What is the opinion of Reddit about the
TP-Link AC1200 Dual-Band Wi-Fi RouterNew Retail, Archer_C6New Retail?

A total of 27 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2022

Depends on your internet speed, if you are looking to upgrade to a new router choose one which has duel band wifi (2.4GHz & 5GHz), MU-MIMO, ddos protection, prefer one with 1gigabit wan port (so you won’t have to buy a new one in case you upgrade your internet speed plan) & good after sales support.

I have been using tp link archer c6 for last few months and it performs well and range is also good & it does support ddns.

https://www.amazon.in/TP-Link-Archer-C6-Wireless-MU-MIMO/dp/B07GVR9TG7/ref=sr\_1\_3?keywords=tp+link+archer+c6&qid=1642828870&sprefix=tp+li%2Caps%2C267&sr=8-3

1 point

·

1st Sep 2021

You won’t have great performance with something like that; the antennas are optimized to be small/look good, rather than for performance.

For that price, it’s not too much more to get an Archer C6 (only get the one with gigabit ports; just 10/100 isn’t what you want ( https://www.amazon.co.uk/Archer-C6-Wireless-External-Antennas/dp/B07GVR9TG7/ )) – set it up as an Access Point instead of a router, and it should be configurable similarly to the item that you asked about, but with a much better chance of performing reasonably.

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2021

Sorry, for bothering you, but do you think that this router would be able to do the job? I read through the reviews, and it seems to work, but I am not certain. Otherwise, any tips on a cheap modem?

1 point

·

23rd Jun 2021

Obrigada pelo post de ajuda!!! Acho que o Archer C6 pode ser uma tremenda de uma bosta na sua casa. É fácil de verificar e e geralmente vem com o servidor configurado em automático, no Brasil tem que pensar demais!

1 point

·

18th May 2021

Acho que o Archer C6 pode ser uma pergunta estúpida, mas não é mais fácil do que eu pagava na Vivo.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

Ich habe zwei von denen. Einen im Keller und den anderen auf dem Dachboden. Jeweils über ein langes Kabel mit dem Router verbunden.
Ich kann mich nicht beklagen, habe aber auch keine Alternativen getestet.
Was sehr cool ist, dass man für 2,3 und für 5 ghz eigene wifi Netzwerke aufmachen kann.

TP-Link Archer C6 Dualband Gigabit WLAN-Router (867Mbit/s 5GHz + 300Mbit/s 2,4GHz, 4 Gigabit LAN-Port, Mu-MIMO, IPTV, VPN, 4 externe Antennen) schwarz https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07GVR9TG7/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_hEaVFbMEY1TTK

1 point

·

11th Aug 2020

I am planning to buy this router. Should I go for it? Also, INR 2500 is my budget. I have been TL-WR841N for the past “I don’t remember how many” years. Now it loses internet connection and I have to restart the router to get internet connectivity.

1 point

·

28th Apr 2020

Dedicated 5Ghz Router Shopping help!

Ok, so I currently have a Gaming Rig that works flawlessly with wired Headsets. I also have Gigabit Broadband and a dedicated 5Ghz router that is dedicated to my Quest (router is in the same room as the Quest).

I have attached the specs of my PC and here’s the link to my router: https://www.amazon.in/TP-Link-Archer-C6-Wireless-MU-MIMO/dp/B07GVR9TG7. I just purchased it because back at the Quest launch as had 5GHZ and was keeping me from dropping connection when I had it connected to my regular Comcast mesh system. I didn’t purchase it with the Virtual Desktop in mind.

I have purchased and setup Virtual Desktop on my Quest and all the necessary components on my PC (Virtual Desktop streamer app, and Revive).

I can successfully load and play all of my Steam VR and Oculus library games – so THAT part is great.

However, even though the latency on the streamer app only shows 22ms, I am still getting visual and audio stuttering – about every 5 to 10 seconds. Enough to make me want a refund for the VD app and to go back to strictly native Quest games.

My question is, which is the current recommended dedicated 5Ghz router to maximize this setup? Price isn’t an option, and I can either buy from Microcenter or Amazon. I would prefer something in stock because I am super impulsive.

Thanks in advance!!

1 point

·

4th Oct 2019

Get this one you will not regret, out of all I tried this gives the most stable and most range and is also dual-band and supports 1gigabit lan.

TP-Link Archer C6 AC1200 Wireless MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

3 points

·

15th Aug 2020

Good post. Few more points:

  1. WAN port speeds of network devices are calculated in powers of 10. So after 100Mbps it’s 1000Mbps or 1Gbps. These are called Gigabit routers. Example.
    Why is this important? Say your ACT plan is ACT Storm (150Mbps speed with 650GB FUP) . If you were using TP-Link WR841N then your max speed would be capped at 100Mbps (~90Mbps practically) since this router has a 100Mbps WAN port. To get full speeds you would need to upgrade to a Gigabit router like Archer C6 .
    The 300Mbps advertised in WR841N is the LAN speed (between 2 devices connected to this router) not WAN speed.

  2. More torrent sites are blocked on Airtel compared to ACT…but for now using a VPN you can bypass the restrictions.

  3. In budget range the best AC1200 router you can get is Archer C6…but if you are willing to spend quite a bit extra, the ASUS RT-AC66U B1 is future proof until WiFi 6 is commonplace.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2022
1 point

·

25th Sep 2021

At that budget Archer C6, https://www.amazon.co.uk/Archer-C6-Wireless-External-Antennas/dp/B07GVR9TG7/r

Archer C80 would probably be the next set up, https://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-MU-MIMO-Wireless-Supports-Parental/dp/B0845XD62P/

No guarantee you’ll get something better than your ISP’s at this price point. What does your ISP provide and what issue do you have with it?

1 point

·

19th May 2021

I’ll tell what I finally decided to do and what anyone else who is in a similar situation should do:
1. If your budget permits then change your router and buy any of these two –

a) TP-Link Archer C6 Gigabit (Rs.2,499) – It’s reviews are centered around the great UI the app which it can be controlled by offers, also the reliability which many users pointed out in multiple threads. Also from what I’ve read about the features acc to the official recommendations , it seems it has everything which you might ever need unless you have some specific requirements. ///// Also check out the pricing pattern on amazon from here – Price chart because sometime it drops by 250Rs, if you are looking forward for that.

​

b) Tenda AC08 (usually Rs.2,199) – Don’t fall for the amazon reviews as the pictures are of an older version and the reviews too are of the older version. Major difference which this has compared to its TP-Link counterpart is that it has antennas of higher dbi 4 x 6dbi basically extra signal strength (don’t confuse dbi with range) but has enough range to meet your requirements iirc. Also it is not usually expensive like it is currently priced on amazon for 3k (may,2021 rate), so wait for the price to fall and grab one

  1. The main problem persists with router only or ports, so if you have a problem with ports too (like me) then a ‘switch’ would do the job which usually costs like Rs.500

Tldr: Buy a router if your budget permits and if not then post under this comment what your budget is; also if you want to reduce your router budget, I would highly recommend don’t because 2k range future proof’s your setup.
Also there are possible ways through which you can ask your ISP and return your current router and get money in return of it (which is usually deposited at the start of the connection) and choose the way of buying a new one acc to your choice.

Would love to know more about any other network problems you are facing and find a way out!

1 point

·

18th Apr 2021

Ao preço que estão os AP’s acho que mais vale comprar um router que suporte modo AP que acaba por ficar mais barato. Comprei um da TP link por 40€ na amazon e até se arranja mais barato

Edit: Foi este que comprei e até está mais barato agora. 0 razão de queixa, tenho há mais de um ano e nunca me falhou. https://www.amazon.de/-/en/gp/product/B07GVR9TG7/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

16th Dec 2020

TP-Link Archer C6 it works great

1 point

·

10th Nov 2020

From my experience (my place + 2 friends’ place) the Ziggo box wifi is quite bad. You can fix this by installing a wifi router in front of it and configure it in bridge/access point mode.

My friends bought this one https://www.amazon.nl/dp/B07GVR9TG7 which worked much better and didn’t break the bank. Worst case, you install it, you see it doesn’t fix your issue, you have 2 weeks to send it back and get your money back. Ymmv though.

1 point

·

20th Oct 2020
1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

I have hathway wired broadband in my area. I still have the router cum modem CM5100-511

that hathway provided. The wifi speed and range is horrible.. I get like 2-4 mbps on wifi connected devices. 🙁

Still trying to confirm if it is router issue.

I might give one of these a try :

https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B07GVR9TG7/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A14CZOWI0VEHLG&psc=1

or

https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B07CY9XT6P/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?smid=AZX00KK1TSPBZ&psc=1

1 point

·

4th Oct 2020

So, if you want better coverage and better multi device support mesh router is better.(does not need ethernet cable between them , I asked because number of ethernet ports are less)

If you want single devices , all of below will be an upgrade for you (in order of performance and cost)

Tp link C6

archer A7

D-Link DIR-X1560 – AX1500 – wifi 6 same soc as tp-link archer AX10 but cheaper

Archer AX10

1 point

·

6th Aug 2020

There are a bunch of them here. Which one would you suggest? I currently have Netgear N600 router which used to work fine earlier, but having troubles since past 6 months now.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2020

Sure, I should have mentioned it from the beginning. The router is a TP-Link Archer C6 while the switch would be TP Link TL SG105E.

1 point

·

17th Aug 2020

Sure bro, here is the Amazon link of the router it’s tp link archer c6

1 point

·

14th Feb 2020

I’m not too sure what you mean, since in my current house, the TAE phone cable uses RJ45 and it connects directly to the modem, but into a DSL port. I tried unplugging one of the Ethernet cable from the LAN port into the DSL port and it fits. I just dont know what the different between WAN and DSL port in this case.

Like according to this listing on Amazon as well (https://www.amazon.de/dp/B07GVR9TG7/ref=sr_1_7?_encoding=UTF8&camp=1638&creative=19454&keywords=TP-Link+Archer+VR2800v&linkCode=ur2&qid=1581685284&site-redirect=de&sr=8-7&x=0&y=0) apparently connecting to ISP through RJ-45 is supported with a router. I am asking just to make sure.

I am moving so I’m just looking for some way to cut cost.