What is the opinion of Reddit about the
TECWARE Phantom 104 Mechanical Keyboard, RGB LED (Outemu Brown)?

A total of 23 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

21st Oct 2020

Again, same with with the RGB, but there’s this one for $50.

I haven’t used it but there are a few positive reviews calling this a good bottom bargan board.

Tecware Phantom 104

It comes in blue, brown, red just like cherry since they’re basically copies.

I can’t vouch for how solid the switches or the board is, mind you. If you can, the GMMK will definitely last you much longer than this in terms of upgrading and absolutely is sturdier.

1 point

·

23rd Jul 2019

Tecware Phantom 104 or Tecware Phantom Elite. Solid build quality, metal plate, hotswappable switches, per-key RGB, doubleshot keycaps. It’s also relatively low-profile and not outlandish in terms of looks. You can get it with red switches.

At $50, it leaves you a bit of budget to try out different Outemu switches or get new keycaps, and it’s a nice board, especially for the price.

I can’t find the Elite for sale on Amazon, but that has a wider range of switch compatibility and some other new features. You might be able to get it if you’re outside the US.

1 point

·

16th Aug 2020

The TECWARE Phantom is usually considered the value champion. It’s perpetually stuck at 50 bucks, it’s around 50% heavier (I think I read somewhere the frame is steel, but I might be wrong), also has software controlled rgb and fully replaceable switches (as long as you’re using outemu switches ofc). Switches can be blue, red and brown, this one being the latter.

I just purchased this keyboard and I was wondering if this community has any specific things that they don’t like. As the keyboard is prebuilt does that make it worse than a custom mech? If I make a post about finally getting a mechanical keyboard would anyone really hate it?

1 point

·

7th Sep 2020

Nice picture thanks for sharing. Do you recommend that keyboard? I am looking on Amazon and the reviews look good but I had never heard of that brand before. Was thinking of getting a Ducky as my fist mechanical but it costs 2x more than the Phantom

I think it is this one linked below:
https://www.amazon.com/TECWARE-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Excellent/dp/B076YJM3V3?ref_=ast_sto_dp&th=1

1 point

·

29th Dec 2017

Tecware Phantom RGB It’s not quite as premium of a product as the aforementioned iKBC F108, but it’s a great option for only $60. The one I linked uses Outemu Brown, has great RGB for the price point, and decent double shot ABS keycaps. One of my friends has this exact board and loves it.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2021

GMMK Full Size, or if you’re on a budget the Tecware Phantom 104

https://www.amazon.com/TECWARE-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Excellent/dp/B076YJM3V3

1 point

·

5th Aug 2019

Amazon has the Tecware Phantom RGB 87 key model for $45.99. I’ve had mine for about six months and love it. It has non-clicky mechanical keys (Otemu Brown) and has a nice weight to it. If I had it to do over again I’ve probably get the model with the 10-key though.

Here’s both models:

https://www.amazon.com/TECWARE-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Excellent/dp/B076YJM3V3

https://www.amazon.com/Tecware-Phantom-Mechanical-Keyboard-Outemu/dp/B079HTZQYV

1 point

·

20th Oct 2020

Here’s a couple not mentioned:

Tecware Phantom – This is a great cheap board but it only takes Outemu switches.

GMMK – This is a very popular option and can take any switch. More expensive but you get more customization options.

Drop CTRL – This is the high end version of Tecware and GMMK hotswap boards.

Rakk Lam-ang – Really nice option. It has bluetooth, usb pass through, and you can swap bluetooth profiles. You can even swap OS key bindings between Windows and Mac.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

How do you take the spacebar/bigger keys off? this is the keyboard I’m thinking of getting if that helps, thanks if you help.

I mean, I’m new to the whole mechanical keyboard and I decided to purchase this. Its arriving tomorrow and I will keep you posted on how it turns out.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2020

I was wondering of Outemu switches are good switches, and if so are the brown one’s good? If it helps I was thinking about getting this keyboard with the brown switches, https://www.amazon.com/TECWARE-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches-Excellent/dp/B076YJM3V3

1 point

·

12th Aug 2020

I haven’t owned a mechanical keyboard, but I’ve tried a few and now I want one. Problem is I don’t have a ton of money to spend on one (I do wish I could get the G815 though).

So as a first one and to make sure i like them before proceeding later with an expensive one, i found 3 cheaper ones on Amazon.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B076YJM3V3/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_noenFbPV0G4FD

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08BBX9JKR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_IoenFbBEW2RZP

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073QPDZHQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_XoenFbEKMH46A

I’m going to be using it to game, code, and for school. Any advice would be nice.

1 point

·

24th Oct 2019

Yeah, don’t plan on it being my main board. I have a Tecware Phantom for that.

1 point

·

14th Sep 2019

Hahaha. That was clever. Got a good chuckle out of me.

This little Logitech K810 has served me well for about 3 years now. It’s a wonderful little backlit Bluetooth metal keyboard. I am hoping to retire it and try out my first mechanical board though. I’ve been considering the Tecware Phantom or the Velocifire Wireless 104.

1 point

·

14th Jun 2018

Do you bottom out hard? Many people recommend lighter switches if you get tired easily, but sometimes it helps to get heavier ones if you bottom out too hard (as that can be the cause of finger fatigue). Personally I like linear switches more than most tactiles because it improves my typing speed.

My current go-to all-purpose board is the Tecware Phantom – it comes in fullsize and TKL variants, and you can get Outemu red or brown switches in it (personally I think they’re on par with Cherry with the reds, and the browns have much sharper tactility). It’s also only $50 with full RGB: Amazon

However, if you want a really good board for typing and can tolerate the noise, my recommendation is a Unicomp Ultra Classic. The feel is completely unmatched by MX switches, extremely comfortable, and built like a tank. It only has 2-key rollover but it works well enough for casual gaming.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2018

I have the Tecware Phantom RGB with Outemu reds. I was planning on switching out a few keys with some brown or blue switches.

edit: here is Amazon link

1 point

·

13th Dec 2017

This seems to be very similar to the full-size GMMK but with the alternative variety of hotswap sockets that are only compatible with certain Outemu, Invyr Panda and BSUN switches. Even the case design is similar to the GMMK with the keycap puller mounted in the back of the case.

The Techware Phantom software even works with the GMMK, so I’m guessing they’re using the same Vision VS11K06A microcontroller. There’s a screenshot of the Techware software here that you can see is virtually identical to the GMMK screenshot here – they’ve just changed the names of the lighting modes.

The full-size Techware Phantom RGB is only $49.99 on Amazon while the full-size GMMK is $124.99 on Amazon or $109.95 direct from Glorious so it has that going for it.

0 points

·

14th Oct 2020

Should I get a Tecware Phantom 104 or should I get a Redragon k556? I’m going to be getting outemu browns for both if that helps. Thank you so much if you help.