What is the opinion of Reddit about the
SENNHEISER HD 599 Open Back Headphone, Ivory?

A total of 53 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

17th Nov 2020

Open headphones typically have a bigger sound stage than closed headphones. Which most people consider a plus for creating a more engaging experience in music and gaming.

Open headphones leak sound in and out. So best for home use. However, on the upside they tend to let your ears breathe more. Many people find them more comfortable for longer listening sessions.

Look into the Sennheiser HD599
https://www.amazon.de/Sennheiser-HD-599-Over-Ear-Headphones-ivory/dp/B01L1IICR2/

Amazon also has an SE version that is black.

Last year during the holiday shopping season, they went on sale cheaper than this.

2 points

·

19th Sep 2020

>A few months ago I bought a bunch of Monitor Audio kit for my home theatre

Nice speakers!

Check out the Sennheiser HD599. Good open headphones for gaming and for music. And you might enjoy them hooked up to your audio video receiver when you want to watch a movie late at night without playing your speakers.

https://www.amazon.de/Sennheiser-HD-599-ohrumschlie%C3%9Fender-matt-ivory-Wei%C3%9F/dp/B01L1IICR2/

2 points

·

31st Jul 2020

I’d highly recommend something like the sennheiser 599’s I bought a pair of 598s for ~ $250 around 4 years ago and they still surprise me to this day. The main difference between these two is that people tend to enjoy the bass more on the 599’s. Also keep in mind that these are not very portable headphones because they are open back so sound leakage will be intense.
Here are the 599’s
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_QtfjFbTH6EVE9

1 point

·

18th Feb 2022

Thanks so much everyone. I looked at everything everything has posted, and they all look very good for the price point/description. I’m going to do a little amazon trying and buying starting with https://smile.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=sr_1_6?crid=3GWCLY1MBRPSC&keywords=sennheiser+560s&qid=1645190661&sprefix=sennheiser+560%2Caps%2C126&sr=8-6 because they are on sale and honestly I like the colors.

The other options look really good as well, so I will revisit this threat in a week or so to check out other stuff.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2022

These in black. Since they have a replaceable cord, I bought a replacement with a built in microphone so I can use it for Zoom and Teams meetings/calls.

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_7M85VNDZQACXAFQF7EX0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

8th Feb 2021

I recommend a pair of nice openback cans – Im currently using these and LOVE them Been using only these for games and music the past 2 years now.

Super comfortable, I wear them all day. Never get hot like you mentioned. They provide great in-game spatial awareness. And sounds great.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2020

To a certain extent comfort is an individualistic thing since we all have different shaped heads and ears, as well as how much discomfort we notice.

Watch for a special on the HD599. Last year the price dropped for a while during holiday shopping season

https://www.amazon.de/-/en/Sennheiser-HD-599-Over-Ear-Headphones-ivory/dp/B01L1IICR2/

Amazon also has an exclusive SE version that is black.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2020

Looking to Sennheiser HD599. They went on special last year for even less closer to the holiday shopping season

https://www.amazon.de/-/en/Sennheiser-HD-599-Over-Ear-Headphones-ivory/dp/B01L1IICR2/

There is also an SE version that Amazon carries that comes in black.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2020

Last year, Sennheiser HD599 went on sale in the EU on Amazon during the holiday shopping season.

They are easy to drive will and work well with a smartphone.

https://www.amazon.de/-/en/Sennheiser-HD-599-Over-Ear-Headphones-ivory/dp/B01L1IICR2/

Amazon also has an SE version in black

1 point

·

26th Oct 2020

Sennheiser HD599, great comfort, nice overall sound, great for gaming, and currently 129€ at amazon.de .

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2020

This is the real tip. Gaming headsets are trash and comparatively kind of expensive for the sound quality they offer. Not sure about your guys’ region but you can get a pair of Sennheiser HD599’s on amazon.de right now for 130 euros. Decent set of cans and will blow your socks off compared to any gaming headset.

Technically these don’t have a mic but any HD56x model below this will have an inline mic within the cable.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

I’d recommend trying open-backed headphones like these Sennheiser HD 599s. I have the older HD 595s and it means I can have good quality music and/or game audio, while still being able to hear what’s going on in the house or have a conversation.

1 point

·

21st Aug 2020

Can anyone give me some insight as to why this item
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01L1IICR2/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_1?smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER&psc=1

will give me the option to buy it in installments(the 5 month plan) but when i add it to my cart that option goes away?

Amazon help chat is having issues with discerning whether the product is an amazon device or ear muffs (i.e. they are useless).

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2020

As far as I know, they’ve had this color scheme for a couple of years (probably more). My headphones are fairly old now. On amazon the newer version headphones have the color scheme listed as “ivory”

Sennheiser HD 599 Open Back Headphone, Ivory https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_0uq8EbWZEXB49

1 point

·

15th Feb 2019

Do you have any common sites? Because this is crazy expensive.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2016

It is not released yet

The HD599 together with all other variants will be released in 4 days. Unfortunately Sennheiser had no demo units available at CanJam Germany last week.

6 points

·

9th Jun 2021

The good thing about this update is that you can take advantage of Dolby Atmos music with any pair of headphones/speakers so long as you have the setting turned to “Always On” instead of “Automatic.”

As far as lossless/hi-res – generally speaking, the more you spend, the bigger difference you’ll be able to hear (to an extent). That being said…

I have both of these and love them both for different reasons. I’ve spent more on pairs of headphones in the past and these two top them all:

Sennheiser HD599 – $200

Audio Technica ATH-M50x – $150

I don’t have these but I’ve heard good things (some of which are farther on the cheaper side):

Philips SHP9500 – $60

AKG Pro Audio K72 – $40

Beyerdynamics DT 770 PRO – $150(ish)

Audio Technica ATH-M40x – $100

Other than that – you can google “best budget headphones” and there’s a ton of lists. For audio stuff I’d stick to What Hi-Fi?, Crutchfield, Wired, and RTINGS as much as you can for the most reputable reviews. There are a bunch of Reddit threads discussing (read: arguing about) headphones, too. Happy listening!

5 points

·

31st Jan 2018

$189 on Amazon.

Edit: I forgot, Amazon has tax now…so, it’ll be more than $189.

Found this…$171 on Ebay.

3 points

·

28th Nov 2018

Am a good friend, helped him pick out about 90% of this stuff.

Headphones are Sennheiser HD 598 special edition (the amazon exclusove ones), but those are discontinued, newest version are the HD 599

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

Mic is Blue Snowball USB
https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Snowball-Microphone-Gloss-Black/dp/B002OO18NS

He also uses a FiiO e10k DAC for headphones also
https://www.amazon.com/FiiO-E10K-Headphone-Amplifier-Black/dp/B00LP3AMC2

2 points

·

30th Mar 2021

You don’t want USB headphones. If they’re USB, that means the DAC is built into the headphones. The DAC on your phone or PC will be way better in all likelihood.

USB mic is fine though.

For like >90% of people, I recommend the USB Blue Yeti, Yeti Nano, or Snowball depending on your price range. It may seem overrated, but honestly it’s a fantastic mic for the price. I don’t think you’d need anything more unless you want to do actual music recording.

As for the headphones, if you’re looking for open-back at that price range, you can’t really go wrong with the Sennheisers. I’d get either the HD 599’s or the HD 6XX’s.

  • Sennheiser HD 599 – $200

  • Sennheiser HD 599 SE – $200 The SE’s are just the special edition. The only difference is color.

The 599’s are geared toward a more “consumer” profile, so it has emphasis in bass and treble, but slightly soft mids. So it’s a warm, laid back sound.

  • Sennheiser HD 6XX – $220

The 6XX’s are generally considered a “step-up” from the 599’s. The drivers are crisper, meaning more clarity and separation between sounds. They have a more neutral sound profile.

The 6XX’s would be my pick for all-around headphones, but given your situation, I’d probably be more inclined to pick the 599’s because they have a wider sound stage which means it’ll be easier to differentiate spatial cues (since you’d be using them just for games) and they have lower impedance so you won’t need as much power to run them.

Here’s a comparison of their specs on RTINGS.

I’ll throw a couple more suggestions in just for fun.

  • Fostex Planar Magnetics – $200

These are going to be very different. Probably very different from most, if not all, headphones you’ve tried. They use planar magnetic drivers. They’ll be great for real punchy bass if that’s what you’re into. They’re supposed to be VERY comfortable and have a very warm sound. Downside will be responsiveness. They aren’t as quick as other headphones in the price range.

  • Beyerdynamic DT 990 PRO – $160

This is actually an incredibly deal on these. They used to be way more expensive. They’ll be somewhere between the 599’s and the Fostex cans. Very comfortable. They have the accuracy and speed of the 599s with the punchy bass/treble and soft mids of the Fostex. Downsides here are that the cable isn’t removable, the build quality won’t be quite as good, and they take a lot more power to run.

2 points

·

5th Feb 2018

If you can, I would recommend you go ahead and test them yourself, as everyone likes different sound signatures.

Also worth mentioning, when you get new headphones, don’t judge them right away, as they don’t generally bring everything to the table right away. Use them for a decent amount of time, as they may change the sound quite notably, and you might grow to like them more too.

Here are some decent options:

Sennheiser Game Zero / One (actually decent “gaming” headsest)

Sennheiser 558 (or 599, amazon currently has discount

Beyerdynamic DT770 (you should use amplifier, adds cost)

Akg K612 (again amp might be good)

Philips SHP9500

Hyper X Clouds are okay too.

Also, here is something you might want to check, long post but, as the title says, worth the read.

2 points

·

20th Jul 2020

Hi guys, so I’m not really a person who cares much about how headphones sound like (well I do, but I’m not a fanatic). I’m mainly looking for open back headphones for gaming. I stumbled upon these two headphones (sennheiser HD 599 and Hifiman He-35x). I saw reviews for both, but I still can’t make up my mind. The HD 599 is 259$ and the He-35x is 169$.

Been at it for almost 4 hours and still didn’t make up my mind. Help me out?

Links to both headsets:

Sennheiser HD 599:

https://www.amazon.ca/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=hd+599&qid=1595218820&s=electronics&sr=1-3

H3-35x

https://www.amazon.ca/DROP-HE-35X-Magnetic-Open-Back-Headphones/dp/B084L5ZRG8/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=hifiman&qid=1595218839&s=electronics&sr=1-5

1 point

·

29th Dec 2021

!thanks

I’m leaning towards the HD 599as they are on Amazon and seem to be pretty nice for their price point!

Do you know if this would be all I need to use it for a gaming or hands free headset on my cell phone?

Also, if you don’t mind me asking another super basic question, since these are under $160, would I get any benefit from adding a separate AMP later? Or are headphones at this price point not helped by extra power?

Thanks again for all the help.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2021
1 point

·

14th Dec 2021
1 point

·

17th Nov 2021

I also recommend these.

These are slightly cheaper, but still very good Sennheiser HD 58X https://drop.com/buy/massdrop-x-sennheiser-hd-58x-jubilee-headphones

Another option that fits your budget. SENNHEISER HD 599

1 point

·

12th Nov 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2021

Amazon.<strong>ca</strong> link

Amazon.<strong>com</strong> link

Sennheiser Official site

[From website] “The HD 599 features an open-back over-ear design. Thanks to the large ear cups with soft replaceable ear pads there is no pressure on your ears, only sound. So nothing will stop you from listening to track after track, discovering what the HD 599 will show you that you haven’t even heard yet.”

Sennheiser: is shaping the Future of Audio – a vision built on a 70-year history of innovation and a continued drive for excellence that is woven into our company’s DNA and culture. Around the world, our employees share this passion in the pursuit of the perfect sound, creating products that exceed expectations and set new benchmarks in audio.”

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2021

There are plenty of wired headphone options out there. I use a pair of https://www.shure.com/en-US/products/earphones/se215cl everyday for the past 4 years and they are basically the nokia of in ear headphones. they have detachable cables with replacements on their website. 100$. I do not like wireless headphones because I think it is a waste of energy especially considering that the 3.5mm audio jack is one of the best universal inputs.

Here are some other good headphones.

https://4ourears.com/products/sr60x?fromgrado=yes

not detachable cable. 100$

https://www.usa.philips.com/c-p/X2HR_27/fidelio-fidelio-headphones

I use these with detachable cable 120$

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

The most comfortable headphones on the market. 200$

r/headphones are good to checkout but can be snobs.

1 point

·

14th Aug 2021

You might want to look into the Sennheiser HD 599:

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-SE-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

It is exactly $200, and it apparently sounds pretty good without an amp, but will sound even better if you eventually decide to invest in an amp.

The Audio Technica ATH-M40x is half the price and also well regarded:

https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATHM40x-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B00HVLUR54/

For something in the middle price-wise, take a look at the Philips Fidelio X2HR:

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-X2HR-Over-Ear-Open-Air-Headphone/dp/B01N5VHLUG

I’m not super familiar with the above headphones, but based on a quick search through the reviews, they all appear to be a good match for classical music. I have had other headphones from these same manufacturers Audio-Technica ATH-M50, Philips Fidelio X1, and four pairs of Sennheiser headphones), and was quite pleased with all of them.

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2021
1 point

·

5th Apr 2021

If I may suggest the Sennheiser 599 is pretty amazing and you do not need an amp for them either. black or ivory. i like the ivory. $199. bought some for a friend and he loves them.

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=sennheiser+599&amp;qid=1617664193&amp;sr=8-2

1 point

·

16th Mar 2021

Here is a fantastic Sennheise hd 599. Some of the most comfortable. They have great sound too. I bought some for a friend for Christmas and he loves them.

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

1 point

·

1st Dec 2020

Try looking at open back headphones, they’re much cooler and don’t get clammy. I haven’t looked at headsets in a while but I used a set of Sennheiser PC 360’s for years and they were superb, well worth the expense. They’re large cups as well so would probably fit over any device you’re wearing. I guess their more current equivalent offering would be either:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sennheiser-HD-599-Around-Ear-Headphones-Ivory/dp/B01L1IICR2

Or if you want a mic:

https://www.eposaudio.com/en/gb/gaming/products/game-one-black-gaming-headset-1000236

Coincidentally and speaking as a professional mumbler, their mic’s are superb and also have the nice feature that they mute when you push them up, so you have a physical mute.

One word of caution about open back: they’re as loud outside as they are inside, so they don’t offer the privacy / consideration for others if you’re using them in a workplace.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

I think they’re the Sennheiser 599’s if my headphone knowledge is right.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2020

Is there anyway I can connect my Sennheiser HD 599 headphones (aux) to my PS5 so I can use the 3D audio feature? Would something like this work? https://www.amazon.ca/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

1 point

·

24th Oct 2020

If money isn’t a huge issue, I recommend skipping the “gaming” headset and get yourself a nice pair of actual headphones. I’m currently rocking the Sennheiser HD 599 with a mod mic and love them.

If you want something with a mic and wireless I also have the SteelSeries Arctis Pro Wireless. They cost quite a bit more but have amazing sound, 2 batteries packs (1 will charge in the base station), and a base station for changing settings like EQ.

I’m sure there are tons of others out there, but that’s just what I’ve been using and my recommendations.

1 point

·

5th Oct 2020

HD 599 (or HD 560s if you can wait for the release)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01L1IICR2

and this BoomPro cable.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01NAQWCGS/

This is the best headphone setup with attached mic short of the Audeze LCD-GX.

1 point

·

17th Jul 2020

Sennheiser HD599 would be another good headphone to look at

https://www.amazon.ca/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2/

1 point

·

16th Jul 2020

1) $155 Sennheiser HD 599 + $28 Neomusica BoomPro. This combo is awesome. Great comfort the cable locks in place so your mic isn’t swinging around like the Vmoda. Sound stage is very wide in battlefied 4, and the sound signature is sennheiser neutral, so bass light and natural sounding.

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2/

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01NAQWCGS

2) $150 Phillips X2HR + $30 Vmoda BoomPro. Great option if you need lots of bass. Higher build quality headphones. The mic can spin around due to it not locking in.

If you do get an amp/dac later on make sure it has a MIC INPUT on the unit. Running the mic to your mobo will cause ground issues. Someting like the Schiit Hel is perfect.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2020

What about the Sennheiser HD 599►https://Amazon.de/dp/B01L1IICR2
also only 75 omh’s so no Amp required, even your phone will drive them.

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2020

> Kostet aber ne Ecke mehr.

Wenn’s schon ne Ecke mehr kostet dann werf ich gute Audio-Kopfhörer mit separatem Mikro ein.

Ich fahre schon seit Jahren mit nem Sennheiser HD598 (Nachfolger HD599 ist gerade für guten Preis auf Amazon verfügbar) und abnehmbaren modmic.

Hat halt keine Enterprise/Business-Features oder ANC, aber für’s Homeoffice sollte man sowas jetzt nicht unbedingt brauchen und nachher hat OP immer noch geile Kopfhörer zum Filme schauen und Zocken.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2018

Currently I’m using Logitech G430 and while they do their job, I’d like to (significantly) upgrade my gaming experience. I’ve read a fair share of reviews and comparisons and I think a combination of the following would be a good choice, but would definitely like to verify my decision:

  1. Headphones – Sennheiser HD 599

  2. DAC/AMP – Sennheiser GSX 1000

  3. Microphone – V-Moda BoomPro Mic

  4. Ugreen 3.5mm Female To 2.5mm Male Stereo Headphones Adapter

Another alternative is to go with Sennheiser GSX 1000 and Sennheiser Game One, but from the reviews I think that Game One is a downgrade compared to HD 599, although I would not have to risk noise from all the cables and adapters.

Or anything else you recommend… ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Budget – max 400€

Source – currently my motherboard (ASUS Crosshair VI, x370) but planing to get the GSX 1000 (depending on the advice)

Requirements for Isolation – some or none

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? no

Preferred Type of Headphone – full size

Preferred tonal balance – gaming (situational awareness)

Past headphones – Logitech G430, decent entry level headset for gaming; not enough clarity, blurred sound, not enough power, surround is present but not accurate (can’t pinpoint where’s the source)

Preferred Music – electronic music (trance and vocal trance)

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – gaming and situational awareness (surround sound)

Location – EU

Edit: Added template information and corrected the limb 🙂

1 point

·

18th Sep 2017

Before I go ahead and order a $300 headphone set, this is the one you were talking about, right?

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-599-Open-Headphone/dp/B01L1IICR2

Also, i gotta try these just to see how well they work, like, i need to know if they work as advertised. My pc has builtin bluetooth and it would be pretty great if it didnt sacrifice audio quality to go wireless. My q is this; have you ever played with this or a similar product and how did it go? https://www.amazon.com/Maceton-Wireless-Bluetooth-Sennheiser-Headphones/dp/B071DCWX6Z