What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone?

A total of 194 reviews of this product on Reddit.

24 points

·

2nd Jun 2019

Sony’s MDR-7506 is a robust, even toned set of over ear headphones that I’ve been using for the past 2 years or so. Durable, comfortable, and sounds great.

24 points

·

4th Nov 2018

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

These are pretty standard for the industry. Sound great and are not too expensive. I use them pretty much everyday when I’m editing. The only thing is they aren’t noise cancelling, so if that’s something you want then you might want to go for something else. But I’ve used them in the office with other people working/talking near me and I’ve been fine.

12 points

·

7th Nov 2019

I went through dozens of sets of failed headphones my first twenty years.
Bought these Sony MD7506 in 2000 and they’ve never let me down.
I had to replace the foam, cheaply, about ten years ago.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=sony+headphones&qid=1573133248&sr=8-6

9 points

·

25th Nov 2017

This is for prices being below the Minimum Advertised Price so it’s actually usually a really good deal. Amazon frequently sells one of my favorite headphones like this. The price for it is very good and it isn’t being manipulative or anything. It’s a genuine deal.

People in this thread are being a bit too cynical.

5 points

·

26th Jun 2021

Sony MDR 7506 werden seit Jahrzehnten quasi unverändert produziert und verkauft. Teil der Verpackung ist ein “exploded view”, der den Aufbau und die Komponenten zeigt.

4 points

·

25th Nov 2017

People are being too quick to be pissed about this. When you see it it’s actually a good sign that you’re getting a good deal. Amazon does this frequently with one of my favorite headphones. They’re not being sneaky, they’re just giving you a great price.

3 points

·

27th Jul 2021

The Sony MDR 7506 headphones are great for practicing and home studio use… they’re also used a lot in professional studios from what I understand… I like them because they sound great and have a long coiled cable so no issues standing with the bass and moving around a bit…

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-MDR-7506-Professional-Headphone-Black/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=asc_df_B000AJIF4E/?tag=googshopuk-21&linkCode=df0&hvadid=404379811189&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=5487300610223649865&hvpone=&hvptwo=&…

3 points

·

15th Jan 2021

I learned with the passing of time that Bluetooth is not suitable for music production. You could try to reduce the IO buffer size but you’d still get a lot of latency. I suggest buying a pair of good, open-back, wired mixing headphones for your tracks, like these ones wich I think are the most bang for the buck out there

3 points

·

14th Dec 2018

I honestly know nothing about those. Never even heard of the brand before. So it’s a risk. The Sony MDR-7506 is an industry standard. You’ll notice them a lot on TV and in movies because litteraly the entire crew wears them. Very flat response, and I’ve heard good mixes come out of them.

Without knowing your ears or your goals, that’s my standard recommendation. And in threads dedicated to headphone purchases these always come up.

Again, you’re buying headphones for studio work, so you aren’t trying to by the best sounding headphones, rather youre trying to get the most natural sounding headphones.

Edit: after looking at that product a few things jump out. First, you don’t want noise cancelling headphones for mixing. Also, they are marketed as “audiophile”. Audiophiles spend a lot more money than $40 for headphones. So these are for people on a budget who don’t really know what they are listening to. Which leads me to believe that these will be very colored sounding for “rich” response curve. The Freq response, Impedence, and sensitivity all leave a lot to be desired.

I found the Sony’s on Amazon for $80 right now. At that point it’s a no brainier.

2 points

·

25th Dec 2016

The Sony MDR-7506’s are my go to headphones for when I’m producing music or DJing as they produce clear, crisp, natural sound. I’m new to playing piano, but they’ve worked great for this too! I bought mine for $100, 6 years ago. They’re $80 on Amazon now.

https://smile.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1482709339&sr=8-1&keywords=sony+mdr+7506

2 points

·

6th Apr 2019

Sony studio monitor headset! $80-$100 on amazon. In my situation I’m too young to get a job and afford $300 studio monitors. If your somehow in a similar situation, I reccomend these. They look a w f u l , but perform great!

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_TVbQCbVBGCGC0

2 points

·

27th Sep 2020

These are a solid choice at a reasonable price. Used pretty much the world over in studio recording booths (or so I’ve heard). They aren’t the best, but the value for the price is hard to beat. As everyone else has said anything better is basically just opinion or tuned for a very specific use case and type of sound, open back vs closed included.

1 point

·

7th Mar 2022

My favorite relatively inexpensive headphones are the Sony MDR7506. Not only because they’re great sound quality for the price, but also because of the anti-coolness they project. Like, yeah, I’m wearing giant ugly headphones that say “STUDIO MONITOR” on top, what’s it to you?

1 point

·

14th Feb 2022

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_6SFV2M2VSFRRCXJGBVZ6

I’ve had these for almost 10 years now. Got them for recording music but I also use them for pc gaming when playing at night.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2022

Compared to stock photos of the MDR-7506 (e.g. on Amazon), the headband has been replaced and it’s backwards; the driver that’s labeled ‘R’ is actually the left driver and vice-versa, as evidenced by the cable, placement of internal wiring, text direction and ‘Professional’ mark. The red on the inside of the earcup is probably just red foam inserts. The drivers might be real, but I wouldn’t buy it unless you don’t mind DIY.

1 point

·

18th Jan 2022

Raise the amp up off of the floor when micing for recording. When the amp is on the floor, half of your sound is bouncing off of the floor and causing phase cancellation in the microphone that makes your amp sound small. Raising the amp up off of the floor-like up on a chair-eliminates this. You will get a bigger, fatter tone.

Use less distortion than you think you need. Distortion is the enemy of clarity.

Get good quality headphones, bring them to the session, and trust what you hear. Microphones don’t lie or care about hype. If you need a really good pair of headphones that don’t cost too much, look at these.

Use less bass EQ than you think you need. Your band already has a bassist with more low end on tap than you ever will, trust him to do his job. Your band mix will thank you, as will the producer on the session

1 point

·

26th Dec 2021

Second monitor. I play mostly city builders & turn-based games; being able to watch a video at the same time was a huge quality of life increase.

Good headphones also make a huge difference; I’m currently using the Sony MDR 7506. I don’t even mess around with external speakers any more.

1 point

·

20th Oct 2021

If you are going for durability, these are very hard to beat. You’ll see them in just about every big studio and radio station in the world.

Kick them. Drop them 100x. Throw them. They’ll be fine.

IF anything does ever happen to them, they are very easy to repair and replacement parts are easy to find.

https://www.amazon.ca/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr\_1\_2?crid=3QB01PFOTK9WX&dchild=1&keywords=sony+mdr-7506&qid=1634742948&sprefix=sony+m%2Caps%2C257&sr=8-2

1 point

·

9th Aug 2021

Sorry you’re getting downvoted for what is a legitimate stance on your part. I can sympathize.

Check out the Sony MDR-750s. They’re inexpensive and widely used in music production in large part because of how easy they are to wear. It’s not like you won’t know they’re there, you just won’t care. I can wear mine for literally hours, with my eyeglasses on, without being bothered, and I’m pretty sensitive to such things. If you buy them on Amazon you can return for free if they don’t work out.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2021

Not sure what your price range is but I use these for listening to music and for gaming.

1 point

·

30th Oct 2020

Sony’s MDR7506 was what I used before I got noise cancelling headphones (hooray for being out of DoD). They don’t have a mic and they work great from a sound perspective, but they get uncomfortable after several hours.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000AJIF4E/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&th=1

1 point

·

13th Dec 2019

Sony MDR-7506. They are not “piano headphones” — I don’t think such a thing exists — but they are very high quality and a favorite of studio recording engineers. The sound is unbelievable, and they are less than $100. 4.6 rating on Amazon, with more than 5,000 reviews.

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_kxV8Db2JSKGM3

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

Every radio station and recording studio I’ve ever been in had like 10 pairs of Sony MDR’s, so that’s just what I’ve always used.

Back in the day they were $60 a pair but since the trade war/tariff’s with China they are up to $100.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E

I’ve never understood the whole ‘lets spend hundreds of dollars on headphones’ for music that was mixed with a $60 pair of MDR’s.

1 point

·

17th Sep 2020

My guess is that it won’t help. “Gaming” type headsets are rarely concerned with, for instance, great music quality. It’s probably the headset itself.

Try using some good-quality music headphones with the setup and see how it works. You’ll need to come up with a solution for the microphone, but you don’t need to spend a ton of money on that (I use a clip-on microphone from Amazon that cost $5 for a pair, they work fine for gaming).

You don’t have to spend a fortune. These have been recognized as the industry standard studio monitor headphones for a couple of decades now. Less than $100. I use them and IMHO they are still easily the best audiophile headphones for the money, or even three times the money.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2019

These correct? Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_RzRKDbT1NE7K3

Also thank you! I definitely like them so far and they are about $50 cheaper than some other models I’ve looked at.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2018

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_emWaCbKQ4XSHN

Full-time acoustician and part-time DJ. These are my goto sub-$500 pair for music production and mixing. If it sounds good here, it should sound good elsewhere. I then only have to make adjustments at the venue if anything sounds off. I can setup quicker.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2018

the m30x comes with less features:

  • no folding mechanism
  • no detachable cable
  • probably poorer driver matching

Sony offers the MDR7506 and related models in this price segment, but this is more of a studio headphone and not very portable with the coiled wire.

Currently the M40X is “the” headphone to get when it comes to a “good all-rounder” that comes with decent comfort and good features for home and portable use.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2018

Sony MDR-7506

Industry standard. Great quality. Very fairly priced. Very flat tone. You’ll want a flat tone to understand how the tracks ACTUALLY sound without headphones that are meant for enjoying music to interfere. That can be misleading.

Cons: They do get very hot after a while (a lot of monitors do). They are a bit low on the base end as others mentioned. They also can hurt your ears after a while since they’re a pretty tight fit.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1531312854&sr=8-3&keywords=sony+mdr+7506

1 point

·

20th Apr 2018

Budget – $250

Source – Desktop PC as well as my iPhone.

Requirements for Isolation – 99% of the time, I use them at work, but as soon as my home desktop situation looks better I will start using them at home as well. It’s not a cubicle layout at work. More of an open table, so I have somebody about 2-3 feet to my right.

Will you be using these Headphones in Public?

-No plans to use them in public areas aside from my work station.

Preferred Type of Headphone – On/Over Ear, no preference for open/closed back.

.Preferred tonal balance – Used exclusively for music, so slightly bass oriented, maybe neutral?

Past headphones – Currently using Sony MDR7506. Not that these are particularly bad, but I know I can do better. Super thankful because I was given these as a gift, and I wanted to actually do some research and don’t mind spending some money on the pair I want that fits me best.

Preferred Music – Listen to a wide variety of music. Mostly Trap/Bass music and Classic Rock but love Folk, Alternative Rock, and go through occasional rap/hip-hop phases.

I’m an absolute noob when it comes to this stuff, so I’m hoping somebody can guide me. I’m going to give the purchase assistant tool a whirl, but like I said, I have no idea what I am/should be looking for. Appreciate any help!

1 point

·

15th Apr 2018

Sony MDR. If you aren’t looking for microphone capabilities these are the best

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_e780Ab2XJT5P7

I use them on a 32 channel sound board. Best headphones I have ever used. And I have had plenty of Bose and seinhesier

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2018

These are excellent headphones. They aren’t flashy to look at- but their response and range are amazing.

Sony MDR7506 .

I’ve tried a lot of really expensive headphones and none were noticeably different to my 33 year old ears.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2018

I’d say headphones. For ~$100 I got a pair of Sony MDR-7506 and they sound great for the price. If your melodies sound like crap it doesn’t matter what your MIDI rig is.

1 point

·

1st Mar 2018

can you double your budget?

this is an expensive hobby but we buy things that last. Here is a 5 year pair of headphones for 80 bucks:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

if you tour studios you’ll see these laying next to 700 dollar headphones and 10000 dollar speakers. They make an excellent mostly-flat frame of reference for the ‘average jane’ listener.

you should also plan never to get anything useful out of 40 dollars in this (edmproduction) world. It does happen from time to time, but it’s rare and you need to know enough to recognize a good deal from a ripoff.

edit: you will likely want to follow your headphone purchase with an audio interface purchase. your internal sound card can drive decent headphones, but it will likely lose stuff at lower volumes and distort early at high volumes. an external amp can make a cheap quick fix but you’ll (probably) raise your noise floor and add new colour to the sound. you’ll probably want help with that purchase too.

1 point

·

1st Feb 2018

Habe die Headsets und es fühlt sich so richtig nice an. Falls du auf Bass oder so stehst kannst du es später editieren, da dieses Headset, was ich gleich nenne, Neutral ist.

SONY PRO MDR7506 Headphones Pro closed

Kosten 100.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2018

Sony MDR-7506 are pretty much an industry standard studio headphone that are on the lower end of the price range. I’ve been using a set of these for years. They do the job.

1 point

·

10th Feb 2018

There are the greatest headphones you will ever own:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1518277520&sr=8-4&keywords=sony+mdr+7506&dpID=510Y-3A9kYL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

Sony’s MD75 series, currently the MDR 7506. They are professional grade headphones for less $100, and I’ve owned three pairs or them over the past 25+ years. I’ve done everything from listen to Netflix to producing a demo record for a local band.

Best headphones money can buy, in my opinion. Period.

1 point

·

11th Sep 2017

Yeah i wasn’t too impressed with the NU1, plus thats an upright action rather than grand.

I would say probably close to 80% of my playing is done with my headphones. I think people run into issues trying to use headphones they already own that are not ballanced properly or do not make proper contact with the headset jack. My recommendation is plan on $100-150 for a set of studio head phones I use These and have no issues with them at all, on any digital piano. And I can wear them for quite a while comfortably.

The lid is pretty much up anytime im playing with the headphones, it just sounds better.

The sound position is primarily on player, since I am playing. Just like the Hall simulator Effect is usually Off or set to room when i am practicing. Now I do change these every now and then, more if I am working on making sure notes are clear and not muddled, changing the sound position can sometimes give a good idea, and the Hall Simulator I like to use when I am playing pieces that i know well enough that i can just sit at any piano and play them. The different reverb effects are pretty cool sometimes. But this feature I view more as a bonus to have fun with.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2017

these are just as good as bose, don’t have crazy good noise canceling, but can’t see why that’s necessary if you’re just as home. Lots of studio people/artists use these too. Love them. Half the price of Bose https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000AJIF4E/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

20th Apr 2017

Thanks!

That’s great advice and always something I forget about. I went to a broadcast school for video, so I have many audiophile friends who can probably hook me up with some, or at least advice me while shopping.

After my move, I’ll be sure to get some.

I’m going to edit my post to include the headphones I’m using right now, Sony MDR-7506:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

23rd Apr 2017

I recommend saving some money and getting these. Great sound and build quality for the price.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2017

I second these, but, if you’re worried about sound getting colored while you’re trying to EQ or whatever, I recommend these as well.

They have a flatter response and they’re about $70 cheaper.

1 point

·

29th Mar 2017

Correct me if I’m wrong, but doesn’t that require your headphones to have a detachable cord? I just bought the Sony MDR-7506 again as I feel like their the best headphone you can buy under $500. Only downside is the 10ft coiled cable.

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2017

i hope i can convince you otherwise. i’m one of those people who researches anything I buy for three weeks before I purchase

anyways, here. https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1485159797&sr=8-1-fkmr0&keywords=son+mdr7506

these will save you a shit ton of money and they sound AT LEAST as good as the Bose (in my opinion better, my roommate has the Bose ones). also, by saving an enormous amount of money you don’t need to be uncertain whether or not it’s worth it

1 point

·

6th Dec 2016

I’d never give up on my old-school Sony MDR-7506s.

They have incredible range and sound reproduction, and they’re overall very high quality for the price.

They’re “closed-back” headphones, though, meaning they’re more immersive than open-back headphones. I’ve also found that closed-back headphones trap more body heat (obviously), so those people that “run a little hot” might find that extended use of them becomes a little sweaty. They are extremely comfortable, though.

They’re wired, not wireless, with a coiled, springy cord that is also very high quality.

I wouldn’t trade them for the world, though — the sound quality alone for both gaming and music is top-notch.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2016

I’ve been looking for a good pair of headphones for my piano that I could also use on the PC for gaming. I’ve seen Sennheiser HD 598s all over the place but I also found that these Sony MDR7506 have been praised as well.

Thoughts?

1 point

·

9th Dec 2016

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

not under 50 bucks, but ive been using them for 10 years and they still work as good as they day I bought them. I had to replace the ear cups, but that was $5 bucks and only once.

1 point

·

25th Dec 2016

Sony MDR 7506 Studio monitor headphones.

If you have the rest of the sound equipment, you’ll be pushed to find something as good, something as widely used by professionals in the industry or something as well reviewed across multiple sites, and by professionals, for twice the price.

GLHF
Z

1 point

·

9th Oct 2016

I’ve owned Sony MDR-7506’s for a year now off of a suggestion made on this subreddit, and I’ve loved how accurate and clear they are. These are certainly the best sub-$100 headphones I’ve owned and would heavily recommend them to anyone looking in that price range.

Is there anything comparable or better to these in the $100-$250 range? I want a good upgrade. I’ll take anything circumaural.

1 point

·

6th Sep 2016

Your title says you’re looking for headphones, but then your post suggests you actually want a headset? well I’ll leave this here anyways:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

then buy a super cheap clip on mic, and upgrade to a better usb one later.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2016

My primary headphones are Sony MDR7506. I wear them mostly at work, plugged into my MBP. I also wear them when I’m traveling (at the airport). At the gym, I wear Bluetooth headphones. Those are the only instances where I wear headphones anymore.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2016

2 part post:

  1. I remember trying these out and loving them, but I know very little about their quality. Thoughts?

  2. I need a pair of in ear headphones having lost my apple earbuds. Personally, I found the apple ones incredibly comfy, which is all i was really hoping for. the ones you had to push into your ear always hurt after an hour or so. Should I just stick to the apple ones?

1 point

·

16th Aug 2016

I have professional over the ear headphones and i connect them to my cellphone. The cord on them is coiled and i don’t have much trouble with getting tangled in it. I am able to sleep with them over both ears because they have cushions but it may or may not work for you if having stuff on your head disturbs your sleep.

Where i have had trouble is when whispering gets automatically played on Youtube—whispering stuff results in nightmares.

Here are the headphones i use
https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

19th Jun 2016

Sony MDR there’s a $75 studio headphone everybody talk about it’ll last for at least two year if you don’t sit on the phone jack like I did (it lasted me 3+ years). I take it to the gym so it had some gunk around the plastic but overall awesome.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

I had to replace the ear cushion once, you can buy it on amazon for like $5 bucks. Felt like if I actually took care of it, it would have been built for life.

update:

You know what’s funny? After I posted this, I google if I can fix this. There a few soldering tricks and other neat mods.

I decided to bust out my leatherman multitool and use the clamp. I bent it back test didn’t work, tried this a few more time and now the headphone works again… I’m going to stick with Sony for headphone if I ever need another.

1 point

·

28th Jun 2016

im gonna screw this up immediately and mention something that is not BIFL, but one of the very best (and durable) products I own are Sony MDR7506 headphones.

no electronics are obviously gonna be BIFL but Ive dropped these a million times and they still sound amazing. they have over 3,000 amazon reviews, many from audio technicians, and 78 percent are 5 star. 91 percent are 5 or 4.

amazon

maybe the very best part is that they’re only $80. they could cost 5 times that and still be a great deal.

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2016

How good are these headphones? I have some M100 and some Beats, but I’ve heard this headphones are pretty good: http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1456890527&sr=8-1&keywords=sony+mdr+7506

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2016

If you are looking for closed studio style headphone there are always the sony mdr7506 been around forever.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2016

I’ve got the exact same turntable but I’ve got it plugged into a Yamaha RX-v863. I purchased this Sony MDR7506 based on a few recs I read. I used ’em when I want to lay on the floor and really get into the music.

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2016

Also, if you want standalone headphones under $100 (they’re $80 now, I’ve heard they go down to maybe $75), the Sony MDR7506’s were strongly recommended by Tested’s audio enthusiast as just about the best you can get under $150. At $75 to $80 that still leaves you with another $20-$25 (compared to the HyperX set) to throw at a mic, and if you can scrape another $25 together you could even go for a snowball mic. EDIT: or that antlion mic that just got posted, but that’d do nicely with this.

1 point

·

24th Jan 2016

Great idea! There are many good reasons to monitor your recordings live:

  • to ensure you are speaking with good mic technique/placement
  • to ensure levels and balances are correct
  • to hear plosives and sibilance
  • to ensure you’re “on”
  • to check for background noise

As for the cans (headphones)… I recommend you spend a little more cash if you can. BangsNaughtyBits has a good point – many headphones (and speakers too) are tuned for enjoyment of music, not so much as a tool for mixing or critical listening.

While they do have their own “sound”, the Sony MDR-7506 headphones are the standard in radio and broadcast work for some really good reasons. They’ll run you around $80 and come with a bag and a 1/4″ to 1/8″ adapter. You’ll find these headphones in most every radio reporter’s kit and in most radio studios.

  • they are closed-back headphones, so they do a decent job of cutting out ambient noise. This is especially helpful in the field.
  • they fit pretty snugly… good for the same reason as above, but also really important as they won’t bleed in to the microphone (causing feedback) if turned up loudly. Some models (like another popular model of AKG) are notorious for causing this problem.
  • vibrations and other noise doesn’t travel up the headphone cable (this can be really annoying on some headphones)
  • you can hear problems like sibilance and plosives easily
  • the headphone pads are easily replaceable and will give out long before the electronics do.

Good luck and let us know what you end up with.

1 point

·

10th Jan 2016
  • Budget – <$100
  • Isolation – Not necessary
  • Tone – I prefer clear vocals to heavy bass, I like to be able to pick out the various instruments in what I’m listening to so I’d prefer clarity over anything else.
  • Past headphones – Monoprice Cans, Koss Portapros, Koss Sportapros, Bose Soundtrue.
  • I like indi music, electronic, folk, classic rock, classical, jazz, and occasionally hip hop.
  • I VASTLY prefer on ear to over-ear, I have a terrible time with my ears getting way too warm and uncomfortable when I wear over-ears for more than an hour or so.

  • I was looking at these after reading the wirecutter headphone guides, as they fit in my price range and hit what I want in a headphone, but I’m really wary about buying over-ears.

1 point

·

10th Jan 2016
  • Budget – $50-$150
  • Isolation – Not necessary
  • Tone – I prefer clear vocals to heavy bass, I like to be able to pick out the various instruments in what I’m listening to so I’d prefer clarity over anything else.
  • Past headphones – Monoprice Cans, Koss Portapros, Koss Sportapros, Bose Soundtrue.
  • I like indi music, electronic, folk, classic rock, classical, jazz, and occasionally hip hop.
  • I VASTLY prefer on ear to over-ear, I have a terrible time with my ears getting way too warm and uncomfortable when I wear over-ears for more than an hour or so.

  • I was looking at these after reading the wirecutter headphone guides, as they fit in my price range and hit what I want in a headphone, but I’m really wary about buying over-ears.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2015

Well if you definitely have to have the look of V-Moda and want to do some music production only the M100 would be useful there. They aren’t designed for studio reference but they are slightly more neutral than the LP2 which will give you too much bass for producing.

Honestly I’d recommend getting 2 pairs, the V-Moda LP2 for DJing (they are perfect for DJ use) then a different brand for producing. You don’t have to spend a fortune on a decent pair of studio headphones. The Sony MDR7306 are only about $80 USD and make perfect music production headphones.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2015

The Sony MDR 7506’s are a great choice. Had them recommended to me by several engineers, and they have not disapointed. The response is nice and flat, a very nice soundstage, and best of all the mixes I make on these headphones sound more consistent on other systems/headphones than any other pair I’ve tried. Plus, Amazon’s got them on sale right now!

1 point

·

4th Dec 2015

The ones I have are the Sony mdr 7506 studio monitors. http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

They are studio monitors so the output is very flat. That means to get the most out of them you have to use an equalizer. I recommend rocket player or poweramp, both of which have excellent equalizers.

There are a few other downsides. They are not bass heavy even with equalizer and bass boost programs. If you want bass, don’t get these headphones. Also, they do not cancel noise at all. You will hear all external noise. These are not your airplane headphones.

If you can get past those downsides, these are amazing headphones. This is the type of hardware that benefits from flac audio files and external DACs. For vocals and jazz and other complex audio types will accurately play those cluster chords and suspensions. All of this for about $80.

Edit: I just read the op about public transportation. Don’t get these for her for use on public transportation. The open design will not be good for that loud environment. I will leave my post incase anyone else is looking for Christmas gifts.

1 point

·

7th Nov 2015

Ah gotcha. One of the BEST headphones you can get for the price is Sony’s MDR7506 I currently use a pair of these and I love them. Easily one of the greatest headphones on the market in my opinion. While it is a wired pair of headphones, you are getting some amazing quality for the price.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2015

One of my jobs is working for a radio network doing sound and we use these because they are pretty much the truest sound you get at that price for mixing and shit. They’re light, comfortable, pretty cheap, and will be great for pretty much any use you need. My one knock on them for CSGO is they don’t block out much sound but I don’t know what your environment is like.

I would recommend these to anyone if they need headphones for under $100. Not USB though.

1 point

·

29th Oct 2015

Yep FLAC. I would say it’s not making the fullest use of the hardware you have but I think it would be a massive difference over any cheap pair of headphones or in ear earphones. I can’t ever go back to earphones or cheap headphones because I’m spoiled by quality headphones so I will always make sure I have a good pair of them available ever since I started buying headphones.

I say you lurk about in /r/headphones. They also have a daily headphone advice purchase thread so if you have any questions definitely ask there or read what people are asking as im sure there will be someone who has the same questions as you.

Also, YouTube to MP3 conversions? Come on fam step your game up 😛

But yeah, listening to FLAC or even 320Kbps on good headphones is just great. 320Kbps is the lowest I will go if I can help it when it comes to quality. Maybe have a look at Spotify?

The Audio Technica AT-MH50’s are a good affordable headphone to get you in the game. Sennheiser is excellent in the high end game, Sennheiser Momentums, HD 600/650/700/800. They’re a pretty penny though. Anything lower than that I think there are better alternatives. Sony offer exceptional value for money on headphones. You can buy like a cheap $60 pair of headphones for Sony and swear you bought something worth twice or even thrice the value. Example, Sony MDR7506. Can pick these up for around $70.

I know those examples aren’t wireless but that’s another thing. For superb audio quality, wired will always be superior. I almost always use wired on my headphones except when at the gym or under other occasional scenarios.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2015

If you don’t want to go over $100, get Sony MDR7506s.

These bad boys have been go-to industry workhorses for ages.

1 point

·

17th Aug 2015

I had the Cloud 1 for about a year before upgrading to some of these they’re very similar to the cloud 2’s and honestly they are excellent

1 point

·

21st Aug 2015

They (maybe just Dave? I didn’t pay enough attention I guess) also use Sony MDR-7506’s. I actually have a pair too! They get uncomfortable after awhile but they sound incredible.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

9th Jul 2015

How are the sony MDRs? I’m assuming your talking about this one someone else posted.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

Its MUCH more in my price range. 200+ is kinda steep for me right now as a college student with no job and who is basicly a hobbiest who has no idea what he is doing most of the time. But I gotta have something other than earbuds…..or turtle beach headphones used for gaming (Which I used until they broke). I’m not exactly a professional here.

1 point

·

19th May 2015

I use Sony MDR7506 over-the-ear headphones when I listen to music. They retail around $90-$100 but I think they’re worth every penny. I also have a pair of 1st-Gen Beats Pros, and while they’re loud and have excellent bass, the Sonys are a MUCH better value. What you sacrifice in bass(which isn’t even a lot) you make up with full, rich and clear sound. It takes a couple of minutes for them to warm up, but when they do they sound amazing and they’re surprisingly comfortable as well.

1 point

·

7th Feb 2015

I’ve been thinking of picking up the headset adapter recently, just one question.

Will I be able to plug in any standard headphones with a 3.5mm jack into the adapter and get game audio? Voice chat isn’t a concern for me and I’m more interested in game audio only.

I currently have some Sony Headphones that are plugged directly into my TV but I’m not enjoying the quality and would prefer if I could just plug in through the adapter to get game audio.

Thanks.

1 point

·

31st Jan 2015

I recently got the Sony MDR7506 for my GF ( Link ) . They are very nice. But since “I” have only had them for about a month i can’t really tell you personally about their “BIFL:ness”. But they are spoken off very nicely in these terms.

35 dollars isn’t very reasonable. But the koss porta pro is probably the best in terms of BIFL for anything near your price range. But remember: this is Buy-it-for-life, not i’m-on-a-slim-budget.

1 point

·

16th Sep 2014

$85 Sony headphones would sound better.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_4?s=aht&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1410898009&amp;sr=1-4&amp;keywords=sony+headphones

In fact, I hear most music is mastered with these headphones, so you will hear it just like the recording artists.

With Bose you’re paying a lot for minor noise cancelling, I say minor because ANY over the ear headphones will cancel out a fair amount of noise.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2012

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

I’ve had these headphones for 5 years. I’ve used them to DJ indoors and outdoors, and for audio engineering coursework as well as casual listening. They sound great, are extremely comfortable, and can take a pretty serious amount of wear without a hitch. I highly recommend them and would buy another pair immediately if anything happened to mine.

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2011

Sony MDR 7506, These are just all around a great pair of headphones. I find that with complete isolation it kind of takes away from the experience if you can’t hear the timbre all that well.

1 point

·

23rd May 2011

I recently got a pair of Sony MDR-7506‘s, and I’ve been waiting for one of these threads to come up so I could recommend them. Great sound reproduction, reasonable price, and good isolation.

1 point

·

20th Apr 2011

do you have a particular favorite brand of headphones or speakers?

to the sis: if he doesn’t, get him a set of these for his birthday:

Sony Professional Studio Headphones

I have some, and as a (budget) audiophile, they’re fucking awesome.

1 point

·

11th Nov 2010

Man up. Buy a pair of Sony MDR7506. The sound is 100,0000,000,000 times better than any earbud and they will last forever. They’re built like tanks, as they are the workhorse of the pro audio industry. I’m going on FIVE YEARS of daily use on my pair, and have only had to replace the ear cups once. Plus; chicks dig big headphones.

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

17th Sep 2010

Sony MDR7506 – Studio cans that sound amazing and are durable as hell, I’ve had mine for almost 10 years now with heavy use and they are just as good as day 1. The consumer version is marketed as MDR-V6.

279 points

·

27th Jul 2017

Sony MDR-7506

They’ve been a standard for professional audio engineers for decades for good reason – and they only cost $79.99 on Amazon.

I’ve had mine since the mid-90s and have traveled around the country with them crammed in a backpack and they have held up like a champion. I keep saying I’ll replace them with the same model if they ever die, but they just keep working…. The only issue is that the ear pad covering wears away over time, but this is easily fixed by purchasing BeyerDynamic velour pads. These pads are super comfy, and well worth the $23. They’re not just a replacement for the original, they are an upgrade.

15 points

·

19th Dec 2018

I don’t know for sure, but they’re Sony. They look like Sony MDR7506 or equivalent, but I don’t know if they come with a mic. But you can tell by the red “R” oval on the right side, as well as the head piece that says “Studio Monitor”.

There’s a Miley Cyrus video where she turns her head and you can see the side panel a bit better, but it’s not clear enough to get the model number. The MDRV6 looks similar as well.

But you see how those two have a red and blue label on the side that says “Digital” or “Professional”? The ones on Howard Stern look to have a grey/silver that I can’t find.

So hopefully this helps with your search or someone else who knows can jump int

14 points

·

15th Feb 2018

This is a really misleading and uninformed comment.

If you notice the graph with the frequency response curve, it goes up to 100khz.

Literally no headphones go up that high.

For comparison, one of the most successful, widely used professional pair of studio headphones (the kind engineers sometimes use in place of monitors{a kind of speaker} use when recording albums), Sony MDR7506’s

Youre right to say theyre “Not as good” as something like this, but anybody reading your comment will look even at that pair of sony headphones and declare them “definately not good headphones” based on provided info.

PS the sonys are cheaper https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

13 points

·

9th Jul 2018

Okay just hold the fuck on, when you come up with budgets for things you should have an idea what they cost first or you’re going to get fucked over. I’m not just talking about headphones either, this “I got bills what’s the best shit I can buy” attitude might seem cool but it’ll fuck you hard by the people who recognize what it means.

For recording music you almost certainly just want these $80 industry standard headphones or the M40x or M50x if you prefer the feel/slight sound difference.

If you’re mixing you probably shouldn’t be using headphones at all, but if you’re going to, depending on what your Sennheisers are I’d probably do most of the work with them since they’re open and then switch back and forth with the MDR7506s pretty frequently to get a balanced sense of what’s going on.

/u/NsM_3 was on track when he said you didn’t need to spend anything like that but even they were going a little far when they acted like you’d be using $1000 headphones if you were producing with Drake and I can prove it, notice anything familiar? Not clear enough? Once again, you don’t need even $500 headphones. Maybe you hate Drake though, how about my cheapest recommendation on the desk with Kanye? What if that was a fluke though… nope. Even Dre has at least used the M50s and really, why wouldn’t he when they’re good enough for Beyonce, but then again, she also uses the cheapest headphones I’ve listed.

Industry standards are standards for a reason. Don’t be fooled by flashy logos and photo ops, pros use functional and quality equipment that is replaceable after being worn down. If you think you need hundreds of dollars on monitoring headphones you done got played.

6 points

·

13th Oct 2018

On headphones, There’s a lot of ways to research.

&#x200B;

Such as

  • C-NET – Advertising influenced Professional reviews
  • Consumer Reports – Unbiased Professional reviews
  • Amazon reviews – A metric crap ton of amateur crowd-sourced reviews, and some occasional products with massive amounts of fake reviews

For me I like to use the amazon reviews but I always put the item listing into fakespot. Using Fakespot lets me know the reliability of the ratings because a lot of the lower end earbud listings are completely faked.

My research led me to two separate products I loved. Wired Sony &quot;Studio Headphones&quot;, these sound great to my non-audiophile ears. These are sturdy, to me they feel good wearing them and they sound great. Included in the box was an exploded parts diagram with a parts list. These are not break and throw away headphones, these are designed to be serviced. It had great reviews was within my budget $80 and fakespot said the reviews were legit. These are solid, sturdy, designed to be serviced. I freaking love them.

The other product I really like is the Avantree Wireless 40 HR Blue Tooth headphones. The ratings were good, and legit per fakespot, my complaints about my other wireless blue tooth was that I never seemed to have them charged when I wanted them and the range sucked. I double checked the tech specs and the 40hrs wasnt marketing BS. These legit have much higher battery capacity than the other wireless headphones. When I first plugged these in I played them side by side in wired and wireless mode next to the Sony Studio headphones. The bass was deeper, and the mids were better represented, at first I was really happy. These were out performing the Sony Studio Headphones, but as I played more songs side by side, I found I liked these better on most songs, but on some songs it didn’t sound the way I remembered them. Then it occurred to me, I plugged the Sony Studio headphones back in, and adjusted the equalizer, I was able to adjust the equalizer such that my Sonys sounded exactly like these, then I figured it out and I was pissed off. These weren’t better at reproducing the bass and the mids. They simply have a built in bass boost that can’t be turned off. I’d give this product 7 Stars if I could for battery life, but only 4 for bluetooth range, and 2 for the bass boost I cant turn off I get why they do it, if you had to listen to headphones side by side in a store a consumer would hear more bass out of the boosted ones, and think they were better at reproducing bass.

&#x200B;

TL;DR lots of ways to research, Fakespot is awesome, some headphone manufacturers use dirty tricks. Beats uses what are basically fishing weights to make their products feel heavier and sturdier, and some manufacturers include a bass boost that you cant turn off.

Edits – lots of spelling and grammatical mistakes.

4 points

·

28th Jul 2020

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_62giFbQ6J29KA

This one is pretty good if you don’t mind a giant spiral cord

2 points

·

5th Feb 2018

Closed headphones are well, closed, behind the drivers. So the back of each headphone cup is solid. They let very little sound in or out and the soundstage is generally very close to your head. With open headphones the backs of the “cups” is generally full of holes allowing for air to travel (and therefore sound to come in and go out) which results in a wider soundstage. Linus will explain very quickly. (two minutes)

Honestly though, you don’t mix with only headphones anyways, you use monitors (and headphones too), and open headphones don’t automatically make for better mixing headphones.

The reality is, you should buy a pair of Sony MDR7506s. These are the fucking standard world wide, in the sense that they’re in basically every studio on earth. They’re not mindblowing, they probably won’t rock your world, but they’re good and they’re reasonably priced. There are no open back headphones I would recommend over these for production purposes below $100.

Would I personally probably prefer working with HD 600s (good open headphones)? Sure, but that’s more because I know their sound well. Would I work with the 7506s (good closed headphones)? Any day of the week, just like professionals all over the world.

You have a $100 budget in the first place so just buy the 7506s and don’t worry about it until you learn more about audio. Even if you sprung for the HD600s you would need to buy a proper external amp/DAC to power them so the cost is even higher. The 7506s are $80 on Amazon and they’re what you need. If you had $400+ to spend and were only interested in headphones for the purpose of mixing then maybe I’d recommend the 600s to you, but you should really learn more about this stuff before diving in that deep.

2 points

·

30th Jul 2020

I use these in my studio. As for length, what about an extender cable?

2 points

·

3rd Jun 2015

Pods: Apple Earpods

Cans: Sony MDR7506

1 point

·

17th Jan 2022

I would agree on many points, but the comfort? You sure about that? Because they surely cannot be more comfortable than cushioned earpads. Which are less than that. Rest I can stand with you.

As for audio quality, once you try something remotely pro, you will feel a change. Even cheap ones like https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E?th=1 will sound totally different.

1 point

·

17th Nov 2021

There are really 3 pairs of headphones I see in venues and events when gigging as a DJ in the UK.

Firstly, the HD-25 as its a great headphone, and is really light on the head, and is great for that one ear on and one ear off the style of mixing. Also, parts can be changed out if something stops working which is a bonus. https://www.juno.co.uk/products/sennheiser-hd25-headphones-with-1-5m-straight/601625-01/

Secondly, are the Sony MDR 7506 which are also lightweight but are over-ear and are also great for production if you are looking to do a two-in-one kind of buy these are the headphones. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-MDR-7506-Professional-Headphone-Black/dp/B000AJIF4E

Thirdly, are what I’m currently using are the HD-280 pros which are a great pair of headphones, if you are looking for something to completely isolate as much sound as possible, which is really important when you are playing out in a big club with a huge system, making it a breeze to cue in tracks. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-280-PRO-MK2-Headphone/dp/B00IT0IHOY

I’ve owned all these headphones for around 5 years and swap them out depending on what environment/task I’m doing. And all are great headphones which I see many DJ / Producers use.

What you have to understand is that DJ headphones don’t need to be pricey, as they need to be easily replaced, while being able for DJ from all backgrounds to get a pair.

1 point

·

7th Nov 2021

I’ve had the Sony MDR7506 for six years now and they work just as great as the day I bought them.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2021

Sony MDR7506’s are the bog standard in the studio world. $100, no gimmicks, just perfectly reproduced sound, pretty robust cord, and comfy AF in my opinion.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2021

Wondering if this is a decent beginner headphone-only setup:

Turntable: RT82

Preamp: Art DJ Pre II

Amp: Magni 3+

Headphones: Sony MDR 7506

I understand the headphones are by far the weakest thing here—I plan to upgrade them but for now I’d like to keep them so I’m not spending too much. I’ve had them for years and they’re very comfortable.

1 point

·

29th Jan 2014

I’m also in the same situation and have decided to get closed headphones as my first good pair. Are you narrowed down on the M50s or still looking at other ones? I’m trying to decide between the M50s, which are currently on sale here for the next 2 days, and the Sony MDR-7506/V6, which are about $85 on Amazon. Any feedback?

1 point

·

26th Oct 2020

Can you spend $90-100?
The Sony MDR-7506 is somewhat of an industry standard for studio headphones. They produce a very accurate, uncolored sound.
https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

30th Nov 2019

Lower your budget. For $80 you can get the Sony MDR-V6 or its cousin the MDR-7506. These are amazing studio monitors that can play anything you throw at them. It looks like amazon helpfully raised prices for Black Friday so shop around.

Now add $99 for a JDS Atom headphone amp and be amazed. A good headphone amp can double the value of any headphone. If you buy an expensive headphone and plug it into the cheap amps included with most TVs, computers, gaming systems and electronics then you just are not going to hear the quality headphone you paid for. There are many other amps or DAC-amp combos, but the JDS Atom is the first one that came to mind that fits within your budget.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2020

I use Sony MDR-5706 headphones. They’re relatively inexpensive, are pro studio monitors (so extremely accurate and unbiased sound), and are modular (that is, if something breaks, you just get a replacement part for it, so you can pretty much continue using them forever). Like the other user said, the law of diminishing returns applies when buying any kind of sound gear–I think the MDR-5706’s are a good balance of price and quality.

Incidentally, if you’re curious, a headphone audiophile CGDCT manga exists.

1 point

·

15th Sep 2020

I use Sony MDR-7506 studio reference headphones and they have proven to be a pretty cheap budget option for gaming and overall clean audio quality (depending on your setup). You can also get after-market ear faux leather ear pads that are much more comfortable.

Sony MDR-7506

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_2?crid=ZHSSSETELY04&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=sony+mdr-7506+headphones&amp;qid=1600205604&amp;sprefix=sony+mdr%2Caps%2C165&amp;sr=8-2

Auray Ear Pads

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/998386-REG/auray_epe_mdr7506_extra_deep_earpads_for.html

1 point

·

15th Sep 2020

Sony MDR-7506, sfori un po’ il budget ma sono lo standard nel campo.

Audio Technica ATH-M30x, o se puoi salire un po’ ci sono le M40x.

&#x200B;

In generale per l’uso che ne devi fare devono essere chiuse e avere un’impedenza abbastanza bassa (quindi no AKG).

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

I didn’t hear this but this is my guess. You’d be surprised how shitty of headphones they actually use in the industry.

1 point

·

27th Jul 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_mAVENXuUzivpH

These are what I use. there used a lot in music schools Ive had them for a year and love them no problems so far and I listen to the same music they sound great on them

1 point

·

21st Jul 2020

External battery, good exfoliating creme, good headphones.

Amazing headphones:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

20th Feb 2020

I’ve been using a pair of MDR-7506‘s from Sony for about 5 years now and they are still working great. If you do any kind of listening to orchestras or ensembles, these are really great.

About $90 on Amazon at the moment, though. (you might find them cheaper elsewhere) However, if you decide you want a high-quality pair to keep for a while, these have my endorsement.

Honestly, though. If your only concern practicing, and not necessarily having the best sound quality, then any old headphones will do. You’ll just need an adapter probably. (Like this one) I just tested some walmart earbuds I have with my Yamaha P-105, and it worked fine. Not the best quality, but it works, and it’s a very affordable solution.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2019

From what I know Sony is the best when it comes to mastering and mixing because they cup your ears instead of flattening them like these

but I’ve heard these are good too

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2019

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_-GXVDbS4ST9F7
Best headphones I’ve ever owned!

1 point

·

15th Jun 2019

Slightly above your price range (street price $80): Sony MDR-7506 is probably the best bang for your buck. It’s the de-facto standard in many recording studios.

https://smile.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E?sa-no-redirect=1

1 point

·

1st May 2019
1 point

·

29th Apr 2019

Industry standard, very flat. I recommend these especially if you’re just getting started:
https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=sony+monitor+7506+headphones&amp;qid=1556547026&amp;s=gateway&amp;sr=8-3

These are bright and clear. They reveal a lot. The top end can be a bit harsh without Sonarworks so if you go this route you’d want to get sonar works (linked below):
https://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-880-PRO-Semi-Open-Headphones/dp/B079P9H1SH/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?crid=FG0M37DL8V5A&amp;keywords=880+beyerdynamic&amp;qid=1556547157&amp;s=gateway&amp;sprefix=880+beyer&amp;sr=8-3

Software that works great with any headphones, especially the 880s. It makes the sound more flat and balanced:
https://www.sonarworks.com/truefi

If you buy 250ohm headphones you’ll also want a small amp so it’s powered properly. This one is affordable and works great. You hook it into your Audio interface:
https://www.amazon.com/Behringer-HA400-Ultra-Compact-4-Channel-Headphone/dp/B000KIPT30/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?keywords=4+channel+headphone+amp&amp;qid=1556547301&amp;s=gateway&amp;sr=8-3

Also research and consider these (read good things but never tried them):

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-Open-Back-Professional-Headphone/dp/B00004SY4H/ref=mp_s_a_1_29?keywords=sennheiser+studio&amp;qid=1556547204&amp;s=gateway&amp;sr=8-29

All that being said if your budget is higher than those I’d research Beyerdynamics and Sennheiser top tier products.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2018
1 point

·

13th Oct 2018

Surprised to not see the Sony MDR7506 mentioned.

1 point

·

18th Oct 2018

I would suggest buying some studio monitor headphones with 80 ohms and then getting a headphone amplifier to make them as loud as you need them to be but not loud to the point where there make your ears bleed. Not sure what your price range is buy these Beyerdynamic headphones where $200 bucks I have and they are absolutely wonderful pieces of technology and the best headphones I have ever used in my entire life.

This is what I have and use:

Headphones:

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/DT250–beyerdynamic-dt-250-80-ohm-closed-back-broadcast-and-studio-headphones?mrkgcl=28&amp;mrkgadid=3248788792&amp;rkg_id=0&amp;product_id=DT250&amp;campaigntype=shopping&amp;campaign=aaShopping%20-%20Core%…

This is also a very good alternative as well if you want to spend under $100 bucks,

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

(hey they look bland but these headphones are the industry standard for professionail audio positions and are sound almost just as good!)

Using a Headphone amplifier will greatly boost the signal of headphones as well please do not underestimate the importance of a headphone amplifier when using these types of headphones because they describe entirely the solution to your problem you are having.

TLDR: You need to buy a headphone amplifier and or studio monitor headphones. (imho studio monitor headphones are the best because it gives you a clear and flat signal that can be used easily with a headphone amp with a built in EQ)

You can do this for under 200 bucks but my setup is 350+

1 point

·

10th Aug 2018

[headphones under $100] or Sony 7506’s

There are probably some cheaper headphone amps that could work. Maybe someone else can chime in with a suggestion. If they find an amp for $50 then I’d say grab that and step back up to the ATH-M50’s.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2018

There is the Sony MDR-7506 or senheiser HD 280 Pro. If you don’t specifically need closed back monitoring headphones I’d recommend something open back like the HD559s

1 point

·

9th Jul 2018

I don’t know where they’re trying to charge you $120
They’re super comfortable for long sessions (I use them for gaming too)

And I highly recommend them for $80 on Amazon

1 point

·

17th Jul 2018

You mean the Sony’s are cheaper right?

Sony MDR 7506 – $79.99

Sennheiser HD280 – $99.95

Not that it matters all that much. My company is buying them for me too use.

1 point

·

15th Feb 2018

En casa: Sony MDR-7506

En la calle: Plantronics BackBeat Fit

En la oficina: Sennheiser HD 25-1 II o Sennheiser HD 598

Para el avión (o cuando hace frío): Plantronics BackBeat Pro 2

1 point

·

21st Dec 2017

My dad informed me today that he would like a pair of headphones for Christmas as he’s grown tired of earbuds.

He will be using them for music on his phone/ipod. Budget is about $100. I am a complete novice about anything headphone audiophile related but here are two that I’ve been looking at:

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M40x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUR54

Would these be alright for his purposes? Suggestions and feedback appreciated!

1 point

·

12th Oct 2017

I did say that if you used apple earbuds they’d seem good, they’re certainly better than that trash.

Studio quality is a bit of a weird term that will mean different things to different people. With much marketing material it basically means “this is our not-shit product line” but doesn’t actually mean anything beyond that.

For others, like myself, it means that it’s of a quality that it could reasonably be used in a studio setting while working, typically for reference purposes. What you’re typically looking for there is a flat response curve, meaning that across the frequency range of about 20Hz to 20kHz the headphones don’t change the sound drastically (heavy bass or receded mids for example). You could be talking about anything from some MDR7506s to some HD 600s. There are much more expensive headphones than both that you probably wouldn’t call studio quality because they color the audio to a significant degree, but for pure listening, some people prefer that. Personally I like the sound to come out like it went in, so I go for flat headphones. As far as IEMs go, for studio reference work you might be looking at something like these but if you wanted to expand the definition of studio to include the needs of musicians while playing, you’re looking at fairly different sounding headphones/IEMs.

1 point

·

17th Jul 2017

Sony MDR-7506

They are basically the audio industry’s reference headphone and they can survive being beat up continuously.

1 point

·

29th May 2017

DAMN SON, I dropped 1250 on my gaming PC and just threw around 80$ on a pair of 7506’s That’s Insane how much you spent, Would you say the difference between the 598’s and the 650’s is big enough to where you can justify the price you paid? On top of that What do you use this amazing set up for?

Also could I ask one last question? ^was ^^it ^^^worth ^^^^it?

1 point

·

11th Apr 2017

You say you read the sidebar, but you missed Rule 1 tho

But maybe the Sony MDR7506 or beyerdynamic dt770 pro

1 point

·

17th Apr 2017

Budget – $100 – $200. Slightly flexible

Source – Mainly laptop computer, sometimes iphone

Preferred Type of Headphone – Full size, Over Ear. Comfy enough to wear for a while. Not unattractive.

Preferred tonal balance – Not really sure honestly. I like a nice bass. Whatever would go best with my music preferences.

Past headphones – Bose SoundSport earbuds

Preferred Music – Hip-hop, trap, jazz

A couple I’m currently looking at are:

<strong>Sony MDR-7506</strong>

<strong>Sennheiser Momentum 2.0</strong>

<strong>Beats Studio 2.0</strong>

1 point

·

17th Jan 2017

Already Repping a This for headphones, This for a stand up microphone, and nothing else worth mentioning, but would my Boot times be insanely fast with an M.2 drive? if so im buying one right now

1 point

·

9th Jan 2017

Hey, there’s always the Sony MDR-7506s, though I don’t know how well they’ll block out office sounds.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2017

M-Audio AV-40 Studio Monitors at home – I run these through the computer and these absolutely crank. I’m honestly surprised I haven’t gotten noise complaints cause these get almost as loud as my 250 Watt bass amp but maybe my neighbors just secretly hate me. Nice flat response, not overly bassy, nice if you make music at home.

Sony MDR-7506 headphones – these are my primary headphones if I’m DJing or really want to listen to music. These have taken an absolute beating over the years and still sound great! Not the prettiest or most stylish headphones but there’s a reason these are like industry standard

Beats By Dre Powerbeats headphones – not a big Beats guy but my brother gave these to me for Christmas and I like using these when I’m on the go, when I’m listening at a coffee shop or doing things around the house. Nice to have something wireless I can pair with my phone and the battery life on these are killer!

1 point

·

12th Dec 2016

My suggestion is a pair of Sony MDR 7506’s + an Antlion ModMic of your choice (my personal choice would be unidirectional and muteless since I don’t really have any use for a physical mute button and would rather save the cash). You can remove the mid when you want to just take the headphones somewhere for mobile listening, then easily put it back on because it connects with a magnet.

Now, if you want a wireless headset+mic, you might just end up wanting a gaming headset anyway, or at least a purpose-designed all-in-one headset. Still, I’d rather have the reliability, quality, and (barring a few silly phones) universality of a wired connection.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2016

When in doubt use headphones. I highly recommend these. For the price, there is no better choice.

https://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

1st Nov 2016

Avoid the M40X. The MDR7506 is much better for the same price. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

12th Nov 2016

Good headphones for ~C$100 or less? Heard the Sony MDR-7506 are good (recommended on the wiki and elsewhere), but would love to know if there are any better for the price!

1 point

·

12th Nov 2016

If you ask a question, and someone answers it correctly, reply with a thank you, but include this checkmark: ✓ ( or if you cannot enter Unicode, use !check instead )

This will score the user whose comment you replied to a ‘point’. Currently the points will unlock special flair that will show in all Daily Simple Questions threads.

In case you missed it, click here for yesterday’s Daily Simple Questions thread.
There may be some questions still unanswered! Below are a selection of questions with no replies. See if you can help them out.

If you don’t want to see this comment click the little [-] to the left of my username to collapse this comment.


> I am looking for a circumaural (over-ear) headset in the 30-50 euros price range (I live in the Netherlands and would like to buy from Afuture.nl or from azerty.nl with mic, preferably connected via 3.5mm but if there is a better product which uses USB that is also fine. I would like the cord to be at least 1.2 meters.
>
> I dont need the best of the best sound quality, but I also like to listen to music (Electro, Dubstep, DnB and Neuro mostly) a lot so I would like it to have decent quality bass. I don’t know anything about headsets, so thats why I’m asking here!
>
> I don’t have a soundcard.
>
> Thanks in advance

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9x4z0p


> Which xeon cpu would be a good to handle server and gaming setup, with a 2x Socket-2011-3?
>
> 2x Socket-2011-3 supports Xeon E5-2600 v3-serie, Xeon E5-1600 v3 series, Xeon E5-2600 v4 series, Xeon E5-1600 v4-serie.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9x3t0o


> Not sure if this is the best place to post, so if there’s a better subreddit that you can recommend I’ll be grateful 🙂
>
> I’m looking for a pair of earphones that are great quality that’ll last for sometime
>
> Budget is up to AU$100 but less would be better
>
> This place has a decent range of earphones and it’s all in Australian prices
>
>
> Thanks for your help 🙂

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9x1n3a


> Thinking about new computer speakers, I’ve had the Z2300 but one speaker is acting up and I think I could use an upgrade. I like the idea of the Razer Leviathan but am hesitant for anything with the word gaming.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wvdmd


> Right now RIGHT THIS INSTANT, fuck pcs. Im trying to get BF1 to work and its been a colossal pain in the ass to deal with. i just found the latest fix for the getdeviceremoved reason error and hopefully that fixs it until dice gets off there collective asses and fixes this.
>
> Just frustrated.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wusrn


> Does anyone have any recommendations for footrests? I’m using a WiiFit board in the meantime, but it feels kinda ghetto and I’d love an actual foot rest that I can benefit from. It would be on a tile floor by the way.
>
> edit: I also would prefer it to be friendly for bare feet.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wt54x


> Is there any app that allows you to use your Android cellphone as a mouse when your PC uses wired Internet?
>
> Every app I’ve seen needs both the devices to be on the same Wi-Fi

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wmoxl


> When playing certain games with a wired Xbox One Controller on Windows 10, I get extremely poor performance, sound issues and the game becomes unplayable. I couldn’t find any solution that would fix it. I’m coming to you for help. Thanks guys.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wmk9g


> Good headphones for ~C$100 or less? Heard the Sony MDR-7506 are good (recommended on the wiki and elsewhere), but would love to know if there are any better for the price!

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wlh5q


> Looking at getting a new mouse, specifically the corsair saber or their new harpoon. I currently use the ASUS gaming mouse that came with my laptop and was wondering if it’s worth upgrading or if it won’t really make a difference, both comfort and performance wise.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wg6zo


> I am looking for a new mouse and keyboard, I am currently using a Logitech G500 and the keyboard from Logitech MX550 Bundle. I was thinking of getting the Proteus RGB since the old one is discontinued and like $110 – 120, and I have no idea on a keyboard I want reds or browns and I want a back light, except I don’t want it to be red I, care little about RGB I would prefer a white back light honestly and be able to dim it when I go to sleep, if it ends up being a RGB keyboard that is fine but I do want a dimming function. I do appreciate any help that is provided.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9wfp2l


> Hello brothers and sisters!
>
> I ascended last year after Christmas, I had some extra cash and decided to see what I could build as a rig on-the-cheap and pit it against my PS4 for shits and giggles. Well, it’s been almost a year and I pretty much only use my PS4 to watch blu-rays now.
>
> Anyway, I bought all my components on Boxing Day because of deals – I left myself lots of options to upgrade and now I want to ask : when do you think the best deals are to be had on CPUs and GPUs? Black Friday, Cyber Monday, or Christmas / Boxing Day?

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9w8j0w


> I’m currently using 2 LG 34UC88-B 34, on a single R9 290 Tri-X OC, which only has 1 DP port.
> The question i got is, if i can use both displays on 1 port,
> toenable Freesync on both Displays, or if it’s impossible.
> The 2nd monitor is connected via hdmi, which only enables 50Hz, which kinda sucks. Would be glad to get some help.

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9w4o6b


> Anyone know why Windows is under-reporting the amount of RAM in my GPU? http://i.imgur.com/tIN9My4.png
>
> [Edit] never mind, figured it out – the difference is 4 GB, apparently Windows doesn’t know how to report anything over 2^32 in this particular place. ✓

/r/pcmasterrace/comments/5cen3v/daily_simple_questions_thread_nov_11_2016/d9vy577


UserPoints
Sayakai68
Trazac46
Flying_Spaghetti_26
Luminaria1923
rehpotsirhc12318
thatgermanperson17
recklessbaboon13
lgfrbcsgo13
09517900512
motionglitch10

I am a bot – This action was done automatically. Please direct any questions or concerns ( or bug reports ) to \/u\/eegrasAbout /u/PCMRBot

1 point

·

11th Nov 2016

I ordered these puppies and got an antlion modmic and could not be happier. I was afraid the wire issue would be a problem, but they both have such long wires with just a little bit of cable management you’re golden. I was like you, looking for the bluetooth and not caring about the quality because I just wanted to game, but after trying out the crummy cans in the video I went all in and didn’t look back.

Ultimately your decision, just paying it forward because I didn’t know about the modmics either. They come with a magnet too so you can still use your headphones for just listening to music when you’re not raging at people on Dota 2… er I mean gaming. Goodluck bud.

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2016

The Studio standard MDR-7506

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2016

How do these compare to a Sony MDR7506? I’d like to know if it’s worth upgrading.

1 point

·

24th Jul 2016

Here’s my headphone/standalone mic set up:

Headphones: Sony MDR-7506. They are some of the best in the business.

Mic/soundcard/mixer?

Xenyx1002fx (mixer)

AT2020 (XLR Mic)

Soundcard

How much you spend, really depends on how committed you are to streaming!

GLHF
Z

1 point

·

6th Jun 2016

Another good Sony set; Sony MDR-7506

1 point

·

9th Jun 2016

Not OP, but I recommend these http://smile.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

Perfect sound quality. My dad had a pair that actually lasted 30 years too, so its great quality.

1 point

·

23rd Jun 2016

Maybe but they don’t quite look right to me. Sony MDR 7506

1 point

·

26th May 2016

Check these out too.

1 point

·

1st May 2016

First let me say I use everything from the cheapo mono bud that came with my PS4 to a 5.1 headset to professional stereo headphones to custom IEMs for a myriad of different applications, and each do well in their respective applications. What’s your budget? Unless you have $650 + tax + whatever it cost to go to an audiologist to have your ears 3D mapped (maybe your insurance would pay… I doubt it.) don’t get IEMs. Anything less than custom fitted ones is a waste of money. That being said, I don’t think I would use them for that. Good IEMs are meant to reproduce sound as it was intended in mastering (flat response), or as true to the original source; for example, a singer uses them in a loud venue to hear their voice. You can use them of course, but I don’t think you would be getting your money’s worth. Most people don’t know it, but they probably prefer a little sound shaping in their headphones. Next, the thing to consider is what type of environment you are in. If youre not isolated from the rest of your environment, don’t get open back headphones. They sound great in many ways, and the sound stage is more open, but you really need a quiet environment. It is also hard to get a good pair for cheap. Lastly, the good news is their are many great options for closed ear headphones. IMO spending a lot of money doesn’t always mean quality headphones (Beats are fucking terrible for example), a pair of $60 headphones don’t necessarily sound better than $30 pair, or $300 better than $150. Marketing goes a lot into how people think their headphones sound. Definitely go with a reputable sound company; i.e. Sony, AkG, Sennheiser, Shure. There are great high end hi-fi consumer companies, but I won’t go into that here (if you want to spend insane money look more into it). For a stereo headset I would go with http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E They sound great. They are inexpensive. Every professional engineer, musician, and their mothers have used these, and still do. There is a reason they are still being made after 25 years. They cost $80. I use these all the time for mixing live sound. Hope this helps, sorry if I rambled, I just love talking audio. Cheers.

1 point

·

12th Apr 2016

Sony MDR 7506 – standard in recording studios. Extremely flat with no boosts in the low or high end and very comfortable to wear for long periods of time.

edit: Here’s a cheaper link

1 point

·

8th Mar 2016

Sony MDR 7506 The only mixing headphones you’ll ever need. Excellent flat response, great low end reproduction, and a nice long coiled cable!

1 point

·

5th Feb 2016

Big fan of these bad boys.

1 point

·

27th Feb 2016

Seriously. $250 is enough to buy a legit recording setup. I mean really real.

1 point

·

25th Dec 2015

I have Sony MDR7506s, they’re pretty great.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2015

For approximately $300USD:

Mic – SM57 with stand if you can increase the budget look into a KSM32 instead.

Cans – Sony MDR-7506

Interface – Scarlet 2i2 Note: if you are on a mac and can increase your budget go for the Apogee Duet

1 point

·

25th Nov 2015

If your budget is really tight you don’t actually need anything better than Sony MDR 7506: http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

Sennheiser HD280pro are also great budget headphones: http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-280-Pro-Headphones/dp/B000065BPB/

And if you want to spend more, go for the Audio Technica ATH m50x: http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M50x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUR86/

1 point

·

21st Oct 2015

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1445440204&amp;sr=8-3&amp;keywords=sony+mdr

They are the industry standard for the past 20-30 years. I have a pair of the MDRV6, which are the same thing, except the can has a red stripe on it instead of blue. The part numbers for the speakers inside is exactly the same tho, so take your pick. The best trait about them is they are clear, crisp, and BALANCED. Meaning the EQ is flat, the highs aren’t too high, and the bass isn’t overly booming. Great for listening and especially mastering.

If you want to splurge, I’d recommend getting the velour pads. I bought a set for mine and they are comfortable as hell. http://www.amazon.com/Velour-Earcushions-Technica-Mdr7506-Headphones/dp/B0081SO0RM/ref=pd_sim_23_2?ie=UTF8&amp;refRID=18HH9F9R8FN0VF71KSC8&amp;dpID=41BBUnyPzxL&amp;dpSrc=sims&amp;preST=_AC_UL160_SR160%2C160_

1 point

·

26th Sep 2015

The professional standard: Sony MDR 7506

1 point

·

14th Sep 2015

I really love my MDR-7506s, but I don’t know what yours are like. I can’t recommend this enough.
http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

1 point

·

23rd Sep 2015

The best bang for your buck in flat response would probably be either the Sony MDR-7506’s, which are great and cost-effective for purely flat headphones,

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

Or, the Beyerdynamic DT 990’s, which are also really flat and are fairly comfortable. This might require a bit of tweaking in the higher frequencies though. They’re also quite a bit more expensive.

http://www.amazon.com/Beyerdynamic-990-Premium-250-Ohm/dp/B00193FT26

1 point

·

6th May 2015

Most will tell you to go the headphone route(and I personally agree with them.) For your price range it’s a bit harder, but Modmic by Antlion are a fantastic product, I do…”recordings” of an nsfw nature and the sound quality of this mic is comparable to some pretty solid pieces. It can be added to just about any headphones and the price point is fairly solid. As for good headphones to go with them, I’m personally using the MDR-7506’s which seem to currently be on sale for pretty cheap. Don’t be misled by the low cost, these are a solid pair of budget headphones and are comparable up to around the 250$ price point.

If you really want to go with a headset as opposed to this, I’m not sure what to suggest as I’ve had terrible luck with them. They have an average life expectency of like, a few months for me. =/

1 point

·

6th May 2015
1 point

·

19th May 2015

Shortform: Should I buy the Magni 2 or Magni 2 Uber (in combination with the Modi 2), given I’m only using it at work?

Longform: I’m new to the audiophile world, and I currently only listen to the MDR-7506s at work (it’s where I spend a majority of my listening time).
I tried them out on a friend’s Schiit stack (Modi 2 Uber & Magni 2 Uber), and they sounded significantly better.

I believe that for work, I don’t need the Uber version of the Modi 2 (as I’m not worried about additional inputs). Sidenote: does it offer any advantages other than more inputs? I can’t tell from the description or the specs

I’m planning on keeping these headphones around for a while, but I plan to upgrade a few years down the road. Therefore, since I don’t need “preamp outputs for powered desktop monitors (or for connecting to any power amplifier)”, should I go for the Magni 2 Uber for its “more sophisticated” gain stage and “more power and performance”? Will I be able to tell the difference?

If so, I can manage the extra $50 – but I wouldn’t mind putting that money towards other hobbies.

Thanks!

1 point

·

13th May 2015

Well, I think my headphones are fairly nice, right?

1 point

·

20th Mar 2015

Never tried those Vox headphones. Interesting idea.

For headphones, I just stick to studio/monitor headphones. They aim for a flat response (not coloring the sound) so they’re useful in recording/tracking. The usual suspects here are 7506’s and M50’s.

Now, these are regular headphones, so you can’t just plug them into a guitar like those amphones. You actually need a rig to plug into. That can either be an amp with a headphone output, a modeler like a Line 6 Pod product, or buying a guitar interface for your PC to use amp plugins.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2015

The studio standard Sony MDR-7506 will only set you back $99. They aren’t perfect but good quality for the price.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2015

Just saying, the HD598s are more so listening headphones than studio headphones. These are by far the most popular &quot;production&quot; headphones.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2014

Sony Studio Headphones

MDR7506

http://store.sony.com/professional-studio-headphones-zid27-MDR7506/cat-27-catid-All-Headphones-Earbuds

You can’t go wrong with these…

Price has been $100 for as long as I can remember. Might be cheaper now.


$84.95 on Amazon + Free shipping

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1416181292&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=mdr7506&amp;pebp=1416181288766

I really don’t think there is anything better at this price range. I think they look nice too.

1 point

·

19th Feb 2011

I’ve been using that logitech mic for a few years now and it sits to the side of my monitor about 2-3 feet away and picks up my voice great with very little background noise and sounds good.

Also to the OP: I use the Sony MDR-7506 and they sound great for just about everything. (Movies, Music, and Gaming) The stock ear pads do get a little uncomfortable after a while but I replaced the ear pads on mine with some Beyerdynamic ear pads and they are extremely comfortable and I can now wear them for hours and hours at a time without hurting my ears.

1 point

·

22nd May 2011

Sony MDR 7506 for $87 on Amazon. You can get it for about $45 on eBay if you are willing to wait almost a month for it to ship.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2010

some of the best headphones out there, Sony MDR7506

if you have a bit more money, these – Shure SRH840

maybe you can just get an external mic for them?

1 point

·

8th Jan 2010

I just got the Sony MDR-7506 – pretty nice.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2010

I just got a pair of Sony MDR-7056 headphones. They’re mainly used as studio headphones, but the quality is amazing.

0 points

·

26th Sep 2019

Also I’d consider something, especially if you’re stretching your budget and are stressed about it… your studio space and how it’s treated is as important (or arguably more important) than your monitors and their quality. If you’re spending your whole budget on monitors and not acoustically treating your space, you’re doing half of what you need to.

You could consider starting with a decent pair of headphones instead for now. You can mix on headphones and test your mixes on your phone, earbuds, car, etc. (which you’ll do even with monitors) until you can afford better quality monitors and treating your room.

These are a good option as an example:

$89 Sony MDR7506: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_U8gJDbDY0CFHG

They’ll also plug into your Scarlett headphone out.

Remember that regardless of what you primarily mix on, whether it’s laptop speakers, monitors, or headphones, you have to learn how it sounds to use that specific monitoring option. Even the most expensive monitors ever, you have to adapt to how they sound and know their particular characteristics, and STILL test on other speaker systems and headphones.

You can and must learn your monitoring system no matter what it is, and learn to mix on it in a way that ends up with good results across a bunch of other systems.

0 points

·

7th Sep 2019

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_ZFVCDbNA4J2ZY

0 points

·

8th Jul 2019

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_qS1iDbKS5PFSF

Never buy “gaming” anything.

I literally have 0 problems with sound using default windows sonic for headphones.

I’d have to put the blame on your console.

0 points

·

16th Nov 2017

Δεν έχουν το B αλλά εγώ και 2 συνάδελφοι τα χτυπήσαμε ανελέητα. Η ποιότητα κατασκευής είναι πολύ καλή και απο οτι διαβάζω και στα άλλα σχόλια είναι στο price range σου. Μιλάω για τα Sony MDR-7506.

https://www.amazon.de/gp/product/B000AJIF4E

Οπουδήποτε και να ρώτησα είδα μόνο καλά λόγια αλλά πέφτει και πολύ αντιγραφή απο κινέζουνς γιατί το συγκεκριμένο μοντέλο υπάρχει πάρα πολλά χρόνια (έχει δικό του Wikipedia entry!) και είναι “αξιόπιστο”. Στο Γερμανικό λίνκ τα αγόρασα και εγώ, το Βρετανικό Αμαζον τα είχε λίγο πιο ακριβά, στέλνει Ελλάδα.

0 points

·

2nd Dec 2014

I would keep the Sennheiser Momentums for portable use and the Sennheiser HD 600 for home use. Every other headphone I would just ditch.

The HD 650 is not an improvement in sound over the HD 600, so why would you pay for it at all? A wise man wouldn’t.

The AKG K7xx headphones are good but certainly not a better headphone than the HD 600. They are about the same, I’d say. So why pay for it? A wise man wouldn’t.

If you want a good reference headphone, instead of the MDR V6, I would go with these: http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1417479633&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=sony+mdr+7506

The 7506 is going to give you a bit more clarity due to a more emphasized treble than the V6. Both are good though, and buying both the 7506 AND the V6 would be equally as pointless as buying both the HD 600 and the HD 650.

0 points

·

10th Aug 2012

I very recently got these. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000AJIF4E/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

I dare you to find a legit bad review. There are none. You can’t go wrong with Sony.

0 points

·

19th Jul 2011

She’s wearing the same headphones I have! Not some “Beats by Dr. DRE” stuff, just some good studio monitors!

http://www.amazon.com/Sony-MDR7506-Professional-Diaphragm-Headphone/dp/B000AJIF4E

They even left the goofy blue “Professional” sticker on the side. 🙂