What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Super Squats: How to Gain 30 Pounds of Muscle in 6 Weeks?

A total of 76 reviews of this product on Reddit.

6 points

·

25th Jul 2021

If you lift 2 days a week and have whole milk as a major component of your diet, you owe it to yourself to buy, read and follow this book

It will solve your issues.

2 points

·

13th Apr 2015

Awesome. I’m a big fan of Starting Strength as well. I do a lot of my strength training using a 5×5 routine, that was somewhat inspired by SS. Another great book, an oldie but goodie, is Super Squats. It’s a different approach, and one I’ve been wanting to try for a while.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2022

As others have said, it sounds like a programming & effort issue. PPL is pretty shit for 3 times a week, but there ARE programs that are intended to be run 3 times a week .. it just means pushing HARD those 3 days. You need to learn what real hard effort feels like, and push yourself there.

If you’re willing to try a good challenge that will teach you a lot, buy, read and follow super squats. You’ll learn what it means to push hard to grow.

1 point

·

14th Apr 2022

Do you have access to a barbell and some manner to squat? If so, if you are willing to use it, I will buy you a kindle copy of the book “Super Squats” as long as you promise to follow the full 6 week program and diet and post a training log here documenting your progress.

This is the book. It advertises itself as being able to put on 30lbs in 6 weeks. When I followed it, I put on 12 in 6 weeks, and I was already 190lbs at 5’9 at the time. A lighter trainee could definitely put on more.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2021

You can find the program here

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

It’s a fantastic read. Also contains exercise instruction and nutrition advice, along with history of the training movement and some psychology tips.

1 point

·

24th Oct 2021

I can only vouch for what is published in the book You NEED to read it if you want to run the program properly.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2021

Super Squats is working well for me. Pick a weight to start with that you can only hit for 10 and take it to 20. The end weight should look impossible so you obsess over it and eat to not fail. I’ve put on about 6 pounds in 2 weeks chasing this sickness of hitting my 20 reps. Check the book out and follow it’s instructions.

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=super+squats&qid=1631414225&sr=8-1

1 point

·

5th Aug 2021

Super Squats is the nuclear option to force your body to get good at the squat. I don’t know that I really recommend it, but if you’re in a hurry to get good at the squat this is a way.

1 point

·

8th Jul 2021

It was Super Squats, which can be found here

Jim Wendler has also had several 5/3/1 programs that allow for squatting and benching in the same workout, and he has produced many big and strong athletes.

1 point

·

5th Jul 2021

Why are you using so many shakes? You shouldn’t be so deficient in protein.

I wish I had read this book year one of my training. Read the book and follow the program and you will grow.

1 point

·

16th Mar 2021

> Idk bro I just want some gains

Buy, read and follow this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

Cheaper than junk supplements and it actually works.

The specific supplement you are talking about is snake oil

1 point

·

4th Jun 2019

Late to the party here, but about a month ago I hopped on the Super Squats program as laid out in Strossen’s book. I originally switched because I could feel myself burning out on nSuns, (losing motivation, tired constantly, etc.) and I’m glad I did. Lower volume and a lot more rest mean that you can really bust your ass at the gym. 20 rep squats are no joke though; the hype is true.

1 point

·

6th Dec 2016

Its one of the oldest and most tried and true programs out there

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

doing high volume squat work will roast you but it has a great pay off. The dietary info in Supersquats is pretty outdated though.

1 point

·

7th Jul 2016

>You don’t bench sets of 20 reps to improve 1RM strength.

Well, sometimes…

Frankly, I think you are committing the “rep range fallacy”. Sure, endurance rises in importance for longer sets, but strength never leaves the equation.

More importantly, holding a plank well doesn’t mean hanging out down there with the minimum possible level of contraction for 5+ minutes at a time. Bracing hard enough for people to walk on your back demands strength, and doing it for a long time requires even more strength.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2010

I did the squat program outlined in Super Squats by Randall Strossen. Is this the program you’re talking about or is it similar?

Regardless, I did 20-rep squats (and 20-rep romanian DLs) twice per week for over a year. I put a lot of muscle on my legs even though I didn’t follow his dietary guidance (which is essentially eat a lot of meat and veg + drink a quart of milk a day). My chest also got noticably larger, though that wasn’t a goal so I didn’t track progress.

49 points

·

23rd Feb 2018

5/3/1 Building the Monolith

It took 6 weeks to run. During that time, I put on 4.5lbs, going from 194.5 to 199 at 5’9. It’s an incredibly tough program, and you come out reborn.

On a similar note, Super Squats was another 6 weeks of hell. Gained 12lbs during that time, going from 190 to 202 (this was back in 2006). Everyone owes it to themselves to run that program.

On a more sustainable approach, 5/3/1 BBB is a great baseline, and can be run more indefinitely. The same can be said of 5/3/1 SVR II. Westside Barbell for Skinny Bastards was another solid program to run.

Regarding beast status

Front photo

Back photo

All that said, growth takes time. It’s going to take years to get something significant, but you can still push hard during that time.

10 points

·

26th Feb 2021

Thanks man, here’s the link :

Super Squats

I added the link in the review too.

10 points

·

29th Jan 2021

Buy this book and run the diet and training program within it.

8 points

·

27th Jul 2021

Buy, read and do what it says in this book

You will catch up with your friends

5 points

·

19th Sep 2021
5 points

·

21st Oct 2020
3 points

·

26th Jul 2021

DoSuper Squats, as u/MythicalStrength commented on your other post.

3 points

·

31st May 2021

This is 17 reps because I cannot reliably count to 20.

I am interested in running a modified Super Squats program with the zombie front squat and small (1kg) increases. I have heard of people doing Super Squats with the front squat, but never the zombie/Frankenstein front squat.

My reason is I recently injured my neck doing Super Squats with the high bar back squat. This was the second time I have injured myself with the back squat (bad enough to see a medical doctor), and it makes me think maybe the back squat just isn’t for me and my body. I find that both barbell and kettlebell front squats are more comfortable and more fun. So far, I haven’t injured myself doing the front squat.

My reason for the zombie front squat is that I hope it is an even safer variation of the front squat. The claim I have read is that you’ll either do them perfectly or not at all; I hope that the low tolerance for technical error will promote low probability of injury.

Anyways, anyone see anything I need to work on?

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

Buy, read and follow all the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

16th Dec 2021

Buy, read and follow everything written in here

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

8th Dec 2021

No problem dude. If you want to know everything about the program, this is the source

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

28th Nov 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book.

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

You will crush your goals.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Super Squats: How to Gain 30 Pounds of Muscle in…$11.98$11.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

12th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Super Squats: How to Gain 30 Pounds of Muscle in…$11.98$11.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

11th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Super Squats: How to Gain 30 Pounds of Muscle in…$11.98$11.984.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

10th Oct 2021

Is this what you’re talking about? Super Squats: How to Gain 30 Pounds of Muscle in 6 Weeks https://www.amazon.com/dp/0926888005/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_PTCAH068DNN20DT1EM4H

1 point

·

15th Sep 2021

>insights and experiences with this form of training

It fucking sucks, but it makes you hard – mentally and physically. Check out super Squats

https://mythicalstrength.blogspot.com/2018/03/ode-to-super-squats.html?m=1

1 point

·

10th Sep 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

9th Sep 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

8th Sep 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

4th Sep 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

19th Aug 2021

Buy, read and follow the instructions in this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

16th Jul 2021
1 point

·

15th Jun 2021
1 point

·

9th Apr 2021

As a fellow 5’9 trainee, you are underweight.

Buy, read and follow this book

https://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

1 point

·

26th Jul 2017

Serious suggestion: Super Squats I think the 30 pounds of muscle in 6 weeks is a bit of a stretch but it will certainly put some meat on your legs.

1 point

·

21st Dec 2016

Ok, I’ll jump in a little on this debate here. As an adult of around 23, I was slightly over 6′ and 155 lbs. I decided I wanted to put on muscle. doing pretty much only squats, benches, pullups and barbell curls I got myself up to 205lbs in 7 months. At my maximum, I had a bench press of 295 lbs (5 pounds away from 300! grrrr!!! btw, not those benches where you curl your back like a cobra and you have like 2″ of movement!), a deadlift of 425 lbs and a squat of 365 lbs at a body weight around 210-215 lbs. At my heaviest I was 230 lbs but at that point I was putting on too much fat so I’ve dropped down to the 205 lbs I am today.

I can only talk for myself and YMMV, but for me, isolation movements are a waste of time. If you’re a genetically average person and not your typical physical freak, isolation movements won’t do much for you. I went from 16 years of age until about 23 putting on maybe…0 lbs!!! I finally read Super Squats and let’s just say my sister, who didn’t see me while I was putting on my weight, did a double take when she came by.

Now again, YMMV, but I spent years reading the muscle magazines and getting advice (from people taking steroids). For me (and you may be different), working out with the heaviest weights I could (and constantly pushing them upward), doing only the basic compound movements (squats, deadlifts, benches, pullups) and working out much, MUCH less was the key. I honestly would never work out more than two days a week, sometimes only one. Again, not looking to get into a “bro, wtf are you talking about” contest. Just mentioning what did and did not work for me. Isolation stuff? Cable pull downs? Preacher curls? Hack extensions? I did that stuff for years and years and years and got nothing for it size-wise. I also took creatine and slowly increased my calories (maybe upped it by 250 calories or so every 3 weeks? I don’t remember, but I did it slowly).

Edit: for those who didn’t know what I meant about the “curl your back like a cobra” bench presses, this is an example. To me there’s so little movement after you contort your body like this that it’s almost no longer a bench press.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2015
  1. Start in middle school, not junior year of college.
  2. Start with super squats until I got to 225×20.
1 point

·

14th May 2010

GOMAD sounds like Strossen’s Milk & Squats formula Super Squats

The basics are to lift heavy and eat big. While you’re at it pick up Strossen’s IronMind

1 point

·

27th Sep 2010

READ: Strauss,

http://www.amazon.com/Super-Squats-Pounds-Muscle-Weeks/dp/0926888005

I have my story too, that’s right. 😉

0 points

·

13th Dec 2014

20 Reps is what “Super Squats” advocates

0 points

·

5th Dec 2012