What is the opinion of Reddit about the
PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Oz?

A total of 30 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

27th Jul 2021

For body acne I’ve found that Panoxyl Acne Wash works great! I’ve heard it can cause some dryness though, but I’ve never experienced that myself! If you do use it watch out for getting it on fabrics and stuff, it can bleach them. Hope that helps!

2 points

·

30th Jun 2021

Yeah man, it works really well but will also dry your skin out so use lotion too. I also got an Rx from a derm for a topical cream too (retin-A) that helps a lot too if I ever get anything on my face. I use this: https://www.amazon.com/PanOxyl-Foaming-Peroxide-Strength-Antimicrobial/dp/B081KL2QYJ

1 point

·

22nd Mar 2022

Looks like folliculitis. If it becomes chronic, and left untreated, it can destroy the hair and you can have patches of hair missing permanently. I would start in this order:

1) PanOxyl 10% benzyl peroxide wash

Try this for a month. If no improvement, step 2.

https://www.amazon.com/PanOxyl-Foaming-Peroxide-Strength-Antimicrobial/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=sr\_1\_5?crid=I6CJPQWFVHYB&keywords=panoxyl&qid=1647963527&sprefix=panoxyl%2Caps%2C121&sr=8-5

2) Dermatologist: doxycycline antibiotic

You will be put on it for a few months. It reduces the inflammation, which in turn will prevent damage to the hair. If it comes back after you go off of it (common), go to step 3. This option is not ideal permanently because you can develop antibiotic resistance.

3) Low-dose accutane

This tends to help most people and is usually very effective. It can remove all the bumps and prevent further damage to the hair. Requires routine bloodwork. Even on accutane once you get off of it, the bumps can sometimes come back immediately. If this happens, it’s going to be low-dose accutane for many years or even permanently. This is a stubborn condition.

This is pretty much the basic roadmap for anyone dealing with folliculitis. I’ve been dealing with this for 15 years and I wish I had somebody tell me this 15 years ago.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2022

I use panoxyl 10% like a shampoo, leave on for a couple minutes before normal shampoo routine. Always had some mild scalp acne or folliculitis, and this solved it pretty quickly and keep it in check. The question is whether your issue is fungal or bacterial, but I also use ketoconazole containing products in conjunction.

1 point

·

31st Jan 2022

I use panoxl which helps with neck acne, back acne, butt acne. You just have to be very consistent- I use in shower as body wash twice a day!

Link: PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_V1FCT1854Y7DD36KKK4S

1 point

·

21st Jan 2022

Panoxyl 10% works well for acne and folliculitus. Use it like shampoo, leaving it on your scalp for a few minutes before normal shampooing and conditioning. This is the only thing that cured my chronic folliculitis, but it can take awhile.

1 point

·

31st May 2021

If you haven’t tried it yet, you might want to get benzoyl peroxide to help with the acne. I personally have been using this recently and it appears to finally be something that works for me. Haven’t had any new acne show up since using it and that’s going on about three weeks now. I just use a dime sized dab on both cheeks and another one split between the region between mouth and chin and on the nose once per day right after I wake up. Based on how much is left, it seems that it will last at least three months, so $10 for that seems like a pretty good deal.

It definitely doesn’t help with the acne that is there already, but it should help to keep new acne from forming, so it will clear up after what you currently have goes away. It might take a few weeks, but your skin should start clearing up as long as you use it regularly. If not, increase usage to twice a day and see if that works.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2021

Honestly, I have no idea what’s going on at this point.

I just did a 12 week course of fluconazole and only used ketoconazole cream and shampoo and while it helped clear things up a little bit, it didn’t really finish the job. The doc thought it might be yeast infection related. But the only thing that’s helped me is clindamycin benzoyl peroxide, a prescription topical.

However, I did just pick up an OTC benzoyl peroxide wash from Amazon 3 days ago and it appears to have actually helped…but everyones skin is different.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2021

Sorry friend. I developed folliculitis around 26 mainly on the sides of my thighs and butt. I always just dealt with it until I got a prescription for clindamycin-benzoyl peroxide (topical), that kept breakouts at bay…but if you don’t let it dry, will bleach the shit out of everything you own…which is why I mainly buy white boxers + bed sheets now.

That said, I tried washing my sheets often, changing soaps, detergents, dryer sheets, stopped wearing jeans, food changes, elimination diet, etc…to no avail.

I eventually went on accutane at 32 and after a 6 month course, it finally went away (in month 5)…but came back 2-3 months after I went off…with vengeance. It’s now spread to my stomach, lower + mid back, sides, and chest.

The only thing I’ve been able to find that makes any difference for me is the clindamycin-benzoyl peroxide…I recently an OTC 10% soap on amazon that’s made a hell of a difference…

but it truly feels like I’m just treating symptoms, rather than solving the problem. Hoping to figure this out soon, but I’d recommend that soap, and if you can see a derm, get the clindamycin-benzoyl peroxide topical.

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

I also suggest benzoyl peroxide like another commenter. I’m not sure where you’re located but the brand Panoxyl has a soap that is 10%. This was recommended by my derm to help dry up my area. It may benefit you to wash that area 2 times a day, just be careful if you use this soap because it will dry up so use it locally if you do multiple times a day.

I also think trying to ice it periodically in the day will help along with a hefty dose of ibuprofen for the swelling. If you don’t see improvement in a few days you may need to go see your doctor for further options. Good luck friend.

12 points

·

13th May 2021

The body wash is (over the counter) Benzoyl peroxide (put a pic up of mine http://imgur.com/a/uNhAfK2 ) and the prescription to treat an active cyst is clindamycin phosphate 1% topical. It’s a tube of liquid with a squishy soft pad you squeeze to wet the pad then rub on the cyst. I paid nothing for the script through my insurance.

Oh just thought of this, here’s the body wash on Amazon

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_G2K3EJ8W35P6BEQS1SJ0

6 points

·

13th May 2021

I thought I had herpes. Took me two years to talk to my Mom and she laughed at me. I felt gross and embarrassed. Fun times!

Here’s my reply to another comment about the meds.

The condition is called hydrotonous superativa.

The body wash is (over the counter) Benzoyl peroxide (put a pic up of mine http://imgur.com/a/uNhAfK2 ) and the prescription to treat an active cyst is clindamycin phosphate 1% topical. It’s a tube of liquid with a squishy soft pad you squeeze to wet the pad then rub on the cyst. I paid nothing for the script through my insurance.

Oh just thought of this, here’s the body wash on Amazon

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_G2K3EJ8W35P6BEQS1SJ0

Benzoyl peroxide 10% on Amazon just don’t put this in your private parts!

How benzoyl peroxide stops/fights acne: https://www.healthline.com/health/benzoyl-peroxide-for-acne

The product: PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_T7RTTAZZHMPQJPQJVCDQ?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

3 points

·

13th May 2021

My dermatologist said he doesn’t do the antibiotics unless the following fails:

The condition is called hydrotonous superativa.

The body wash is (over the counter) Benzoyl peroxide (put a pic up of mine http://imgur.com/a/uNhAfK2 ) and the prescription to treat an active cyst is clindamycin phosphate 1% topical. It’s a tube of liquid with a squishy soft pad you squeeze to wet the pad then rub on the cyst. I paid nothing for the script through my insurance.

Oh just thought of this, here’s the body wash on Amazon

https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_fabc_G2K3EJ8W35P6BEQS1SJ0

2 points

·

16th Nov 2020

Epiduo is adapalene and benzoyl peroxide, which are both available over the counter. Epiduo uses a different strength of adapalene, but a .1% is available, called Differin .

You could use your tretinoin at night (if it’s not expired) and some sort of benzoyl peroxide in the morning. I like benzoyl peroxide washes like Panoxyl . You could also use a leave on topical like Zapzyt .

1 point

·

26th Apr 2022
  1. scrub your tongue every morning. use a brush or a tongue scraper.
  2. Body odor is a bitch. Screw deodorants. Use Benzoyl Peroxide. lather it to you underarms and leave for 2-3 mins and then wash it off. do it every 6 hours. You’re golden. Use it on your feet if they smell and follow up with moisturizer.
  3. Skincare routine is essential part of health care. can use the same benzoyl peroxide on your face once a day if you have oily skin, then use a simple moisturize like vanicream and a good load of sunscreen like altruist.
  4. Always wear ironed clothes.
  5. Change bedsheets once a week.
  6. Eat clean. Lots of water at the right time. Exercise 150 mins a week in 3-6 batches.
  7. Go to therapy for psychological help.
  8. have hobbies. nurture them. be proud of yourself.

may sound like #thanksimcured, but i promise it will help.

​

Good luck and I love you.

1 point

·

12th Apr 2022
1 point

·

10th Apr 2022

Stupid question. Can I use this as a cleanser or do I need another product?

1 point

·

18th Mar 2022

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_GASQDW3032NHVCKPK5GN

This can be a lifesaver under breast. Let sit for about a minute before rinsing off.

I also like:

Lady Anti Monkey Butt – Women’s Body Powder with Calamine – Prevents Chafing and Absorbs Sweat – Talc Free – 6 Ounces – Pack of 3 https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RGXKCFM/ref=cm_sw_r_awdo_T7STWJFZD2GKM11RXYX7

It has calamine in it. It calms skin. I only use this in the summer tho.
The acne wash can save your life. Good Luck

1 point

·

17th Mar 2022

Miracle solution if you use these everyday.

Use this in the shower as a body wash (let it sit for a minute or two before rinsing):

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Oz https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_2QRWP2PZN7H8Q3EY0NVW?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

After showering, use this as lotion:

Paula’s Choice Retinol Skin-Smoothing Body Treatment, Shea Butter, Vitamin C & E Lotion, Anti-Aging Moisturizer, 4 Ounce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DH22K56/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_D9C7AR1VRS4QBF3AVH0M?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

18th Feb 2022

See a dermatologist till then…

Start using panoxyl as body wash on your acne prone areas daily. PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl Peroxide 10% Maximum Strength Antimicrobial, 5.5 Oz https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_EQHQ0N3EWBYWHRH52M92?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

After you get out the shower wet a cotton round with this toner and rub it on your acne.
https://www.target.com/p/differin-pore-minimizing-toner-with-witch-hazel-8-fl-oz/-/A-79656101

Next put on a thin layer of this spot treatment on acne https://www.walmart.com/ip/10805072

Then finish with a thin layer of this moisturizer after the other stuff is dry. Neutrogena Hydro Boost Fragrance-free Hydrating Body Gel Cream, 16 Ounce https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B07DJPC8JB/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_i_1GJQ2N09HFKCT1JH2VAX

Use this body scrub 2 days a week in the shower instead of the Panoxyl body wash. https://www.walmart.com/ip/10849690

This routine should help you till you can get to the dermatologist. If your skin starts getting really dry /irritated then stop using the spot treatment and possibly toner as often. Everyone is different so idk if your skin will be sensitive or not.

1 point

·

7th Feb 2022

Try the PanOxyl acne foaming washing. You can buy it on amazon. link here

1 point

·

14th Nov 2021

That’s not true, you can get the 10% in Canada from Amazon US for $10.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ?ref=ppx\_yo2\_dt\_b\_product\_details&th=1

1 point

·

6th Oct 2021

I use this BP product. I think it’s got 10% BP, which I believe may be a bit strong for the face

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

1 point

·

6th Oct 2021

Thirded. Plus BP. I bought this off Amazon:

PanOxyl Acne Foaming Wash Benzoyl… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B081KL2QYJ?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share

Really need to rub it in for a good 2-3 minutes.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2021

I buy it on Amazon.com