What is the opinion of Reddit about the
SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 2TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA2T0B/AM)?

A total of 22 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

26th Jul 2021

Yes, PS5 does take advantage of the speed of external SSD drives.

The Samsung T5 has worked very well for me. Super fast drive.

SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 2TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA2T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H4GPLQ/

1 point

·

26th Jan 2022

Windows and Mac work essentially the same way for external hard drives.

When you fill up the internal, you move what you don’t need to an external.

Get a USBC external drive (something like this and when you’re done working on your 4K video you offload it to the drive.

Don’t just hoard whatever data and leave it in your computer forever, offload it when you don’t need it.

You can also use a cloud provider but that’ll be much more expensive with the size of files you’re using.

I also recommend looking into putting together something like a Synology NAS with a RAID setup that allows you to have a lot of network storage that automatically replicates to save your data in case a drive fails. A small portable external like I linked is a great start but if that (or your computer) fails you’re out of all the data saved there.

Also if you haven’t yet, set up time machine once you get the external drive.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021
1 point

·

5th Dec 2020

I bought a 256 GB Samsung Thumb drive that looks exactly like the one that Tesla now provides. It became “too slow” in less than six months. I replaced it with this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H4GPLQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 It has been working for more than a year now.

1 point

·

4th Jul 2019

So hard drive technology hasn’t really changed all that much over the past few years. Things of note right, HDD is slower than an SSD and that’s slower than an M.2

1 minute that fills up 250 gigs makes no sense to me, what camera are you using, I can shoot in DNG RAW on a 500gb ssd and still have like an hour of footage? I don’t even think REDs RAW is that heavy?

I’m kinda confused on the whole post. I’m from an IT background. everything depends on what you want to do with each hard drive. If you want to edit straight from the external drives SSDs are the way to go, if you’re looking for storage, HDD is way cheaper and you can get like 8TB drives nowadays.

B&H isn’t as fast as Amazon, you can just wait till you get to the states and get a hard drive like same day if your in a big city or get it in like 48 hours if you pay for expedited shipping.

So, to finish, it sounds like you need a good SSD so check out the Samsung T5 Portable SSD – 2TB I can’t recommend them enough to me they are really reliable during my travels and stuff. And I record to them directly from my BMPCC4k.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2020

Well I would definitely recommend the Samsung T5 2TB. I’ve bought it from Amazon for as low as $275, and it’s my favorite external drive I’ve ever used. I will say that I don’t notice a huge difference in load times between this and a LaCie Rugged I’d been using previously with my PS4, but it’s like 5x times faster when transferring data between internal and external than the LaCie.

2 points

·

30th Apr 2021

>I read on another thread that an external drive can slow down photoshop because of the data transfer rate or something but luckily this one come with USB-C, and all my ports are USB-C so it shouldn’t be an issue right?

Most USB-C are usb 3.1. First gen USB 3.1 and USB 3.0 top out at 5Gbps, while current gen 3.1 top out at 10. But some USB-C could also be USB 2, which tops out at 480 megabits. So youll have to figure out what USB-C ports you have.

ALSO, looking at the specs for that external you linked, the write speed for the drive itself tops out at 120mb. Compare that to something like this, which is 4 times faster, but obviously costs a lot more https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H4GPLQ/ref=sr_1_3?crid=39DUZJLSZOHYH&dchild=1&keywords=samsung%2Bexternal%2Bssd&qid=1619806614&s=electronics&sprefix=samsung%2Bexternal%2Celectronics%2C157&sr=1-3&th=1

With the one you linked, you get twice the space but a way slower speed for a bit of a cheaper price point. IMO would be a better investment to spend a bit more upfront and future proof your storage.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2022

do you think this samsung t5 portable SSD will also need external power? https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H4GPLQ

1 point

·

9th Nov 2021

What would you recommend? I see ones that look like thisthis and then others that look like this this are they both SSDs and what one would boot ganes faster

1 point

·

7th Aug 2021

It’s this one: SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 2TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA2T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H4GPLQ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_9DS23M35AYTTA3ZSA5H0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2021

I got this one and it’s really fast and works great. It’s just not cheap but SSD is definitely the way to go.

SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 2TB.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H4GPLQ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

7th Jul 2021

Thank you for the thorough reply!

>The client box you say has nefarious things happening on it should be VLAN’d off into its own network at a minimum and not permitted to access anything on the LAN. If you own it, can you simply remove the disk drive provided by the client and install it on a lesser laptop ?

I don’t own it. IT specifically told me not to open it up, and it has an anti tamper stick on it. That’s why I was thinking of running an OS over external SSD. With regard to the LAN, I only connect it to the internet over a 3g hotspot, and only use it for when I want to access my customer’s VPN.

>I wouldn’t sweat proxmox versus any other solution until you decide if you want VMs or containers or apps installed on some segregated host (or some combination of the above).

I’ve used VMs through HyperV and VirtualBox. I don’t have experience with containers. Do you think I have anything to gain from using containers?

>Do you need standalone VMs/containers for each client ?

I would like to have separate VMs for each client and project.

>Do you need to isolate things regarding client-A from client-B ?

That is my goal

>Do your Linux needs require a full desktop or just a runlevel-3 cli setup?

I’m used to using VS Code in Ubuntu

>Where’s your data ? Where/how are you backing things up ?

For code everything is on azure and github. For everything else I have a bunch of these : https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H4GPLQ/ and I just manually copy data when I need to.

>Can you go to containers ?

What is the advantage of this? Most of my development is on desktop applications that run on medical devices, but I also do some web and some smart contract coding.

>For Linux, I’d go full DevOps and automate the heck out of building each VM (or container) so you can destroy/recreate client-XYZ’s setup quickly. Personally I use Vagrant over VirtualBox. You can provision the VM with a shell script or ansible very easily. If you want to freeze a configuration, shoot a Vagrant box image. Many ways to do it.

I’ll look into Vagrant. I do my own devops for builds in Azure but I haven’t set up anything like what you’re describing. Would this not work for Windows VMs as well?

Thanks again!

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021

That’s helpful Bob, thanks for the thorough run down. I think mixing and matching SMB and NFS is indeed the problem.

To be clear, my issue is that I haven’t been able to reliably copy (whether by finder or hedge) from the QNAP to any of my external hard drives whether it’s one of our samsung t5’s (via usb-c) or our seagate drives (via usb 3) or our Pegasus3 R4s (TB3).

Ever since we purchased the QNAP a couple years ago, we’ve mounted it as NFS and accessed using TB3 up till I started trying out SMB when we started having issues which you helped solve in this thread. Ever since, your help there, we’ve been using SMB for the QNAP.

In my ignorance didn’t realize there were issues with mixing and matching mounting the drive as SMB and NFS. I’ll use your solution mentioned above, continuing using NFS as we backup the QNAP and then remount as SMB and copy it all back in.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2019

Price History


These savings aren’t just Black and White.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^|

1 point

·

15th Jul 2020

I’ve been looking at a high-end laptop for 3d model and rendering with similar specs, and basically narrowed it down to one of the boutique custom pc companies using the Sager/Clevo chassis, specifically Origin and Falcon NW. I have been leaning toward Falcon NW, they’re a little most expensive but from my research, their build quality and support are second to none. I’ve read mixed things about Origin, but your experience might sway me. I’ve been waiting for Falcon to finish testing their 32GB ram modules for their smaller laptop so I can configure it with 64 GB…

If you need the 4k display, you’ll need to stick with Origin or another customizer (XoticPC, Sager, HIDevolution, Eluktronics) as others have suggested, as Falcon NW doesn’t offer a 4k laptop. I think your storage needs are at odds with your portability and size requirements. Most of the 15.6″ models I’ve seen top out at 4 TB. But you could supplement that with a really fast external hard drive (or two) like the Samsung T5 or T7. That second one is a little spendy.

Good luck! I’d be interested to hear about what you ultimately decide to choose. On the bottom here I’m linking you to an excel file I put together comparing a bunch of mobile GPUs and CPUs. It also lists a bunch of laptops with said components. It’s a WIP, so not the prettiest.

Mobile CPU/GPU Research

1 point

·

16th Jun 2020

It sounds like the 16 inch macbook pro is a good fit. Powerful and portable with Mac OS. It can be configured with alot of memory and storage. I will start building from the base spec . You pointed out that ram and storage look to be priority so at a minimum I would choose a configuration with 32gb ($400 upgrade) and at least 1tb storage ($200 upgrade). You cannot add more memory or storage after you buy it, those are soldered on.

If speed is also a big factor, you can bump up the base i7 2.6Ghz to the base i9 2.3Ghz. Here is a good performance review that compares the i7 vs i9 cpu advantages in certain application such as photo rendering and code compiling. the i9 performs faster for photo rendering and loading large files, and computation. This is a $300 dollar upgrade from the base spec.

For the graphics option, I would start at the AMD 5500M with 8GB ($200 upgrade). You didn’t mention video rendering but if down the line that is something your wife sees doing, then this will be a good spec for her current needs and if she will do video editing down the line.

So based on these suggestions, the specs will total to 3,499.00. If you need more storage it will be an addition $400 for another 1tb if you want to spend that.

For removable hard drive, I personally have used a Samsung T5 portable and its been fast and reliable. Amazon link here: Store link. 2TB is $299 and 1TB is $169. Hope this helps.

1 point

·

9th Jan 2020

For in-progress projects, I use an external Samsung T5 USB-C SSD drive (2 TB) — I create a single FCP library for the project and actually work from it / store in on that external drive. I find that the drive is very fast, and it’s nice having to worry about a project growing too big, and actually crowding out my laptop’s main drive.

Once the project is finished, I copy the FCP Library to a Synology Network-Attached Storage (2 bays, each bay containing an 8 TB, RAID-mirrored drive), along with any exported videos. I generally keep the project’s full FCP library here for 6-12 months, until I know I really am not going to go back and edit it. A few times a year, I go back and review what’s there, and delete projects as needed to free up space.

Backups (for those who are curious)

  • My MacBook Pro is backed up hourly using TimeMachine, using the NAS as a backup target. The external SSD drive is also backed up along with this.
    • These backups help out if I made a big mistake in the project, and need to revert to a good state from a day or two ago
    • If my computer crashed, I could borrow a friend’s computer, pull down the FCP library from the NAS, and continue work without much interruption
  • The NAS is backed up daily to Amazon Glacier service
    • This would covers the bad cases – a flood/fire, major theft, etc. If my laptop and NAS were unavailable, I would be able to remotely access the project from Amazon, and resume with only SOME interruption (assuming 500+ GB FCP project library would take a long time to download, even over a decent connection)
1 point

·

20th Sep 2019

Unless your time is worthless, get an external SSD instead. They’re not that expensive and read/write speeds will be much, much better.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA2T0B/dp/B073H4GPLQ

https://www.amazon.com/2TB-Passport-Portable-Storage-WDBKVX0020PSL-WESN/dp/B07CFY9SHX