What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Sennheiser HD 280 Pro Closed Back Dynamic Headphones for Composing, Gaming, Mixing, Mastering, Video or Audio Production, Performing 3M coiled cable w 1’8” stereo connector and 1/4” adaptor?

A total of 47 reviews of this product on Reddit.

6 points

·

29th Jun 2017

I would recommend the Sennheiser HD280PROs.

And here’s why:

When I first started producing (7 yrs ago), I realized I would need a decent pair of headphones. I had absolutely no idea what I was buying, but after reading a couple Amazon reviews, I settled on these $70 Sennheisers (sorry can’t remember the model # off the top of my head – but it doesn’t matter since they don’t make them anymore). I figured I would be buying a more expensive pair ~$250 within the first year or so anyway, and $70 wasn’t that much.

To this day, I’ve been through 4 sets of other headphones (all more expensive), and the only pair that I still own and use regularly are those $70 Sennheisers.

This is for a couple reasons: (1) they’re super durable, hell they’ve lasted 7 years w/o a single problem, and I haven’t exactly been kind to them, (2) they give you an accurate flat response; sure the very high and very low ends lack the sparkle and punch of a $500 studio pair, but I’ve had better luck on my mixdowns with those than I have with my $250 headphones.

I can honestly say that I have full faith in Sennheiser. I recommend the HD280 Pros b/c they’re in your price range. I don’t own these – like I said, I have an older model – but I’m confident that any Sennheiser set is going to do the job.

2 points

·

11th May 2021

Iv wouldn’t get a headset. They are usually junk.

Get these or something equivalent

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_imm_QVF9KF9EJ1RGRTTEZ2Y6

Then get an ant lion mod mic. That way you can take the mic off when not in use, and use the headphones in public without looking like a dork.

2 points

·

13th Jul 2020

How firm are you on the headphones being over ear? For half of your budget you could get the Sennheiser HD280PRO which will give you 32db of noise reduction, which should be enough to make your roommates disappear

1 point

·

18th Jan 2022

I’m kind of barging into this conversation idk if you’re looking for a pair but this is the most comfortable+best sounding headphones I know for under $100 (barely under but still under). I use these for hours a day and will not switch to anything else. I’ve bought headphones up to the $400 range but these are my favorite

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

1 point

·

1st Oct 2020
  • There are two types of headphones:
  • OPEN-EAR (or “Open Back”)type rests ON the outer parts of your ear. Typically, you can hear ambient sound in addition to the sound from the headphones. The Nia Q2 appear to be of this type. So it is no surprise that others can hear your headphones, especially if you are using them at higher sound levels.
  • CLOSED-EAR type clamps AROUND your ear, against your head . They typically OCCLUDE sound from outside so that you hear only the sound from the headphones. This also means that others outside will hear little/none of what you are listening to on your headphones. Sennheiser 280PRO is a good example of this type. They fit tightly against your head (around your ear). But they are quite comfortable to wear even for hours at a time.

Professional audio people who record dialog for movies and TV prefer to use these “closed-ear” type of headphones so that they hear ONLY the sound they are recording and NOT any ambient sounds not being picked up by their microphones.

1 point

·

4th Sep 2020

You’ll need to spend more than that for good speakers but you should be looking for headphones. That being said you’ll also probably want to spend a little more than 100 on good headphones. Also don’t forget to use captions.

These Sennheiser phones are a newer model of ones I’ve been using for over a decade. At the time I paid twice as much for them. I use 3rd party velvet cushions on them, they’re fantastic and have one of the widest frequency response ranges I’ve seen on cans in this price range.

1 point

·

25th Feb 2019

$100 is actually a perfectly respectable budget to get decent sound.

What kind of in-ears do you have? Because some cheap Advanced Model 3 for $39 with Comply P-series foam (what I currently use waiting for my upgrade to arrive) are basically 30+ dBa earplugs.

Someone also recently mentioned the https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY for over the ears with 32 dBa passive noise isolation. Noise canceling won’t do great at blocking percussive sounds, they do better with predictable noise like the drone of an engine. Passive noise isolation works for everything.

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2018

I’ve had the Sennheiser HD280PRO‘s for a few years now and love ’em. I’m running them through a Schiit Stack (Magni 2 & Modi 1) for the full experience, but on their own, the 280’s are excellent.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2018
  • Budget – $150-$200, somewhat flexible (US).
  • Source – A new desktop computer.
  • Requirements for Isolation – I’d like some passive isolation. I’ll be using these at home only.
  • Will you be using these Headphones in Public? No.
  • Preferred Type of Headphone – Full size.
  • Preferred tonal balance – I think I’d prefer a balance, maybe a little bass emphasis but nothing silly.
  • Past headphones – I’ve used Beats Powerbeats 2 Wireless In-Ear Headphones in the past, but those are only for the gym and I never really liked how they sounded. They can slip out of your ears and be very tinny.
  • Preferred Music – These headphones will be primary for listening to rock and pop music, and for gaming for extended periods.
  • What would you like to improve on from your set-up – What are you looking for going into your next headphone? More bass? More detail? More treble? I’m currently using very old apple earbuds and they sound tinny with no midrange or bass at all. I want my next headphones to be a nice balance with healthy bass and some passive isolation so I don’t hear the computer or the kitchen.

I’ve been recommended these headphones, any thoughts on these?

1 point

·

7th Dec 2017

Sennheiser HD280 Pros are a classic choice and great for the money. They aren’t noise-cancelling, but you won’t hear normal ambient noise if you’re playing music.

1 point

·

27th Sep 2017

So, I took a look – and what I noticed is that a lot of the ~$200 merchants have less than 1k feedback or around that. In other words – not exactly power sellers that have been doing this a long time. In my experience, ~2% leave feedback for the merchants. So – we can deduce that they likely have less than 10k sales. All that to say – they just don’t know what they are doing or they are using pricing software incorrectly.

HOWEVER – there’s another thing happens a lot. And this happens in categories outside of books just as often. A lot of 3rd party merchants will sell on multiple websites at the same time. eBay, walmart, newegg, etc. And if an item sales on one website, they update their inventory across all the sites. All that to say – they could be using blanket pricing strategies that are tailored to other sites that profit more. So – I imagine – these $200 are more likely to be pricing for some other website – and it just looks like they are stupid when you only look at their Amazon listing. However, they might be the cheapest on – say – Newegg.

Disclaimer: (can’t remember if I mentioned this) I’ve been selling online on multiple sites for just over a year – I’m not an expert or by any means have it all figured out. I just happen to know a good bit about this specific topic. I’m at just over 10k sales myself and hopefully lots more to come!

Final side note – as an audio engineer myself – I love the Sennheiser HD280 Pro. Not as feature rich as the one you just showed me, but great bang for buck in regards to audio quality and durability. Many of my fellow audio engineers swear by this model as well.

Sorry for the long reply. 🙂

1 point

·

14th Dec 2016

Just a quick correction if I may…the HD280’s are $70 more. The link previously provided was for Amazon.com not Amazon.ca.

Cheers.

https://www.amazon.ca/Sennheiser-HD-280-PRO-Headphone/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1481733276&sr=8-2&keywords=Sennheiser+HD+280

73 points

·

11th Feb 2019

These?
Sennheiser HD280PRO Headphone (new model) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_dkryCbTDXH06E

3 points

·

25th Jul 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

No need to spend $500+ on headphones for high quality audio.

2 points

·

5th Sep 2018

Thanks for the advice! I’ve actually already got a pair of these so I’m all set on headphones. I like them a lot.
https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY/

1 point

·

8th Feb 2022

My favorite are Sennheiser HD280

For cheap I like OneOdio

1 point

·

28th Jan 2022

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/

These have very good noise isolation

1 point

·

27th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Sennheiser Pro Audio HD280PRO Headphone (new mode…$99.94$99.944.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

17th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Sennheiser Pro Audio HD280PRO Headphone (new mode…$99.94$99.944.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

11th Dec 2021

Thank you so much for your helpful recommendation. Is there a button I have to turn on to activate the noise canceling feature?

Is this the one? https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY?th=1

1 point

·

29th Nov 2021

anyone know how these compare to the venerable 280 pro closed back?

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

1 point

·

4th Nov 2021

I have these and love them. Sennheiser HD280PRO Headphone (new model) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=cm_sw_r_apanp_smRUmBsY3aURp

1 point

·

6th Aug 2021

Get a decent pair a headphones: Sennheiser Pro Audio HD280PRO Headphone (new model) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_TG4MXQWSQDBN5SXGYXC7

1 point

·

19th May 2021

Sennheiser HD280 Pro is the closest I can think of. Just under 100, but very flat and neutral. It does have a dip in bass near the lower end of the freq response.
https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

1 point

·

26th Dec 2020
1 point

·

12th Sep 2019

Price History


These prices aren’t just Black and White.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fd32w3y%2Fheadphones_nad_hp_50_overear_headphones_with%2Ff024kgz%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

1st Oct 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

Just make sure they are close back headphones really, otherwise the sound will leak. Can’t go wrong with Sennheiser.

1 point

·

28th Aug 2020

I purchased the Sennheiser HD280PRO a few months back when they were on sale. My home situation is not ideal for speakers either. I’ve been very happy with them.

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY

1 point

·

31st Aug 2020

audiotechnica mth50x are insanely inexpensive monitor headphones that are geared more towards low end, durable, and sound great. widely used by a lot of professionals, only cost 150 (closed back though, which is good for travel)

believe it or not, i dont care what anyone says about them, skullcandy makes a pair of headphones called the crusher wireless. theyre like 200 bucks and have an adjustable bass knob. the sound quality is actually impressive for being skullcandy and i have yet to find a pair of headphones that hits the subs that these do without completely destroying the sound quality. ive used them with ableton, there is an option to connect via aux, which as a sidenote, for ableton is essential because not only does ableton not like using bluetooth on a mac, there is a delay, however still possible.

ive never used the aftershockz but i woulddnt waste the money on them tbh

sennheiser also has a $100 pair of headphones on amazon, but id recommend audiotechnica instead. i had sennheiser open backs and honestly they were super quiet without a headphone amp and i hated that everyone around me heard my headphones. https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=sr_1_5?dchild=1&keywords=monitor+headphones&qid=1598865320&sr=8-5

if its for ableton id go with audiotechnica athm50x

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

I just checked Amazon, the newest model is only $100. That’s not bad, I was going to pay $300 for the others.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IT0IHOY/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_RwllFbT4CWR6A

1 point

·

1st Jun 2020

Price History


We don’t Horse around here.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fgusg2g%2Fheadphones_sennheiser_hd_25_professional_18995_60%2Ffskcoha%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2019

IMO (as someone that is admittedly slowly turning into an audiophile) feel that waiting a bit and saving a bit more would likely be worth it. You can get a really nice starter setup for ~$135 pretty easily.

I personally started with a pair of Sennheiser HD280PRO headphones and a Neewer NW-7000 mic

I also got a BEHRINGER UM2 audio interface, but that’s a bit extra and not necessary. I personally did it so I could have a physical control for my gain and output audio.

Only thing I’ve touched is the mic, upgraded to a Shure 48, although I’d certain stay away from the HD280s. Great sound, but I’ve had the right ear audio just randomly stop on 2 in the past year, and they never leave my desk. Thankfully Sennheiser has excellent customer support so it’s not the end of the world, but if it happens again I’m just going to tell them that I’d happily pay the difference to have them just send me a different pair.

1 point

·

24th Nov 2019
1 point

·

23rd Feb 2019

cloud alphas if your looking for mic comfort and sound

but if your looking for super good headphones https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphone-new-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY?tag=headphonesaddict-20

1 point

·

21st May 2018
1 point

·

25th Jul 2017

Thank god for me that I picked up a closed headphones and not the shitty gaming headphones. These are the one I bought btw.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2017

My apartment has a ton of street noise, and I’m looking for something over-ear to wear in addition to foam earplugs to block out even more noise while I’m sleeping. I think I want noise isolating rather than noise cancelling.

I was considering just buying protective earmuffs, but it would be nice to be able to listen to music occasionally. I’m wondering whether something like Sennheiser 280 Pro or Sennheiser 598 would effectively block sound even when no music is playing?

Or does anyone have any better suggestions? I’d be willing to pay ~$125 (though cheaper would be nice). The sound isolation is way more important than audio quality for me.

1 point

·

29th Jun 2017

My advice is to buy some inexpensive audiophile headphones ($100) or mid-range audiophile headphones ($150) and a decent clip on mic ($55) (a less expensive alternative ($30)).

For around the same price as a overpriced gaming headsets ($200), you’ll get all the comfort, durability, and audio quality of nice headphones, plus you can chat with buddies while gaming! Plus, you can actually use them for music and stuff besides gaming.

1 point

·

24th Apr 2017

Sennheiser HD280PRO

$100 and some really fantastic sounds quality. Even with the volume at medium I can’t hear a damn thing going on around me.

1 point

·

18th Apr 2017

HD 280 Pro (fits over the ears, not on ear)

HD 25 Professional is near the limit of your budget, but on ear.

Maybe the Shure SRH840 also.

0 points

·

26th Jun 2018

> noise isolation IEMs

Many thanks for the input!

Something like this? https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD280PRO-Headphones-old-model/dp/B00IT0IHOY?th=1