What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 1 qt, Black?

A total of 89 reviews of this product on Reddit.

48 points

·

6th Mar 2017

Coffee nerd checking in. I used to bring 16oz of french pressed coffee in a thermos to each shift. Got tired of the mud in my drink and the 10-15min of brew/cleanup time each morning. I’d tried cold brew in the past, it’s super clean in the cup, huge decrease (>50%) in acid, and is concentrated, so I get more cups to drink per container. In concentrate, it’ll last up to two weeks in the fridge. Plus it can be brewed in advance.
I usually start the process two days before work, letting it brew in the fridge for 24hrs, then filter it twice the day before work. I bought this cold brewer on amazon.
It tastes great even in concentrate, or add some milk. Personally, I boil 2-4oz of water in the microwave, let it rest 10 sec to drop temp, add coffee concentrate and drink it black.
I have at least 5 different coffee making devices and have yet to make a cup of black coffee that is as sweet or as flavorful as what I can make with cold brew.

9 points

·

26th Jul 2021

I use the Takeya cold brew pitcher! You can find it on Amazon. I use it every week, and it has saved me so much money! I also just think it is so dang convenient. I absolutely adore it.

Edit: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_61SJ0CG781PQPRXH82S1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I just went ahead and linked the one I use 🙂

6 points

·

11th Jul 2019

I bought a $20 pitcher on Amazon and make cold brew at home. Prep it the night before, put it in the fridge, and you’re good to go in the morning. Linked to Amazon below.

Takeya 10310 Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Iced Coffee Maker with Airtight Lid & Silicone Handle, 1 Quart, Black – Made in USA BPA-Free Dishwasher-Safe https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ck4jDbMT49F9Z

5 points

·

12th Jan 2021

Get a Takeya pitcher on Amazon. $15-20, reusable, dishwasher safe, and a batch made in this pitcher will easily give you 5-7+ cups of cold brew.

5 points

·

26th Sep 2018

On the cold brew note, I picked up a Tayeka Cold Brew Maker (linked to Amazon, but I bought it at Natural Grocers). it’s nothing you couldn’t do with a nut milk bag or french press or whatever, but it sure beats adding the grounds directly to water and then trying to filter them out. Also, Trader Joe’s has/had a bag of cold brew coffee bags, like big teabags. I had to steep for 24 hours instead of the much shorter time they list, but it tastes pretty good for pre-ground coffee. I use one bag to a quart mason jar.

4 points

·

6th Jun 2017

I just use this from Amazon.

Full the filter, submerge and let it sit in the fridge for about a day. To drink I usually do 1/3 to 1/2 brew, add ice and water & enjoy!

4 points

·

18th Jun 2019

Not silly, no worries! Basically you can make cold brew by just adding coffee grounds to water, leaving it in the fridge for 12-24 hours and then straining the grounds out. That seems like a lot of work to someone like me who is quite lazy lol so I bought a cold brew pitcher/system from Amazon last year that includes a filter and, as long as I remember to make it ahead of time/the night before, it’s super easy and convenient!

Here’s a link to the pitcher I have but I’m sure if you search on Amazon for cold brew coffee maker or pitcher you’ll find a lot of options: Takeya 10310 Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Iced Coffee Maker with Airtight Lid & Silicone Handle, 1 Quart, Black – Made in USA BPA-Free Dishwasher-Safe https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_USrcDbMAT1621

3 points

·

13th Aug 2020

You can get cold brew makers on amazon. I have the Takaya (?) one and I like it a lot. The instructions come with the container. I believe it’s 8 tablespoons per full container.

I’d recommend against doing it with blonde espresso. I’d think it would be a lot more acidic as a cold brew. Of what we have right now I’d recommend the Guatemala Antigua! If you don’t like it there’s always a mark out next week. 🙂

Edit: This is the one I have!

2 points

·

28th Mar 2019

I make cold brew at work a lot! I bought something similar to this on Amazon and it’s super easy to make. You just grind coffee course, fill up the cannaster, and then pour in some water. Let it sit out overnight, and it’s ready in the morning.

The Simple Truth concentrate at Kroger is okay too. B and I buy that kind for home sometimes because you don’t have to plan ahead. They have a delicious coconut one, and the vanilla is good too. They’re unsweetened, even with the flavors, so you don’t have to worry about that!

2 points

·

21st Aug 2020

I use the Takeya cold brew pitcher (I’m a beginner) and it works great for me and my needs. It’s super easy to use and clean. You just fill up the pitcher about 2/3 of the way with water, fill up the mesh tube with your coffee grinds, attach it to the lid and insert it into the pitcher then you just set it in the fridge to brew. It seals it air tight and you serve it straight from the pitcher after you remove the tube.

Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, One Quart, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ZdZpFb480NBS5

2 points

·

25th Jul 2020

There’s a lot of methods, but the long and short of it is just running water through your AVB to literally rinse it out.

It’s very common to wrap the AVB in cheesecloth or even something like panty hose and securing it so the AVB can’t float out. Think of it like a homemade tea bag full of weed! Then you submerge it water; mason jars are great, a pot, whatever you can put water in.

The water will get super gross pretty quickly, and depending on how much time you want to spend you refresh the water until it’s clear. I usually swap it out every 8-12 hours over two days. Not to sound like a shill, but I personally like to use this pitcher. I also use it to make cold brew at home so it’s great for multiple uses!

If you look up “rinsing” or “water curing,” there’s a lot of other great recommendations on the sub!

1 point

·

16th Feb 2022

Yeah I got one of those cold brew makers and it works really well

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U

Not that one exactly, in fact it was from AliExpress, so not sure if I should even keep using it (some cheap Chinese stuff can be made from toxic plastics). The one on Amazon is probably also the same cheap Chinese one rebranded.

Maybe I should look for a nice glass one.

1 point

·

17th Jan 2022

Yes, you got it. [This] is what we use. Put the grounds in the middle column thing, pour in water, put it in the fridge and wait. It’s so easy.

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

When I was in college, before I had the space, time, and money I do now, I just made cold brew everyday. I’d put coffee grounds in, shake it up, and leave it in my dorm mini fridge overnight and I’d have a whole jug of cold brew coffee the next day. I used this $25 cold brew maker I got on Amazon and it was delicious every time. https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=zg_bs_17807784011_1/142-7311026-9962258?pd_rd_i=B08F47P976&psc=1

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2021

I’ve got two of the Takeya ones that look similar I keep on rotation so I also have cold brew at the ready. They are a bit shorter so fit nicely in the fridge.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2021

Typical ratio is 1:8 by weight. I typically do 4oz of coffee to 33oz of water and use this pitcher. I use to work at Starbucks and follow the same method. Steep at room temp for 18-24 hours. This makes a strong cold brew. I’ll add a little water after pulling out the grounds. Then I add cream and sugar when I drink it.

You can steep for less time if you want something ready to drink or around 24 hours if you prefer a stronger coffee or concentrate.

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

I have this one and really like it. It works really similarly to a French press– you’re just steeping the coffee for a really long time behind some mesh. A French press will have a tall rod for the plunger that takes up a ton of space before you filter the coffee, that’s why I don’t use mine for iced coffee.

Apparently the coffee concentrate you make can be used to make fancier stuff, e.g. heated with frothed milk, but I am lazy and have never bothered to try it. I just put oat milk and Splenda in mine.

1 point

·

20th Oct 2021

I buy everybody I know this cold brew maker off Amazon. Who knew $20 could change your life? I use it every week. It’s the best. No more driving to Starbucks for a $4.50 vanilla sweet cream cold brew.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2021

This one! I’ve made three batches so far and it’s pretty dope. I use a 1:16 ratio for my cold brew so it’s been killer. Make sure to use a scale to be more precise. That’s what I do at least.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

17th Feb 2021

“#” NotAnAd, but if she ever wants to try it, this has been awesome for my cold brew, and it’s a superfine strainer, so no grounds. Just set it out with the grounds at room temp for 14 hours and pour half of the brew and half either cold or boiling water when you want it. You can just remove the cone with the grounds in the middle to stop the brewing, and then have the pitcher sit in the fridge as long as you want.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabc_WSAYGBKNJPAKSK1BDCQB?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

6th Dec 2020

Great question. Cold brew is just course coffee steeped in water. If you steep it for 12-14 hours you’ll get something ready to drink. If you steep it for 14-24 hours you’ll get something stronger or concentrate. For your first batch Id recommend trying a little bit every couple hours so you get an idea of how the flavor and body changes. Also experiment with different types of coffee.

I personally use the Takeya. It’s airtight, easy to clean, durable, and serves as both a maker and pitcher.

1 point

·

3rd Dec 2020

This is good advice, but I think it’s one sided. I worked in a coffee shop for years and also sold coffee professionally. I make my cold brew at home using this cold brew maker. I love the hard plastic, airtight lid to keep out fridge odors, and simple design. I drink cold brew daily and this pitcher will last about 5 days. Since it’s plastic I don’t worry about it breaking. It’s also very clean to use.

The main difference from using a cloth or mesh sieve and a bowl is the work and mess. I have found no taste difference between a coffee shop and home brewed. Cold brew is a very basic process.

Talk with your brother to see if he just wants something simple or if he’s trying to get into the art of cold brew and show off to his friends. A simple cold brew pitcher is easy to use and doesn’t take up counter space.

I also agree a bag of coffee from a local coffee roaster is a good idea. Ask them for a recommendation and type of grind.

1 point

·

21st Jul 2017

I have this cheapo cold brew coffee maker from Amazon and exclusively use Starbucks pre-ground coffee. I add caramel syrup directly in the pitcher and it tastes delicious (I’m also not by any stretch a coffee aficionado so my tastes are pretty basic).

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2017

Mine’s going pretty well. I’ve been making an effort to move into vegetarianism and trying to cook more/have more excellent food. I made a fantastic curried chickpea dish for dinner last night and packed the leftovers for lunch today. I always feel better when I pack my lunch instead of eating the crap overpriced food around work. Tonight I’m going to bake chocolate chip zucchini bread muffins.

I found a cold brew coffee carafe on Amazon a while back for $25 that I love link here. It’s seriously so nice to wake up to delicious iced coffee in the summer, and it’s already paid for itself if you think in terms of Starbucks $.

A TMI bonus to eating a lot of healthy food, veggies, and strong coffee? Best number 2’s of my life. So regular, and so happy.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2020

Buy one of these:

Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, One Quart, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_IXMLFbS0WB48T?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Use a typical 18 g H2O to 1g coffee ratio.

I use Lavazza Classico pre ground. Put in the inner brewing chamber and make sure all the grounds get wet (usually I have to spin the filter apparatus while immersing/plunging the grounds). Sometimes I use a spoon to get it hydrated faster (coffee is somewhat naturally hydrophobic, especially with cold water). Once the grounds are wet, put it in the fridge for at least 6 hours. I usually make it before bed for the next day.

It’s pretty cheap, and a decent taste. Can always get fancier with different coffee/grinds etc.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2018

I just use a pitcher from amazon, like this (https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Patented-Airtight-Silicone-1-Quart/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_5?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1531689417&sr=1-5&keywords=cold+brew+coffee+maker&dpID=315N2n9ujeL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch). There’s about a million different kinds on there, glass and plastic.

the only thing i can think to improve your cold brew is to make sure you have the amount of coffee you add to be the proper amount. With my pitcher, the amount of coffee to add is 65-85 milligrams, and i’ve found the best results for me at about 75 mg. I think it’d be less bitter if I used 65 or 70 mg instead.

That or your water from the faucet might not be great. You could try a pitcher of filtered water to see if it makes a difference.

1 point

·

17th Oct 2020

Los Angeles is out too. It’s been happening at some Safeway, Vons, Albertsons but Kroger stores would have some. I specifically buy unsweetened Stok (green bottle). Now it is out EVERYWHERE. Time to buy one of these bad boys…
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_mFNIFb9JQKA35

1 point

·

31st Jul 2020

Trying to figure out what kind of coffee grinder makes sense for me to get. Up until now I’ve been using pre-ground coffee and a very basic coffee maker. I need 5-6 cups per week. I usually make a pot on Monday and reheat a cup at a time.

I was recently gifted a LOT (2 1/2 lbs.) of whole bean coffee instead of pre-ground and figured this is the time to try fresh ground coffee. I have a cold brewer link here (in addition to the basic coffee maker) that I’m ready to start using possibly in it’s place. I figure if I’m reheating the coffee regardless then it doesn’t matter if it’s cold of hot brew because it’ll get cold anyway.

I’d like a grinder that is less than $25 if possible. Would also like something easy to clean. I don’t mind doing it by hand rather than a plug in/battery concept.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

If you’re worried about watering it down, use coffee ice cubes.

During summers, I have this cold brew container in my fridge at a high concentrate, and then just use normal ice cubes. Lasts about 2ish days?

1 point

·

20th Aug 2020

I don’t have any special equipment for my cold brew. I just put the grounds and water in a 3 quart jug, refrigerate overnight, then strain through a few coffee filters in a sieve over a pitcher. I make a more concentrated brew (5 oz, by weight, of grounds to 2 quarts of water). I like mine strong and black, so I do half coffee half water, my husband likes is weak so he does 1/3 coffee to 1/3 milk to 1/3 water.

We make a lot in the summer, so this works best for us – one batch lasts about a week. There are a few brew pitchers (like this one) that I’ve considered, but just weren’t big enough for us.

1 point

·

21st Jul 2020

Honestly, for me, making iced coffee by brewing it hot and strong has always been a bit of a crapshoot, although I only do it when I want iced coffee in a pinch and don’t have any cold brew on hand. I find it much easier to just do cold brew. My wife bought me one of these a couple of years ago and it works very well. Takes more time than the hot-n-strong method, but for me it’s a lot more consistent.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2020

I have a couple of these pitchers that are great for making cold brew.

Easy to clean, they won’t break, and they’re airtight so you can squeeze them in your fridge at any angle without having to worry about leaks. Also nice to be able to throw in a cooler for the beach or pool!

1 point

·

5th Mar 2020

Yes! I’m not sure if you know how it’s made and I don’t want to assume anything. If you don’t, cold brew is made by soaking coffee grounds in cold water to slowly “brew” the coffee. This prevents the typical bitterness you get from a hot cup of coffee. It also creates a higher caffeine content.

You can look up cold brew makers on Amazon. I got mine for $19.99. They’re basically pitchers with a net in the center to hold the coffee grounds as they soak overnight. If you don’t want to buy one you could could always just strain the grounds out the next day.

What you are making is cold brew concentrate. You need to dilute it with milk (dairy or non) or water, whichever you prefer. I usually do a 1:1 ratio and then add some ice but everyone likes theirs different.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2019

Wholeheartedly agree with this suggestion! I bought this cold brew maker on Amazon for under $20 and use it religiously. It only makes a quart at a time, but you can dilute it 1:1 with water and it’s still pretty strong. It’s also not too large a profile, which is great if you share a fridge with roommates.

Only downside is that it takes a lot of coffee – 12-14 tbsp for one batch. However, this will be the case no matter where you get your cold brew from.

The food storage container/nut milk bag method is also a good way to make sun tea – for either coffee or tea, a glass half-gallon milk jug from Whole Foods does the trick perfectly.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2019

I bought this and have been doing some trial and error of my own , cold brew maker
I have tried grinding it at a paper filter, metal, French press and a bit in between. I’ve found French press does work best and bring out the best flavor

1 point

·

12th Apr 2019

Any course ground coffee (I like flavored coffees) will do. this is my coffee pitcher. Fill the basket with coffee, the pitcher with water (I use the water from my brita pitcher I keep in the fridge). Let it brew in the fridge overnight. Remove the grounds (so it doesn’t get bitter). Voila. Cold brew coffee.

1 point

·

17th Aug 2018

Don’t need to apologize.

Cold brew is just another way of making coffee. Instead of using hot water, this method uses cold water and therefore will take much longer to brew – about 12-18 hours.

Stick something like the below link in the fridge with your ground up beans and leave it in there for at least 12 hours and you’ll get cold brew. https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Patented-Airtight-Silicone-1-Quart/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_4?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1534522128&sr=1-4&keywords=cold+brew

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2017

I love this thing. I make it and then sometimes if I only drink half, I add more water and let it brew again.

Also are you using a bialetta on the stove? I have a 12 cup one and I love it so much, reading how much you hate it makes me want to cry.

Takeya Cold Brew Iced Coffee Maker, 1-Quart, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_WcR0zbGYQ8ETR

1 point

·

15th Mar 2017

100% way to go! You don’t have to worry about needing to find the perfect water to coffee concentrate ratio. This doesn’t make concentrate as it makes it right to drink!
https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_4?s=kitchen&ie=UTF8&qid=1489539031&sr=1-4&keywords=cold+brew+coffee+maker

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2016

Have you looked into cold brew? It takes way longer, so you won’t want to brew a single cup at a time. This Takeya one is nothing more than rebox of one of their tea systems. The infuser even still says tea leaves on the bottom! None the less, it still works great as a pitcher (the infuser is removable), though I’m afraid I can’t comment on how well it works as a cold brew setup as I haven’t much experience with anything else.

1 point

·

3rd Jun 2015

I would say look into cold brewing if you’re mixing with hot water anyways. I got this one recently and it’s been great so far – just throw tea in at night, have concentrated tea ready in the morning, very little work.

Not sure how BIFL it is but it’s a pretty simple thing – plastic and a screen. It also has the benefit of being less bitter than brewing with hot water.

1 point

·

26th May 2015

I use one of these guys they make a larger one too that is marketed for iced tea, but seems to be essentially the same.

8 points

·

22nd Jul 2021

I stayed away from coffee for 7 months while trying to heal. I am at a point where I have started introducing coffee back again, very slowly. By very slowly I mean, I started off with only a couple times a week, 1/4 cup of coffee mixed with warm almond milk.

I did a lot of research before I started drinking it again. COLD BREW IS THE LEAST ACIDIC. Cold-brewed coffee is 67 percent less acidic than hot-brewed. Therefore I bought a cold brew maker and researched a low acidic coffee that was organic and with no GMOs and Lifeboost Coffee has a PH of 6. In general, a light roast is more acidic and a dark roast is less acidic. I also read about Calci Blend (also known as Coffee Tamer) where I add one packet to my coffee. It neutralizes the acid in coffee and can also be sprinkled on foods.

I have been tolerating coffee very well, but I still prefer to have more almond milk ratio to coffee. I just heat up the cold brew in the microwave.

Here are links to what I bought if you are interested:

Cold brew maker (cold brew can be stored in fridge for up to 2 weeks) – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

Coffee Tamerhttps://www.amazon.com/Coffee-Tamer-Packets-Reducing-Granules/dp/B00C6GWY1E/ref=sr_1_9?dchild=1&keywords=calciblend&qid=1626957036&sr=8-9

Lifeboost Coffee (I purchased their “medium” beans) – I buy beans so that I can grid “coarse” which is what should be used when doing cold brew. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B089B1B892?psc=1&ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

6 points

·

22nd Jul 2020

Didn’t expect to be answering coffee questions in the bike sub, but here we are. Cold brew coffee – it’s so stupid easy and is amazing.

What you want is this bad boy right here – https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_1?brr=1&dchild=1&qid=1595454693&rd=1&s=kitchen&sr=1-1

If you’re feeling extra crazy and want some foamy milk, splurge and get yourself this guy too – https://www.amazon.com/Miroco-Stainless-Functionality-Chocolates-Cappuccino/dp/B07PZZTS6W/ref=sr_1_4?crid=3JQY30JC8PLUD&dchild=1&keywords=chinya+milk+frother&qid=1595454733&sprefix=chinya+mil%2Caps%2C216&sr=8-4

Then what you want to do – if you’re exclusively making cold brew, you can buy pretty cheap beans. Pre-ground is ok, but aim for decent quality and ‘freshly’ ground if you can.

Experiment a little with the ratio, but I like to do about 3/4 cup of grounds, then fill the remainder of the pitcher with cold water. Set on counter for 12 hours, then put in fridge for another twelve. Pull the filter/grounds out, you’ve got some delicious cold brew concentrate! Keep in the fridge so it stays cold. I like to mix about half/half with whole milk in the frother, and add just a pinch of raw sugar. You can also mix with water if you prefer.

4 points

·

4th May 2021

Just get a cold brew container like this one and add course-ground coffee from your favorite local shop!

4 points

·

22nd Jun 2016

amazon ,
follow this link it gave me 5c, its a cold brew coffee machine

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U/

3 points

·

18th May 2021

I’ve never really enjoyed the taste of coffee but yesterday my girlfriend and I split a cold brew coffee flight at a Starbucks Reserve Roastery. They were all really good and the whiskey barrel aged one was the best thing I’ve ever tasted. All of them were very smooth with no bitterness. I’d actually enjoy coffee if I could recreate it.

  1. Is there a best method for making cold brew? We’ve tried making small batches in a reusable jar and filtering and it wasn’t the best. Then we bought Takeya old Brew Coffee Maker which we use regularly now and I still think it’s gross.

  2. Is there a way to recreate the whiskey barrel aged flavor that isn’t so expensive? It was $40/8oz beans so we didn’t buy any.

2 points

·

19th Jul 2021

Is this the pitcher you use? Currently, I brew in a pot on the counter and then filter through a nut milk bag into a large mason jar. It works but I’m looking for a simpler process!

2 points

·

12th Jun 2021

I haven’t found any coffee specifically marketed as fermented, but you inspired me to do some googling and I found this post from a reddit thread like 7 years ago. The whole thread has some good points (cold brews, dark roasts, lower acidity coffees) but this post in particular is great with lots of good info that might help. I can absolutely vouch for chicory coffee being an enjoyable drinking experience, even if I can’t speak to how much it helps with heartburn. But you can get it at some grocery stores in Ottawa – I’ve seen it here and there. also this article listed some low acid brands, to get you started in googling if that’s something you (or anyone else reading this thread) wants.

Also seriously look into cold brew. You can make it at home and it’s wayyy gentler on your system.The pitchers are pretty cheap and you can just park them in the fridge. If you want the coffee hot, you could always microwave it after the fact. It’ll still (as far as I know) be less acidic because the acid has to do with the brewing process, I think? (I hardly ever drink hot coffee, I’m a big iced coffee guy, so I can’t say I’ve ever microwaved cold brew, but I can’t imagine it would fuck it up.) Again I’m not a coffee expert or a chemist so… grain of salt. Also apparently dark roasts > blond roasts, which blows my mind. I always thought it was the other way around but I looked it up and I’m totally wrong lol. Blond roasts are more acidic because of how the beans are roasted.

Anyway hope that helps. Coffee is one of life’s greatest pleasures, so hopefully you can find something that’ll make it more palatable.

(Also I’ve not seen this mentioned anywhere with regards to acid reflux specifically, but there’s a recipe for coffee with roasted flour as a thickener. It’s a Navajo recipe and quite tasty, albeit different to what most Canadian coffee consumers are likely used to. Also not light in calories because flour lol. But filling at breakfast, and the flour may (potentially) cushion the acidity a bit (no source on that, I’m just thinking it could work. I can’t test it myself as I don’t have acid reflux.) I’ve made it because I enjoy it from time to time, but not for acid reflux reasons so I can’t say for sure, but it’s a pretty simple recipe to try, so worst case scenario, if you give it a shot, it might not work out, but you won’t have lost much in the trying. I highly recommend Sierra Johnson’s youtube tutorial about it, if you’re interested in trying it out. It’s what I used to learn it and it worked quite well.) Given they say that adding things like milk/cream/and even (I’ve heard it said) eggshells??? to coffee, or eating it with a meal, can help mitigate the intensity of it, I can’t see why flour wouldn’t also do that, unless you happen to have a separate issue with flour i.e. gluten free. But again, totally spitballing ideas here because I’m just an amateur coffee aficionado and not a professional of any kind.

Hope that helps and happy brewing. 🙂 (Edit: and sorry I haven’t been able to find fermented ones specifically, but I hope this post can be a starting point for leading anyone interested in these things down some rabbit holes, if nothing else.) 🙂

2 points

·

7th Jan 2021

get something like this : https://www.amazon.ca/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U/-6

it’s usually enough for the week. And you don’t have to care about measurements, since it’s already pre-measured.

2 points

·

24th Oct 2020

Just grab something like this and you’re all set.

1 point

·

21st Feb 2022

Here’s the commercial model

But if your brewing at home they also make a home model but I prefer this one.

1 point

·

1st Jan 2022
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 1…$24.98$22.204.6/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

1st Jan 2022

I have one of these
Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 1 qt, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_V70XHTJXR86WHDF5B8G1?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Put 60g coarse ground per liter for 24hrs

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, 1…$24.98$24.984.6/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2021

You can make it yourself, it’s literally just steeping grounds in cold/room temperature water for a long time.

At root all you need is a jar that you put coffee grounds in and water and leave overnight.

There are devices that can help, these basically centre around mechanisms for making the separation of the grounds easier.

Many of these devices though limit the concentration you can achieve, as they limit the amount of grounds you can put in for a given amount of water. If I was American and had easy access to mason jars, I think I’d go with a mason jar with a Chinese tea strainer insert, you can get quite a high ratio with these.

One easy option that gives you scope for a high ratio is to use nut milk bags, you can fill these up with grounds and stick them in a jar. Make sure you use a jar with a straight opening, so you can get the bag out, if there is any significant closing in at the top it won’t come out and you negate much of the benefit.

This depends on your taste though, if you don’t want it super super strong, you can make it weaker and any of these lower ratio devices will work fine. These sort of devices with the mesh insert are definitely the easiest by a long way, you just take the insert out and dump the grounds when done. Any of the other methods, it’s messy cleaning out whatever you used. It’s messy enough that if you can get filter bags cheap enough to consider them disposable I’d just dump them when done.

At root though you can literally just dump grounds into any container, in fact one method that works pretty well is if you have large PET soda bottles just use a funnel to get the grounds in there, and then after brewing just pour it all out through a filter. The bottle will inherently keep almost all of the grounds inside it and then you can just dump the bottle with the waste grounds.

You can filter it on the way out, to get a cleaner cup. How much you need to do this depends on what mechanism you might have used to separate the grounds when brewing, like you’ll typically need to filter more at the end the less restrictive the filter you use making it. You can filter using paper (V60 filters), a french press, whatever, but I tend to find paper better for this, you will get sediment with a metal filter. Makers like the Takeya will produce something that is ready to drink but it will have a little sediment still, up to personal taste whether you want to filter something like that through paper. The sediment will stay at the bottom, so if you are gentle with pouring, it may be fine. You can reduce sediment by rinsing the grounds at the start of the brew to wash out fines but I prefer to filter after.

I tend to use darker cheaper roasts and brew it very very strong and drink it neat with ice, but you can do it with anything.

/r/coldbrew

1 point

·

15th Sep 2021

Hi there! I’ve had enough alcoholic drinks to be confident enough to post here. I live in Florida, so the concept of hot drinks simply doesn’t make sense to me.

I’ve done some searches both here and in r/espresso, and I believe my question hasn’t been answered yet.

I love the Starbucks Iced Americano with a splash of oatmilk or heavy cream. There’s a pretzel vibe that I just adore.

My wife would like me to spend a little bit less on Starbucks, so I’m looking to buy an espresso maker. I have two cold brew makers, both a manual overnight maker and a Dorothy fast maker. Despite my efforts, they always come out watered down and gross for my Americano desires.

I have no problem buying an expensive expresso maker because it’ll cost less overall. I have a Caspresso Burr Grinder, so a coffee grinder and a milk wand are not required. Would love to know the subreddit’s best recommendations for an espresso maker for an iced pleb like me. I came into coffee later in life so I’m very new to the concept of pulling-timing-terminology.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read this. I just want to enjoy Drive’s Imola offering without spending $3 every single day.

1 point

·

13th Aug 2021

I bought a pitcher from Amazon that has a filter, and it’s the best. My coffee steeps in the water, and it’s magic! I usually use some room temp water, or cold water from the fridge (that’s where it’s going anyway), and it lasts maybe a week?

Where I started to learn, it’s not too hard, you just have to prepare it the day before. Good luck!

1 point

·

28th Jul 2021

You really don’t NEED anything special at all. Just coffee, water, a big enough container to hold them both and time. You can do counter top or the fridge. Countertop will “brew” faster. The filtering is the “fun” part. You can bag the coffee when you steep, which makes it easier to filter out just the fines through a drip filter. You can make it in a pitcher in the fridge and the cold will help drop everything out and you can pour off the top. But really you don’t need anything special to do it, only when you want to do it easier. Good luck. When I’m doing small test batches I use these

​

https://smile.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?crid=I50PADFTEBWY&dchild=1&keywords=cold+brew+maker&qid=1627487373&sprefix=cold+brew%2Caps%2C172&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUEzNjNUOFpVNjNVSlRYJmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPUEwMjU2MzY0M1VQOFk4UzM4QUJSOSZlbmNyeXB0ZWRBZElkPUEwNTYzMDcxMzYxTVBJVTExVlNUTSZ3aWRnZXROYW1lPXNwX2F0ZiZhY3Rpb249Y2xpY2tSZWRpcmVjdCZkb05vdExvZ0NsaWNrPXRydWU=

1 point

·

1st Jun 2021

If you go with a cold brew ‘machine,’ be sure to get one that has a separate process that is not also the storage carafe.

Those ‘easy’ all-in-one pitchers that have a filter going down the center of the vessel are great if you only drink it one a week and don’t need to store AND brew simultaneously.

Our first was similar to this: Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, One Quart, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_8XMWTGQPDJ6E8H8M6Z1C

As a matter of fact we keep a spare carafe on hand for overlapping brews. It lets up have a little on-hand for when guests come over or trips. (We both have one large in a 16-oz sports bottle each day on the rocks.)

It’s highly concentrated so we don’t use the iced coffee cubes, we just let the ice melt into the elixir as the morning progresses.

Now we use this: https://www.filtron.com/

1 point

·

5th May 2021

You may want to try this. It’s pretty great:

Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Coffee Maker, One Quart, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_Q7QX0EBSKW4163VBKYH5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

29th Mar 2021

Tbh I got this for cold brew and it works well.

1 point

·

7th Jan 2021

Deal link: Amazon


Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

Is your reddit feed getting flooded with deals for products you are not interested in? Below are our category-wise subreddits where I crosspost from the main sub.

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

29th Dec 2020

I’ve been using their cold brew coffee pitcher for over a year now and it’s GREAT

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U

1 point

·

25th Nov 2020

I use this:

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-10310-Patented-Airtight-Silicone/dp/B00FFLY64U

I grind my beans, put beans in pitcher, let it brew at room temp for 18 hours. Done deal. Easy clean. No hassle.

Only trick is that you have to figure out how to seal it correctly otherwise you’ll get a couple of specs of bean floating in your coffee. It’s not a big deal, though.

1 point

·

13th Aug 2019

I have a (Takeya)[https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_WwJuDbKSB0770] brewer I got from Amazon. 17 bucks, works great!

1 point

·

13th Oct 2020

100g Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso beans to 4 cups filtered water. 24 hour immersion brew in fridge. Filter through a mesh filter once to remove the large grounds, then filter twice through a reusable linen filter. Comes out completely clean.

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_13?dchild=1&keywords=TAKEYA&qid=1602617114&sr=8-13 I use this, but i do not use the included filter during the brewing. Just do full immersion then filter it into a second jug or mason jar after. Allows the grounds to spread out and extract better.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07DLG8GC1/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o01_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^Get ^^instantly ^^notified ^^on ^^Telegram ^^when ^^there ^^is ^^a ^^new ^^deal ^^in ^^”Home ^^Improvement ^^and ^^Decor” ^^category. ^^Join ^^our ^(Telegram channel)

1 point

·

28th Aug 2020

I have this one and it works great. Honestly it’s pretty hard to mess it up. Just try not to grind the beans too much or you get a lot of coffee sludge at the bottom.

1 point

·

28th Aug 2020

I use this https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_XMosFbM7FBB19

But you can also use Mason jars and mesh or cheesecloth for straining

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

You know, if you do a cold brew, it will already be nearly 70% less acidic! No extra steps, and when you want some, just go to the pitcher in the fridge. There are lots of solutions for easy brewing.

Edit: a few helpful links.

1 point

·

28th Jul 2020

I’m new to this so I got this to start before investing a ton of money and it works fine

Takeya Patented Deluxe Cold Brew… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

easy to do…some very simple kits on amazon…this one is one of the simplest and cheapest.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FFLY64U/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

26th Sep 2019

Takeya 10310 Patented Deluxe Cold Brew Iced Coffee Maker with Airtight Lid & Silicone Handle, 1 Quart, Black – Made in USA BPA-Free Dishwasher-Safe

by Amazon.com

Learn more: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_.2qJDb7PY6HNP

1 point

·

25th Jun 2019

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Patented-Airtight-Silicone-1-Quart/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=cold+brew&qid=1561491320&s=gateway&sr=8-3

This thing is pretty similar to the one I use. Just add your ground coffee to the middle portion, add your water to fill, let sit in fridge overnight.

Also useful for making iced tea from loose leaf teas. I can’t speak to quality as this isn’t the exact one I have but there’s many similar contraptions.

1 point

·

20th Apr 2019

takeya pitcher for the win!! With the stone street cold brew grind from amazon as well.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2018

Thank you for such an awesome contest.
Interesting fact:i had scarlett fever at 32 weeks pregnant. I didnt even know it still existed and thought nothing of the rash until an elderly lady came in and told me i needed to go to the hospital then left. Had to give son meds to prepare for early birth and he was born 2 weeks later. I am still so thankful for her to come into my store that day. ♡♡♡♡

spoil me! – i would love to have a cold brew coffee maker. Currently just have a regular coffee maker but my favorite is cold coffee and this would make my life easier. But really would love anything from my wishlist. As moms we tend to overlook our self and so little indulgences like this are very special to my heart. So thank you again for this contest.
Link to cold brew carafe:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/

Link to wishlist:

http://www.amazon.com/registry/wishlist/3BUWGJB03IFE1
Good luck everyone and merry christmas!!!

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2018

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FFLY64U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_CKtlBbTGNQWM5

I have this one and it’s great. Less than $20 and it’s super easy to make. Just pop your grounds into the filter and take it out when it’s ready.

I got this one from Costco. Easier to clean than a French press in my opinion

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Patented-Airtight-Silicone-1-Quart/dp/B00FFLY64U

1 point

·

16th Dec 2016

Buy one of these and use heavy cream and almond milk. It will tastes smooth you won’t need sweetener.

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U

1 point

·

27th Jun 2016

https://www.amazon.com/Takeya-Coffee-Maker-1-Quart-Black/dp/B00FFLY64U/
this link still working for me, got 3x5c links. this is from last week.

1 point

·

18th Mar 2015

I just ordered a Takeya cold brewer. There’s also the Hario.

Both are Japanese companies, but they make a submerged cold brew, rather than a drip. Submerged is stronger and more robust, while a cold drip is “brighter” with enhanced flavor clarity.