What is the opinion of Reddit about the
SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25?

A total of 42 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

28th May 2021

I’ve read this drive is great for SentryCam, etc. I’ve used them for photography and plan to get one for my just picked up MYLR.

They’re pretty much “bomb proof”, High speed and durable- able to withstand heat and constant write/rewrites. Plus at 1-2TB you can record everything.

SanDisk SSD Extreme

1 point

·

26th Feb 2022

I use this

1 point

·

25th Jan 2022

Here’s the drive I am planning to get once I have a delivery date, SanDisk Extreme 1TB Portable NVMe SSD, USB-C, up to 1050MB/s Read and 1000MB/s Write Speed, Water and Dust-Resistant – this was recommended in the TMC forums I think…

1 point

·

12th Dec 2021

SanDisk Extreme 1 TB Portable SSD (tragbare NVMe SSD, USB-C, bis zu 1.050 MB/s Lesegeschwindigkeit und 1.000 MB/s Schreibgeschwindigkeit, wasser- und staubbeständig) https://www.amazon.de/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_6SZQ21BY5Q9SCNC24E5H?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Ist zwar ne SSD aber die sind eh besser.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2021

Just find one with the best storage for your dollar. You can’t go wrong with brands like Western digital, Samsung, Seagate, SanDisk. Something like this SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_NYWT67977QFJ1E6A80E8?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

Can’t a SSD via USB C achieve this as well? Something like SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 SSD

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2021

I have all of my steam games installed on an external SSD. I found that it really improved my game performance over the internal hard drive. This is the one I use.

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_9X5VDA6CTSK5EY4F9EHG

1 point

·

26th Sep 2021

I recently had issues with this on a MacBook Pro with very little room left on the hard drive. Finally got a 1TB external SSD, and the problem disappeared.

Check your machine’s free disk space. If it’s pretty low, Xcode may be using swap space for your builds, which could make things extremely slow and/or cause rebuilds every time.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2021

If you’re looking for an expansion drive for the PS5, even though its for PS4 games I recommend you also still get an external SSD as your PS4 games will load faster and if you need to transfer PS5 games back and forth it will be much faster. Trust me after experiencing the fast load times for PS5 games you will be upset that you made a bad choice on an external drive if you don’t get an external SSD. Would recommend this one: SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_EP415114RGCJ6EHBMZ58

They also have a 2TB version.

1 point

·

9th Aug 2021

I would buy an external SSD and install Big Sur onto that and then Xcode. You can “Option” boot a Mac and select what ever OS you want. Then just velcro the drive to the back of your LCD so your machine is still portable.

I am sure you can find cheaper: https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-1TB-Extreme-Portable-SDSSDE61-1T00-G25/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=sr_1_2_sspa?dchild=1&keywords=ssd+usb&qid=1628517226&sr=8-2-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUExNllPUko1M01STFlBJmVuY3J5cHRlZElkPU…

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2021

That’s pretty slick, I was just planning to buy an external USB C SSD and rock that when I want to play the games stored on it instead of utilizing the SDcard.

An external SSD like this one : https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-1TB-Extreme-Portable-SDSSDE61-1T00-G25/dp/B08GTYFC37

1 point

·

5th Jun 2021

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_VF103XGCK8WNN79GZEVZ

And for the dashboard probably just gonna buy something cheap on eBay lol.

1 point

·

14th Apr 2021

The type c port is the oval shaped one in the front. I looked into a bit more, and turns out all the usb ports, except the front type a (rectangle) port support 10gbps data transfer. You need an external hard drive that supports USB 3.2 (I think USB 3.1, Gen 2 also supports 10gbps) like this. While usb 3.2 can support 10gbps data transfer, the hard drive is restricted by its read and write speeds. The one I linked to, for example, has read and write speeds of about 1gbps.

I haven’t looked into all this too deeply either, so there is a chance I’m wrong.

1 point

·

8th Mar 2021

I have an external SSD, and it has almost the same exact speed as the internal SSD. Maybe behind by a second or two…

This is the one I use and I plug it into the USB C port, which is by far the fastest port on the PS5.

I see no difference in load times for games like GTA, Red Dead etc.

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-1TB-Extreme-Portable-SDSSDE61-1T00-G25/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=sandisk+1tb+extreme+portable+external+ssd&qid=1614917134

3 points

·

16th Jan 2021

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_DpVaGb642F068

You can’t go wrong with this.

2 points

·

16th Jan 2021

I have a 2017 iMac with an internal disk drive that died. I could not afford much downtime, so I installed the operating system and all of my user data onto one of these SSDs: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08GTYFC37

Results were pretty good. The dead disk drive is a fusion drive (combination mechanical and SSD). Subjectively, I found the external SSD to be slightly more responsive than the internal drive most of the time. The exception was multi-tasking. If I had two programs doing disk I/O at the same time, I perceived a slowdown. It wasn’t awful, but noticeable.

The iMac and its dead drive are out for repair now so I can’t do any further testing.

1 point

·

18th Feb 2022

Here’s my recommendation:

  • Buy a 1TB SSD (I prefer Sandisk Extreme Pro)

  • First format the drive using APFS (Encrypted). This means you’ll need to set a password; and if you lose the drive, nobody else can read the data on their computer without that password—it’s encrypted.

  • Use Disk Utility app to partition the SSD into two drives; name them (1) Backup Drive and (2) Other Data (for example)

  • Consider partitioning the Backup Drive as 512GB in size, despite your internal storage being only 256GB in size

  • Buy an app called Carbon Copy Cloner. It’s very fast, and will make a bootable copy of your internal drive (including apps and settings). Then each subsequent back up will be just an iterative update (everything you’ve changed since you last made a backup). And if you want files from several backups ago, that you’ve since deleted, they should be on the drive (that’s why you want more than 256GB external storage).

  • On that SSD, you’ll have another 512GB partition called Other Data (or whatever you want to call it). Use it for extra storage needs (Eg Game installs, Photo library) so that you’re not filling up your internal storage so much.

1 point

·

17th Feb 2022

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_35BCNESP5C839EK4ZACZ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

14th Feb 2022

Just get an External SSD. I have used this one for two years now and it has never failed for me.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_JTDRV8J33MNDMGXGXRG9

1 point

·

9th Feb 2022

I would say it is mandatory to get a fast external SSD then

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_navT_g_A2JKAZG471Q2F9D89EJC 

1 point

·

28th Jan 2022

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_i_7P10HP3775J9QBNY68AQ?psc=1

This one right?

1 point

·

27th Jan 2022

Comparing:

  • Microsd UHS-I: theoretical maximum transfer speeds up to 104MB/s = 832Mbps bandwidth
  • 802.11ac (Wi-Fi 5):
    The generation of Wi-Fi that first signaled popular use, 802.11ac uses dual-band wireless technology, supporting simultaneous connections on both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz Wi-Fi devices. 802.11ac offers backward compatibility to 802.11a/b/g/n and bandwidth rated up to 1300 Mbps on the 5 GHz band plus up to 450 Mbps on 2.4 GHz. Most home wireless routers are compliant with this standard.
  • USB 3.2 Gen 2: Previously known as USB 3.1, and then later as USB 3.1 Gen 2. It offers speeds at up to 10Gbps bandwidth.
    USB 3.2 Gen 2×2: formally known as USB 3.2, it’s the newest and fastest spec, promising speeds at up to 20Gbps bandwidth (by using two lanes of 10Gbps at once).
    Note: The naming convention is a crapt in the usb’s world, so unless steam is refering to Gen 2×2 (20Gbps), what I don’t think (I don’t know really)… it sould be Gen 2 (10Gbps)

​

Conclusion: The fastest way to transfer files is an SSD connected by USB.
As example, and as we don’t know the exact bandwidth:
For USB 3.2 Gen 2 (10Gbps)

For USB 3.2 Gen 2×2 (20Gbps)

1 point

·

5th Jan 2022

1 Priority: figure out how you’re going to backup your files. Here’s what I do:

  1. Use Numbers or Pages to create a table to keep track of files (eg. work files, project files, media files, photo library 1-3) by making sure those files or folders are redundant across three locations (three external drives, one of which you keep off site; which can be an online backup service)

  2. Clone the internal drive periodically, so that if you lose the laptop, or something happens to the drive, you have an exact copy, and is bootable on another Mac. I like Carbon Copy Cloner but there’s also SuperDuper!. For a drive I like the SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD.

2 Priority: make your environment comfortable and expedient

  1. Setup Mission Control Hot Corners

  2. Install Rectangle app for window snapping (free)

  3. Install Hidden Bar to manage your menu bar when you have too many menu bar apps (free)

  4. If you have an external monitor that doesn’t have native display controls (eg. volume, brightness) you can install Monitor Control (free)

  5. Start using a password manager if you’re not already. I recommend 1Password for Mac and iOS

  6. Download Google Chrome because, while you should be using Safari most of the time, some websites will absolutely not work or work buggy, and so you’ll need to open it in Chrome (eg. logging into PlayStation.com won’t work in Safari)

  7. Get familiar with  > System Preferences (eg. uncheck Scroll Direction: Natural)

  8. Get familiar with Activity Monitor when you run into memory issues or you’re wondering which app is taking up CPU processing (google for instructions when you have questions)

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

Your better off getting an external ssd

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_4N06DZXXYDJXNTREF8B2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

Or

WD 1TB My Passport SSD External Portable Solid State Drive, Gray, Up to 1,050 MB/s, USB 3.2 Gen-2 and USB-C Compatible (USB-A for Older Systems) – WDBAGF0010BGY-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08F27QGHX/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_60JBTYXQ3K9DB7RZW4H5

Or

Crucial X8 1TB Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB 3.2 – External Solid State Drive, USB-C, USB-A – CT1000X8SSD9 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YD5TK4F/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_ZMR8CZMR3VVG4DYTH2SF?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

It seems that your comment contains 1 or more links that are hard to tap for mobile users.
I will extend those so they’re easier for our sausage fingers to click!

Here is link number 1 – Previous text "SSD"


^Please ^PM ^\/u\/eganwall ^with ^issues ^or ^feedback! ^| ^Code ^| ^Delete

1 point

·

20th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s…$119.98$119.984.8/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

20th Oct 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

19th Oct 2021

Deal link: Amazon

1 point

·

6th Sep 2021

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_RV1Q2S5P04VJX50NT155

1 point

·

29th Aug 2021

The T5 at 1TB is 540 MB/s for $129.

Assuming you have USB 3.2; something with a better price to speed ratio is the Sandisk Extreme Pro SSD at 1,050 MB/s for $149, for 1TB. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/

Another similar option is the Samsung T7 at 1,050 MB/s for $152. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0874XN4D8/

But OP if you want to spend less, just for games, a Samsung T7 at 1,050 MB/s costs $76, if you’re ok with the 500 GB storage size. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0874YS2N7/

Keep in mind external SSD enclosures can’t match the internal speed of m.2 SSDs, which is what Apple uses. You can buy them on Amazon but using an external enclosure just constrains the speed to USB 3.2 or 10 Gbps.

1 point

·

1st Aug 2021

I’d look into getting any of these:
SanDisk – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_5GRR8ES9TA99D1Y4RT6D
WD (Western Digital) external SSD (but I do own their HDD: WDBYFT0020BBK-WESN https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01LQQHF2W/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apip_4EpqeDHrcIRc6 and it’s run for years)
Samsung T5: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_5FFFWJPRYRJ4HF5RRZEX
These are some examples of stuff to search for which one fits you. I’d get one that has room for at least double your drive storage (ex: mine is 512gb so I’d get at least 1TB or 2TB so you have room for more than 1 backup). Also, searching about “external hard drive” or “external SSD” and check the compatibility with Mac (even though the majority will work fine with Mac) and check the reviews but don’t rely too heavily on reviews because they tend to be 1s or 5s. These things seem to have a wide variety of working to failing but the people that post reviews will most likely be the ones of those that failed.
It is kinda tough to pick one but don’t worry too much about it

1 point

·

27th Jul 2021

I have one of these that I use with my work laptop. It’s very lightweight and small. It’s pretty much just an SSD enclosure.

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2021

I’m pretty certain it’s valid. Got it from amazon.com and it’s not the first one either. Especifically this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08GTYFC37/ref=ppx\_yo\_dt\_b\_search\_asin\_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2021

I have something similar in the Post for my Mm M1. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2021

I had a 2017 iMac with fusion HDD/SSD storage. The HDD bit crapped out after two years of use. After that happened, I ran the computer from this external SSD for a few weeks: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B08GTYFC37.

I did not do any benchmarks, but subjectively, this is what I remember. Using the external SSD “felt” about as fast as using the iMac’s fusion drive, mostly. The exception: when doing two I/O-intensive tasks at the same time, I felt like the machine was slower while the external SSD was in use.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2021

There are two types of hard drives: SSD and HDD. SSD’s are much faster and have no moving parts, therefore more reliable. HDD’s are a spinning disk with an arm so they are slower and more prone to breaking. Typically, you use SSD’s to edit off of because they are faster and then HDD’s to backup onto because they are cheaper. A good rule of thumb is to always have at least two copies of your data on separate drives. To do this, you can use Carbon Copy Cloner (Mac) or GoodySync (Windows, Linux, Mac). This way, if a drive fails you still have a backup.

SSDs I use: https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Portable-External-SDSSDE60-2T00-G25/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=extreme%2Bssd&qid=1609808774&sr=8-3&th=1

HDDs I use: https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Desktop-External-Hard-Drive/dp/B07CQJBSQL/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?dchild=1&keywords=8tb+hard+drive&qid=1609808827&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUFQWEszNElYSlpZSFMmZW5jcnlwdGVkSWQ9QTA1MDQ4MjIxRlZIMjY5MElLSE5DJmVuY3J5cHRlZEFkSWQ9QTA2MDEwODkxQk1JUjdHNU5DV0VBJndpZGdldE5hbWU9c3BfYXRmJmFjdGlvbj1jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

(Break open the case and you have a normal internal hard drive)

Portable drives:

https://www.amazon.com/Seagate-Portable-External-Hard-Drive/dp/B07CRGSR16/ref=sr_1_3?crid=14JWK1Q7B7BYT&dchild=1&keywords=4tb+external+hard+drive&qid=1609808875&sprefix=4tb+ext%2Caps%2C164&sr=8-3

1 point

·

29th Dec 2020

This would do the job nicely

https://smile.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08GTYFC37

1 point

·

26th Nov 2020

SanDisk 1TB Extreme Portable SSD – Up to 1050MB/s – USB-C, USB 3.2 Gen 2 – External Solid State Drive – SDSSDE61-1T00-G25 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08GTYFC37/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fabt1_yO.VFbEXNFP6P?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1