What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Rosewill Mechanical Keyboard Rubber O-Rings, Switch Sound Dampener Compatible w/Cherry MX and Kailh Switches, 120 pcs – RO-100T, O Ring?

A total of 21 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

29th Dec 2020

I’ll be honest when I say that I only used my keyboard for a few minutes before installing O-rings (I already had a set for when I’d get a mechanical Razer keyboard), so I’m not totally sure if I noticed a difference in ping or not. All I know is that it’s way quieter with O-rings than without them (Here’s the ones I got).

Okay, I just removed the dampeners from my most “pingy” keys to see if they ping more without O-rings, and I can’t say I noticed a huge difference. I know that the BlackWidow Elite is constructed differently from my keyboard (yours has a metal top plate that is almost assuredly the culprit for the ping), so what I’m hearing on my board probably isn’t what you’re hearing on yours. I’d still look into getting an extended mouse mat if you haven’t already because that should reduce ping quite possibly more than O-rings could.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2020

A different set of keycaps would probably just make your keyboard noisier. I think your best option would be to buy a set of O-ring switch dampeners. I used them on my BlackWidow TE Chroma V2 and they made it much quieter.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2020

You can also get a noise dampening kit from Amazon. Basically just some small o-ring that go under the keys to stop them from bottoming out.
https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00K73IE1C/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_96EzFbFDMN9J9

Edit: as u/High54every1 pointed put to me, the o ring are not a good solution.

1 point

·

2nd Feb 2018

Just got the o-rings and put them on – they make a huge difference. The travel time is greatly reduced, the keys themselves feel more stable and the sound is much softer as well.

I now love this keyboard wholeheartedly – it looks great and now it feels incredible!!!

These are the rings I got:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00K73IE1C/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It’s amazing to me how configurable these keyboards are. Can’t wait to mess with the keycaps next. Thanks for the feedback on your board. Glad we’re both digging it!!

1 point

·

6th Dec 2017

Hey, just checking in if you’re still interested in me giving you feedback about o-rings on linears. I haven’t ordered them because I didn’t want to pay for shipping on just one item. The ones I’ll be ordering are these 50A durometer clear ones from Rosewill.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

This keyboard used to be $150. $69.99 is a steal. If you want to quiet the keys a bit more, consider the Cherry MX Speed switches and/or buy a set of silicone O-rings which definitely reduce the click noise.

Ninja edit: Never mind; $150 was for the RGB version. Still, ~~$40~~ $30 off is ~~$40~~ $30 off.

Edit 2: Math.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2017

I’ve had good luck using a Corsair K95 with Cherry MX Speed switches. Installing Rosewill silicone O-rings made them even quieter. To give you an idea of how much of a difference they make, listen carefully to a mechanical keyboard when you type a single letter. There are actually two clicks: one when you press the key down and one when you release it and the spring causes it to snap back into position. Normally the first click is the loudest of the two. After the O-ring installation, the second click becomes the louder one because the O-ring dampens the first click so much. (Using the Speed switches, anyway.)

You can use those O-rings on any mechanical keyboard with Cherry MX switches; possibly any mechanical keyboard, period. However, note be that there are different packs with carrying numbers of O-rings in each pack depending on the type of keyboard you have. It’s possible that the size might vary as well based on keyboard/switch type, but I don’t know.

1 point

·

27th Feb 2017

Can anyone confirm if these o-rings would work for my Magicforce 108 with brown switches?

1 point

·

24th Feb 2017

I know that. I am just looking for the osu players opinions before I spend 10 dollars on something I will regret buying. (https://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-Rubber-Dampeners-135-Pieces-RO-100T/dp/B00K73IE1C/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1487905778&sr=8-2&keywords=o-rings)

1 point

·

17th Jun 2015

These are the o rings I bought because I changed my Keycaps out for transparent ones on my K65 RGB keyboard. There are different thicknesses in millimeters but I was happy with the reduction of bottom out clacking without interfering with the length of travel of the keys. The two things to look for in o rings is the hardness of the rubber and the thickness.

http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-Rubber-Dampeners-135-Pieces-RO-100T/dp/B00K73IE1C/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1434553216&sr=8-5&keywords=cherry+mx+o+rings&pebp=1434553251833&perid=0GBQCNVGFYQ24XH8TDSA

2 points

·

21st Nov 2018

$2.99 shipping. Also I have used O rings before and my biggest complaint is that they make everything a bit more mushy feeling. This is a decent price if you wanted to try them out. They should make typing a bit more quite but the feel will be different with each switch and keycap set.

Amazon link for them with free shipping: https://www.amazon.ca/Rosewill-Rubber-Dampeners-135-Pieces-RO-100T/dp/B00K73IE1C/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1542823180&sr=8-5&keywords=o+ring

1 point

·

9th Jan 2019

Oh yeah about the O-Rings I mentioned.. one of a few other important things I made sure of was to get somewhat thick ones, the ones I got are 2mm, which reduces travel distance. I didn’t like how much key travel distance there was originally, I felt like it reduced my speed and accuracy, and it felt uncomfortable to use overall, so this shortened the distance without it feeling like it’s too short.. I’m not sure if I’d like thicker ones that reduce the distance even more.. but I might, I’d have to try them out.

At some point the keys won’t register if the O-Rings are made too thick, or if you try stacking two of them on top of each other (the thinner ones) and they turn out to be too thick as a result. From what I recall Cherry MX switches actuate 1.5mm down, most of the rest of the distance is unnecessary. You could get O-Rings that reduce the travel distance to 2mm total for example and be fine.

The 2nd thing I also made sure to get is at least semi-transparent ones with no color instead of colored or black ones (the more light they let through the better). That way my keyboard’s illumination/backlit LEDs aren’t obscured. They look I think as bright and evenly lit as before I installed the O-Rings. If I’d bought the black ones I’m pretty sure that wouldn’t have been the case.

That along with making sure they were 50A hardness, and that they were of decent quality (weren’t going to need replacing in the next couple years at least, probably much longer) were my important factors when searching for a product. I’ve read certain O-Ring materials (variations in the rubber they use I guess) last much longer than others.

The brush it comes with didn’t seem that great, but it could help with certain things (removing hanging hairs between keys or something). For the major dust buildup I’ve my Metro ED500 DataVac Electric Duster for easy/quick cleanup (no wasting money on canned air for me). 🙂

This is the kit I bought last June: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00K73IE1C/

Came with a microfiber cloth, keycap remover and a duster tool along with the O-Rings.

1 point

·

16th Aug 2018

Look into Cherry MX Speed/Silver. (They’re called one or the other depending on the keyboard in which they’re installed.) They’re like browns but have less distance for activation. (1.2mm vs. 2mm.) As such, you can type lightly on them with less noise.
They also respond faster for gaming, but this has its pros and cons. They take a little getting used to and you can accidentally activate them just by resting your fingers on them much easier than browns. I bought a Corsair K70 and K95 with speed switches specifically for the lower noise so that I could type (carefully) on it while my wife was sleeping nearby and not wake her, and so they didn’t bother others nearby in a professional environment. The K70 is almost identical in functionality to the much more expensive K95. The primary benefits of the K95 over the K70 are a set of 6 macro keys on the left, slightly better profile options when on the go (irrelevant if you don’t travel with the keyboard), and a shiny row of RGB LEDs along the top edge. In other words, things most people won’t need. In pretty much all other ways, the K70 is just fine. The RGB K70 normally goes for $130 on Amazon but occasionally goes on sale for $120. You can get a non-RGB (single-color backlight) for $100 regularly. The K95 is usually around $180-$200 but is currently on sale on the Corsair site for $160.

If you want to get fancy, head over to /r/MechanicalKeyboards and ask there. Note, however, that they can be a bit purist and tend to look down on any of the more consumer-friendly brands like Corsair, Razor, Logitech, etc. This often results in recommendations for keyboard brands that don’t support some pretty useful features like macro keys, media keys, volume knobs, lighting profiles, etc. and I think it does the less-“elite” users a disservice. It’s kind of like asking an audiophile what they think of soundbars. Sure, satellite/subwoofer setups sound better, but the average consumer often doesn’t care about the difference when considering the price differential and setup difficulty, and that’s just fine. I use studio monitors but Corsair Keyboards. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Anyway, that’s a thing so be aware. Personally, I think Corsair keyboards are excellent and I recommend them wholeheartedly. Their lighting software, however… yeah, that’s another story. It works, but it isn’t ideal. If you do want to get fancy, though, /r/MechanicalKeyboards has some nice suggestions…

Once you’ve picked your keyboard, do yourself a favor and order a $10 set of Rosewill silicone O-rings and install them. They will deaden the noise a TON on top of how quiet the speed switches already are. How quiet? Well, press a key and listen closely. It has two clicks: one as you press down and it bottoms out, and one as you release and it bounces back up to its maximum height. Untreated, pressing down is the louder of the two clicks. After you install the O-rings, the bounceback will now be the louder of the two because the press down is now so much quieter. They’re clear and don’t impact keyboard lighting in any noticeable way.

I hope that helps. Feel free to ask any questions.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2017

What are some good o-rings to put on a cherry brown keyboard? I’m iffy on how thick they should be. Are these any good?

1 point

·

29th May 2015

Go for clears; so that the lights can still pop. Something like these: http://www.amazon.com/Rosewill-Rubber-Dampeners-135-Pieces-RO-100T/dp/B00K73IE1C

1 point

·

24th Mar 2015

I have o-rings on my keyboard at work — a Ducky with MX Reds — out of deference to my co-workers. The person who gave me the o-rings didn’t know what kind/size they were; but I believe they are these Rosewill 0.2mm o-rings, which would make them similar to your WASD red o-rings.

As far as keyfeel, I actually quite like them. They don’t make the reds feel like a rubber dome at all. Rather, they soften the keypress a little bit, which feels nice; and they lower the sound a bit — the “thock” sound of a key hitting the bottom is transformed into a softer “thud” type of sound. (Of course, typing more softly also reduces the noise.) I like the board without o-rings just fine, too; and if I weren’t using the board at work, I probably wouldn’t bother with the rings.

Here’s a video that compares the typing sound of reds without o-rings, and then with.