What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Sennheiser HD555 Professional Headphones with Sound Channeling (Old Model)?

A total of 20 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

4th Apr 2015

I invested in a pair of Sennheiser HD555s when I got my first digital keyboard, and they still hold up almost 12 years later. My instruments never sound as good as they do on those – made my crappy Yamaha PSR292 sound like a concert grand.

1 point

·

7th May 2011

hd555

I’ve owned quite a few headsets and this is by far the most comfortable, best sounding, most durable headset I’ve ever used(have dropped and partially stepped on them many times over the course of about 5-6 years). They have a really long cord too, I can move around my room without unplugging them, really handy for grabbing something from my minifridge.

1 point

·

7th Mar 2011

Cool! I’m planning on doing the same thing with my Moto Droid in regards to pluggin it into the aux in jack and the headphones with it’s respective jack. It’s nice because the app that I have actually has a parametric eq so I can get the lows out of some songs that are hard to hear normally. They look pretty comfy too! I’m going to have a hard time deciding on either these or some Sennheiser HD 555’s. I saw them on /r/guitar and I guess there’s an easy modification you can make to upgrade them.

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2010

~$30 A good large frying pan with a cover. Take care of its nonstick surface and it’ll give you plenty of great meals with easy cleanup.

~$200 A 22″+ computer monitor (Acer works well). The extra space is really nice.

~$100 A very nice pair of headphones, such as http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD555-Professional-Headphones-Channeling/dp/B0001FTVDQ They can last a lifetime and greatly enhance your music listening and gaming experiences.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2017

I got two options for you. Both very well kept and in great condition.

HD 555 (discontinued now, most similar is probably the HD 595) for $50 shipped.
ATH-A900X (also discontinued) for $70 shipped (I prefer these over the m50x for the natural reproduction and better soundstage)

Let me know! I’ll send you pictures tonight if you’re interested. http://imgur.com/Fn8wb9o

1 point

·

4th Oct 2016

Im looking at the "Creative Sound Blaster ZxR Sound " on massdrop and am seeing a ton of negative comments in regards to it. I just got my self a Sennheiser HD558 and want to make sure I can utilize the headset to its fullest potential. I am completely ignorant when it comes to audio and would like to hear the opinions of those in a community dedicated to this stuff. My price range is $200 and lower. I am also interested in maybe doing some recording in the future so if there is a card that can do both (like the ZxR mentioned above or similar) but if a combo would significantly reduce the performance, cost effectiveness, or anything else i’d like to know that as well. Thank you for your time.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2015

Here is the set I am referring to:

Sennheiser HD555

Newegg Link

> Featuring a special internal surround reflector, your sound is generated into a spatial sound field, for a wonderful surround sound that makes you feel like you are right there, in the studio!

> Extended spatial field surrounds you with sound; ergonomic Acoustic Refinement enables ideal sound channeling for a new kind of listening experience

Edit: So after further review, you’re totally right. The HD555s aren’t true surround sound headphones. Kinda bummed out… Are the gaming headsets any better though? Aren’t they essentially normal stereo headsets with surround sound emulating mixamps?

1 point

·

5th Dec 2013

Senheiser HD555’s. They don’t seem to make them anymore, but they’re comparable to the 558 in that they’re open-backed over-ear cans that are really articulate and let you hear ambient noise, which I discovered was a big plus for me. Total isolation with the videos, especially since they’re through YouTube, makes me hear the artifacts of compression, and being able to hear some ambient outside noise helps make it feel more like the real deal. I think I have a problem honestly, but that’s just my life.

As far as affordable/portable/bang for buck, you can’t beat the MeElec M6’s for isolation, balance, and not making that irritating as fuck “wooga wooga” noise in your ear when the cable rubs stuff. They run the cable over the back of your ear so the vibrations on the cable are deadened without interrupting your tunes/videos. I actually wear most of my IEM/In-earbuds this way now as a result, it works too good! They’re the best 20 bucks I’ve put into headphones for sure, and they work great with music too, and sit basically flat in your ear so you can sleep with them on. They also come with a metric shitload of earpieces and tips to get the perfect fit and depth for your ear too.

1 point

·

2nd Aug 2012

I love my Sennheisers. I recently gave my sister my old 555s and upgraded myself to the 598s and it’s like my ears are having sex.

1 point

·

26th Apr 2012

Maybe out of the question ($190) but I couldn’t recommend HD555s higher

1 point

·

22nd Mar 2011

currently it’s just the on-board sound of my laptop however I plan on building a new rig soon so I’d probably include a nice soundcard, so it would kinda be a waste with USB headphones.

Iv’e narrowed it down to these: one, two, three. I am unsure if I were to buy the steelseries V2’s if i should also get this to compliment it. I am totally unsure about which is is the bet of the 3 choices though.

1 point

·

28th Apr 2011

I think reddit am broken. I submitted fairly long response but it never got past error 504 (looks like it happened to a bunch more people judging by the 17 comments reported vs 3 I can see…).

The TL;DR version of my post: Buy some Sennheiser HD555’s, mod them to 595’s and get a Zalman clip on mic. Both of these are like 95US + shipping on amazon, mod is free.

This is the best budget/quality setup I’ve seen based on my research (doing this myself when I have free cash to burn).

Also, 5.1 and 7.1 headsets are a gimmick, you hear in 3d fine with 2 ear holes after all.

1 point

·

19th Feb 2011

I actually used to have the exact same headphones you have now. Once I started to wear out those ones I told myself it was time to take the next step into the entry level audiophile scene with a pair of Sennheiser HD55s. http://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD555-Professional-Headphones-Channeling/dp/B0001FTVDQ

For a microphone I picked up one of these fantastic mics. They work fine and the quality is nice. Plus you can put it on the side of your desk and practically forget about it. http://www.logitech.com/en-us/webcam-communications/microphones/devices/221

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2011

I have Sennheiser HD555 and Audio Technica ATH-A700 Headphones.

The Audio Technica’s sound much better and they don’t bleed the sound like the Sennheiser’s.

1 point

·

12th Apr 2010

Don’t get anything that has “gaming” on it. You’ll be paying more for less.

Don’t buy a headset (mic+phone bundle), better get a good mic AND a good headphone. Not only the items will be of superior quality but in case one of them fails you won’t have to buy a whole new headset.

Don’t fall for 5.1 or 8.1 nonsense. Just get a good Sennheisser and If you are in a budget get an JVC HARX900 or JVC HARX700. A good clip-on mic will do the job just fine. Visit Head-Fi for more recommendations.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2010

I bought this pair of Sennheiser HD-555 headphones for listening to music at work. They’re easily the best headphones I’ve ever worn. Music I’ve listened to for years suddenly sounds completely different — much better. I can actually hear all the subtle sounds or instruments that were normally lost to back ground noise. Build quality is exceptional, sounds if phenomenal. The ONLY con to these headphones is that sound leaks quite a bit. Sucks for my coworkers! But since you’re a self-described audiophile, you will LOVE these. I never described myself as such, but after the first time I listened to music with these on I immediately thought “I’ve never heard my music like this before.”

But if you’re wanting something cheap that will still produce decent sound, I’ve had multiple pairs of these Sony wraparound headphones. I use them for working out or quick excursions. They’re immensely comfortable and lightweight.

Also, I’ve used this pair of Dre Beats quite a bit. Bass-intensive music has never sounded better. But the Sennheisers sound much better overall. [Edit] Build quality is what turned me off from these. They break so easily.

And lastly, I bought and immediately returned a set of Skullcandy headphones before my Sennheisers. They felt cheap and the audio quality wasn’t exceptional.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2010
0 points

·

24th Jul 2015

The main reason is that I already have a perfectly good setup (of which the audio quality surpasses most gaming headsets, I think) with the Sennheiser HD 555’s and an AV-receiver. Thanks for the tip, though 🙂

0 points

·

11th Dec 2013

> The razer Carcharias is my longest lasting headset getting close to a solid year now. My turtle beaches broke in 4 months and fuck Tritons they broke within 1 WEEK 1 FUCKING WEEK (was a present couldn’t return them), but my Carcharias still keep trucking although they are the worst sounding out of the bunch. I think it’s because of the way I wear them since they all brake in the same place, where the Razer headset that place that always break is not present.

Stop buying ‘gamer’ branded audio gear, it makes absolutely no sense!

I just looked up the invoice to my Sennheiser HD555’s. November 2008. I roll over the cord every day with my rolling chair on hard tiles, works fine. I drop them, step on them, pack them in to suitcases and squish them with a bunch of other stuff in my car. Good as new, for $100, and they sound way better than any gamer branded headphone you could get at that price point.