What is the opinion of Reddit about the
StarTech.com USB Crash Cart Adapter – File Transfer & Video – Portable Server Room Laptop to KVM Console Crash Cart (NOTECONS02)?

A total of 14 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2022

Ah, I see.

If you already have a laptop, you could probably use a Laptop KVM Crash Cart converter. Something like this.

They allow you to connect the output as well as the USB of the device to the Thin Client. The other end connects via USB to your personal laptop, and using the software provided on your laptop, you’ll be able to used your laptop basically as a screen + keyboard + mouse for the Thin Client.

They’re not cheap, and personally I’ve never used one, so do your research beforehand.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2018

You already carry one with you! It’s called a laptop. Here’s an adapter to bridge to your servers:

StarTech.com KVM Console to Laptop USB 2.0 Portable Crash Cart Adapter with File Transfer & Video Capture – Portable KVM Console https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_erFABbE5DB564

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2017

so far as KVMs are concerned, I swear by this type. https://www.amazon.com/Console-Portable-Laptop-Crash-Adapter/dp/B00IZGR6IK?th=1 that, and 1 VGA female to VGA male plug on the end so you don’t accidentally bend pins from the wear and tear of plugging it in to literal thousands of vga ports. For me, it is worth its weight in gold (if it weighed 2 more pounds). :- )

1 point

·

31st Mar 2017

~~StarTech.com KVM Console to Laptop USB 2.0 Portable Crash Cart Adapter with File Transfer & Video Capture – Portable KVM Console~~

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/

~~This is just a KVM. It’s probably not be what you are looking for, but it does let you use your MacBook Pro as the keyboard and screen.~~

You probably want to run Proxmox with macOS in a VM.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2016

Kind of. There is a USB KVM device that will work, and it lists Windows/Mac/linux compatibility. However, it is a little overkill for home use.

I have one for my datacenter and carry it when I travel, it is great for headless devices with standard ports.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IZGR6IK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

31st Dec 2020

Unfortunately you can’t do it directly. Start Tech made this handy tool

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/

2 points

·

5th Dec 2020

A USB Crash Cart might be an option?

2 points

·

5th Dec 2020

It’s a little expensive, but this is really what you want:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK

It connects to your laptop via USB and converts your laptop into a KVM console.

However, if you’re set on a monitor, then I’d use one of these with a VGA to HDMI adapter: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RGPCQG1

1 point

·

9th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
StarTech.com USB Crash Cart Adapter – File Transf…4.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

8th Oct 2021

StarTech.com USB Crash Cart Adapter – File Transfer & Video – Portable Server Room Laptop to KVM Console Crash Cart (NOTECONS02) https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/

1 point

·

18th Aug 2021

I don’t currently have one of these specific devices, but I was considering trying something like this: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/

1 point

·

20th May 2021

You can ssh in, the issue the DCUI command and you will have a window that you can capture with normal screen capture tools. If you are trying to document the setup from the beginning it won’t work, because you have to get the box far enough down the process to have configured the management network. It may fit your needs.

If you really need to have it all, then like others have said, management cards, or IPKVM is what you need. I like these https://www.lantronix.com/products/lantronix-spider/ for production environments. This is a bit cheaper, and in the long run may be more useful depending on where your career takes you. https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Console-Portable-Adapter-Transfer/dp/B00IZGR6IK

1 point

·

28th Dec 2020

We used these – https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Console-Portable-Adapter-Transfer/dp/B00IZGR6IK

not sure how many sites you have but crash carts are usually available to borrow from the datacenter itself

1 point

·

5th Aug 2018

There is a version that has file transfer, but yeah, no USB 3.

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00IZGR6IK/ref=twister_B00K72ZQRS?_encoding=UTF8&th=1