What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Topping DX3 Pro LDAC Headphone Amplifier DAC DSD512 PCM32bit/768kHz XMOS XU208 APTX USB Bluetooth Decoder Headphone Amplifier (Black)?

A total of 9 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2020

I don’t know your budget but you can get a Topping DX3 Pro for 200-220 bucks. It has your optical input, R/L out, and Bluetooth. It’s a pretty well received fax/amp with a lot of features you want. You’ll have to check the rest of the specs and see if it has the juice for your headphones and speakers. Although from what I’ve read, if your headphones are running from the power of your PC they shouldn’t be a problem for this dac/amp. Topping DX3 Pro

Also someone correct me if I’m wrong, can’t you run an Amp only if the Mobo is newer and runs a halfway decent audio chip? Especially if you get a decent amp that gives you a clear power output and decreases the noise floor you’d get if you plugged it up to your pc?

1 point

·

19th Dec 2018

Topping DX3 Pro Headphone Amplifier DAC DSD512 PCM32bit/768kHz XMOS XU208 APTX USB Bluetooth Decoder Headphone Amplifier (Black) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KG9P3X3/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_HpBgCbN93RMNY

You should be able to find it cheaper on eBay. I got mine on amazon for $185 shipped. I suspect they’re selling fast and the lower priced sellers can’t keep them in stock. I bet after Christmas it will fix itself.

2 points

·

16th Jul 2019

The Topping DX3 Pro is in amazon for $176.

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2020

>d the sound is good for the money. Also, they often sell B-stock (which is what I almost always get) directly from their site which can save you a few more $. There is also the audioengine DACs. Another good sounding option within your budget.

https://www.amazon.com/-/es/DX3-Pro-Headphone-Amplifier-Bluetooth/dp/B07KG9P3X3/ref=sr_1_2?__mk_es_US=%C3%85M%C3%85%C5%BD%C3%95%C3%91&crid=FR6599C4LBPB&dchild=1&keywords=topping+dx3+pro&qid=1598222747&sprefix=topping+dx%2Caps%2C211&sr=8-2 It is, and has a very good review in ASR.

1 point

·

17th Aug 2020

Hey European guy here!

If you do not intend to game with them you do not need the mic input! if you do wish to game, grab the mmx300 v2, freaking fantastic headphones! i mean these are crazy good for music!

It comes with two wires, one to just plug into your phone or an amp, and one that has a split connection for the mic. So you could just plug the mic into the mic input on your computer with 3.5mm extension.

grab this amp/dac

https://www.amazon.de/DX3-Pro-Headphone-Amplifier-Bluetooth-Black/dp/B07KG9P3X3/ref=sr_1_7?dchild=1&keywords=kopfh%C3%B6rerverst%C3%A4rker&qid=1597683832&sr=8-7

here are teh headphones, get them on beyer website, you can try them no worries for 60 days, they even include a return label.

https://www.beyerdynamic.de/mmx-300.html

​

btw the mmx are like a super 770, and they have the removable wire, which the dt770 do not have

1 point

·

28th Aug 2020

Yamaha RN303 on sale for $279 is a sweet deal.

that Denon is great, can vouch for the Emotiva stuff as well, great at the price point.

You can also check out the Topping amps on amazon, I use these in my home office.

Dont forget you can use a Chromcast Audio for wireless playing which is usually preferred vs Bluetooth in addition to the Echo stuff mentioned below. if your an apple phone user Airplay is pretty awesome.

https://www.accessories4less.com/ is your friend for deals.

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2019

If you get the DX3 Pro make sure you get the LDAC version. This is the v2 of the original and they fixed the big issue in the Z Review (switching between full line out and pre-out is now a separate option and not available in the output cycle) and also some quality issue that caused the unit to die prematurely.

https://www.amazon.com/DX3-Pro-Headphone-Amplifier-Bluetooth/dp/B07KG9P3X3/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=topping+dx3+pro&qid=1569144000&sr=8-4

I have the DX3 Pro LDAC and love it and yes you can do what you want. To switch between Full Line out and Pre-Out when using it in DAC mode requires you to unplug power then hold the volume wheel and apply power then navigate to the option and select full line out or pre-out. This is covered in the manual. You can no longer accidentally switch to full line out and blow your speakers on the device or remote like you could in the original.

Double pressing on the volume wheel cycles between DAC, Headphone, and DAC/Headphone at the same time. And also Bluetooth if you have it enabled. Then single pressing on the volume wheel cycles between inputs. Wish you could reverse this but you can’t. I cycle between outputs more than inputs.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2019

With a good Realtek ALC1220 implementation you don’t need a sound card for 99.9% of setups. Only with high impedance headphones would I suggest an upgraded audio solution.

An external DAC + amp will beat a sound card by a significant margin, at least in terms of figures such as signal to noise ratio.

https://www.amazon.com/DX3-Pro-Headphone-Amplifier-Bluetooth/dp/B07KG9P3X3

If you have some nice headphones such as Sennheiser 6XX I would opt for a unit such as the Topping DX3 to drive them. It performs really well, even against more expensive setups.

https://www.audiosciencereview.com/forum/index.php?threads/review-and-measurements-of-topping-dx3pro-dac-and-headphone-amp.4967/

If you have some cheaper headphones but still want something better than on-board, the FiiO E10K is a good value.

https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-E10K-Headphone-Amplifier-Black/dp/B00LP3AMC2

0 points

·

19th Jun 2019

I think there’s a little less power on the liquid spark but it’s still really good. A good DAC/AMP combo with a nice BT remote is the Topping DX3 that’s on Amazon too.