What is the opinion of Reddit about the
The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess?

A total of 34 reviews of this product on Reddit.

40 points

·

2nd Feb 2019

New Rules of Lifting for Women can give you a template plan for building strength unless you are already beyond that sophistication-wise. That emphasizes a lot of compound movements so the workouts aren’t by upper and lower body days.

23 points

·

17th Feb 2018

I found the New Rules of Lifting For Women to be really approachable. The writing’s engaging with lots of references to studies and science and the exercises are all well explained (with pictures!).

It’s been around long enough that you can find videos of each workout online, as well as excel spreadsheets to track your workouts/calories etc in.

(Caveat – I mostly ignored the nutrition chunk of the book so I can’t say much about that part.)

1 point

·

31st Mar 2017

You look amazing–great job! Start lifting 3x/week. This book is the one I started with, because I need a program of what to do every workout. The compound exercises promote all over strength.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2015

Any recommendations for a good weight training program for women?

I had been working “New Rules of Lifting for Women” (http://www.amazon.com/The-New-Rules-Lifting-Women/dp/1583333398) but I wasn’t seeing much results in terms of my appearance. Also, the workouts were taking me an hour and a half, sometimes even a bit longer, and I was up to stage 4 where he called for 105 seconds of rest between sets. I was getting super bored!

I would love a more efficient program that would get me in and out in an hour. I quit doing the program midway through because I just wasn’t enjoying it anymore. The past couple weeks I’ve been doing the free classes at my gym, they offer classes called “Muscle Max” and “Pure Strength” which I enjoy and I am definitely sore the next day! But I’d rather get back to lifting heavier weights at lower reps because I know that’s the only way to get stronger, plus it’s just badass.

1 point

·

19th Oct 2015

I used to carry a small notepad. After losing a couple, I resorted to using my phone (which I also use for music while I work out, so I won’t forget it). If you’re doing a set program, you can make a spreadsheet ahead of time and just fill it in on your phone. If not, you can use something like OneNote or Evernote.

Another good book is New Rules of Lifting for Women.

1 point

·

29th Jun 2015

I would gift here this book:

http://www.amazon.com/The-New-Rules-Lifting-Women/dp/1583333398

The bottom line is that, as a woman, she just doesn’t have enough testostorone to change her body “like a man’s”. In fact, for some of us (like myself) gaining muscle takes incredible and relentless effort. And heaven forbid anything in my life happens and I have to stop lifting for a few months (like an injury or life event), I lose muscle quicker than I gain it.

She may just be misinformed, and reading information from experts can help a great deal. You can always guide her by showing her the overwhealming amount of information out there. Good luck.

1 point

·

12th May 2015

Not a PT, but I hope this book helps. You also might want to visit /r/loseit and /r/xxfitness for other good tips. Loseit helped me cut 20+ pounds earlier this year, but I’ve been off diet for about a month now and gained some back.

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2015

Try following the New Rule of Lifting for Women program. It’s well written, a good introduction to lifting, and a nice mix of lifting, body weight stuff and some interval training. And following a program will give you some direction and focus.

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2015

If you are indeed a Miss, I recommend checking out The New Rules of Lifting for Women. I got it from the library and spent a few days flipping through it, learning what different types of weights and techniques were called, and within a week or two I could walk into the weight room of my gym with total confidence. It’s a really helpful book.

Also, all of our butts are sweaty. No worries.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2013

I’m pretty familiar with fitness, and I agree with what you said. p90x worked for me initially because I like when I don’t have to think about what I’m going to do when I workout. I don’t think I’m “beast” but it is pretty cool that I can do pullups now. I managed to find a lifting buddy at my gym who is actually beast and she agreed to teach me how to lift properly, so I imagine we will work on a SS-type workout.

I saw on xxfitness the book the new rules of lifting for women, are you familiar with it? I was thinking about buying to to get more informed. I’m not interested in bulking, I feel I put on muscle easily enough without pushing it, my main interest is in just getting as strong as I can.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2011

Oh wow. This is kind of a nosey question and I’m sorry, but do you menstruate?

Now that I’ve gotten that bit of rudeness out of my system, I would check out this book. It’s geared towards women who want to gain muscle and lose body fat, but you can generally ignore the losing body fat part while still enjoying the muscle-building parts. As far as diet goes, you’d probably want to increase your protein intake (tuna, beef jerky).

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2011

Not an article, but The New Rules of Lifting for Women is a pretty fantastic book on the subject, including diet advice and workouts.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2011

You’re getting some good advice and some bad advice here. Number one: The calorie equation is not entirely accurate. Your metabolism will vary by a lot of different factors every day. In addition, there’s some pretty good evidence that “a calorie does not equal a calorie”, meaning that calories from carbohydrates are used differently than calories from proteins. The main point is that you need to do your research.

In reality, you shouldn’t be using weight as your own metric of progress. Buy a tape measure (<$1 in the sewing section) and use it to record measurements. If you’re working out correctly, not all of your successes will be apparent by your weight. Muscle and fat have different proportions.

Next up, exercise. High Intensity Interval Training. You may have heard of the “fat burning zone”. While technically true, the premise is flawed. HIIT gives you the best result for your time input, regardless of what form of cardio you choose. In addition, you should be lifting heavy weights. If it comes in a pastel color, it’s too light.

1 point

·

20th Dec 2011

If you really really want something geared towards women instead of Women’s Health magazine, get this:
http://www.amazon.com/New-Rules-Lifting-Women-Goddess/dp/1583333398/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1324343087&amp;sr=8-1
Is not terrible except for most of the diet advice. It has squats and deadlifts and HIIT and other stuff. It was too scattered for me and SS is much more focused and I’m making way better strength gains with that. But if one is at the level where just getting up and walking can be considered exercise, that’s sad, but I suppose you have to start somewhere

1 point

·

7th Dec 2010

We are more than glad to help you, ‘for free’ to the extent that our knowledge allows us, but there is so much you can learn ‘for free.’

You could ask the book for Christmas. And maybe this one too.

2 points

·

10th Oct 2021

I second the recommendation for The New Rules of Lifting For Women. Great book!

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2022

Good question!! I got into lifting about ten years ago and used mainly bodybuilding dot com to learn how to do basic lifts, though when I looked through their site just now, it looks like they’ve moved to a paid sub service >:| One book I found useful as I got started was this one. It dispels a lot of myths about lifting (esp for women!) and has good tips on form for those starting out, plus it has example workout plans if you don’t know where to start. I also like this husband-wife-run fitness instagram because they have great pointers on lifting form!

I’m not sure if it exists nowadays, but there was a women’s lifting magazine called Strong that I found in grocery stores in the US ~10 years ago. I loved it when I was a lifting newbie because it gave me ideas for lifting routines! You could see if your store has it or if there’s an online way to read it.

I like r/xxfitness as well! I’d search that reddit for beginner guides, or with any specific questions you have.

My personal advice as someone that teaches weight lifting classes and just loves exercise is to make sure you have a good understanding of basic lifts (like hollow body holds, squats and deadlifts, even without any weight!) and to always use the mirror to form check. Start with light free weights as you master form, but don’t be afraid to lift heavy once you’re comfortable 🙂

And, of course, whatever you do, avoid 99% of fitness influencers like the plague. Most of them aren’t even CPT’s and often have TERRIBLE form and nutritional advice. You can take a gander over at r/gymsnark to see lol

1 point

·

1st Jan 2022

The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1583333398/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_BGZMNTK27GGVVRQNS8YN

1 point

·

12th Dec 2021

I’m going to break with the consensus a bit. As someone with an intense sweet tooth who gained a bunch of weight during nursing school, I found working on a lifting program first gave me the motivation to reduce my sweets intake. Once I started seeing real connections between my diet and my performance, it became easier to not pick the candy up at the supermarket.

If you feel pretty confident about basic form, my two recommendations would be either GZCLPor Stronglifts 5×5.

If you’re learning form, I’d suggest New Rules of Lifting for Women..

If, like me, you start with the New Rules and find that you have to work on flexibility or core strength first, then I’d suggest Pilates.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

Start here, go to r/xxfitness and click on their FAQ. It has a lot of sections. Lifting helps in many areas of life. I’m sleeping better, my body fat has dropped ( something that nevers happens when doing straight Cradio) and it gets me out of my mind. It becomes addictive once you are in. My favorite book to start off with and my first program, it has a 12 week beginners program and great for your first time lifting weights:https://www.amazon.com/New-Rules-Lifting-Women-Goddess/dp/1583333398/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2AYG9VON3569T&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=new+rules+for+lifting+for+women&amp;qid=1596809208&amp;sprefix=New+rules+for%2Caps%2C229&amp;sr=8-1

1 point

·

29th Oct 2018

Here’s two great programs you could check out. They are both books but you could probably buy used or get at library.

New Rules of Lifting for Women
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1583333398/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_HqX1Bb5M5JZVQ

Strong Curves
https://www.amazon.com/dp/1936608642/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_fpX1BbGS3YMP3

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2018

New Rules of Lifting for Women is a book that I’ve seen help with motivation and that “fear of bulking up.”

1 point

·

18th Dec 2016

many, many people don’t use enough weight. that last rep is supposed to be hard. don’t force it with bad form, but don’t dog it with Mattel weights either.

https://www.amazon.com/New-Rules-Lifting-Women-Goddess/dp/1583333398

1 point

·

1st Sep 2015

New Rules of Lifting for Women is another good one. My girlfriend has been using it and seeing results.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2011

From what I’m gathering from other people here, it’s the first phase of The New Rules of Lifting for Women

1 point

·

9th Mar 2011

I’m female, 5’8″, 49 y/o. In Nov 2010 I weighed 157. I now weigh 147 and am working on getting down to 140.

I couldn’t lose weight and inches without a reliable calorie counter, so I use LoseIt. This is my number one reason for losing weight.

At first I lost weight at 1700 calories a day. Now I’m down to 1500 calories a day. Although many claim it’s not possible, I have lost weight (even being pre-menopausal which feels like it just about shuts down the metabolism) getting calories in this proportion: 25% fat; 58% carbs; 17% protein. All carbs are low-medium glycemic carbs or complex carbs. I am mostly vegetarian, including dairy and eggs. I have fish and chicken about 1ce a week each.

I exercise anywhere from 350-1000 calories a day, 6 days a week. I have a heart rate monitor, and that’s about as accurate as anything for measuring calorie burn.

I do 30-45 minutes of cardio (On Saturday’s I bike 2 hrs outside, 25+ miles) . Since we’re coming off winter, this was mostly walking on a steep incline on the treadmill, elliptical, and hard workouts on my indoor trainer for my mtn. bike. I like cardio because it means I can bike, hike, run, swim, etc and have a good time.

I do 15-25 minutes of weight lifting 5-6 days a week. I alternate lower body/core with upper body. Some weeks I didn’t lose a pound, but I did take measurements and over 2 months I lost 3 inches off my waist but not so much weight.

I do yoga about 3 times a week in the afternoons on top of my morning workouts. I just like it. It does build strength, especially active yoga like Ashtanga, which I enjoy.

I found the book The New Rules of Lifting for Women: Lift like a Man, Look like a Goddess to be very, very helpful.

This is just my experience. Best

1 point

·

17th Mar 2011

Okay, I wouldn’t say “Pro-tips” but what has worked for me (5’8″, 49yo, now 146, down from 157 some months ago.) I am still going for another 10 down.

I couldn’t do it without:

LoseIt.com Counts calories, nutritional intake (carbs, fat, protein), and does other stuff. The forums there can be good, and the friend you make there are great!

Exercise: I make sure I exercised vigorously (cardio and weights) at least 45 minutes a day, 5-6 days a week. The New Rules of Lifting for Women (one for men, there’s another for women-YAY) was essential to me, as was walking on an incline on the treadmill, biking inside and out, and circuit training. I found after exercise my appetite is balanced and diminished. It also definitely toned my bod!

Scale and Tape Measure. I weigh in about 2ce weekly and do measurements 1ce a month. Sometimes inches have been lost even though the scale hasn’t budged.

Definitely very helpful:

Heart rate monitor: The most accurate way to measure calories burned is with one of these. I often up my workout based on my heart rate, otherwise I could settle into sloggin along. Lots of different types available at different prices.

Eating 3 meals and 3 snacks in between so I never get ravenous (usually).

High volume, low calorie foods: romain lettuce, shredded carrots, jicima, etc.

Most likely helpful but can’t say for sure:

Fish oil supplements.

B-vitamins

Caffeine in moderate amounts

Cinnamon

What hasn’t worked: Trying fad diets that revolve around high protein, primal, high fat, etc. I eat percentages about 20-60-20 (fat-carbs-protein). I think the high protein diets may be good for obese or overweight, but not for me already in a healthy weight range. It just makes me irritable.

Best!

0 points

·

20th Mar 2014

If only someone would write a book! One that gives you just a few basic lifts to work on! 😀
(really just a gentle ribbing, yes, you may have to resort to a real paper book, instead of a handful of articles.)

0 points

·

17th Oct 2013

simply calling it out bas broscience doesn’t make it broscience.

lots of science to back up OPs comment.

Check out New Rules of Lifting for Women. Read the reviews, see if you can dispute the science. I think you’ll have a tough time.

0 points

·

11th Jul 2013

And I just saw elsewhere you are joinging a gym – they usually include a free personal trainer session where you could ask for some pointers on weight lifting if you are new to it. There are also plenty of books The New Rules of Weight Lifting for Women and probably a lot of youtube videos as well.

0 points

·

1st Sep 2013

> Mine are.. well, huge. They have never, ever not touched. I have a little triangle I guess? above where they touch but.. that’s the only place any space exists.

That’s normal. Grown women with “that gap” usually have extraordinarily low body fat, achieved either by incredible amounts of exercise and diet control, or by eating disorder.

> Unfortunately most of it is fat

Again, this is normal. If your body starts losing (using up) its fat, this is some of the last to go. It is your body’s emergency supply of backup energy to sustain you through starvation periods while pregnant. (This is why men’s bodies don’t store as much fat by default.)

> and I’m afraid that when I do actually start to work out and gain muscle.. they’ll just become way too big and then no one will love me 🙁

Not a problem. Women have to work really, really, really hard to bulk up muscle; they just don’t have as much testosterone to promote the kind of growth men can have. And even men need to work hard to create bulk; men who are strong from simply working hard at manual labor tend don’t bulk much.

If you’d like to learn a little more, or just confirm that I am not making stuff up, check out The New Rules of Lifting for Women. A woman who lifts exactly like a man will not develop muscle like a man. If you work incredibly, incredibly hard, you might start looking like the woman on the cover. She’s trim, muscular, but not bulky.

As others have noted, as you gain muscle you’ll reduce fat. Worst thing that can possibly happen is your ass will look fantastic. 🙂

0 points

·

20th Aug 2012

I own a copy of The New Rules of Lifting for Women, which has a large chapter just on nutrition, recipes and meal plans. However, I have yet to find an entire cookbook dedicated to it.