What is the opinion of Reddit about the
SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM)?

A total of 100 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

29th Jan 2021

You should be running your sessions off an external hard drive anyway. Nobody uses the internal. It literally says in the Pro Tools manual that you should never run sessions off the system drive. It’s just common sense cpu optimization. Just get a T5 & run sessions off that, plug into any rig you want. You can even velcro it to the back of your laptop and you’ll never notice it’s there.

3 points

·

14th Jun 2021

So, if you want sheer storage you’ll be fine getting any hard drive. Keep in mind hard drives are kinda fragile, I’d suggest not to take them on the road. Also, hard drives are pretty slow, like 20-30 (not 2-3) times slower than your mac’s internal storage.

I would suggest you pick a external SSD instead. Storage will be a bit less for the same price, but they are waaay faster, smaller and less fragile.

For example you can get a Samsung T5 (or to newer R6 or T7 models): https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

However, if speed, size and fragility is of no concern, you can’t really go wrong with the one that you suggested

I have one as well, and use it to backup my Mac.

Edi: for photo-editing I suggest you get an external SSD over an external hard drive

2 points

·

16th Jun 2021

Shoot the footage, make three copies on three different hard drives, ship one to the editor for each day of filming. Old school but, it works.

If you get an SSD drive you can transfer things quite quickly but, I always keep one back up on a HDD for reliability.

Other option is get a DropBox or Google Cloud storage service but, you will be throttled there unless you have good internet speeds, and 1G ethernet cables and cards. Big upfront cost to get setup but, will be nice to have down the road as you build out your production pipeline.

2 points

·

26th Feb 2021

Get an SSD external drive. I’ve been using the Samsung T5 but they now have a T7 out which is faster on read/writes. Because of the greater speed on the SSD, I use it as my bootup drive instead of the one in the iMac and it’s much faster starting up, launching applications, etc. The T5 I got is a 1TB drive and currently sells for around $129.
https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=samsung+external+ssd&qid=1614367135&sr=8-3

2 points

·

23rd Feb 2021

I dunno… looks like a lot of eggs in one basket. One failure point and the whole thing might be worthless.

I prefer my choice of hubs and an external SSD.

1 point

·

15th Feb 2022

I was able to run my entire home lab using this a few years ago: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ. Thing though is that it was connected to a desktop with core i7 and 32GB if memory so probably a bit more powerful than your laptop but you can give that a try.

1 point

·

7th Feb 2022

Samsung makes the best memories you always invest in memory cards. Thsi is one I use for my series s SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_BYAS81F7S7E65ABCDA6Q

1 point

·

1st Apr 2021

Heyo, i highly recommend external ssd. Depending on internet speed go bigger the slower your speed. I have very slow internet sp downloading games and uninstalling if i ever want to play again is out of the question so i just hoard. Plus i can bring it to friends and grab their ps4 downloads an transfer to my ssd.

1 tb $120

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=1tb+ssd+usb&qid=1617259935&sr=8-3

Yes the ssd is waaay faster then hard drice. You csn find benchmarks via google/youtube that show loading time diffetences.

You are able to download ps4 games from disc or ps store directly to your external. There is an option too that you can select that forces all ps4 games to go dirextly to your external otherwise they will go to your internal and you have to manually move them.

Transfer is extremely fast. 30 gb game for example takes just a few minutes! And with ps4 games seem to range 20-50 a 1 tb would last you a solid 50 some games! (Gotta include space for saved games an if you do screenshots etc).

So yes i highly reccomend an ssd. Its blazing fast an per benchmarks at least with ps4 games they are just as fast on external ssf as internal. Its really only ps5 games that have amazing optmizations and programmers who will take advantage of the internal ssd speeds on the ps5.

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2021

any third party repair shop can switch out or you could use an external hardware which $100 on amazon. Amazon.com: SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM): Computers & Accessories.

1 point

·

30th Jan 2021

Depends if you want to play games off the exterior drive or just use it for storage. It is relatively cheap to find a TB or two for an HDD, but an exterior SSD will cost ya.

For about $130-40 you can get a 1TB SSD that you can play ps4 games off of with fast loading. Here is the one I use:

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=SAMSUNG%2BT5%2BPortable%2BSSD%2B1TB&qid=1611992045&sr=8-1&th=1&psc=1

As for an HDD you can find many options for a 2TB drive for like $60. Just keep in mind that you will have to move the ps4 game to your main drive if you want ps4 games to load fast.

1 point

·

8th Jan 2021

Solid state storage can be a bit of a problem sometimes. If you’d like a recommendation, consider looking into getting a small portable SSD. You can get a decent sized one for $100-$150 or so. It’s something you have to have plugged in when you play games, but you can always just rotate stuff on and off your internal storage when it strikes your fancy.

(Example: Amazon has a 1TB Samsung USB SSD for $140)

1 point

·

11th Dec 2020

I’d just grab a 1 or 2TB Samsung T5 SSD for storage. Fast and reliable. You should probably make a second backup as well somewhere else (another of the same maybe).

FLAC is the file format you want. If your friend’s library is in iTunes, it’s probably in ALAC which is Apple’s proprietary lossless format. It’s the same, but you’ll limit where you can play them. You can convert from ALAC to FLAC though with no loss in quality though.

Ripping from CD does take longer than MP3, but it’s not agonizing. How many CDs do you have? Just do it while you’re doing other things around the house. Watching TV, cooking dinner. You don’t have to stare at the drive while it’s happening. I use XLD on my MacBook Pro personally. There are very few disks that you won’t find metadata for using any of the popular programs. It’d have to be some VERY esoteric/small label pressings for that to be an issue.

You can downsample FLAC to MP3 if you want. That’s pretty simple. FLAC albums are usually around 300mb each.

Sending them off is a huge, huge waste of money. Digital conversion, even for something as simple as this is expensive and absolutely not worth it.

1 point

·

7th Dec 2020

I use an external SSD (USB) as my boot drive. I just ran First Aid on it, it says the drive appears to be OK.

Interestingly though, I clicked on the “Info” button for the drive and next to Solid State it says “No”. But, it definitely is not a spinning drive and Samsung sells it as an SSD.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2020

Ooo interesting, I didn’t know that powerline was an option! My room is too far away from the router so I assumed I would be stuck on wifi (even with fiber internet which hurts my soul I don’t get the most out of it), but I will look in to that. Also ONE more question for you, since it seems that this case I picked doesn’t have USB-C, more specifically, my T5, which to get proper speeds, needs that connection. If I get any case with a USB-C port, should it work? Or do I need to ensure some motherboard compatability as well?

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2020

This seems like an overcomplicated solution to an easy problem. I bought this external ssd that’s 1tb that comes with a USB A -> C connector and fill it with stuff from my server before I head out. 1tb is a ton of 1080p content

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_Z6TUFb0VYW0W8.

1 point

·

14th Nov 2020

Well the Seagate 1TB Expansion is 3.5GB/S where the USB SDD will max out at 1.0GB/s. I have both the game card but also use the following which is still fast just not as fast as internal.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ?ref_=d6k_applink_bb_marketplace

1 point

·

9th Nov 2020

Just about anything made by a reputable manufacturer (WD, Samsung, Seagate, etc.) will be more than adequate. This Samsung 1TB SSD looks good.

I do recommend though that you look into getting a NAS to store your data as a backup. Even just an old desktop where you throw a few HDDs into and run TrueNAS would be good to keep your data backed up.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

The Samsung T5 is a portable drive, so it just comes with a USB cable. I wasn’t sure about connectors/adapters which is why I opted to spend a little more to get something I knew would work.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H552FJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00

1 point

·

11th Aug 2020

You’re in luck. Here’s a Samsung T5 that’s a great option and on a killer deal. Definitely stick with brand name

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

Samsung T5. As my car was built in June, I have the Tesla-supplied Qi charger in the USB-C port and the SSD in the USB-A port. As others have mentioned, let the car format it.

Had no issues in over a month.

I’m a pure PC gamer (with a Switch on the side), so I have no horse in this race, but…..On sale for $139.99 literally right this moment, but according to other listings, usually $200 – 229 for Samsung models.

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

You may have to go external ssd which would be faster than a hhd. Make sure you plug it into the highest usb type available on the board so usb 2.1 or 3.0+. I have this one: SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_JhEsFbEJTWMV8

1 point

·

7th Feb 2020

If you want speed Amazon has the 1 TB Samsung T5 SSD on sale for $158 right now. Usually it’s $180.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

So go with the WD if you just want more space or go with the Samsung if you want games to load super fast. You can also use this drive if you buy the Series X or PS5.

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2019

I believe Apple doesn’t offer upgrades to different sizes only replacement of the exact size that came with your laptop. Also that SSD May be attached to the logic board meaning it would be an entire logo board replacement to upgrade it. You can get usb-c SSD for a good price on amazon. I recommend the Samsung t5 $180 for 1tb and it’s small and requires only 1 cable.

Samsung T5 Portable SSD – 1TB – USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM), Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_zqOVDbHM15NK3

1 point

·

1st Oct 2019

This drive is currently working for me, but it does require the dongle with power.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

I have a 1TB WD my passport (spinning disk not ssd), and that one does not work for me, even with power.

1 point

·

27th Aug 2019

This one?

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/

When it says price there…

>List Price: $249.99

>Price: $164.95

Is that an actual sale or is it always that price and they’re just saying it’s on sale? I’m getting pretty frickin’ sick of loading times in Destiny 2 and if that’s actually a “deal” I’d probably get one right now (if it’s not an actual deal though I can wait longer for one).

1 point

·

4th Nov 2018

CFast cards are basically small SSDs. That’s why it’s faster than your HDD. Mobile 2.5″ HDDs are particularly low performing too.

I would recommend coloring off an HDD RAID or an SSD. This would easily cover you.

What frame size are you working with?

1 point

·

12th Nov 2018

Easily over 1.5TB, since I also do video.

If you’re saying that Seagate external HDD is several years old I’m assuming it requires a power supply? Is that why you’re not able to take it anywhere?

External SSDs are much more portable these days and can be used anywhere. I use a 1TB Samsung T5 which is a popular choice. No power supply required and they’re easy to toss in a bag. I’ve encountered no issues. You’ll be spending just shy of $200 but it’s well worth it (most portable SSDs at that storage capacity are similarly priced, anyway).

1 point

·

24th Oct 2018

The best for portability and size is the Samsung T5 Portable SSD.
Small, fast, real SSD, USB C. Comes in 250GB-2TB sizes.
Down side? Expensive for 1TB+
But you won’t have to worry about banging it around, extra power or size.

Samsung T5 Portable SSD – 1TB – USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/

Samsung also has an Extreme version, it’s rugged, water and dust and shock resistant

1 point

·

5th Oct 2018

USB C external hard drives are lightning quick. You find some really small ones.. Samsung has great drives.

1 TB Portable SSD in a compact size

I would’ve honestly hiked up the price if it was 512 GB.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2017

100% — SSD’s will do more for your computer than upgrading Ram or CPU (to an extent).

Here’s one I recommend.

1 point

·

8th Oct 2017

Yep a SSD can handle serious heat at reduced speeds. If you get a metal one it will dissipate the heat better. Something like this. https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

Of course the ssd will resist extreme shock where the hdd would break.

4 points

·

31st Mar 2019

You can’t upgrade a 2015 Macbook Pro I’m afraid – all of the RAM, SSD and GPU elements are directly soldered to the motherboard. I would suggest looking into a proxy editing workflow, where you transcode your footage from its original format to an editing friendly codec such as ProRes or DnXHD. The best upgrade you can buy is to get an external SSD to fit all of your footage on, then you can edit directly from this drive. https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=t5+ssd&qid=1554068948&s=gateway&sr=8-1

3 points

·

20th Sep 2020

SSDs and M.2 SSDs are different things.

  1. External USB drives will not be able to play games and will strictly store data. Those are items like this: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/

  2. Sony has a requirements that SSD expansions (internal) meet its expected performance levels to be considered compatible. The current internal SSD operates at around 5.5 Gb/s which is faster than pretty much everything on the market atm. It’s insanely fast, and I think Sony will require SSDs to meet that speed to be used as an expansion.

2 points

·

2nd Jul 2021

Get this

2 points

·

8th May 2021

Can’t speak to functionality with iOS Photos, but I’ve had this guy on my iMac Backpack for a couple of years now for my Lightroom library. No issues. I haven’t done any formal transfer speed tests, but definitely speedy enough for moving around multiple GBs of RAW photos.

2 points

·

17th Feb 2021

I have a Samsung 1TB external SSD (Amazon) that has served me well. I also have a couple of WD 4TB drives (Amazon) but they’re mechanical. They *will* get dropped. I use them more as an archive and swap the stuff I want onto the SSD. I also use a small surge protector (Amazon) because ship’s power is *incredibly* “dirty” (prone to under/overvoltage, frequency shifts, etc) and can/has destroyed personal electronics.

For other creature comforts, may I suggest a good sleeping bag (look at REI) and a gel memory pillow? Pictures of friends and family are also great, especially with some removable adhesive (Amazon). She may also appreciate a warm-colored nightlight for her rack. The installed fluorescents are very bright and harsh and the dim/warm light is easier on the eyes (and her sleeping shipmates).

I’m on my 10th deployment right now, so feel free to pm with any questions!

2 points

·

15th Feb 2021

EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE

  • Samsung T5 or Samsung T7
    • Extremely portable (TINY, lightweight) yet blazing fast transfer speeds. I carry 2-3 when I travel, they take no space and weight nothing!

TRAVEL ADAPTER

  • Zendure Passport II Pro
    • 61W USB-C Power delivery – can power and charge laptops
    • 5 USB ports
    • 1 AC port
    • Works in over 200 countries
    • Auto-resetting fuse
    • Compact, portable
    • I don’t only use it in my travels, I also use it at home as a USB charging hub

PHONE GIMBAL STABILIZER

  • Zhiyun Smooth 4
    • 3 Axis
    • Object tracking
    • Timelapse settings
    • 12hr runtime on a charge
    • Can also charge your phone while in use
2 points

·

16th Jul 2019

With Prime Day, Amazon is selling a 1TB Samsung T5 SSD for $149. Pretty good deal.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_P2xlDb8VJ5HG2

2 points

·

23rd Jul 2020

u/mightymikeshow – for your use case, I recommend a camera than can record a 3 hour show continuously that also has a built-in Ethernet port for streaming and 4K/160p slow motion for your workouts, the $1,499 Z CAM E2 M4.

Still cameras such as the EOS 90D can only record for 30 minutes continuously, have no 4K slow motion frame rates and need an external HDMI to IP converter for streaming. The a6600 doesn’t have the 30 minute recording time limit – but it also has no 4K frame rates beyond 30 fps and needs an external device for streaming.

These cameras also record to 8-bit codecs.

8-bit footage has a limited color palette and is susceptible to banding and macroblocking when you try to grade it.

Videomaker did a great article on this a couple of years ago called “Understanding Bit-depth and Color Rendition for Video“.

With the Z CAM E2 series cameras, you can produce 10-bit (or 12-bit RAW) workout/fitness content that looks like this:

You’ll also need a few accessories to make this camera work – a $169.99 1TB SSD for storage, a $63.99 dual XLR input so you can plug in pro mics, a $99 interchangeable Canon mount if you want to use Canon glass and a $399 electronic ND (only works if you buy the Canon mount).

You can use your iPhone as a low latency monitor and camera control with the free Z Cam app. Here is how to connect your iPhone to the camera. Make sure to set your cellular to 100% off.

And you can edit and grade the camera’s 12-bit Z RAW codec easily with a free plugin for Adobe Premiere.

A SmallRig cage will cost you $99, a shoe mount adapter will cost you $3.59, an SSD mount will cost you $26.99 and a mount for your phone will cost you $13.95. [Referrals]

With this setup, you’ll have a built-in electronic ND filter, XLR mic inputs, 4K/160p slow motion, 10-bit h.265, 12-bit ZRAW, 14 stops of dynamic range, unlimited recording time, touch screen focus, great battery life with NP-Fs, built-in Ethernet for streaming and more.

Great review of the E2 M4 from CVP in the UK here.

The E2 is also a great streaming camera, as seen in this review/BTS video.

Here is the stream they shot with it.

In my view, the M4 is a much more capable tool for creative filmmaking and color grading than any 8-bit still camera.

Hope this is helpful and good luck finding the right camera for your needs!

1 point

·

18th Mar 2022

We’re dumping all photos to this SSD monthly

1 point

·

31st Dec 2021

$45 OFF!

NOW: $129.99

Amazon’s Choice

[Amazon]

Samsung Portable SSD T5 1TB USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM) [Canada Version]

https://linktr.ee/sweet.deals.ca

https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2021

>Let’s see what the community thinks

My concern is that I have <4 gb of storage left on my computer. I’m both a programmer/data scientist and a musician so my hard drive & RAM take quite the beating

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

Choose your capacity. You can also buy 2. One for Development Stuff and one for Music Production. That way, you aren’t clogging up your internal storage with bulk data that can be easily offloaded to an external drive.

If this is a desktop, then the obvious issue is to add more internal storage. You an also just… upgrade the SSD your system is running off of, if possible.

If you’re a developer and Data Scientist, then your CPU and RAM should be fine, otherwise.

>

I keep moving old files to the cloud, but somehow I keep noting new music ideas & have new data work and my hard drive gets right back to the brim.

Honestly, I don’t see what your problem is. Drive space is literally the easiest problem to fix, given how cheap high capacity SSDs have gotten over the years.

>I’m afraid with every freeze, every sample, every plug-in that I’m going to run out of space. So I’ll make like a 15 layer idea and leave it

>
>
>This is so stupid lmao,

Yes, it is.

>does anyone have a good workaround? I have a new laptop (that’s better suited for arts) — but Idk if I can transfer all my plug-in licenses and samples and stuff). I don’t want to corrupt half my good-sounding projects. Or pay again for my DAW and tools

What do you guys suggest?

Get an external SSD, and put bulk data on that. Sample Libraries, etc.

I’d reconsider how I store bulk data for science and development, as well. Not sure why anyone would put all of that on the internal drive, unless it was high sensitivity and the device was Bitlockered.

But no one would be using such a device for music production, anyways.

Plug-ins are not your issue. It’s the other bulk data that you’re keeping on your system drive. You need a better plan for how you store and manage your data. This “problem” you have is completely unrelated to music production.

1 point

·

11th Dec 2021

I’ve just been using Mirco SDXC.

And yes, I do worry about corruption but it’s never happened. I actually have this that backs up the Micro SD card. It too runs 24/7 and this app keeps the two in synch.

If you decide an external drive to be best for your needs it really should be a SSD. Even at USB2 speeds you’ll be just fine.

1 point

·

16th Nov 2021

https://twitter.com/SweetDealsCA/status/1460694582749011974

EARLY BLACK FRIDAY!

$45 OFF!

NOW: $129.99!

Amazon’s Choice

[Amazon]

Samsung Portable SSD T5 1TB USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM) [Canada Version]

https://www.facebook.com/sweetdealscad/posts/143251424710280

https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

1 point

·

26th Oct 2021

This is what I used with an external 1tb ssd.

https://order.ebay.com/ord/show?itemId=183923339921&amp;transactionId=2301307304008#/

I used the pi for a long time and finally moved over to pc about two weeks ago. There is a learning curve but I wish I would have done a pc a long time ago.

This is the ssd I used.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=mp_s_a_1_1_sspa?adgrpid=104688310457&amp;dchild=1&amp;gclid=EAIaIQobChMIzpT564no8wIVCsiGCh3Wfg91EAAYAiAAEgKU_fD_BwE&amp;hvadid=456401989656&amp;hvdev=m&amp;hvlocphy=9004502…

I also bought lifetime big box $75 and lifetime emu movies $45

1 point

·

28th Sep 2021

Then an SSD based solution would work great. I just use an 1TB SSD in a USB 3.0 case. But the Samsung T5 external SSD drives are also really popular and small.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

1 point

·

16th Sep 2021

You have two options for expanded storage: an external USB drive, or an internal NVME drive.

An external USB drive you can just plug in to a USB port without the need to open up the console, with the restriction that you can only use it for PS4 games.

An internal NVME drive requires you to open up the bottom of the console and screw in the expansion drive, but you get the benefit of being able to install PS5 games on it.

The WD SN850 is an NVME drive, so it’s an example of the latter — make sure you get the version with a heatsink — where you’ll need to “unscrew some shit” to install it.

If you want a USB drive just for your PS4 games with no screwdriver required, look at an external SSD like a Samsung T5.

1 point

·

10th Sep 2021

This is the one I bought.

SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_2K89PW9KGTAJCHZKFECN?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2021

I used a 1TB drive.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ?psc=1&amp;ref=ppx_yo2_dt_b_product_details

It’s been pretty awesome so far.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2021

I probably would not advice that one if you can avoid it.

That’s an SSD thumb drive. Those are made differently than ‘regular’ external ssds. Thumb drives are not made for continual, frequent use. I mean, it might be fine and would work for a while, but if you game frequently I would expect a thumb drive (any thumb drive, not just this one) to fail pretty quickly. Can say how quickly, in a year or so? Depending on how much you game on it. I don’t think those are actually as fast as real external ssds, either… Not sure.

On the plus side you don’t really lose anything if the drive fails. You’d just have to reinstall all your games. But you wouldn’t lose the games permanently and you wouldn’t lose your saved games either.

If you can, spring for a real external ssd. Like this one:

https://smile.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=samsung+external+ssd&amp;qid=1626023518&amp;sr=8-3

I have a 500g one like this and I just move the games I’m playing currently onto that drive.

Or something like this: https://smile.amazon.com/Seagate-Portable-External-Hard-Drive/dp/B07CRG94G3/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=hdd+external&amp;qid=1626023600&amp;sr=8-3

Whatever size you need/can afford.

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2021

No you didn’t

1 point

·

6th May 2021

A few things you’ll need to know right off the bat – no drives on the market are currently supported to expand PS5 installed and playable game storage. You’re limited to the internal drive only for that and no expanded storage will help you increase the size of installed and playable PS5 storage.

PS4 games can play from an external SSD, so most people who do expand their storage manage the installs by putting only PS5 games on the internal while everything else goes to the external.

You can store game data for PS5 games on an external, but it can’t be played from there – it will need to be copied back over. Good way to avoid any internet data caps you might otherwise encounter by downloading a game multiple times.

Otherwise you’ll be faced with deleting a game in order to make space for a few one. Things seem to download very quickly, but that’s a single household sample size so YMMV.

Another trick you might want to look into for dealing with storage issues is the screenshot and video save features. The system can take screenshots or videos when you unlock a trophy, but unless you’re really into sharing those moments, it’s just a drain on available space. Super useful and fun if you are into it, though!

All that being said, I suggest this drive: https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&amp;source=web&amp;rct=j&amp;url=https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ&amp;ved=2ahUKEwjq6JGY-rPwAhXnMVkFHVbuBSsQFjAVegQIVxAC&amp;usg=AOvVaw3dppOYe4xPtEkij_OC4x_n&amp;cshid=1620266279681

It’s very popular for this.

1 point

·

17th Apr 2021

Is it recommended to get an external SSD for PS4? For example, this one. I got my 500GB PS4 in a bundle with Uncharted 4 (I think it’s the slim version actually) and I’m running out of space really quickly… I’ve already had to delete a few games and I only have about 4 or 5 on the PS4.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2021

Oof, no offense intended, that was not a great deal. You can get a Samsung T5 1TB SSD for $119. 4x the space and higher read/write speeds.

1 point

·

16th Apr 2021
1 point

·

8th Apr 2021

Deal link: Amazon


Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

Is your reddit feed getting flooded with deals for products you are not interested in? Below are our category-wise subreddits where I crosspost from the main sub.

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

7th Apr 2021

Deal link: Amazon


Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

Is your reddit feed getting flooded with deals for products you are not interested in? Below are our category-wise subreddits where I crosspost from the main sub.

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2021

You might be better off with an external ssd

1 point

·

12th Jan 2021

Ok I’ll stick with Samsung then.

It has to be a external SSD not internal right? Internal goes into the computer?

I’m looking at this one right now: https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1

Didn’t know they were so small, thought they were bigger, its a good size, about the size of 2 USB sticks.

The option password for the encrypted data is nice too

1 point

·

29th Nov 2020

Hi u/acrossfromli – if you need an ND filter, the best cinema camera below $2,000 is probably the $1,499 Z CAM E2 M4 with a $399 electronic ND.

This is why you want a cinema camera if you want to avoid the non-cinematic “look” you are currently getting from your Canon XA cameras:

The M4 is reviewed here (with sample footage):

Here it is shooting 4K slow motion:

Here it is with a 50mm anamorphic lens:

Here it is with a 35mm anamorphic lens:

Here it is recording 12-bit ZRAW:

ProRes RAW with an anamorphic lens and an external recorder:

Here is the more general image quality this camera can produce at 1 billion color 10-bit:

Narrative

Fashion/Glamour

Outdoors/Nature

Sports

Music Video

To get started with this camera, you will also need:

The M4 needs a monitor, but you can use your iPhone as a low-latency monitor/camera controller with a free app, as seen here (make sure to set your cellular to 100% off).

If you decide to use your iPhone as a monitor, you would also need a $6.25 cold shoe mount adapter and a $13.95 Ulanzi ST-06 to mount your phone on the camera.

If you want an actual monitor and can stretch your budget a little, you can get a $169 PortKeys P6 with waveform plus a $39 PortKeys monitor mount instead of the Ulanzi and the shoe mount.

You will also want the free Adobe Premiere plugin for Z RAW so you can import Z-RAW into Adobe Premiere.

In my view, the M4 is the best value-for-money cinema camera body between $1,500 and $2,000.

Hope this is helpful and good luck finding the right cinema camera for your needs!

1 point

·

7th Nov 2020

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B073H552FJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

&#x200B;

Edit: They do have the newer T7 for $20 more. I had this one already.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2020

Hi u/ LadyEvagore – yes, the $799 E2C is a good 4K/30p entry level cinema camera.

It can produce narrative films like these:

That said, the E2C has limited frame rate options and a problem with rolling shutter.

If budget permits, you might want to consider the $1,499 4k/160p Z CAM E2 M4. Yes, you’ll need batteries, an external SSD, a monitor and lenses – but this camera will give you a 12-bit RAW codec and higher slow motion frame rates than any still camera in this price class (e.g., the X-T3).

The M4 is reviewed here (with sample footage):

Here’s the M4 shooting 50mm anamorphic:

Here it is shooting 35mm anamorphic:

Here it is shooting 4K slow motion:

Here it is recording 68 billion color 12-bit ZRAW:

ProRes RAW with an anamorphic lens and an external recorder:

Here is the more general image quality this camera can produce at 1 billion color 10-bit:

Narrative

Fashion/Glamour

Outdoors/Nature

Sports

Music Video

To get started with this camera, you will also need:

The M4 needs a monitor, but you can use your iPhone as a low-latency monitor/camera controller with a free app, as seen here (make sure to set your cellular to 100% off).

If you decide to use your iPhone as a monitor, you would also need a $6.99 cold shoe mount adapter and a $13.95 Ulanzi ST-06 to mount your phone on the camera.

If you want an actual monitor and can stretch your budget a little, you can get a $169 PortKeys P6 with waveform plus a $39 PortKeys monitor mount instead of the Ulanzi and the shoe mount. [Referrals]

You will also want the free Adobe Premiere plugin for Z RAW so you can import Z-RAW into Adobe Premiere.

In my view, the M4 is the best value-for-money cinema camera between $1,000 and $2,000.

Again, hope this is helpful and good luck with finding the right cinema camera for your needs!

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2020

u/2slowlol – in this price class, I recommend a $1,499 Z CAM M4.

This camera will give you 4K/160p slow motion and 10-bit and 12-bit codecs.

This video explains why you want to record to a 10-bit codec (minimum).

The M4 is reviewed here (with sample footage):

Here’s the M4 shooting 4K slow motion:

Here it is recording 68 billion color 12-bit ZRAW:

ProRes RAW with an anamorphic lens and an external recorder:

Here is the more general image quality this camera can produce at 1 billion color 10-bit:

Narrative

Fashion/Glamour

Outdoors/Nature

Sports

Music Video

To get started with this camera, you will also need:

The M4 needs a monitor, but you can use your iPhone as a low-latency monitor/camera controller with a free app, as seen here (make sure to set your cellular to 100% off).

If you decide to use your iPhone as a monitor, you would also need a $6.99 cold shoe mount adapter and a $13.95 Ulanzi ST-06 to mount your phone on the camera.

That will leave you enough room in the budget for a $179 Venus Laowa 17mm f/1.8 starter lens (seen here on the M4’s little brother, the $799 Z CAM E2C)

If you want an actual monitor and can stretch your budget a little, you can get a $169 PortKeys P6 with waveform plus a $39 PortKeys monitor mount instead of the Ulanzi and the shoe mount.

You will also want the free Adobe Premiere plugin for Z RAW so you can import Z-RAW into Adobe Premiere.

In my view, the M4 is the best value-for-money cinema camera between $1,000 and $2,000.

Hope this is helpful, and good luck with finding the right cinema camera for your needs!

1 point

·

1st Nov 2020

SAMSUNG T5 Portable SSD 1TB – Up to 540MB/s – USB 3.1 External Solid State Drive, Black (MU-PA1T0B/AM)

https://smile.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&amp;keywords=external+ssd&amp;qid=1604245150&amp;sr=8-3

Opening this up on my laptop shows it as not being a random sale per Honey (30d shows a peak of $140), but whatever, still cheap in the grand scheme of things.

There are some reviews mentioning a potential issue with Macbooks, might wanna do a sanity check that there won’t be issues. IIRC it’s because of some fanciness that Samsung did with it, I don’t think it’s a straight SSD. Push come to shove, you can buy a regular 1TB SSD plus enclosure for a similar price (if not lower if you look harder than I did).

1 point

·

31st Oct 2020

This is the Samsung T5 SSD 1TB

It covers shooting at all recording modes with all BMD cameras right now afaik. it is currently being phased out by samsung so they are quickly losing availability and stock right now, however there is a fantastic price on amazon right now. They have historically retailed for around CAD$240

dunno if this deal translates to wherever you are, but I just picked up another one of these bad bois

https://www.amazon.ca/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=sxts_sxwds-bia-wc-p13n1_0?cv_ct_cx=samsung+t5&amp;dchild=1&amp;keywords=samsung+t5&amp;pd_rd_i=B073H552FJ&amp;pd_rd_r=1cceeeea-aea5-4273-abd3-0c9a529a65b1&amp;pd_rd_w=HJDS5&amp;pd_rd_wg=gwLoz&amp;pf_rd_p=521d0b43-7bfa-4824-9b06-f3f7ebc98c16&amp;pf_rd_r=40Y1CZ9V62YG2H1V621S&amp;psc=1&amp;qid=1604119551&amp;sr=1-1-791c2399-d602-4248-afbb-8a79de2d236f

1 point

·

26th Oct 2020

u/bluelinebrotha – if this camera is for video and not photography, I recommend a $1,499 Z CAM E2 M4 cinema camera with a $299 Turbo Mount locking EF to MFT adapter instead of a still camera.

With the Turbo Mount you can continue using your Canon EF glass, as seen [here](Z CAM Turbo Mount | Test & Review](https://youtu.be/-dVDIy3ejAw) and here.

This camera will give you 4K/160p slow motion and 10-bit and 12-bit codecs.

This video explains why you want to record to a 10-bit codec (minimum).

Canon and Sony still/video cameras in this price range are all 8-bit.

Here’s the M4 shooting 4K slow motion:

The M4 is reviewed here (with sample footage):

Here it is recording 68 billion color 12-bit ZRAW:

ProRes RAW with an anamorphic lens and an external recorder:

Here is the more general image quality this camera can produce at 1 billion color 10-bit:

Narrative

Fashion/Glamour

Outdoors/Nature

Sports

Music Video

To get started with this camera, you will also need:

The M4 needs a monitor, but you can use your iPhone as a low-latency monitor/camera controller with a free app, as seen here (make sure to set your cellular to 100% off).

If you decide to use your iPhone as a monitor, you would also need a $6.99 cold shoe mount adapter and a $13.95 Ulanzi ST-06 to mount your phone on the camera.

If you prefer an actual monitor, you can get a $169 PortKeys P6 with waveform plus a $39 PortKeys monitor mount instead of the Ulanzi and the shoe mount. [Referrals]

You will also want the free Adobe Premiere plugin for Z RAW so you can import Z-RAW into Adobe Premiere.

In my view, the M4 is the best value-for-money cinema camera between $1,000 and $2,000.

Hope this is helpful, and good luck with finding the right camera for your needs!

1 point

·

30th Aug 2020

> 1tb SSD drives are extremely affordable as you’ve said,

>I see no reason to cater to

1 point

·

11th Aug 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2019
1 point

·

4th Dec 2019

Samsung T5 Portable SSD – 1TB – USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM), Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_sq.5DbJHBSDKG

It’s a limited time offer so you better hurry and get it

1 point

·

13th Sep 2019

Unanswered question from the previous megathread

Author /u/Interesting_Bedroom – (Permalink)

I am going on a 3 week trip and trying to travel as light as possible and bringing only an iPad Pro (64GB).

Is it possible to facilitate a transfer of photos from my SD to an external drive without directly importing the photos first into the iPad since it won’t have enough space?

I have a 1TB Samsung T5

1 point

·

18th Aug 2019
1 point

·

9th May 2019

u/overallbrian – if you want to shoot video, I recommend a dedicated cinema camera with 10-bit ProRes and 12-bit RAW codecs – not a still camera with an add-on video feature.

The best motion picture camera in your price range is probably the $1295 Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera 4K.

Here are a few examples from this camera:

Music Video

Travel video

Documentary

Real Estate

Product Video

Commercials Promos

Short Films

Wedding Video

For accessories, I recommend:

That should leave you with enough for a gimbal, lenses and a decent mic & recorder.

If you decide to go with the BMPCC 4K, you might want to subscribe over at r/bmpcc and r/blackmagicdesign– lots of knowledgeable folks there who can help you get the most out of your new camera.

You may also want to consider the $1999 Z-Cam E2.

The Z-Cam has better battery life than the BMPCC 4K, higher frame rate options and more connectivity (e.g., wi-fi).

Here are a couple of narratives shot with this camera at 1080p:

Here it is shooting 120p slow motion:

Here is the more general image quality this camera can produce:

Instead of the BMPCC 4K cage & mic cable, you’ll need:

No other camera in this price range can give you 4K/120p slow motion.

Hope this is helpful!

1 point

·

27th May 2019

I don’t know if I’m allowed to post Amazon links but this is the one I have: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_5QF5Cb4KH2YZS

1 point

·

15th Feb 2019

I keep pretty much all of my Ableton files on a Samsung 1TB SSD because I like to be able to move from my home machine to my laptop. This workflow has been pretty solid so far. The only issue, albeit minor, is that a lot of the installers automatically assume you want to put the VSTs on the main HD. So, I end up having to move things to the external after the install completes. Not a deal breaker, just something to be aware of.

Here’s the Amazon link to the drive I have, but I am sure there are deals on other sites.

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ

1 point

·

9th Dec 2018

Samsung T5 is good. But if you need HSBC and portability.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/

1 point

·

24th Nov 2018

I’m looking at the Samsung T5 Portable SSD – 1TB – USB 3.1 External SSD (MU-PA1T0B/AM)

Anyone have this or know more about UASP on PS4 Pro?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B073H552FJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_B7D-BbJSRBPV7

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2018

>BMPCC 4K Recommended Media

Apparently the 1GB T5 is faster and supports it, but the 500GB version can’t.

According to the BMD official list (and Newsshooters article here: https://www.newsshooter.com/2018/10/18/bmpcc-4k-recommended-media/ )

The following USB‑C drives are recommended for 4K DCI Lossless RAW up to 30 fps

Angelbird SSD2GO PKT 512GBAngelbird SSD2GO PKT 2TB
WISE Portable SSD 256GB
WISE Portable SSD 512GB

Samsung Portable SSD T5 1TB

1 point

·

28th Aug 2018

Hi, the RAID idea for external cards is probably not worth it – you would just swap cards as needed.

Another option is an SSD-based USB external hard drive which typically uses less power than a magnetic spinning drive – it just costs twice as much:

0 points

·

8th Jan 2021

I’ve heard the Samsung T5 drive works very well from others:

https://www.amazon.com/Samsung-T5-Portable-SSD-MU-PA1T0B/dp/B073H552FJ