What is the opinion of Reddit about the
THE FACE SHOP Rice Water Bright Face Cleansing Oil, Face Wash for Sensitive, Combination & Oily Skin, Gentle Hydrating Daily Facial Cleansing Oil, Makeup Remover (5oz)?

A total of 33 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

20th Jan 2017

Ahh, I almost bought this just this morning. I’m glad I passed on it. That’s disappointing! Maybe because it’s the light version? I have a cleansing oil from the same brand that worked fine for my waterproof eye makeup. Did you let it sit for a few seconds before emulsifying it with adding a bit of water, then rubbing a bit more? Lathering it up by adding a bit of water helps.

If you read the review on amazon, they mostly say to get something else as eye makeup remover just cause it’s so liquidy and might get in your eyes easily.

Also, I was kinda disappointed this wasn’t about your dad. 😛

2 points

·

14th Jun 2016

Some people just don’t react well to certain oils. Maybe patch test if you decide to try it again, or use a different oil. I use an oil cleanser that has emulsifiers in it so that it can be rinsed off with water. Amazon Link: The Face Shop – Rice Water Bright – Cleansing Light Oil. I’ve been using this for a few weeks and really like it for double cleansing (oil first to dissolve makeup and sebum, rinse, low-ph cleanser to remove any excess and balance ph).

You can also add emulsifier (polysorbate 80) to any oil at a 10:1 oil to emulsifier ratio to make your own. I haven’t tried this myself, but I saw it in a post on either /r/asianbeauty or /r/skincareaddiction. The post, if I’m remembering correctly, recommended rice bran oil since it’s pretty neutral and unlikely to trigger an allergic reaction.

2 points

·

13th Oct 2016

The Face Shop Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil has been working great for me. My skin is very sensitive to makeup removers(even the most sensitive of eye makeup removers make my skin sting and turn all red) so I ended up purchasing the cleansing oil in the hopes of replacing my makeup wipe step, and it has been awesome. 🙂 Free shipping takes a bit but you can get it for $8.35 on Amazon.

1 point

·

8th Apr 2021

I have the EXACT same thing and have tried everything: prescription retinoids worked the best for me but regardless they kinda keep coming back / retinoids can make my skin flakey even with a lot of moisturizer.

Then I saw a video saying if you wash with an oil cleanser (I have a $10 rice cleanser from amazon, will add link below) for 10-15minutes – which is a looong time and annoying to do, BUT oh my god did it work and in only ONE wash (not 100% of them but seriously wild improvement). Lemme tell you I was SHOCKED. I’d give it a try in addition to the acids people have mentioned here, but I love how gentle oil cleaner is and how it causes 0 irritation. Also very cheap which is great!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

7th Nov 2020

this is what I got: https://www.amazon.com/Facial-Cleanser-Natural-Cleansing-Moisturizer/dp/B00809ERAM

but I bet any cleansing oil works! I wash my (dry) face with this first, then rinse and wash with a soapy cleanser. in theory the oily nature of the cleanser gets the oils off your face? I haven’t tried any other brands, though.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2020

Get tretinoin. It’s a prescription (brand name Retin -A). If a prescription is not an option then head over to sub reddit r/tretinoin and there’s information on how to get it.

It’s the only known skincare product that reverses photodamage. It takes time and patience. You will experience (severe) dryness, peeling, sometimes even stinging sensation at the beginning but stick with it and the results will be impressive.

As for redness 3 ingredients to look for:

Azaleic acid (The Ordinary (silicone suspension), Paula’s Choice (serum), Cos de Baha (serum))

Green tea (Purito green tea toner or Benton green tea toner); cream is more expensive.

Centella Asiatica (AKA pennywort or dollar weed or gotu kola) Purito Centella Asiatica cream.

Lastly, you really need to double cleanse with oil cleanser (something like this that can emulsify with a little water) and a water based cleanser (Cerave hydrating cleanser). Double cleansing with Cerave will not get rid of the solvents that are used to suspend the UV filters in the formulation, nor silicone based make-up.

If you can get tretinoin, your PM routine will be simplified as follows:

Double cleanse

Moisturizer

Tretinoin

Moisturizer.

1 point

·

23rd Jun 2018

The Face Shop Rice Water Cleansing Oil — a cult favorite in the Korean beauty world! It removes waterproof mascara beautifully. Not easy to find in stores, but it’s available on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00809ERAM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_3DElBb84HNPQ9

I use the double cleansing method with this as the first step, and then a regular old face wash to follow.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

I have been very happy using a double cleansing method. My face is really clean but not at all stripped or dry. First I use an oil cleanser ( THE FACE SHOP <strong>Rice</strong> Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil, 20 g. ) There is no oil at all left behind when you rinse with water.

I am currently following this up with a micellar cleanser, but this is a recent change from a milky one. Cerave is good cleanser. I am using the Loreal micellar.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2019

Bummer! I like The Face Shop Oil Cleanser. It is very gentle and not expensive. I get it directly from The Face Shop store in NY but Amazon’s link is just as easy.

1 point

·

1st Apr 2019

Has anyone used this cleanser before? I’m looking for a new one and I’m kinda new to the whole oil cleanser thing.

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2018

Yeah, I haven’t used the Simple cleansers myself, but they were recommended to me by a friend. I used to use the Boots Botanics Hydrating Booster Cleanser up until a year ago, before I switched to my current cleanser, and I think it was pretty good.

If you feel all soapy cleansers dry you out, then maybe try some oil cleansers or cleansing balms?

1 point

·

12th Feb 2017

Cleansing oils like this are great for removing makeup. I like my cleansing oil because it tends to leave my face softer afterwards than if I were to just cleanse with a water based cleanser, it’s a great alternative for makeup remover wipes. You can wash off an oil-based cleanser with water or follow up with a water-based cleanser. 🙂

1 point

·

12th Jan 2016

I thought I would like double cleaning but it made my skin dry, tight, and freak out. http://www.amazon.com/The-Face-Shop-Bright-Cleansing/dp/B00809ERAM I used the face shop’s rice water line. It was primarily the cream cleanser component that my skin didn’t like- it reminds me of clearasil. I know you’re supposed to moisturize the fuck out of your skin afterwards but I think it cleans “too much.” I use Philosphy Microdelivery wash from sephora and it cleans well enough that it’s not all tight and dry but not pizza face at the same time.

I was underwhelmed with laneige’s water bank mask too. It’s kind of like a glorified sheet mask without the sheet portion. I’d rather slather my face in Cerave which is what I do when my skin gets dry.

And I don’t care for Mizon’s snail recovery gel. It’s like an inferior sheetless mask.

(I like sheet masks obvz. )

And things I expected to hate but ended up liking: Dr. Jart’s BB. I don’t like traditional Korean BB’s because they’re too pinkish for my skin tone (I’m a beigey yellow.) It’s easy to put on too much and look awful. This one was not awful though. I like Dr. Jart’s ceramine lotion too. skin looks great after I use it.

14 points

·

21st Aug 2018

I use The Face Shop’s rice water bright light cleansing oil. It’s available on Amazon for $8.50. They also have The Face Shop Rice Water Bright Cleansing Foam and the oil as a two-piece set if you want to double cleanse. It’s got some fragrance, though, so be wary if you’re sensitive to that.

2 points

·

19th Sep 2021

Oil based cleanser. It’s soooo useful in winter. I use the Face Shop rice water cleanser for my face (Face Shop Rice water cleanser) and Shea Moisture coconut oil wash for my body. It just stops that horrible almost painful dryness in winter and is a lot easier than putting on tons of lotion (I usually just use oil instead of lotion anyway but it can get really messy).

2 points

·

27th Mar 2019

I like The Face Shop Natural Rice Water Light Cleansing Oil

I try to avoid any oil that has olive oil as an ingredient because I find them too heavy for my combo skin and sometimes they can leave a film on my eye. The Face Shop one doesn’t do that.

Another popular one is Kose – Softymo Deep Cleansing Oil

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2021

Thank you for submitting to /r/SmallYTChannel. You have spent 3λ to submit here, making your current balance 0λ.
/u/devastacao, please comment !givelambda to the most helpful advice you are given.
For more information, read the FAQ.

Video data:

FieldData
Titleat-home spa day for less than $100
ThumbnailLink
Views36
Length05:01
Likes/Dislikes6/0
Comments2
DescriptionI’m sure your stimmy is gone by now – so now that you’re broke again, here’s how to stay cute and pamper yourself on a budget⁠. ⤶⤶Become a Saint ✝ – like and subscribe for more content~⤶○ Instagram … @TheLovelySaints⤶⤶Hi, my name is Julia! This is my channel where I share fashion info and inspo (amongst other things)! Please like and subscribe to this video if you’d like to see more! Let me know what you like, and even what you don’t like! Future video ideas are welcome~ Thanks for watching!⤶—————————————————————-⤶💵 my (budget) spa day essentials! 💵⤶○ Face soap https://www.target.com/p/sheamoisture-african-black-soap-face-and-body-bar-soap-3-5oz/-/A-13689989#lnk=sametab⤶○ Face oil https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM/ref=ppx_od_dt_b_asin_title_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1⤶○ Face mask applicator https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07V396KQT/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1⤶○ Face mask https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B087GD39W1/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s01?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1⤶○ Ice bucket https://www.amazon.com/Mind-Reader-Beverage-Chiller-Galvanized/dp/B07C7Y428J/ref=sr_1_7?dchild=1&amp;keywords=metal+ice+bucket&amp;qid=1617377760&amp;sr=8-7⤶○ Foot scrub https://www.amazon.com/Himalayan-Salt-Body-Scrub-Exfoliator/dp/B07G8PDKY2/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=foot+scrub&amp;qid=1617377816&amp;sr=8-3⤶○ Pedicure kit https://www.amazon.com/s?k=foot+bath+kit&amp;ref=nb_sb_noss⤶○ Cuticle cream https://www.target.com/p/burt–39-s-bees-lemon-butter-cuticle-cream—0-6oz/-/A-13485940⤶○ Cuticle oil https://www.target.com/p/sally-hansen-color-therapy-nail-polish—005-nail—cuticle-oil—0-5-fl-oz/-/A-51068158⤶—————————————————————-⤶○ ✨ If you’re interested in fashion, style, clothing inspiration, and outfit inspo, check out my ‘Lookbooks’ playlist here! ✨ https://tinyurl.com/LookBooksLovelySa…​⤶⤶○ 🏃🏽‍♀️ If you’re interested in how to begin your own meteoric rise to internet fame, watch my ‘Speedrun: Becoming an Influencer’ playlist here! ⚡️ https://tinyurl.com/SpeedrunWithLovelySaints⤶—————————————————————-⤶Tags: Spa, Spa day, budget, budget spa day, selfcare, self-care, pampering, foot care, pedicure, manicure, face mask, mask, facial, massage, tutorial, cheap, inexpensive, Fashion, Style, Clothing, Outfits, Lifestyle, Personal Style, Women’s Fashion, Women’s Style, Women, Girls, Closet, Wardrobe, Trends, Designer, Design, Apparel, Brown Girl, Pretty Brown Girl, Latina, Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter, Casual, Accessories, Top, Shirt, Skirt, Pants, Shorts, Jewelry, Shoes, Purses, Handbags, Bags, Haul, Try-on, Try on, Lookbook, outfit of the day, Beauty, Inspo, Inspiration, Stylish, Jeans, Dress, Style Inspo, Luxury, Raven Elyse, itsyuyan, Teaira Walker, Jackie Aina, Kerina Wang, Abercrombie & Fitch, ASOS, Coach, Gap, HM, H&M, J. Crew, Kate Spade, MadeWell, Marshalls, Steve Madden, Ted Baker, Zara

Channel Data:

FieldData
NameThe Lovely Saints
ThumbnailLink
Subscribers52
Videos13
Views4535

^/u/SmallYTChannelBot ^made ^by ^/u/jwnskanzkwk. ^PM ^for ^bug ^reports. ^For ^more ^information, ^read ^the ^FAQ.

1 point

·

12th Aug 2018

I would try switching out your cleanser to an oil cleanser. I like this one from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Facial-Cleanser-Natural-Cleansing-Moisturizer/dp/B00809ERAM/

I used to have super oily skin that was also strangely dehydrated in places. I switched to using this instead of cleanser and my skin is much less oily and I don’t have the dry patches anymore. I also don’t get cystic acne anymore. some people double cleanse (use the oil cleanser and then use a regular cleanser) but I find that it’s not necessary bc this oil cleanser does not leave a film on my face. I just rinse it off using water.

p.s. don’t be sad, you look handsome even with not 100% clear skin!

1 point

·

10th Sep 2020

I love the Face Shop Rice Water Light Cleansing oil one! I have very sensitive skin,
and this one has been my go-to since 2015. At $10, it’s a powerhouse

1 point

·

17th Jun 2020

Yeah no worries! Some places do ship faster like Amazon. This is litterally the one I use https://www.amazon.com.au/dp/B00809ERAM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_mAK6EbNC36QWK but yeah good luck getting a new oil cleanser :3

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2020

THE FACE SHOP Rice Water Bright Light Cleansing Oil, 20 g is $10.60 on Amazon.

Heimish All- Clean Balm is $14.68 on Amazon

The Heimish is worth every penny. It comes out as a balm, scoop into your hands and warm it up into an oil lather. Apply it to your skin and massage (good time to give your jaw muscle a nice deep massage as a release to a long day). Dampen hands and emulsify the oil on your face. It will turn milky. This is when you want to gently work the waterproof mascara or the lip stains, further. Rinse with water.

If you get an oil – remember to emulsify too.

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2018

i’d really appreciate some help choosing some products to add to my routine!

skin type: oily/combination (overall oily, but slightly more oily in my t-zone)

climate: subtropical (avg. 85-90dF, HUMID summer)

top skin concern: clogged pores on nose, bacterial(?) acne on forehead and chin


ROUTINE DETAILS

AM: neutrogena ultra sheer dry touch sunscreen

PM:

face shop rice water oil cleanser

cerave foaming facial cleanser for normal to oily skin

hadalabo gokujun hyaluronic lotion moist (toner)

hadalabo rohto gokujun hyaluronic milky lotion


this routine is one i’ve been following since early april when i made the transition to ab, and i’ve been really happy with the moisture levels i’ve been getting. since the weather has become hotter and more humid, i’ve been noticing more acne on my forehead and chin, which i’d like to combat somehow.

i’d like to incorporate bha (for clogged pores on nose – longstanding issue that i’m just now getting around to since my skin seems to be okay with the switch to ab) and aha (for acne on forehead and chin), and i’m considering starting with cosrx aha 7 whitehead power liquid and cosrx bha blackhead power liquid. do these sound like okay choices for an acid newbie? if not, is there another product you’d recommend instead?

whatever products i end up getting, i’ll introduce them once a week and wait for a bit until i’m sure my skin can handle that before increasing frequency.

my next question is where in my routine to put the acids. bha before oil cleanser? bha after toner and before moisturizer? i have no idea at all for aha!

any help or advice you can give is greatly appreciated!

1 point

·

12th Apr 2018

Me personally, I use cleansing oils. I used the hydrating makeup remover wipes from Neutrogena for years before I found cleansing oils. I tried micellular water and I’m not a fan. I don’t like the tugging feeling of cotton on my face and I didn’t feel like it removed all of my makeup.

Cleansing oils on dry skin followed by gentle cleanser has been amazing for me. I use the hydrating cleanser by La Roche Posay and it’s HG for me. Love love love it.

For cleansing oils, I’m still in the process of finding my HG. I have used the neutrogena one and wasn’t a big fan. I tried the one by Simple and also wasn’t a huge fan. So far Burts Bees oil has been my favorite. Trader Joe’s sells an exact dupe for $6. That one is nice too. Also, The Face Shop sells one that is really light. I got it on amazon and I’ve been using that for the last month or so. I actually just picked up a new one today made by Palmers. So I’m gonna try that out tonight. Links ;

The face shop;
https://www.amazon.com/Facial-Cleanser-Natural-Cleansing-Moisturizer/dp/B00809ERAM

Burts bees;
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B0151RHR3E/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1523495135&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=burts+bees+cleansing+oil&amp;dpPl=1&amp;dpID=41ygSRlXfhL&amp;ref=plSrch

Trader Joe’s;

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B06WP1W6FQ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1523495277&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=trader+joes+cleansing+oil&amp;dpPl=1&amp;dpID=314w%2Bv8HeEL&amp;ref=plSrch

Simple:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B01IR8W0UE/ref=mp_s_a_1_2_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1523495135&amp;sr=8-2&amp;keywords=burts+bees+cleansing+oil

Palmers:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00W2CTHT4/ref=mp_s_a_1_7_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1523495135&amp;sr=8-7&amp;keywords=burts+bees+cleansing+oil&amp;dpPl=1&amp;dpID=31u9ea3–FL&amp;ref=plSrch

Neuteogena;
https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00U2VQZC4/ref=mp_s_a_1_10_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1523495135&amp;sr=8-10&amp;keywords=burts+bees+cleansing+oil

1 point

·

1st Apr 2018

One thing that will help is switching to a more gently cleanser at night besides the wipes. Wipes are good to take when traveling, but using everyday is going to irritate your skin. I’ve used all the cleansers under the sun and the best thing has been rice water. It’s especially perfect for normal to dry skin because it doesn’t strip the skin of all of it’s oils like other cleansers can.

One of the best masks for hydration and evening skin tone are donkey milk sheet masks. I’ll also recommend the Hado Labo Perfect Mask.

The Face Shop Rice Water:
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

Freeset Donkey Milk Skin Gel Mask:
https://www.amazon.com/Freeset-Donkey-Milk-Healing-Count/dp/B014A1FHZW/ref=sr_1_6_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1522613113&amp;sr=8-6&amp;keywords=donkey+milk

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2017

Hey! I was actually using the 3-step cleansing system when I discovered this subreddit in July.

I was dealing with tons of breakouts. Upon educating myself on here I stopped using the toner (very, very harsh and astringent) and added this oil cleanser to my routine: https://www.amazon.com/Facial-Cleanser-Natural-Cleansing-Moisturizer/dp/B00809ERAM/ref=sr_1_3_a_it?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1509735613&amp;sr=8-3&amp;keywords=the+face+shop+rice+water+cleansing+oil&amp;dpID=410zyPKCC3L&amp;preST=_SY300_QL70_&amp;dpSrc=srch

This probably won’t really answer your question, but I added in a daily sunscreen at the same time I added in the cleansing oil. I think the clinique face soap would have been fine at removing the sunscreen, but I know for a fact it was all gone after adding in the oil cleanser.

I also added in a lotion (this one: https://www.amazon.com/Hada-Labo-Hadalabo-Gokujun-Hyaluronic/dp/B00BSNBO9O/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=beauty&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1509735804&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=hada+labo+gokujyun+hyaluronic+acid+lotion ) in the place where I was using the clinique toner.

I think making these changes def. helped my skin and I saw improvement.

Don’t think I really answered your question….but I kept using the step 3 clinique lotion for a while too, after beginning my AB journey until I spent a few weeks with each new product. Good luck with everything! Let me know what works!! 🙂

1 point

·

21st Oct 2016

I have used the Banilla Clean for several weeks and just started trying this one as an alternative (The Face Shop – Rice Water Bright – Cleansing Light Oil):
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1
I had read that this will remove WP mascara better and I was having issues with this using the Banilla (just some residue of mascara under my eyes even after my 2 step cleansing).

I like the Face Shop Rice Water better (for this purpose), but it’s messier to use…of course more runny…so I feel I waste more of it.

I just ordered this cleanser after reading the review for it on 50 Shades of Snail:
(BOTANIC FARM Grain Ferment Cleansing Sherbet Makeup Remover Cream)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/322208772332?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&amp;ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

It was cheaper on ebay than on Amazon…but you may be able to find it somewhere else at even a better price.

Here’s the review I read:
https://fiftyshadesofsnail.com/2015/07/05/review-botanic-farm-grain-ferment-cleansing-sherbet-oil-cleansing-tips/

I am hopeful that this one will clean as well as the Face Shop Rice Water, but will be as easy to use as the Banilla Clean It Zero since it’s a sherbet too!

1 point

·

17th Mar 2016

Seconding the OCM and BHA tip. I use this oil cleanser and this BHA and they’ve done wonders to shrink the pores on my nose. FWIW I have combo skin with large pores. I’ve recently switched to a mostly Asian skincare product routine and my skin has never looked better!

1 point

·

17th Mar 2016

There is tons of info on oils in the skincare subreddit, but I think any oil would do. Personally, I use this and love it: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00809ERAM?psc=1&amp;redirect=true&amp;ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2015

If a product makes your skin feel gross and clogged I’d say it’s not the right product for you! It might not be the source of your issue but it’s probably not helping. I suggest looking into gel moisturizers while you’re in the market for a new cleanser anyway. I’m still looking for my holy grail gel moisturizer but every gel moisturizer I’ve tried so far has been way better than any lotion moisturizer I’ve ever tried. (I have oily skin too, btw.)

As for the cleanser, I’m actually going to suggest looking into konjac sponges even though they’re technically gentle physical exfoliators. I could not get over how clean my face felt after using one for the first time. I use them in the morning. At night, I double cleanse, first with an emulsifying cleansing oil ( this one ) and then the Cerave foaming cleanser and I haven’t been doing it long but I’m loving it so far. It might help to break cleansing up into two steps if one step isn’t doing it for you!

Thayer’s makes my face feel sticky, though as always YMMV.

1 point

·

1st Jun 2015

Seconded. This one is amazing!

1 point

·

18th Feb 2015

I use a Korean cleansing oil. Not stripping at all, and more effective than any makeup remover I’ve ever used.

Check it! LINK

1 point

·

13th Jan 2015

I have oily skin, and have found that even the Neutrogena deep clean cream cleanser is too drying for me. Try using CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser, or just any cleanser that has ceramides and niacinamide to rebuild your skin barrier. Also, maybe try switching makeup removers, and use something more gentle (ie. an oil cleanser)? Towelettes can function as physical exfoliants, so using it on a daily basis might thin out your skin even more. I use The Faceshop Rice Water Cleansing Oil, which is about $15 in store and it’s great. There’s also one from The Body Shop, otherwise I can’t really think of drugstore brands atm. I know some people who use coconut oil and olive oil to remove their makeup, so maybe try those as well?

Have you thought about using a hydrating serum or oil before your moisturizer?