What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Toddy Cold Brew System, 1 EA, white – coffee maker?

A total of 43 reviews of this product on Reddit.

36 points

·

9th Jul 2018

Your “total amateur” status and preference for the sweet, iced drinks can save you a LOT of money!

You can make some very similar drinks using a cold brew concentrate, flavored syrup, milk, and ice. You only need to spend $20-40 to make cold brew, and it’s very easy. The Toddy is a good kit, you can also use a french press, and there are many more DIY versions.

3 points

·

11th Jul 2021

I used to use a mason jar (30g medium ground coffee, 500ml water, in fridge 48 hours, then strain through Melita filter), but now I use Toddy to create a concentrate. This will usually last me two weeks (each drink about 1/2 concentrate, 1/2 water), one week if the missus joins in. I find it every bit as good as Starbucks or my local coffee shop.

3 points

·

28th Jun 2018

I may oversimplify the whole process, but I use a toddy press for cold brew. I’ll buy a pound of coffee and have it ground at the shop where I bought it, and brew per the systems instructions. It’s concentrated, so a batch easily lasts me between a week and 2 weeks. It’s super easy, and I paid $30 for my kit at least 7 years ago, and all I’ve had to purchase since are replacement stoppers and filters.

here is the link to the toddy press on amazon

3 points

·

17th Oct 2020

This is interesting. I’ve been using coffee grounds in the dry mix for years. Never thought to add brewed coffee. I’ll have to try concentrated Toddy coffee instead. Thanks for the inspiration!

2 points

·

7th Aug 2020

Check out Toddy coffee cold brew system.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_D3jlFbHJKZK01
It takes time but it makes the good stuff. I leave it to steep for up to 3 days in the frig to get a nice stout coffee base.
If you have a Smart & Final nearby the Peerless brand coffee beans are phenomenal and economical.

2 points

·

29th Apr 2015

I’ve had a Toddy System like this for years. Works great

Edit, my method
* Add 1 tin Trader Joe’s “Cup of Joe” (ground to store’s percolator setting) to brew container
* Fill container with cold, filtered water until coffee/water is to rim of container
* Steep for 12-16 hr (typically overnight), covered
* Drain and use 1 part concentrate with 3 parts milk and/or water to make drink of choice

1 point

·

24th Sep 2021

Hello, coffee roaster here. Your 1:4 ratio seems good. Try upping that a bit maybe. You should use coarsely ground coffee. At the shop we steep our coffee for 18-14 hours, refrigeration is not required. The acidity of the water does come into play and I could see that causing it to become sour. Maybe try getting a cold brew system, Toddy Cold Brew System, 1 EA https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_VKF1JF9NA4Y9MR4P81FW?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

29th Jul 2020

I have had great luck with using the Toddy Cold Brew maker. It makes a concentrate that you cut with water. I do it for about 12-14 hours and it is delicious. I just use the recipe in the manual. Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_ZdBiFbBZ3SWBM

1 point

·

14th Jun 2019

I use this toddy cold brew system. You just dump coffee grounds in the big white pot (insert filter and rubber stopper first, obvs), then add water (I add more than they say because more liquid fits in the glass container than the recipe calls for, so I do 9 cups of cold water). Let sit for 24 hours, then remove the stopper and let your lovely liquid drain from the white container into the glass container. Store in the fridge.

To serve, I usually do it black, between 1:2 and 1:1 ration of coffee:water, plus ice cubes. If I’m feeling fancy, I will sometimes add a splash of cream and mayyyyyybe some sugar free vanilla or sugar free hazelnut syrup. Usually, I use a flavored coffee, so I don’t really need the syrup. The toddy makes for very low acidic, super smooth coffee. It gets an almost chocolaty flavor to it.

The cheap-ass hazelnut coffee from Aldi makes a reeeeeally nice cold brew in this system.

I also have put cinnamon in with my coffee while it’s brewing. It takes longer to drain and the cinnamon clogs up the filter a bit, but it cleans up nicely and I really enjoy the cinnamon flavor in my coffee, without the dry/grittiness of actually putting cinnamon in.

​

ETA: I use 12oz of ground coffee for 9 cups of water. The longer you let it brew, the stronger it will be.

1 point

·

7th Mar 2019

Cold brewed coffee is delightfully different, bright and refreshing. You can get an cold brew toddy system on Amazon for not too much then brew an entire pound at a time for some super strong concentrate that’ll knock your socks off. Mix a couple of shots with milk and some sweetener and you’re off to the races. Grind a pound of something you’ve never tried before at the store. Use their grinder, on the absolute coarsest setting it will do, then brew it 24-48 hours in your fridge before pulling the plug to drain it into the carafe.

https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/

1 point

·

4th Oct 2018

The ratio you need is a full pound of coffee beans, ground at the coarsest setting available using the store’s grinder, mixed with a full gallon of water. Mix it well and then keep it cold, in the fridge, for 24-48 hours, then filter it. Filtering it is tough without the proper gear. I strongly suggest this system:
https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW

It’s only ~$24 and you can’t go wrong with it.

1 point

·

28th Jul 2018

Cold brew. My favorite method is using the Toddy Cold Brew System. Cold brewing reduces the extraction of certain compounds which usually makes it more approachable, especially for those new to coffee. I prefer using lighter roasts. I’d skip flavored coffee (e.g. macadamia, almond, spiced, etc). Go to a good local roaster and pick up freshly roasted bag and have them grind it as coarse as possible. The Toddy folks recommend blending the concentrate at a ratio of two parts water/milk to one part coffee concentrate. Start there and adjust for your tastes. I prefer a 50/50 blend of almond milk and coffee concentrate plus a little shot of real vanilla cream sweetener. I like mine over ice, even in the middle of winter, but you can microwave it if you prefer it hot.

Edit: link to Toddy, Toddy Cold Brew System https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_DGhxBb7E4DBE4

1 point

·

13th Jul 2018

Get one of these if you can. It makes the cold brew process a cinch and recipes are included.

1 point

·

14th Jun 2018

I started making cold press coffee with this.

No acidity in the coffee. And goddamned rocket fuel. Comes with instructions and everything.

1 point

·

18th May 2018

I find that bean quality doesn’t matter much at all if you’re making cold brew. I use a Toddy maker and cheap beans from Costco. No acid at all, tastes delicious black, hot or iced. One pot lasts me about two weeks. It definitely helps to grind your own beans, though. Grinders are pricey, but it’s a one-time expense.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2017

For simplicity and cheap cost I’d recommend you make cold brew. A popular device to make it is the Toddy: https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW

Basically before bed you put in coffee, water, and let it work for 10-12 hours. It will make a concentrated coffee, so add water (hot or iced)

1 point

·

19th Jul 2017

If you want to have more coffee and brew less might I recommend: Toddy I got this for Christmas and it is fan-fucking-tastic. I keep a sun tea container in the fridge and it lasts me a week or so (depends on how many in the house are drinking coffee at the time). Not that you asked for recommendations….

1 point

·

10th Jul 2017

Get yourself a Toddy cold coffee maker and then hit a local grocery store and grind up a pound of their darkest/greasiest beans on the absolute coarsest grind then let that steep in your fridge for a at least 24 hours. Cold brew coffee is bright and the dark beans are the least bitter. The resulting concentrate should last you for a good week. Treat it like a strong liquor and mix a shot or two with some cold milk, ice and maybe some sugar or flavored syrup.

https://smile.amazon.com/Toddy-T2N-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1499652642&sr=8-4&keywords=toddy

1 point

·

6th Jan 2017

posted this earlier.

I bought a Toddy last weekend. I know you can do basically the same thing with mason jars and whatever, but this just seemed quick and idiot proof.

I really enjoyed it. I liked that it was able to make a lot at a time, (lasted me pretty much all week) and could just keep a jug of it in the fridge. (the waiting was the most frustrating part of the process)

I just put it over a ton of ice and then added milk or almond milk.

Since I was just doing it for the first time I used some french dark roast beans from trader joes. Not sure what the best to use are.

I’ve only done it one time, so I’m obviously not very experienced. But yeah, that’s my experience. I’d say it was easily worth it, I thought about going the more thrifty/crafty way, but the convenience seemed worth it to me.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2017

I bought a Toddy last weekend. I know you can do basically the same thing with mason jars and whatever, but this just seemed quick and idiot proof.

I really enjoyed it. I liked that it was able to make a lot at a time, (lasted me pretty much all week) and could just keep a jug of it in the fridge. (the waiting was the most frustrating part of the process)

I just put it over a ton of ice and then added milk or almond milk.

Since I was just doing it for the first time I used some french dark roast beans from trader joes. Not sure what the best to use are.

I’ve only done it one time, so I’m obviously not very experienced. But yeah, that’s my experience. I’d say it was easily worth it, I thought about going the more thrifty/crafty way, but the convenience seemed worth it to me.

1 point

·

12th Oct 2016

I started cold brewing a few weeks ago. I’ve just been using store bought coffee and its worked fine for me. For the ratio i go with 4 parts water to 1 part coffee, but it depends on your taste and the coffee. I found a cheap french press at the dollar store last week and its helped alot because the cheese cloth wasn’t catching enough and the coffee filter kept clogging. The coworker that got me into coldbrewing uses one of these.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2016

y’ever try cold press? I’ve been using a Toddy for the last two years.

I fill up a thermos with cold press and bring it into the office on Monday, then mix a shot of it with 2 parts hot water from the office water cooler every morning. Co-workers say it’s the best they ever had!

Sometimes though.. one part cold press, two parts whole milk, tablespoon of raw sugar, run it in the blender with some ice until it’s mostly foam; a frappuccino that’s deliciously bad for you

1 point

·

15th Sep 2016

Toddy at Amazon $35ish

I know a lot of coffee shops use a really large five gallon toddy system for their cold brew too (including Starbucks) though I am not near any stump town.

Edit – fixed the link

1 point

·

6th Jul 2016

oh yeah. for sure. if you’ve got time https://smile.amazon.com/Toddy-T2N-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1467824016&sr=8-3&keywords=iced+coffee+brewer

get this. throw some french press coarse ground coffee in it. let it sit in the fridge for 4 days and that will be the strongest coffee youll ever drink. highly recommended. changed my life.

[your entire fridge will smell like coffee though, which is either an amazing plus, or a terrible con, depending on if you ask me or my wife]

11 points

·

5th Aug 2018

I picked up a toddy and buy their whole bean coffee and grind it on the coarsest setting in the store. It’s delicious. I dilute 3 parts water/1 part coffee.

2 points

·

19th Apr 2015

If you are interested in a bit of DIY, you can pick up the toddy brewing bucket kits for around $35 or so usually.

1 point

·

24th Oct 2020

I would get A Toddy, which makes cold brew concentrate. A lot of nice coffee shops use one (usually a larger version) for their iced coffee/cold brew. You can then tailor it to your tastes just like Starbucks does with water, milk, cream, syrups, etc.

I’d also recommend a decent grinder, which will help you get a better tasting and more consistent coffee because you should be using a coarser grind than pre-ground coffee comes in. A Baratza Encore is a great budget option.

I make cold brew with a Toddy during the warmer months, and it’s great. You can get really great results with “craft” coffee from a small roaster but it’s also forgiving enough that “bad” grocery store whole bean coffee can work, especially if you’re adding milk and syrup.

A kitchen scale will help you follow your recipe for making your cold brew. I don’t know much about syrups, but I think you can get Starbucks syrups around $5 a bottle.

$40 – Toddy https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW

$115-140 Grinder (refurbs are a little cheaper)
https://www.baratza.com/shop/refurb
https://www.amazon.com/Baratza-Encore-Conical-Coffee-Grinder/dp/B007F183LK

If you add in a bag of coffee and syrup, it’ll pay it self off rative to around two months of Starbucks. After that, even if you buy expensive coffee from a local roaster, it’s around $1 for a 16oz serving, which is what I drink my cold brew as.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

I have this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_0UqwFbNBH4J2M

And it works amazingly. Definitely worth the purchase if you enjoy cold brewed coffee.

1 point

·

7th May 2020

I use the Toddy system. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s what I’ve been using for over 10 years. I use 12-16oz of grounds at a time and it yields me enough concentrate to last 7-10 days, easily. I make mine pretty strong so a little goes a long way.

The filters have to be replaced pretty often but that’s really the only maintenence that’s required. I think you’re supposed to replace the stoppers, but my current one I’ve had for over 5 years and it’s fine. shrugs

I use the cloth filters and while it can be messy to dump the grounds and the trash and rinse the filter, I’m kind of used to by now. Amazon does have paper bag filters that would create a lot less mess if that appeals to you.

My only suggestion should you get the Toddy is to get a separate airtight pitcher to store your concentrate in. The carafe that comes with the kit is fine for straining, but I found that it leaks in the fridge and doesn’t keep my coffee as fresh. I use this one and it’s excellent.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2020

Amazon sells a small toddy like the one we use to make cold brew. You can use any roast/decaf beans you want in it! A French press also works!

https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW

1 point

·

28th Aug 2019

I wish I wasn’t so late to this conversation, so I’m sure I’m just a repeat comment, but my boyfriend and I have the same problem except (when) I make cold brew in the Toddy he refuses to cut the concentrate with water. Our pitcher will last two days. I don’t like Starbucks coffee unless the Kati Kati blend is in season. Freshly ground on the courser side. Mhm.

Anyway, maybe you could entice him with the Toddy and a cool reusable cup? Spend a little up front and commit to a 15 minute weekly prep should help with over all savings.

Side note: I’ve also seen the infuser bottles (The ones for fruits and tea) work just as well, nightly prep but pretty easy and convenient.

https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=toddy+cold+brew&qid=1566996393&s=gateway&sr=8-4

1 point

·

20th May 2018

Get a toddy: https://www.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW

Grind a bag of decent coffee from Costco. Grind it a little bigger than drip

1 point

·

29th Dec 2016

I have just received a Toddy for Christmas and so far I have enjoyed the experience and coffee that it was made.
https://www.amazon.ca/Toddy-T2N-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1482992150&sr=8-1&keywords=toddy

1 point

·

11th Dec 2015

Do you know if he enjoys iced coffee? If so, perhaps the Toddy Cold Brew System?

1 point

·

1st Aug 2015

I highly recommend buying a toddy cafe if you make a lot of cold brew.

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2015

I like to make my cold brew in large batches, and this wouldn’t be nearly large enough. This is for people who want to make cold brew frequently. And for $59, it’s not bad. The whole “body” idea is basically all marketing hype; it doesn’t make the cold brew any different than any other cold brew maker, like the Toddy or Filtron, would. And those are $20 and $15 cheaper, respectively. But it does include a portable canteen, which is nice, and it looks better.

1 point

·

26th Aug 2013

Oh wow! Thanks – seems like that it would be worth getting that one.

Amazon wants $35 and 4.4 out of 5 stars with 461 customer reviews is pretty good 🙂

0 points

·

25th Jul 2019

I just use a Toddy Cold Brew system. Put a pound of coffee in the top, fill it with water and wait. Then there’s a bung in the bottom that you pull out and the coffee pours into the carafe below. It’s foolproof.

0 points

·

20th May 2018

The Toddy isn’t that expensive and you can make a large batch (a week’s worth at a time). You can buy fresh roasted coffee at a store in bulk and then use their grinder to grind it very coarse. You brew a pound at a time. You’d just need a fridge to put the finished product in while you enjoy drinking it over a week. I normally like dark roasted beans for hot coffee but with this method I find that light roasts are the best.

https://smile.amazon.com/Toddy-THM-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1526838835&sr=8-3&keywords=toddy

0 points

·

21st May 2015

Here’s the best way to make iced coffee (no heat involved):

http://www.amazon.com/Toddy-T2N-Cold-Brew-System/dp/B0006H0JVW/