What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Secura French Press Coffee Maker, 304 Grade Stainless Steel Insulated Coffee Press with 2 Extra Screens, 34oz (1 Litre), Silver?

A total of 19 reviews of this product on Reddit.

51 points

·

3rd Feb 2019

Bodum makes a damn fine coffee, but maybe you need an all metal one eh? $25 to get you something a little less Fra-jee-lay Secura Stainless Steel French Press Coffee Maker 18/10 Bonus Stainless Steel Screen (1000ML) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JE36GLQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_49WvCbA4JTH5S

2 points

·

31st May 2021

Secura French Press Coffee Maker, 304 Grade Stainless Steel Insulated Coffee Press with 2 Extra Screens, 34oz (1 Litre), Silver https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JE36GLQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_P1Q6NQR4WZY6GK8C6NMX?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Had it for almost 5 years, dropped it on tile floor, bang it inside sink everyday to get out the remainder of the grinds … not a scratch (except when I used a stainless brush on it to try and scrape the name off, don’t do this)

1 point

·

12th Nov 2021

>What are some tricks for long-term coffee storage? I do prefer whole bean coffee but it’s tricky to make them last too long.

Buy green beans and roast your own. Not only do green beans last a LOOONNNG time if they’re stored properly, freshly-roasted coffee is so much better. I have a friend who managed all the food services at the local (international) airport, and the first time he tried my home-roasted coffee he completely seriously said “If you ever want to open a coffee shop at the airport, let me know.”

​

>What’s a good, reliable, and durable french press, preferably all-metal construction?

I have this one and it’s been great.

I don’t have suggestions for a thermal mug though — I rarely need one and if I’m bringing coffee out, I have a huge thermos. :p

1 point

·

4th Sep 2021

This one is stainless steel and has insulated walls.

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2018

After my shitty glass Bodum broke, I definitely suggest you heed the advice of choosing a steel model.

I’ve had this Secura steel French press 3 years now and it’s still going strong.

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2018

I just bought a Hydro Flask 40 oz bottle that works well so far. Haven’t had it long so can’t speak to reliability yet.

There are multiple 50 or 51oz (1.5L) stainless French presses on Amazon if you’re in the USA. I have the Linkyo brand and it works great after 2+ years or regular use. I gave up glass French presses after breaking about 6 of them.

Edit: here’s one example. Not mine so I can’t speak to quality, etc.

1 point

·

24th Mar 2018

I guess if you had a hammer and some time you could break this one. Best French Press I’ve ever owned.

Secura Stainless Steel French Press Coffee Maker 18/10 Bonus Stainless Steel Screen (1000ML) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JE36GLQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_mTRTAb84THSMS

2 points

·

24th May 2021

I have this one and it’s great. Better made than the price would suggest:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00JE36GLQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_image?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2022

Mainly I use a separate tea steeper because I drink herbal tea and I don’t want it to taste like coffee, and I feel like even when I wash the French press you can still kind of tell. I think if you drink actual tea like black tea you might not mind as much. I also only make coffee at home and mostly drink tea at work so I just have them in two different places.

My kettle and French press are both from Secura. Not on purpose, I bought them at separate times I didn’t even realize they were the same brand!
This is the French press I have, though I’m not sure what size I have. I went with it because it has good reviews and I didn’t want to have a glass one that I might break, and it’s double walled stainless steel so it doesn’t get hot to the touch on the outside which is nice.

I think this is the kettle I have. Mainly for the kettle I tried to find one that didn’t have a little plastic window that shows the water level which a lot of them seem to.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2022

Oui ça reste chaud quand tu prends celui-ci.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2020

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

11th Dec 2020

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

7th Dec 2020

I use one of these

I’m making coffee for 2 people, so it pays to have the larger press.

1 point

·

17th Nov 2019

I received this stainless steel press from Amazon a few years ago as a gift and it’s held up great.

I like stainless vs glass as it stays hot much longer.

1 point

·

7th Feb 2019

Two small touches of luxury I own and appreciate are my French Press and Coffee Grinder. Being able to buy a bag of whole coffee beans from a local roaster and give them a proper grind and brew is a great way to star my mornings.

I use a Baratza Encore Grinder – a often recommended grinder from /r/Coffee and they can be found refurbished from the manufacturer themselves occasionally if the price is a tad much.

As far as the French Press itself – I use this one. Doesn’t look too fancy, but its insulated well enough that I don’t have to rush drinking my coffee before it gets too cold.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2017

I got this one. Many sellers seem to be offering the model under their own brand names (white label). https://www.amazon.com/Secura-Stainless-French-Coffee-Screen/dp/B00JE36GLQ

1 point

·

2nd Jun 2017

hi I am completely new to this, spent a while researching yesterday and found that for my price point, french press would be the best start for me. I am looking at all my options on amazon, and i am looking at the ones around the 20-30 dollar range. will there be a big difference in quality from press to press? And also, I am looking at coffee grinders at around the same price range, and was wondering what would be the best and if manual is fine for what I need, since those are cheaper.

example combo of what i am considering:

press

grinder

please make any adjustments to these 2, as long as it totals to not more than ~50 usd

1 point

·

9th Dec 2016

I’m pretty sure this is the one he has. He doesn’t seem to love it. We have this one and we love it.