What is the opinion of Reddit about the
New Philips SHP9600 Wired, Over-Ear, Headphones, Comfort Fit, Open-Back 50 mm Neodymium Drivers (SHP9600/00) – Black?

A total of 29 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

14th Jun 2021

here

I also am from mexico and done a fair bit of research, those are best and one of the few in your budget. Only other option is to search for used headphones.

1 point

·

5th Oct 2021

Nice.

Okay that’s funny, I don’t know what’s up with the pricing either. I see the same thing.

For the shp9600, why do you think one of the reviews is about the 9500s being better. Do you think they have a valid pov?

https://www.amazon.ca/Philips-Audio-SHP9600-Headphones-00/dp/B08B477BHS/ref=sr\_1\_1?dchild=1&keywords=shp9600&qid=1633398109&s=electronics&sr=1-1&th=1

1 point

·

10th Jun 2021

Idk about the K240. I’d get the SHP9600 and run them directly from the MacBook or an Apple dongle.

As a rule of thumb, don’t spend on the dac/amp more than you spend on the headphones themselves. Headphones make the largest difference.

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS

1 point

·

11th Mar 2021

Perhaps a dumb question so apologies in advance. Does the new 3D audio work with any headset? Or is there a specific kind of headset I need to buy.

For PS4 I used a pair of Phillips here. They’re comfortable and have great sound. Just hoping they can utilize the 3D tech.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2021

If you want to eventually get a cheaper headphone to go with your new headphones, you could consider the Philips SHP9600 when the price is under $100 USD. I own this headphone and it is pretty good for watching videos, playing games, and listening to most kinds of music.

It is a warm sounding headphone, the bass is good for an open back but it won’t blow away your requirements, mids are decent, and highs are dampened a bit to reduce the grain and sharpness of the old SHP9500. Detail is alright, it’s enough to pick out some small sounds I haven’t heard before with my gaming headsets.

Comfort is stellar in my opinion. I can wear this thing for very long periods of time without any specific pressure points even when wearing glasses. It is very clampy out of the box though, so it takes about 4 months for it to loosen up. Only minor annoyance is that the pads can get rather warm after 6 hours, and will suck up some sweat, but I’m sure they can be cleaned.

Soundstage and imaging is also good. It’s not as wide as an HD800S or a TYGR300R, but it is enough to provide some nice separation that helps it do its job.

This headphone won’t be an upgrade over the options you currently have. But if all you want is comfort and a comfortable sound (not saying any of those other headphones are fatiguing), the SHP9600 will be good for the occasional times when you just want to relax.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

not the person you replied to, just rudely butting in (sorry /u/I_likealotoftaffy)

SHP9500 have very open sound stage and little to no low end. Some say they have harsh highs but I was never part of that camp. The X2 have low end and in comparison to the SHP9500 they do sound a bit more closed. They’re not anywhere near the level of closed that the M40 or M50X are, though.

I put on my SHP9500 sometimes just to get a different sound, but my X2 have been my go-to since I bought them. Pretty much for everything but mostly music and gaming I suppose. I got them when they dropped from ~$250 to $169 because I figured they’d never go any cheaper. Been super happy with them.

I got my M50X for free, minus the cost of new pads. I can’t remember the last time I put them on, they’re not great headphones. I don’t know how the M40X compare but if they’re anything like the M50X then they’re definitely an upgrade to them.

Maybe look into the SHP9*6*00. They sound sort of like if the X2 and SHP9500 had a baby. They’re also on sale.

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS

4 points

·

21st Jun 2021

These have been on sale on every occasion every year for the past 4 years lol. If you’re looking for a better pair of headphones at the price point, there are now better options on sale right now such as the SHP9600, SHP9500, or X2HR.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2022

Okay so I’m on mobile so excuse the formatting. I got this idea from wanting to get my first “real” experience in the audiophile but didn’t want to blow my measly minimum wage income on mid tier or high end audiophile gear.

After switching from gaming headset to a standalone mic, I felt I should improve my set up with better headphones. The guide lines for my search were:
– Must be open backed as I liked hearing myself without a terrible mic monitoring
– comfort beats all, so thicc velour earpads are prefered

REVIEWS

Starting with the Philips SHP9600, I these seemed to have it all for me based on reviews so I decided fuck it, and bought them. Immediately upon use, the earpads weren’t terrible but definitely could be better and I purchased Brainwavez Velour Pads. It took some modding getting them on but man These make the shp9600 top tier comfortable.

So the sound? Meh. Just meh out the box. It was okay but it felt dry. Thats the best way to describe it. Now here comes the Fosi K4 mini dac. Bought it for $50, but its now discontinued from what I can tell. Here is the new Q4 DAC for those interested. This dac interested me for 2 reasons: price and eq knobs. This dac is made the SHP9600 ABSOLUTELY GOD TIER. I was incredibly impressed with how much it changed up the sound quality with. It made them wayyyy more detailed and overall super clear. The sound stage is like nothing I expected and blew me out of the water. For just around $150, this set up was amazing.

Now onto the Sennheiser HD559. I previously had the HD560S and never got to listen to them. When I got the 560s, I immediately returned them as I felt they were crushing my head with the clamping force and the little bump on the inside was touching my ear. Just overall uncomfortable to the point it wasn’t worth breaking them in. So now because of all that, I was skeptical about the 559 being very similar size and footprint. Luckily it has none of those issues!

Cool they’re decently comfortable, but how about sound? Also terrible. Just bad. Very very bad out of the box. I don’t if its actually bad or I was spoiled with the shp9600 dac combo. Come to find out about the foam mod you can do to these bad boys and thought “shit, what do I have to loose?”. After doing the foam mod these sound phenomenally better. Like much much better. But still something is off.

TL:DR / FINAL COMPARISON

Once the 559 is modded and both are using a dac with eq knobs, these can sound very similar. My overall preference is the shp9600 for the much wider sound stage as the hd559 is just very narrow, but still fine for gaming and such. I feel like modding the backs to make them more open with like a nice metal mesh grill giving them a hd6XX look would make them sound spectacular because even after the foam mod its still pretty closed off and narrow. But over all both are really great for the price. But definitely a preference for the shp9600 for gaming and desktop music listening, the HD 559 is great for mobile listening and walking around as I feel the shp9600 absolutely rely on the dac with EQ to be good audio quality. Think of it as 2 different computer monitors or TV’s with the same image on screen. The shp9600 is definitely a wide screen more color heavy and saturated image, while the 559 is a very natural color with a clean 4k image.

2nd TL:DR
Shp9600 relies on the dac and eq to be good, but with it, its a amazing. HD559 is good but requires foam mod. Without foam mod its just bad.

Shp9600 Stock: 6/10
Shp9600 with DAC with EQ and aftermarket earpads: 10/10

HD559 stock: 4/10
HD559 with Dac and foam mod: 9/10

Thank you for coming to my TED Talk, feel free to ask any questions about either the headphones or dac.

1 point

·

24th Jan 2022

The SHP 9500’s successor, the SHP 9600, has more bass and a more snug fit. It’s $85 at Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS/ref=sr\_1\_3?keywords=shp+9600&qid=1643045219&sr=8-3

1 point

·

13th Dec 2021

The SHP9600 is a great jumping off point to move into a good budget open-back.

As another option, there’s also a [used-like new] pair of the Fidelio L2 available for $70 if you’re comfortable with that.

Pair either of them with the VModa BoomPro microphone and you’re all set.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2021

Philips SHP9600
can’t thing of anything else at that price range!

1 point

·

7th Dec 2021

Oh. So you’re saying these listings are fake? Or are you maybe just unaware that there have been upgrades?

Trust me, I love my 9500 and X2HR. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t tempted. But I always find myself asking: How can they get any better, when they’re already 10/10 ( in my personal preference/use case ).

SHP9600

Phillips Fidelio X3

1 point

·

13th Nov 2021

SHP9600 for $85. Better bass response then SHP9500. I would strongly recommend it for someone who is into EDM

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS/

Meizu Master Hifi dongle if you find you need a dac/amp

https://www.amazon.com/Meizu-MasterHIFI-Converter-Headphone-Amplifier/dp/B08H89VZKQ/

1 point

·

29th Oct 2021

Get the SHP 9600 instead. They are much cheaper for you, and arguably better

https://www.amazon.it/Philips-SHP9600-over-ear-vestibilit%C3%A0-neodimio/dp/B08B477BHS/

1 point

·

14th Sep 2021

SHP9500/9600 are super comfortable. No clamp at all. And very light weight too. At the very least, sound much better than what you were using.

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS/

1 point

·

18th Apr 2021

I think the SHP9600 or Fidelio L2 are your two best bets.

If you happen to spot a pair of Sivga SV007 somewhere in stock and under a hundred, those too are a solid choice.

1 point

·

9th Apr 2021

Some suggestions I have are Philips shp9600, these are pretty solid open back headphones that are very comfortable and versatile for the price, Takstar Pro 82, these are great especially for comfort and feature a built-in bass slider, and some mentions go to audio technica m40x and the akg361, though I have no experience with the last two but they are praised by many in the audiophile community. The thing with gaming headsets like the kraken is that they’re designed with comfort and design first and foremost. Though there’s nothing wrong with that at face value, it’s often paired with lackluster sound quality that tries not to be too intrusive. With my first two suggestions, I think you’ll notice more clarity in other areas of music that you previously haven’t. But be careful, this rabbit hole is deep and expensive. If you’re in a tight spot and can’t move past your budget, there are plenty of sub $100 options out there. Ignorance is bliss, and that phrase applies double to the audio world.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2021

Deal link: Amazon


Category-wise subreddits for Amazon Deals:

Is your reddit feed getting flooded with deals for products you are not interested in? Below are our category-wise subreddits where I crosspost from the main sub.

CategorySubreddit
Electronics/r/Deals_Electronics
Computers and Accessories/r/Deals_Computers
Video Games/r/Deals_VideoGames
Home Improvement/r/Deals_HomeImprovement
Clothing and Accessories/r/Deals_Apparel
Grocery/r/Deals_Grocery

Discord Server: Instant deal notifications on our Discord Server!

Amazon Canada Deals: /r/OnlineDealsCanada

Disclaimer: The deal links are affiliated. We may earn a small share on qualifying purchases. It does not affect the deal price in any way.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2021

Philips 9600

Could get some Grados, but they’re tuned more sparkly

1 point

·

7th Dec 2020

If you want something that’s easily compatible with the BoomPro, here are the basic options off the top of my head:

Semi open:

All of these have more clamp, at least to one degree or another, than the 9500.

If you’re looking to experiment, you can always hold your 9500/BoomPro in reserve for when you need voip, and see what else is out there.

1 point

·

15th Nov 2020

Yeah they still sell them, but they have an upgraded model on the market now that fixed most of the shortcomings of the original.

https://www.amazon.com/Philips-SHP9600-Headphones-Open-Back-00/dp/B08B477BHS/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=SHP9600&qid=1605418780&sr=8-3

1 point

·

9th Nov 2020

If you are interested in using them for some gaming and would like to continue using your BoomPro, here is a short list of compatible headphones –

Open back:

Semi open:

I either own or have at least tried most of these, so if you have questions feel free to ask.