What is the opinion of Reddit about the
SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – Up to 550MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25?

A total of 28 reviews of this product on Reddit.

22 points

·

6th Oct 2018

After reading this I picked up a Sandisk External SSD and ran some time tests on PS4. The times below are in MM:SS

Link to External SSD

ActionOld HDDSSD
Starting D2 to D2 Enter Screen00:2600:20
D2 Enter to Character Select1:1700:39
Character to Orbit00:1600:11
Orbit to Tower1:141:15
Option to Character00:4.600:2.4
Character to Skill00:2.500:1.6
Skill to Character00:2.1000:1.7

Update

I wish I would have tested load in times into strikes. But on average I would say I’m 10-15 seconds ahead of the rest of the fireteam on loading in.

2 points

·

28th Oct 2020

I was having bad luck with SD cards so decided to just go for the SSD. I know a lot of Tesla owners use the Samsung T5 (now T7) however I read some reviews of high temps so opted for SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – Up to 550MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_93mMFbVSY2E0K?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

I’ve been happy thus far with no issues with sentry mode.

2 points

·

27th Aug 2020

> Edit: Also I’m short of space on my SSD, I can allot 75gb maybe? Is that alright?

Just saw this edit and did a quick search: 30GB is the recommended minimum for a Windows 10 install. How much more depends on how many games you want to have installed at once, and how big those games average. Fortnite is 70GB or so, but A Hat in Time is 8GB. I would guess most games are around 10-20GB if they aren’t First-Person Shooters like Call of Duty.

I think 75GB will be ok. Also, I believe you can store games on an external drive, so if you run out, or need more space, just buy a 512GB or 1TB SSD like so.

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2021

I’ve been using this ssd (500gb) for just over 2 years no problem. Had to format it twice so far. I got this over a Samsung T5 or T7 because speed doesn’t really matter since it’s just a dash cam, and you can find these cheaper.

1 point

·

14th Jul 2021

You are or will be limited by the USB port speed on that mature computer – probably no more than 480 mbps, and to some extent the OS a software. Lots of small files will transfer slower than on large file of the same size. SSD storage has become much less expensive, to the point that there is little difference compared to rotating disks.

I have one of these San Disk portable devices https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF?pf_rd_r=N3KPRATT32DJ32857VGV&pf_rd_p=5ae2c7f8-e0c6-4f35-9071-dc3240e894a8&pd_rd_r=a53fc011-30f3-4f9d-a4fd-65edbbb9c489&pd_rd_w=2hGCC&pd_rd_wg=LXMD0&ref_=pd_gw_unk&th=1 for my Time Machine backups and I’m very happy with it. Runs 24/7 and makes absolutely no sounds.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2020

Sandisk costs around 6.5K. Seagate is also nice.

1 point

·

30th Aug 2020

Just posted this in reply to another comment:

Get an external SSD instead of a USB stick, they last a lot longer. My 256GB USB stick lasted 4 months before it stopped working. Replaced it with another new one and that one stopped working after 3 months. SSD on the other hand has been fine for the last 9 months.

I got this one: SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5a5sFbCX37244

1 point

·

30th Aug 2020

Get an external SSD instead of a USB stick, they last a lot longer. My 256GB USB stick lasted 4 months before it stopped working. Replaced it with another new one and that one stopped working after 3 months. SSD on the other hand has been fine for the last 9 months.

I got this one: SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_5a5sFbCX37244

1 point

·

9th Aug 2019

Nice. That might be a better option.

I was wrong about the one she let me borrow — it was a SanDisk. Didn’t seem to connect to the Xbox, in guessing it’s just the wrong type of drive.

SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_zkytDbH8N534Z

1 point

·

6th Jun 2019

Posted the wrong link. This one.

1 point

·

1st Apr 2019

This is working well for me. Its lightweight, small, and not overly expensive. You’ll have to format it to FAT32, when it arrives of course.

SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_7gFOCbX8EW5ET

1 point

·

4th Oct 2018

The optimal Storage solution for dashcam functionality would be a usb SSD like this one for example.

SSDs can withstand way more write-cycles than normal usb sticks due to their more advanced controllers (only relevant if you don’t use the entire drive’s capacity) and higher binned flash chips.

1 point

·

8th Oct 2018

AppleCare is worth it in my opinion. For one you have peace of mind, and two when you go to sell it you’ll get a higher resale value.

Not sure why you think you need a lot of storage for coding… I’m a designer and front-end dev and it’s not like you’re constantly editing large 4k videos. I have the 512GB internal drive and supplement with a 500gb external SSD (https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-500GB-Extreme-Portable-SDSSDE60-500G-G25/dp/B078SWJ3CF) which is only $110 and works great. Definitely cheaper than upgrading your internals.

2 points

·

2nd Nov 2018

Amazon. I like this one.

SanDisk Extreme 500GB Portable SSD (SDSSDE60-500G-G25) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_e2n3BbW3T7MM5

1 point

·

27th Oct 2020

i think its around 70GB now .. I got an external SanDisk 500GB portable drive and its fast and more than enough for now.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1%27

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2020

$80 for a 500gb seagate SSD. Just grabbed a pair of 1TB’s. Slim and great

1 point

·

26th Sep 2020

Try an SSD – they seem to survive a lot longer than the cards: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF

1 point

·

18th Aug 2020

For our Tablo, I’m personally using a SanDisk 500GB “Extreme Portable External” SSD for DVR recordings:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Working well for me…got an SSD after trying a WD Elements 1TB…believe it or not, too noisy for the bedroom, where my antenna and the Tablo is. SSD’s don’t make any noise :-).

About the heat issue, it’s designed to take the heat, according to Tablo support. For ours, though, I got a couple of cheap metal bookends and have the thing standing vertically (very loosely) between them. Stays cooler that way. A laptop cooler would make too much noise for the bedroom, of course :-).

Been using the Tablo for a couple of years now. It works well for us, love it! Don’t use commercial skip, we skip commercials manually…works fine :-).

1 point

·

21st Aug 2020

SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – Up to 550MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_lY0pFbYXHY2Y0

1 point

·

9th Aug 2020

SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – Up to 550MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_5i2lFbEX82A1D would this work

1 point

·

6th Jan 2020

What brands would you recommend?

I checked and wanted the following but not sure after reading some terrible reviews on Amazon:

For me it’s not about the price but if my data is secure especially my photos because I have lost plenty of files and photos in the past from a flash drive or my computer crashing down. I also don’t want to spend more money on cloud services to store more data.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2019

It’s not that, macOS system almost takes up 14 GB of space with other pre-installed apps taking up almost 4-5 GB. The reason I installed it on a HDD as I can do almost everything on macOS except Frontpage 2003(I need it for school) doesn’t have a mac version. That’s the only reason I installed Windows on a HDD. I’d say, buy an external HDD or an SSD and install Windows on that following the above. That’s much better. You can buy this one: https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-500GB-Extreme-Portable-External/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=512+GB+external+ssd&qid=1575065193&sr=8-3

1 point

·

28th Jul 2019

SanDisk 500GB Extreme Portable External SSD – USB-C, USB 3.1 – SDSSDE60-500G-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078SWJ3CF/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_snBpDbEBTKZX7

1 point

·

20th Jun 2019

Just an example:
Portable 250gb SSD

1 point

·

27th May 2019

Laptop. It’s my mothers. She has a USB 3.0 port and this SSD.

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-1TB-Extreme-Portable-SDSSDE60-1T00-G25/dp/B078SWJ3CF

1 point

·

16th Apr 2019

I absolutely love the SanDisk “Extreme Portable External” USB line. I have a couple, and they’re super fast, and well priced.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B078SWJ3CF