What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower with LCD Monitor?

A total of 21 reviews of this product on Reddit.

5 points

·

17th Sep 2021

I got this one, super easy to set up by myself. I always listen to music so didn’t need a screen. It has a basic counter but I use my Apple Watch with row exercise to log. I’m not into all the metrics just a good workout.

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

13th Feb 2022

I use the Magnetic Rowing Machine by Sunny health. We got ours on Black Friday for $180 around 4 years ago, and I see it online now between $225-260.

I use this rower twice a week, and my husband uses it about once a week. So it gets used consistently every week.

My personal review is that I like it, it gets the job done and I feel like I get a good workout and can follow along on apple fitness plus very easily.

Some of the cons are that you can’t see your strokes per minute, and the digital board to track distance is not very intuitive, so I just don’t rely on it, and mostly just follow the instructions from the coaches. It can also get very loud as it gets older, but honestly I just use my headphones and it’s fine ( I live in a house, so not sure how it would be in an apartment).

The pros is that it’s cheap and it gets the job done! We initially got it to see if would enjoy rowing, which turns out we really do! This one is easy to move around so we just keep it standing against a wall, and pull it out when we are going to use it. Because it’s magnetic you can up the resistance, so I normally do level 6 and the husband uses it at a 9, so you can share with different people regardless of what level they want to use it at.

Since we’ve had this for about 4 years we are now trying to save to get an actual water rower over the next year. I feel like we definitely got our moneys worth with this one.

I totally recommend it if you are not sure if you like rowing and don’t want to spend too much money on a concept2 or water rower yet.

https://www.amazon.com/Sunny-Health-Fitness-Magnetic-SF-RW5515/dp/B017HSNIEW

1 point

·

29th Jan 2022

This is the one I have, and while it has fewer options than a high-end unit (no way to calculate splits is the only thing I actually miss), it’s smooth and quiet, and has held up without any problems. FWIW.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

Excellent advice thank you all. I will try the bpm app suggestion. For reference the rower I have is an older version of this:

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower w/ LCD Monitor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_x1j8Fb8RWZZPX

It basically displays the same info seen in this model. The seat is connected to the machine with what appears to be a single aux-like cable.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2020

We bought a Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower just a couple of weeks ago, so I can’t speak to its durability. I’ve used it four times so far and it seems reasonably built. I’d consider it relatively quiet. Assembled relatively easily. I wouldn’t say I could lift it on my own, but I can easily move it around to relocate or vacuum around it.

1 point

·

11th Oct 2020

I love the wall rack! What a fantastic transformation. I hope your landlord gets their shit together re: Windows.

I know you’re waiting for the concept…my husband wanted to drop $1k on it though he’s never rowed a day in his life. I told him, “Listen, let’s buy a cheap one to start and if we like it we can upgrade.”

We bought this:

Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5515 Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower w/LCD Monitor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5wVGFb8Z2DN4P

The computer on it sucks- other than that I highly recommend it! I figured we can use this, sell it second hand, and buy the Concept. Neither of us are rowers, so it works for us! I loved that it showed up literally a day later. No waiting. We read thru the reviews and this seemed like the best value on Amazon.

💪

1 point

·

30th Sep 2020

Great persistence; glad to see it pay off!

When you say that you’re doing rows, do you mean with a machine like this?

Sunny Health & Fitness SF-RW5515 Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower w/LCD Monitor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW

Thank you!

1 point

·

26th Nov 2018

https://smile.amazon.com/Sunny-Health-Fitness-Magnetic-SF-RW5515/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=sr_1_5?s=exercise-and-fitness&ie=UTF8&qid=1543259389&sr=1-5&keywords=rowing+machine

This one is $179 with 4/5 stars. I’m not sure what makes it lower end, and I don’t know what things to watch out for. I do want to get a rower that will last me 4-5 years, so if this one, or comparable ones, are going to be breaking in a year or two, they’re not worth it to me.

I just feel like I don’t know enough, and all the review sites I’ve gone to seem to be sponsored by the machine companies, so I don’t feel confident taking their word on it. I know Reddit is just random strangers, but I’ve gotten advice on a lot of topics from Reddit, and I’ve yet to regret it.

EDIT: Maybe I’m just over thinking this, I’m just worried about spending a lot of money on…well, anything really.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2022
1 point

·

13th Feb 2022

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Rowing Machine Rower with LCD Monitor https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_SNWYFG9NYPBSQDES1KMD?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Just looked….I bought it in 2016. Love it.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2022

Can it be foldable or does it have to fit in that space when in use? We bought this rower last year and the stored footprint is pretty small.

1 point

·

30th Oct 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

3rd May 2021

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_939KJNN9ASGXJ1VV8NE8 You can work on explosive endurance unlike a treadmill or elliptical. I went from a 2min man to 40min man.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2020

>What resource would you recommend for learning proper form from home? (given covid, I’m not getting a trainer to show me)

Dark Horse Rowing and Concept2 on youtube are great. Once you get a machine, post a video here for tips.

>Is there a “program” you recommend, for building up endurance? And if so, how might you downplay it, given my aforementioned cardio setback in March. For instance, should I just take it super slow for an hour or a moderate pace of 15 minutes and stop for the day?

The Pete Plan is frequently recommended. However, if you’re looking just to build endurance, get to the point where you can knock out some 1 hour low stroke rate steady state rows.

> Side question: Not for right now, but do rowers follow HIIT like routines? I used to love going all out (i.e. sweaty and hard breathing mess), followed by a 1 min cool-down and doing it again.

Yeah, intervals are a thing, but most plans have them as the smallest part of your training. Definitely fun though.

>What machine should I buy? I lurked the subreddit long enough to learn air-based, particularly Concept2, is the fan favorite (principally because you can track/compare scores). I’m not motivated by seeing my times compared to others; rather, motivation comes from seeing I progressively improve. Given I’ve never rowed, dropping over a grand for a Concept2 seems probably unwise. I was thinking of starting with this magnetic rower (https://www.amazon.com/Sunny-Health-Fitness-Magnetic-SF-RW5515/dp/B017HSNIEW#customerReviews), given it should be silent, is marked-down well, and the reviews (quite a few) seem pretty good to “trial” if rowing is for me. I’m very open to alternative thoughts/suggestions, however!

>Note: I did read the subreddit page on this topic before posting, for those wondering. The hammer seemed to come down pretty hard on not using magnetic, but didn’t really provide a middle-ground between spending a ton of money (on something I’ve never tried before and may hate, like stationary bikes) or giving up on the rowing concept entirely. So, I felt it was a fair question to still ask. I’d gladly drop a grand or two on a rower, if I knew I liked it…just can’t fathom it for something I’ve never tried.

> Note: I checked FB marketplace and craigslist in my area, but discovered nearly everyone re-selling rowing machines (including Concept2’s) was charging MORE than the “new” prices on Amazon. Like, the cheapest USED Concept2 within 40 miles of me was around $1,400. I’m pretty handy/DIY and feel comfortable fixing-up an old/used highly-regarded model, but for some reason the USED market here appears more expensive than the NEW market…for those up to the task of challenging this and putting my search skills to shame though (I’d be delighted if you did!), I live in Albuquerque (NM). 🙂

Find a used C2 then. I’m running a 19 year old one and it’s better than that Sunny thing.

Also, if you get a new C2, you can sell it basically for the same price these days. Really low cost risk. Even in normal times they’re only discounted $100-200 for used current gen machines in decent condition. A C2 is a “buy it for life” piece of kit.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2020

Deal link: Amazon

NOTE: Are you looking for discounts on a specific product? Search for the product in our official Discord Server! We are gearing up for Black Friday and Cyber Monday! Grab the deals before anyone else! Join our Discord Server to get real-time notifications on all deals. We have category-wise Discord channels. Disclaimer: Some deal links on this sub may be affiliated

1 point

·

24th Sep 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

21st Oct 2019

Used Sunny rower for $150 canadian?

Magnetic Rowing Machine by Sunny Health & Fitness – SF-RW5515 https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B017HSNIEW/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_JvBRDbRBSJEZV

1 point

·

21st Jun 2018

We have this one which is nice. Usually I just throw on some Parks and Rec. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B017HSNIEW/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1