but the soundstage of the A900x is usually rated as the most immersive of the three, and they’re still good for other genres too. Also, they’re the cheapest of the three.

1 point

·

19th Oct 2015

I’ve got the cheapest model, the Crossfade LP for $120. they’ve got good sound quality though since I haven’t used many quality headphones I can’t comment on anything better than that.

it came with it’s own soft carrying case, 2 cords, and a 3.5mm to guitar jack.

here’s the next model up

1 point

·

15th Sep 2015
1 point

·

11th Aug 2015

Comfort seems to be a very common complaint for these headphones. Other than changing out the ear cushions for ones with more padding, which doesn’t seem very possible with these, I would begin looking for a nice pair of headphones. For a similar price, albeit not bluetooth, I would reccomend the V-Moda Crossfade LP v2. I have had a pair of these headphones and they are amazing. The sound quality is superb, they come in a variety of styles, they are customizable, and they have numerous attachments. I would also recommend getting the XL cushions as the stock cushions to tend to box the tips of your ears in after wearing them for about 30 minutes.

1 point

·

31st Jul 2015

if you want some headphones that are higher quality, bass heavy, cheaper, and built like a fucking tank (mine have personally fallen down stairs, concrete and hardwood floors a couple times) give these a try

1 point

·

28th Jun 2015
  • Budget – $150
  • Source – Phone Ipod and PC
  • Requirements for Isolation – Some, mostly indoor use
  • Preferred Type of Headphone –
  • Preferred tonal balance – Basshead, don’t want it to be too overpowering though
  • Preferred Music – Almost exclusively rap, some EDM and trap

I already have some options lined up:

VModa Crossfade LP

VModa Crossfade LP2

ATH M50x

Another requirement of mine is that the headphones have to be good looking, I don’t want to spend a decent chunk of money on headphones I find unattractive.

1 point

·

24th Feb 2015

To clarify, that’s these?

0 points

·

8th Jun 2014

If you have $130 to drop on headphones, look into getting the V-MODA Crossfades. They’re built like tanks.

0 points

·

3rd Oct 2013

Invest in a nice pair of headphones.

I recommend V-Moda Crossfades. They are extremely high quality, have great customer support, and are definitely BIFL. Those things are tested to military standards while maintaining a badass look. They also sound much better than a pair of Beats that you could get for the same (if not higher) price.

(IIRC you can also custom order some laser-engraved sideplates. Yes, those metal plates on the sides are interchangeable.)