What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Screaming Meanie 220 Alarm Clock and Timer | Extremely Loud for Deep Sleepers | Multi-Purpose Clock | 3 Sound Levels | Assorted Colors?

A total of 15 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

16th Jun 2021

For me it’s either 8 normal alarms or one of these 120db motherfuckers ( https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000JGDLLU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_5RRZ6XRAWH6CCY0VC2K9 ). I used one of those for a while in the army until people got tired of thinking the fire alarm was going off every morning. They developed a rotation of who had to wake me up every morning, if I was late it was that person’s fault not mine. I have literally slept through a bomb going off close enough that it knocked me out of bed.

2 points

·

21st Jan 2021

I’ve used this alarm for over a decade.

Please build whatever habits you have to but I swear you WILL NOT sleep through this. You have to press 3 buttons to shut it off, I must say it is very loud and will awaken everyone in your house.

Instead of setting it for a certain time, you set it for how many hours/minutes you want to sleep.

Not only will it wake you, it’ll wake you up alert because of how much of a hurry you’ll be in to shut it off.

1 point

·

26th Jan 2019

Screaming Meanie Is probably cheaper at a nearby truck stop, but do your normal alarm thing, and then set that up to go off a few minutes later in the hallway or something.

Don’t forget to disarm it though, I woke up early once and went out for breakfast and the fire department broke down my door thinking it was a fire alarm.

1 point

·

12th Mar 2018

Unfortunately I’m a heavy sleeper.

Luckily I have a job that doesn’t really give a fuck when I arrive.

Anyhow, what I’m getting to is that back in the day, when I worked at a plant and had places to be that were “on time” my mother bought me a screaming meanie for Christmas.

I shit you not, it worked 75% of the time, but I was able to sleep through it at times. If anyone ever breaks into my house, and wants to kill me…. I’m a dead man if it’s late at night.

1 point

·

10th Nov 2017

I feel you. Having multiple alarms, with at least one or two not being near my bed so I have to get up, helps me. There are alarm apps that make you solve puzzles before they turn off. Not going back to sleep is the hard part. I’m prescribed a stimulant, taking that in the morning will wake me up for the day.

If you’re like me and will sleep through alarms sometimes, I’ve heard that a "Screaming Meanie"‘s a good last resort. It can’t be good for your ears, and RIP the ears of any pets you have, but if you absolutely can’t miss something in the morning that will wake you up. It’s basically a “fire alarm” alarm clock.

Interestingly, one of the most helpful things for me has been when I’ve had roommates that wake up early and go to work. It motivated me to do the same. I’d even “compete” to get up and leave for work earlier than them.

After waking up, along with not being a morning person, sometimes I think dissociation makes it hard for me to get out of bed. Dissociation can make the punishment or consequences of not getting to work on time not feel real. I’m not sure how to fight that other than to make lists of what I need to do in the morning and JUST GO. Showering at night instead of the morning helps. Coffee helps.

For getting to sleep, I’ll take a couple melatonin and benadryl pills. After 30 minutes I’m usually out.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2017

This isn’t exactly what you posted about but have you tried a Screaming Meanie alarm clock?

They are extremely loud and annoying alarm clocks that WILL wake you up. They are designed for exactly your kind of situation. Talk to your psych FIRST because they are very, VERY loud and surprising.

https://www.amazon.com/Screaming-Meanie-Timer-Alarm-Clock/dp/B000JGDLLU

1 point

·

28th Dec 2016

When I got my current grey, I was scared to death because I SWORE he was DEAF. He did not respond to sounds AT ALL. I would literally set off a 120db alarm on a timer in the next room to try to get a rise out of him–not a peep or any indication of curiosity. After about a month he finally started acting fully acclamated, responding to souds, vocalizing etc.

So don’t be spooked or alarmed by any weird or lethargic behaviors you see in your bird for the next few weeks while she’s getting used to her new surroundings. Also expect a few phases and personality shifts as she grows and gets more comfortable.

1 point

·

20th Oct 2015

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000JGDLLU?keywords=screaming%20meanie&qid=1445357556&ref_=sr_1_2&sr=8-2

If he isn’t deaf I can pretty much guarantee this thing will wake him up. It’ll DEFINITELY wake up the whole house though. Possibly the neighbors too. It has three loudness settings, it starts at loud, and goes up from there. The 120dB setting may possibly also damage his/your hearing. No really, it is fucking LOUD. I used one as an alarm in high school because nothing would wake me up. I HATED it, but it definitely woke me up. The controls on it are pretty terrible, and you have to set the alarm every night, but it will definitely wake up anyone, including the dead.

If you don’t want the loudest, most annoying alarm ever made, try a vibrating alarm. If he is sensitive to light there are also alarms that will turn on lights.

8 points

·

13th Jan 2021

Don’t take melatonin, it’ll hurt you even worse.

If your body is not used to this cycle, it’ll throw off your circadian rhythm. Honestly, there’s not much you can do except keep at it, your body will slowly adjust. I suggest buying a loud alarm such as the screaming meanie. (https://www.amazon.com/Screaming-Meanie-Extremely-Sleepers-Multi-Purpose/dp/B000JGDLLU) it will wake the dead, I used to use it when I worked as a deckhand and not getting up in time meant life or death literally lol.

​

Hope you adjust soon, I know how it feels.

8 points

·

25th Jul 2020
1 point

·

20th Aug 2021

this on your ceiling. this alarm clock will pierce thru your ceiling and straight into their eardrums. battery powered, just tape and go or velcro

https://www.amazon.com/Screaming-Meanie-Extremely-Sleepers-Multi-Purpose/dp/B000JGDLLU

1 point

·

15th Oct 2020

I’ve found that bright light really helps me get up! I use an amazon echo as my alarm clock and I hooked it up to the lights in my room so they turn on and off a couple times then stay on.

I also think hearing the same sound every day makes it easier to ignore so I try to change the alarm sounds frequently, or I set the alarm to say “You need to get up, you’re going to miss x” if there’s an important appointment or meeting that day.

I alsooo bought this ridiculously noisy and hard to use Screaming Meanie alarm for especially important days! I don’t use it very often and it’s hard to turn off so I have to read the instructions (printed on the back) whenever I use it.

https://www.amazon.com/Screaming-Meanie-Extremely-Sleepers-Multi-Purpose/dp/B000JGDLLU

There are also phone apps (Alarmy) you can use that have you solve a math problem or something like that before you can turn the alarm off. I’ve found these are too easy to just delete off my phone, but they might work for you!

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

If anyone keeps missing their alarms, get this

It’ll wake up everyone in your house but it’s worth it

1 point

·

14th Oct 2019

I also have a difficult time waking up here is my fix
https://www.amazon.com/Screaming-Meanie-Timer-Alarm-Clock/dp/B000JGDLLU

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2015

Try the Screaming Meanie. Truck drivers use it to wake up because their sleep schedules and pretty much everything about truck driving makes it both very difficult and very important to wake up. It has the added bonus of being portable.

There’s also the Sonic Boom Bedshaker Alarm Clock, which is made my a manufacturer of alarm clocks for deaf people. It wakes you up by vibrating your bed and, optionally, beeping really loudly (not as horrible as the meanie though, and more precise volume adjustments.) I have one of these and it works great!

I’ve also seen the SmartShaker, which is a Bedshaker that connects to your phone via Bluetooth. Personally haven’t tried it and I doubt that something that runs on batteries could shake me awake, however, but it could be worth a try.

If you have trouble with going back to bed after waking up to an alarm or turning off alarms in your sleep, I recommend getting an app that requires you to take pictures or scan barcodes. If you need the phone’s ringer to be louder for the alarm, try hooking it up to a speaker.

You might also consider getting an old fashioned Analogue Alarm Clock. Those fuckers are loud and percussive and and don’t have a snooze button. There’s nothing like actual metal clanging together to wake you up in the morning.

If you have some money to spend, maybe a Sunlight simulation alarm would work for you. It simulates the gradual rising of the sun, but at whatever time you need the sun to rise and without having to leave your blinds open at night, with street lights bothering you and such.

You might reevaluate your before bed practices as well. Low blood sugar may cause you to sleep especially heavy; try eating a package of peanut butter crackers or a spoonful of peanut butter or something before bed to sustain you through the night. If you take medication that makes you sleepy (on purpose or as a side effect) make sure to take it early enough that the sleepy effects wear off around when you need to wake up. If you try these things and continue to have issues, talk to your doctor about doing a sleep study. There are a number of sleep disorders that can cause you to be difficult to wake, some of which may be affecting more than your ability to wake up in time for work.

Finally, I’ve found that the very best way for me to wake up is for my husband (or anybody really) to bring me a cup of tea. He can get still-mostly-asleep me to sit up and take the tea, and then I have to wake most of the way up to avoid spilling hot liquid all over myself, and then I fully wake up as I drink it. Obviously, this one is dependent on living with another person and having morning schedules that work together, which may not work for you.

Anyways, as a fellow heavy sleeper, I give you all I know about not sleeping through being a functioning member of society. 🙂