What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Razer BlackWidow Elite Mechanical Gaming Keyboard: Green Mechanical Switches – Tactile & Clicky – Chroma RGB Lighting – Magnetic Wrist Rest – Dedicated Media Keys & Dial – USB Passthrough?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2020

Here’s a comparable deal for a razer keyboard. Razer has a two year warranty compared to Corsair’s one year, and comes with better software for handling RGB and macros. For instance, Corsair’s audio visualizer requires that you buy corsair headphones and have them plugged in. Razer’s chroma visualizer just works. I also couldn’t assign a corsair mouse button to the media mute function, but razer handled it perfectly. (This test was yesterday.)

For the record I’ve owned 3 corsair keyboards, 7 corsair mice, and a Corsair PSU over the last 4 years and they’re all broken in some way now. I made the switch to Razer this year and really wish I’d done it sooner. Even if the build quality ends up being the same, the double length warranty and superior software are a no brainer for me.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2019

If price is less of an object, consider the Razer BlackWidow Elite, with either the orange or yellow keys (look up for demonstrations of the sounds). Both are rather quiet, although the orange offers a more clicking sound (STAY AWAY FROM GREEN: IT MAKES THE MOST CLICKING NOISE). Additionally, the mechanical functionality is perfect, so combine that with the quieter sound and it should be to his liking.

The keyboard is not cheap though, as it runs for $140 off of Amazon . However, if he also enjoys RGB lighting effects and being able to customize them, that will be a top-notch gift element too!

1 point

·

14th Jul 2020

Totally worth it! My brother uses one and I really love it. The wrist rest is nice, the usb and audio passthroughs are usefull and the media controlls are alwats a nice thing to have.

It is 70$ off on Amazon rn but apparently ends in 9hrs: Razer Blackwidow Elite – Amazon

2 points

·

13th Nov 2020

I literally spent all afternoon musing over this. What I determined was this: you want a keyboard that you can customize and experiment with, they want a Huntsman Elite because it was the number 1 keyboard on Amazon in 2018, and they think it will help them win at video games. And with this in mind, I went about finding the best options for the both of you.

At first I thought you two would appreciate the GMMK full size; it’s got all the gaming features they want, plus all the hotswap you care about, for only $130. (Assuming you go for Kailh Box White switches and HyperX PBT Pudding Keycaps.)

Then I discovered that the clicky Blackwidow Elite is only $85 on Amazon right now. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FFCN3DJ/ It is the sister keyboard to the Huntsman Elite, and you could but a set of Razer PBT Upgrade keycaps on it for them so that it’s actually bearable to type on for more than one year. Even though it’s not hotswap, replacing a faulty keyswitch down the line will be a fairly straightforward process.

But I did a lot of soul searching, and mind reading, and careful research… And I determined that obviously, the best keyboard for you or your friend, would be the Ginny Heavy. https://www.gboards.ca/product/ginny-heavy Because it’s the perfect keyboard. Of course it is. All previous keyboard technology is rendered useless by its perfection.

1 point

·

25th Dec 2020

Thanks a lot, but i was thinking about this one. I saw it now again and it isnt two lines, sorry.

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2020

Yeah, gotta make some compromises at $59. If you’re willing to go $25 more…you can get what RTINGS deems the best mechanical keyboard for typing. https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07FFCN3DJ

1 point

·

13th Nov 2020

A good mouse:

https://www.pcgamingrace.com/products/glorious-model-o-black

My next mouse is 100% going to be one of these. Looks like actual gamers who came together to make a product. They also do have a wireless version. These mice are nice and light which is supposedly good for eSports. I can semi verify, I went from a “heavy” wired G502 (120 grams) to a G305 which is wireless. I also removed the AA battery and put in a AAA battery with one of those AAA to AA adapaters to lower weight and now its at like 80 grams. I didn’t think it would make a different but I’ve noticed my aim is much more consistent on Siege.

Logitech is good as an alternative, however they are plagued with the double click issue on their Hero line. I have a G603, G305 and I haven’t noticed any double clicking so maybe I got lucky.

BTW – Razer seems to be getting better and better reviews but I try and stay away. A couple of my friends who got razer mouse as the default “gamerware” have had minimal problems.

Keyboard?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FFCN3DJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fabt1_dlC_m4xRFbVTW16W7?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

This is a fully RGB and fully mechanical keyboard on sale right now. If I needed a new keyboard this is what I would get. It also comes with a 2 year warranty. And generally I’ve found if the product lasts throughout warranty, it won’t break. There is no source to back that up, only my personal experience.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2020

(there’s a TL;DR at the end, don’t worry)

This is an enthusiast community who’s main interest is building custom keyboards from scratch. If you just want to buy a prebuilt keyboard, drop it on your desk, and call it a day, I suggest you head over to r/GamingKeyboards. They’re pretty knowledgeable for that sort of thing.

If you’re looking for something big and solid, nothing comes close to the Gergo Heavy. Ok, ok, that’s a joke, I’ll be serious now.

First, some backstory. Why would you want to modify, or even build, a mechanical keyboard? Well, there’s three reasons: first, you can a keyboard by the sum of its parts, second, you have more time than an assembly line and third, most mainstream mech marketing is moronic.

You can judge a keyboard by the sum of its parts. Much like a gaming PC, you can upgrade or design a keyboard piecemeal. This is drastically different from rubber dome keyboards, where what you get from the factory is exactly what you’re stuck with, and there’s no good way to compare keyboards against one another. At a basic level, a mech is made up of the PCB, (which includes the microcontroller, diodes, and RGB) the switches, the case, and the keycaps. Unless you get into the really high end or weird stuff, any keycap will fit on any switch, and any switch will fit in any pcb. Normally PCBs and cases are sold as a set. This brings us to the first keyboard recommendation: the GMMK. https://www.pcgamingrace.com/products/gmmk-full-brown-switch By choosing “customize” instead of “add to cart”, you can purchase a GMMK without switches and without keycaps. I recommend a set of PBT keycaps, there are tons on Amazon (just search “pbt keycaps”) as well as on https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_list&c=336 Some PBT keycaps are backlight compatible, while others are made out of vibrant, solid plastics. Picking switches is a daunting process, probably worthy of its own post. However, a good place to start is a switch tester like this one: https://novelkeys.xyz/collections/switches/products/kailh-sample-pack?variant=3747976970280

You have more time than an assembly line Unless you feel like spending 300, 400 or more on a small batch, limited run “group buy” keyboard, you’ll probably be modding an existing keyboard like the GMMK or a Drop CTRL. Why would a $200 mass produced keyboard be worse than a $100 modded one? Simple; many of the modifications, like clipping stabilizers and lubing switches, takes a lot of time, time that would not be made up in profits if attempted at a factory. But since you are a single person who has a single keyboard, you can spend the time to make it the best it can be. For this, you should start by learning how to lube your switches.

https://youtu.be/CFHomk3IBk0 for some, spray lubing is a good option.

https://youtu.be/r15leOYG3l8 other people prefer to fully disassemble the switch and paint the insides.

This is far from the only mod you can do to a keyboard, and those weren’t even the only way to lube switches.

Most mainstream mech marketing is moronic When you think of high-end gaming keyboards, you think of a few key phrases: aircraft-grade aluminum, per-key RGB, reliability, and speed.

“Aircraft-grade aluminum plate.” does this really make a keyboard better and more durable? Believe it or not, to enthusiasts, every plate material has its advantages and disadvantages. Some people insist on polycarbonate outer casings because they like the way it sounds. Others like acrylic for its transparent RGB quality. Aluminum is simply one of many potential materials, and really it’s probably not even the best metal. One of the most famous companies in terms of build quality is Leopold, and they make their cases out of good old plastic, then hide a steel plate in the middle. So limit your keyboard search by what you like, not by what you think will last the longest.

“per-key RGB” A lot of the people in this subreddit aren’t big fans of per-key RGB. Personally, I quite like it. But is per-key RGB really a “gaming” feature? No! No company has ever even given a reason why. In reality, RGB serves two purposes: first, it acts as a quick and dirty way to make the keyboard match up with the rest of your gaming rig. Second, it’s a powerful productivity feature, as it helps you mark where you remapped your keys into macros. All this is to say, don’t feel beholden to any one company’s RGB setup. The great benefit of RGB is that you can make components from rival companies look more cohesive together.

Reliability: “50 million. 80 million. 100 million keystrokes.” These numbers get thrown around a lot. But do they really mean anything? Nah, not really. There’s always room for error, and sometimes a key will just fail. Mechanical keyboards don’t just last an incredibly long time because they are durable, but because they are serviceable. This brings me to my last point:

Speed. Everyone cares about speed nowadays. In 2018 Razer ~~made an agreement to use the switches made by Bloody~~ uhh I mean “invented” their new optical key switch technology. Suddenly, keyboards could read response times at “the speed of light”, as opposed to a mechanically limited “debounce time” of 5, maybe 8 milliseconds. This didn’t start the trend, bit it was emblematic of it: everybody had to have the fastest keyboard, and everybody was going to sell proprietary technology in order to deliver it. But how important is that speed? Well, a while back I did some calculations, and determined that regular mechs really only get a frame worth of delay if you’re gaming at 120 fps or better. And how important is that frame in, say, a high stakes shootout? Well, not much. You see, most of the high-reaction time inputs are done through the mouse: aiming, firing, 360 no-scoping… The keyboard takes care of reloading, moving, ducking behind cover: all actions tied to comparatively slow character animations. Besides, unless you’re a top level e-sports player, that 5 millisecond delay is undetectable to you. And none of that speed will matter to you if your proprietary keyboard technology breaks and is outside of the warranty period.

TL:DR Getting a “better” keyboard today is as much about what you do to the keyboard as it is choosing the keyboard to buy in the first place. But, that being said, the Black Widow Elite is 50% off right now and no matter how you cut it, $85 is a really good price. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FFCN3DJ/ applying some mods, like foam in the case and pbt keycaps on the switches, should make it last nearly forever.

Otherwise, if you want to check out a keyboard with a different type of switch than clicky, buy the GMMK barebones (linked above) and pick your own switches and keycaps.

Let me know if the deal ends before you get to it, and I can link a few other options.

1 point

·

29th Oct 2020

The Blackwidow Elite (Green Switches) is currently $84.99 in Amazon.

https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07FFCN3DJ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

18th Aug 2020

Deal link: Amazon

^^Note: ^^The ^^deal ^^may ^^have ^^expired ^^by ^^the ^^time ^^you ^^see ^^this ^^post.

1 point

·

16th May 2020

Price History


Price of a Pawn, value of a Queen.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fgkk9mr%2Fkeyboard_razer_blackwidow_elite_170%2Ffqrq0yi%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

30th Nov 2019

The Razer Blackwidow Elite is pretty cheap on amazon. https://www.amazon.com/Razer-BlackWidow-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B07FFCN3DJ

-1 points

·

23rd Feb 2021