What is the opinion of Reddit about the
NVX® Perfect10 Studio Over-Ear [42mm Driver] Headphones with ComfortMax® Earpad Cushions and 1/4-inch adapter [XPT100]?

A total of 56 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2019

I also have a pair of NVX XTP-100’s that I absolutely love sound and comfort wise. Sound is fantastic at the price point and comfort wise I HIGHLY recommend them to anyone with a larger dome.

However… They do have a pretty severe design flaw. The arms on the headband that attach to the cans are shockingly weak and are prone to breaking. I’m on my second headband over the course of 5 years and it broke as well. (its currently held together by gorrila glue and looks horrific but I have it stowed away as a backup closed back set) I know 5 years is a good bit of time but that part shouldn’t be that weak. They could easily reinforce it with a small amount of stronger material.

If you really baby them (which I do not) they would probably hold up much longer, but something to consider if you decide to try them out. I’m not sure you could do better on sound and comfort at that price. The headband issue is a bummer though or else they would be a 10/10 easily for me.

Here is an Amazon link for the XTP-100’s
https://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-XPT100/dp/B0093PVTPS

1 point

·

15th Aug 2018

Of course! One thing I would like to mention is that I’ve used different pairs of headphones that have a more balanced or neutral signature, but have been impressive when applying EQ towards bass emphasis.

If you’re looking for the sub-bass rumble like a subwoofer, you’ll probably find it necessary to perform EQ. In Windows, the “Bass Boost” feature under your Playback device properties under the “Enhancements” tab isn’t half bad in some circumstances, but it will lower your volume. Just now, I even figured out that it even has basic “Enhancement Properties” which allows you to choose which frequency to boost (default 80Hz) and the boost level (+6dB).

For example, the NVX XPT100 already has those aforementioned Brainwavz pads, just in a different size. It’s a neutral headphone meant for isolation and studio monitoring. But you can get some of that rumbling effect with a bit of EQ. That being said, the experience can flop over if you try to push the bass too far outside of the driver’s capability.

If your budget is truly around $50, my guess is that the Retros will probably deliver the best value + performance for your needs. Many people have liked that combination, and I’m going to stand by my recommendation and hope it works out if you give it a shot!

1 point

·

29th Aug 2016

NVX® Perfect10 Studio Over-Ear [42mm Driver] Headphones with ComfortMax® Earpad Cushions and 1/4-inch adapter [XPT100] https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_gemXxbX4KMZSE might be a good starting point. Even lets you detach the cable too.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2016

I’m listening to them on these: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093PVTPS/

It didn’t really hurt per say, it just didn’t sound right together at all. The first time it was kind of like, “Woah what” and I had to go back and relisten to make sure it didn’t sound that bad as I first thought it did (it was better the second time listening) but listening from the very beginning and getting to that point it didn’t feel like it belonged in the song at all.

1 point

·

9th May 2016

I bought this pair of headphones recently:

http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-XPT100/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1462804041&sr=8-1&keywords=XPT100

Better isolation that M50s, but significantly more comfortable in my experience. I can easily wear them for 4+ hours and just forget they’re on.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2016

I have these headphones
http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1455312114&sr=8-1&keywords=nvx+xpt100

Very good and comfortable. The sound is good for the price. Some even compare it to the Sennheiser HD 280 pros and say its better or very similar sound signature. The price to performance is very good in my opinion, some may say that its not better than higher end headphones but that’s not even a fair comparison. Of course their not gonna be as good. Their not that big as they may seem on amazon.

Sorry for the long post they are just very good!

1 point

·

15th Feb 2016

If she doesnt care about style check out the NVX XPT100 . I cant really chime in about isolation as i havent personally tried them, so i am hoping someone else can, but from all the reviews they should be great.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2016

After picking though zeo’s videos I think i’m going to land on these..lol The cheaper HM5’s, the ear kittens as zeos says.

1 point

·

29th Feb 2016

I think the XPT100 would be a great choice $80 and super comfy. Only downside is that they are on the large side so you might look silly

Amazon link here

1 point

·

31st Jan 2016

All I can suggest is the pair that I own, the NVX XPT100’s, but they’re excellent at sound isolation and ridiculously comfortable, so they seem to fit your needs. 80 bucks on Amazon.

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2015

Budget: $150

Source: usually phone, sometimes turntable, pre-amp, amp (really nice setup)

Need something that doesn’t leak a lot of sound as I have a roommate

Listen to mainly indie rock/folk, a little rap

I was recommended this: http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS%3FSubscriptionId%3DAKIAJ7VMODKUTIUWFY2Q%26tag%3Dheadfiorg-thr-mcb-lo-t-m-20%26linkCode%3Dxm2%26camp%3D2025%26creative%3D165953%26creativeASIN%3DB0093PVTPS

Thoughts? Any other recs? Thank you

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2015

Personally I am a fan of the NVX XPT100. Super comfortable, good build quality, and have an incredibly neutral sound signature for closed cans. At $100 they’re awesome value for the money. I did a side-by-side listening test of these against similarly priced cans (Sennheiser HD280 Pro, ATH-M50X, Sony 7506) and the NVX was the winner by far.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2015

With the clarification on the budget, do you have advice?

I’m looking at the http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS

But it might not run well without an amp when paired with ordinary sources like laptop, phone desktop…

1 point

·

2nd Sep 2015

NVX XPT 100

Never use open back headphones outside…it’s just annoying for others and yourself. The XPT 100 have a decent soundstage for gaming. They have extremely comfortable and soft pads that won’t cause you trouble during long gaming sessions with glasses.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2015

Well, considering you stated your budget to be $100, I strongly suggest the XPT100. They have excellent soundstage for a closed headphone and they’re extremely comfortable right out of the box.

1 point

·

21st Jul 2015

The NVX XPT100s have a huge sound stage, and have a warm/neutral sound signature. They’re quite highly regarded around here: http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437500347&sr=8-1&keywords=nvx+xpt100

1 point

·

21st Jul 2015

Take a look at the NVX XPT100s, best in-class comfort, a super huge sound stage for the price, and a nice neutral/warm sound signature that will give you wholesome mids and bass, but won’t slack on the trebles: http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437518682&sr=8-1&keywords=nvx+xpt100 (Better than the Takstars IMO)

1 point

·

25th Jun 2015

I’m looking to get a different set of headphones for work. My work situation will not allow me to bring in any sort DAC or other sound source beyond the onboard mobo audio on an HP desktop. I might be able to bring in an amplifier, but haven’t confirmed yet. I’m currently using some ATH-M40x’s, but after getting a pair of HD600’s for home I can’t help but noticed how uncomfortable they are now (and the utter lack of soundstage).

Budget: $75 – $125 (I’m more flexible on this)

Source: Onboard audio of HP Workstation

Requirements for Isolation: Closed all the way. I have cube mates with…..unique voices that I’d rather not hear.

Preferred type: Full-sized

Tonal Balance: Neutral, slightly smoother. A nice sound signature that isn’t fatiguing.

Past/Current Headphones: DT880 Pro, HD600, Sennheiser PX100, M40x

Preferred Music: Indie/Alt rock/Electronic/random smattering of other genre’s. (A few examples of my regular listens: Fleet Foxes, Grizzly Bear, Toadies, Beck, The Antlers, Arcade Fire, Tycho, Godspeed You Black Emperor, Modest Mouse, Ratatat)

I’m looking for more of a pair of “workhorse” headphones, something that I won’t be crushed if get broken or stolen. (And also isn’t over-performing considering the source) Comfort is a big factor. My initial instinct were the NVX XPT100’s but I am a little concerned about being able to power them.

1 point

·

4th Jun 2015

The NVX XPT 100s are a slightly nuetral pair of headphones that can also be considered warm, a great headphone for the price: http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1433460559&sr=8-1&keywords=NVX+XPT100

1 point

·

15th Apr 2015

NVX is a good place to start for solid headphones: http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS

Super-comfortable with replaceable pads and cables (even comes with a second set of pads, angle style in the box). Great sound-stage, full accurate sound.

1 point

·

9th Jan 2015

I use the Mad Dogs every day. When I don’t have any music playing I can hear background noise in my house. Same for my PC, until I put the music on I can hear the fans on my PC. I love my Mad Dogs but and closed headphone would do a better job.

For $100 bucks you could buy the NVX Audio XPT100. They cover even large ears, have large angled pads, and are 100 closed with no ports.

http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1420815551&sr=8-1&keywords=nvx+headphones

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

Hi! I’m looking for a set of desktop use closed cans that can retrieve detail well and be fairly neutral in sound, any discussion on price points is fair, whether they’re a steal at 50$, or worthy of an investment at 300$. I’m not set yet on how much I want to spend, just exploring options. I truly appreciate a great value pair, as I have some HD650’s as well, so this would be a second pair. Being driven from a Magni 2U.

I have been listening to my old RE0 IEM’s and fallen in love with the analytical sound enough over the years that I’m ready for another pair of full sized cans. I have the GF moving in now so closed cans are something I’ve come to need.

Considered the HM5, 598CS, NAD VISO HP50 or similar, but not sure of some of the newer/ FOTM options, any ideas are appreciated!

TLDR: Closed can ideas with a neutral, detailed sig. Desktop use with a Magni2U. Shoot me some options!

1 point

·

25th Apr 2017

Budget – around US$150 and US$200 (can be a lot more like US$600, depending on durability; so a good margin here)

Source – computer (PC/Notebook)

Requirements for Isolation – Not sure, to be honest. I will use them only at home/work.

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? – No. Not at all.

Preferred Type of Headphone – Over the ear (with mic is a plus but not required)

Preferred tonal balancehigh. volume. like, really loud. I don’t understand that much but I need something capable of act almost like a pc speaker because I have some hearing problem (yes, literally)

Past headphones – Sony Pulse Elite Wireless. 3 of them.

Preferred Music – rock, metal, pop, ost games and others. since I only want a loud one is not really important, I guess.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – I don’t like they break in like 6-8 months. I hate the input for USB/charging cable because it stops working in a few months. I have 3 pairs of this thing and I really like the volume; really high/loud (I don’t use that “bass impact” at all). I did buy a Razer Kraken V2 and, I don’t know if was something with the computeres I tested, but this had really low volume (other people confirmed too) – but they were very confortable. I would like to keep volume high as the Pulse Elite and, if possible, a bit more confortable – since I keep it 10 hours a day and use glasses; but volume is top priority.

Hope you guys can help since I have no idea where/what to search. SPL/sensitivity seems to be something overlooked by the companies and not a standardized measure.

the assistant gave me two choices: NVX XPT100 and Brainwavz HM5 but I don’t know if any of them are as loud as Pulse Elite

1 point

·

18th Dec 2016

If you want public, the NVX XPT100 is great. Not the most portable, but noise isolation is good while still having good soundstage for a set of closed cans. Also the most comfortable set you’ll wear that doesn’t cost $250+, especially if you use their angled ear pads that are included. The price is normally $80, so ignore the $100 listed and wait a bit for the decent priced sellers to get more in stock.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093PVTPS/

If you want better quality and you’re OK with paying more, the new Sennheiser 598 Cs (Cs are closed, other letter version are open) are amazing. $100 is a good sale price, which it’s at now.

https://www.amazon.com/Sennheiser-HD-598-Cs-Headphone/dp/B01JP436TS

1 point

·

28th Sep 2016

NVX?

Monoprice with HM5 pads?

1 point

·

18th Aug 2016

I have been using the NVX XPT100, recently. It’s a very neutral headphone at the price. Alternatively, try the Brainwavz HM5. They are essentially the same, but with a few differences.

Prior to that, I used the Sennheiser HD280 Pro and still use it for monitoring.

As for interfaces, it’s really going to depend on what you’re looking for.

If you can manage to get any of the Behringer U-Phoria series, such as the UMC204HD, it packs a lot for a low price. I personally have the UMC404HD and have enjoyed it, thus far.

Another great brand is Focusrite—check out their Scarlett series.

1 point

·

20th Jul 2016

I ended up going for https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093PVTPS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 because low clamping strength and big cups. Sounded about the same as the m50x at any rate

1 point

·

26th Jun 2016

Budget – Prefer around $70 but can go upto $100

Source – Laptop (Dell 15RSE) or Mobile (iPhone SE)

Requirements for Isolation – Some isolation needed

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? – Yes

Preferred Type of Headphone – full-sized, or on-ear

Preferred tonal balance – overall balanced

Past headphones – Panasonic HJE120E (purchased and used multiple times over past few years) – Found them to be relatively neutral and giving more detail than “standard earphones that come with the mobile”. But since they are IEMs, they are not comfortable for very long durations. Also, looking to step up to higher quality sound now 🙂

Preferred Music – Varies from Progressive House to Metal to Acoustic to sometimes just audio books. This is why I am looking for a good balanced pair of headphones.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – More detail. More comfort for extended duration (for example, listening to music while working throughout the day, and while commuting).

Additional info – I’d prefer ones with removable cable.

Currently consideringNVX XPT100 or ATH-M40x

I had posted the same info yesterday and /u/username1615 suggested the M40x, which is why they got added to the list today. I will be making my final decision within 24 hours now, and have been doing quite a bit of reading of reviews, but am still uncertain about which one of these two would be good.

Please let me know if it would really be worth paying the 25% extra for the M40x (since I am still a college student and every dollar saved counts).

1 point

·

11th Apr 2016

> Brainwavz HM5

the Brainwavz HM5 itself is a rebrand. The original headphone comes from the Taiwanese OEM “YOGA”. The headphone is a CD880. And Bluetooth cannot seriously be considered in alternative if you are looking for the best audio quality possible.

There are some more companies that rebrand the CD880, maybe you can find them in Australia:

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2016

Go with the NVX XPT100. It’s a clone of the HM5 but is cheaper and includes angled pads which are amazing.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_tej2wb33XWYZX

1 point

·

7th Mar 2016

I have one myself and I agree the HD600 are phenomenal for music but they’re terrible for VR. They require an amp so you’re going to have two extra cables going from your head to your desk or wherever the amp is. Even portable ones would be a hassle.

Secondly, the cable that comes with it is quite long and it will get in the way. See here https://youtu.be/VLNu3-7QL_w?t=171
The cables are proprietary also and they aren’t cheap.

Personally I ordered the NVX XPT100 http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1457366316&sr=8-1&keywords=xpt100

$80 so quite cheap compared to the HD600 and should be much more comfortable. I find the HD600’s clamp quite strong. Low impedance so the HMD should drive it perfectly fine and it comes with a short 1.2m cable. Plus they are closed which should help with immersion

1 point

·

12th Jan 2016

Budget – 50-100$ (or very close if improvement is large for a few extra bucks)

Source – Desktop

Requirements for Isolation – Don’t want to wake up people or disturb the quiet work office.

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? Yes

Preferred Type of Headphone – full-sized over-ear

Preferred Music – Rock, Epic Music, Classical, and I play games a lot ( a large variety)

Im currently stuck in between NVX XTP100 and CAL. What will give me the best bang for gaming (BF4, LoL, D3, etc.) and is there anything else that’s close? How much better is the sound quality of one compared to the other? Is the extra 40 bucks for XTP100 worth it if it is indeed better? I need to order today or tomorrow :/

http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top?ie=UTF8

http://www.amazon.com/Creative-EF0060-Aurvana-Live-Headphones/dp/B000ZJZ7OA/ref=cm_cd_al_qh_dp_t

1 point

·

19th Dec 2015

If u prioritize no sound leakage over a bigger sound stage, you should consider these

1 point

·

19th Dec 2015

> Balanced except for bass, which I’d like to be strong if possible.

That’s unfortunately not how it works. If you have a strong bass presence, mids will suffer. You can’t have strong bass in a neutral headphone. People also tend to confuse more bass vs. good bass. Good bass is subtle and may have less of a kick to it, but it has texture.

> Isolation: Some or none

Since you state you’ll be using these headphone with a phone, I assume you want to wear them outside and in public. In this case isolation is an absolute requirement. Open back headphones will leak the music to the outside and people around you can hear what you are listening to.

I suggest you take a look at these models:

  • Brainwavz HM5 // NVX XPT 100: Very comfortable, neutral sounding headphones with a surprisingly wide stage for a closed back headphone in this price range. Unfortunately, they are rather bulky and cannot be easily carried around; they are meant to be used at home.

  • ATH M40X. A good looking and neutral sounding model (with a light bass tilt) that has a detachable cable and swiveling cups. Can’t really be beaten at the current amazon price. But naturally this pair has its disadvantages as well. The relatively small pleather pads only allow for sufficient comfort (nowhere near the godlike HM5 / XPT100 pads) and the soundstage is rather “intimate” (read narrow / small). However, the music you mentioned doesn’t really benefit from great soundstage and I think the M40X will be a good match.

If you want to go all out on the bass: V-Moda LP2

1 point

·

26th Nov 2015

How would these compare to NVX Audio XPT100 ( http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS ) and a mod mic?

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2015

That’s why I recommend the NVX XPT100s instead. Arguably the best headphones under $200, and they’re so comfortable you forget they’re even on your head.

1 point

·

27th Nov 2015

http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS

They were never $180 Amazon just likes to be a fuck sometimes. They’re usually $100.

I like listening to Jazz and Rap, usually.

1 point

·

18th Nov 2015

Some closed-back headphones. Need them for those occasions when I have to shut out the world while I listen to music.

Dual-monitor stand. I’m an absolute cable-management freak and, aside from buying a wireless mouse, this is the last thing I need to perfect it. If anything, this will also help with productivity.

Oh yeah, my dogs got to my only tie so here’s that.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2015

So I am looking at two headphones right now, either the NVXPT100 or the Beyer Custom One Pros. Any advice on which is better?

Im looking for closed cans that with bass for hip hop/EDM and some rock. How well can the Custom One Pros change from closed to open?

1 point

·

10th Aug 2015

Headphones or Headset?

1 point

·

27th Aug 2015

Budget around $150 +/- $25

Past headphones: turtle beach x41s and skull candy skull crushers (old version)

Yea I’m very new to the audiophile world and I’m really for some good headphones.
So here’s a few questions I have.

First, what is the main benefit of an amp? Do some headphone require one? I have a Samson meteor mic and the main reason I want headphones (aside from quality) is that I can’t plug my x41s into the mic. The mic has an output that plays your voice back as well as working as a sound card. By using that I can play games late at night and have zero latency feedback so I don’t yell when the game is loud and I can’t hear myself talk with closed headphones.

I’m looking for closed headphones, although open would be great, my house gets super quiet and is full of light sleepers.

Now I was looking at the ath m50xs but I watched the Z reviews video and I realized that’s not what I’m looking for.

I’ve had my eye on these but I hear they need an amp. How would I go about using an amp and getting my feedback from my mic. Are all good amps using optical audio or do some use 3.5mm so I can just plug in my mic.

Tl;dr: My main questions are:

  • Do I even need an amp?
  • If so, does it need to be digital or are there good 3.5mm ones
  • What headphones should I get? Are the NVXs good? NVX Link

Mainly using for gaming, music, hip hop music production, and video editing.

1 point

·

7th Jul 2015

I’m looking for a new pair of headphones for my desktops. My budget is > $100. Only real requirement I have is closed ear. I like all kinds of music and will be using them for pretty much everything.

I think I’ve rounded it down to these two:
http://www.amazon.com/NVX-Over-Ear-Headphones-ComfortMax-Cushions/dp/B0093PVTPS
http://www.amazon.com/Creative-EF0060-Aurvana-Live-Headphones/dp/B000ZJZ7OA/

but additional recommendations and appreciated. Are the NVX’s worth the extra $38?

edit:
Friend told me these:
http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Technica-ATH-M50-Professional-Monitor-Headphones/dp/B000ULAP4U

were on sale for $100 earlier today. They look pretty great, would it be worth waiting around for to come on sale again?

1 point

·

11th Apr 2015

Reposting to get some more suggestions since the old thread is gone, currently looking at these headphones

Budget: Would like to keep it under $100, but 50-75 is better

Source: Desktop and Microsoft surface pro.

Isolation: Not a big need for it, mostly use at home.

Preferred type: Ones that go around the ears and don’t sit on them.

Preferred tonal balance: Not sure.

Past headphones: Ifrog orion Sound quality of these was good enough for me. I am not an audiophile or anything these were fine but they were uncomfortable, they sat on my ears and pushed them against the frame of my glasses making it kinda painful when used for a long time.

Preferred Music: Not much music, mostly movies/shows on netflix and things like that.

Also would like something pretty durable, not sure if the orion ones were just bad quality or if I am not careful with them but they are held together by tape at this point.

1 point

·

6th Apr 2015

The NVX-XPT100s come with a lot of praise and are only $99.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0093PVTPS

1 point

·

23rd Jan 2015

Hey everyone, I posted late yesterday but figured I might have more responses if I posted earlier today. Thanks for hearing me out again.

  • Location: France

  • Budget: “Entry Level” 75-150€

  • Source: Laptop & mp3 player (Zune)

  • Isolation: Closed, over-ear headphones.

I don’t intend to travel with these headphones, but I’d like to be able to wear them in a library without bothering others, and shut out the noise of a busy cafe, if possible.

  • Preferred Type of Headphone: Full-sized

  • Preferred tonal balance: I’m guessing Neutral.

My “Preferred Music” might suggest otherwise, I’m not sure. I understand the mechanics behind what dark/warm, V-shaped, and Neutral sound means, but I don’t know the differences in sound.

In my recent reading, I read that having it sound like the music is playing inside my head could be undesirable, but I’ve always enjoyed that effect (albeit with low-cost IEMs).

That said, I don’t even know what an “open soundstage” would sound like. If y’all think I should try something new… well, I am here for advice and I intend to hear ya out.

  • Past headphones: I’m a frequent buyer of 10-15€ IEM headphones.

  • Preferred Music: Pretty much everything. I don’t listen to much Metal or Pop music. I have a lot of tinny old Blues recordings, so detail clarity is important.

  • Other Info: I have high-frequency hearing loss in my left ear.

  • Options: From the excel doc, FAQ, and the Head-Fi guide, I found these:

NVX XPT100, KRK KNS6400, and Sennheiser HD280. /u/faustarpfun also suggested the Creative Aurvana Live! headphones (listed in the excel doc as “semi-open” which makes me wonder about its isolation effects). All of these, if I understand correctly, should help me to avoid an amp, for now.

Let me know if I’m heading in the right direction, or if I done messed up somehow. Again, thanks to the people who contribute to this subreddit!

1 point

·

11th Jan 2015

A cheaper alternative would be the NVX XPT100.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2015

First of all, the headphone buying FAQ and excel doc is wonderful. It encourages research before blindly posting, and I think that’s great. I want to thank this subreddit for the straight-forward help. Okay, on to my ‘requirements’ now.

  • Location: France

  • Budget: “Entry Level” 75-150€

  • Source: Laptop & mp3 player (Zune)

  • Isolation: Closed, over-ear headphones.

I don’t intend to travel with these headphones, but I’d like to be able to wear them in a library without bothering others, and shut out the noise of a busy cafe, if possible.

  • Preferred Type of Headphone: Full-sized

  • Preferred tonal balance: I’m guessing Neutral.

My “Preferred Music” might suggest otherwise, I’m not sure. I understand the mechanics behind what dark/warm, V-shaped, and Neutral sound means, but I don’t know the differences in sound.

In my recent reading, I read that having it sound like the music is playing inside my head could be undesirable, but I’ve always enjoyed that effect (albeit with low-cost IEMs).

That said, I don’t even know what an “open soundstage” would sound like. If y’all think I should try something new… well, I am here for advice and I intend to hear ya out.

  • Past headphones: I’m a frequent buyer of 10-15€ IEM headphones.

I’ve bought Phillips, Sony, Skullcandy, JVC and probably others. The last couple were Sony, I think. I like these because of they’re easy to travel with and they’re efficient in shutting out noise and not bothering others.

Also, they’re cheap to replace when I inevitably tear the cables. Headphones with a removable cable would be best… I’m a clumsy bastard.

  • Preferred Music: Pretty much everything. I don’t listen to much Metal or Pop music. I have a lot of tinny old Blues recordings, so detail clarity is important.

  • Options: From the excel doc, FAQ, and the Head-Fi guide, I found these: NVX XPT100, KRK KNS6400, and Sennheiser HD280. If I understood correctly, these choices should help me to avoid an amp, for now.

  • Other Info: I have high-frequency hearing loss in my left ear.

Let me know if I’m heading in the right direction, or if I done messed up somehow. Again, thanks to the people who contribute to this subreddit. It’s been an enlightening hour or so.

1 point

·

14th Jan 2015
  • Device: Sprint LG G2 (LS980)

  • ROM: Vanir Exodus [1/12 nightly] (Android Lollipop 5.0.2)

  • Kernel: RenderBroken’s RenderKernel R7

  • As for why I use a custom kernel in general on this device: The headphone output on the LG G2 is horribly low, and generally unusable on my headphones. Due to unexpected costs I could not afford to get a headphone amplifier, so the solution I found was to use Fauxsound to boost the analog headphone amplifier. Fauxsound requires kernel support so I’m trapped using a kernel with Fauxsound support for as long as I gave this device.

So why am I using the Render kernel specifically? To be honest, because it’s the only custom kernel available for the G2 running Lollipop. The only other custom kernel around is the Dorimanx kernel and that’s designed for KitKat AOSP and stock only.

But this kernel does have quite a few advantages over Dorimanx anyway. The entire kernel is controllable through Synapse, while Dorimanx splits its options through both Synapse and STweaks. Other than that, I just tweaked the default settings to put the max CPU back up to 2265Mhz, and overclock the GPU to a max of 650Mhz.

0 points

·

7th Mar 2016
0 points

·

23rd Oct 2015

So I’m looking at getting these (NVX XPT100s) and a ModMic since I use my PC both for gaming and recording/listening, since my recent microphone broke and my current pair are about on their last limbs. I’m worried that won’t be too much of an upgrade, but I’m also a bit strapped on cash since I also need to buy a ModMic.

Any experience/etc? Or a good headset that’ll work for both gaming and music recording/listening…? A built in microphone would be ideal but it isn’t mandatory.

0 points

·

14th Feb 2014

The right speaker in my Sennheiser 203 HD went out, so im in need of a new pair. I just want the 203 HD again, but higher quality. Closed ear so i can only hear the music. I primarily listen to many different genres of electronic music, but i dip into Every kind of genre on Spotify and Pandora so i would like it if the bass was comparable to the 203 HD’s at a minimum. My budget is 40-$150 USD and So far ive been recommeneed these. Thank you!

0 points

·

25th Nov 2013

I have the Brainwavz HM5 (closed) which sound amazing and are ridiculously comfortable for gaming. These are one of the many re-branded versions of them, although these are the only ones that come with angled pads (and are $30 less). Heck, if you wanted to, you could also get a decent amp and still be well under $200.