What is the opinion of Reddit about the
NEUMI BS5P 75-Watt Powered Bookshelf Speakers, Bluetooth, Optical, Coaxial, Remote Control, 5-Inch Woofer, 1-Inch Tweeter, Dark Wood, 1 Pair?

A total of 35 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

13th Mar 2022

It doesn’t matter if you select Dolby Digital Plus, the TV is just going to internally convert to stereo because it only has 2 speakers.

TV speakers are such poor quality, I would recommend literally any upgrade. Even some $160 powered bookshelf speakers will be a huge improvement.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

1 point

·

28th Dec 2021

Neumi BS5P are supposed to be very good and tick all the boxes as far as your requirements are concerned.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2021

Music producer for US$100 budget? Save some money instead of eating at restaurants and parties, and get speakers that allow you to do your job…at least with some form of accuracy.

How can a plumber fix the faucet without the right tools? Use his hands?

I agree, you can’t get a good studio monitor for US$100.

Cheapest active desktop speaker I can recommend is Neumi BS5P (US$130/pair).

Nothing worthwhile until you get to US$350/pair, like JBL 305p MKII.

But I would actually point you to Kali LP-6v2 for US$400/pair as an improvement over the 305P’s, since it’s more accurate (more neutral).

1 point

·

25th Nov 2021

These are your best option if you absolutely cannot stretch the budget.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

There are quite good actually for the price. You may need to update them to the latest firmware to get the most accurate response. They have simple active crossovers and been tuned over time by the manufacturer, so the latest EQ settings offer the most accurate sound.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2021

Do you recommend another budget record player that has that? Like you said i can post this later on after i figure out speakers too.

Shoot, sorry not sure how i missed that. It is 801, NOT pm.

So Jamo 801PM is $149. Edifier 1280DB is $100. Neumi is $129 IF this is the correct one:

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

What is the benefit of the Jamo and Neumi ones over the Edifier one? Is it just sound quality? I will say i love the look of Edifier, followed by Jamo, and then Neumi.

1 point

·

10th Jun 2021

Thank you! Are they these same speakers?

Would these still be your recommendation if I raised my budget to $250? I’ve decided I have a bit more room in my budget for how frequently I’d use them. There don’t seem to be any posts on reddit about Neumi at all

2 points

·

15th Jun 2021

What do you play music from?

If you want to play from multiple sources (vinyl, CD, PC) then you will probably want a traditional speakers-and-amp setup so you can easily adjust source and volume. For just one source, you could skip the amp and get a pair of powered speakers. Unless you are already an audiophile or musician, you may not even need to spend $300 for something that sounds “really good”. Here are a few options:

1 point

·

8th Feb 2022

Very fair. I’m definitely going to upgrade to better equipment over time. Right now I’m trying to stick with a $500 total limit to my spending if I can, but I know that I’m sacrificing some sound quality.

One way to get the total price tag down would be to buy the following:

1) Orbit U-Turn with built in preamp ($270)

2) NEUMI BS5P powered speakers ($160)(https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9)

That’d be $430 total and, I think, would include all necessities. Every other option I’m looking at right now would be between $550 and $650.

The major downside to this of course is that I can’t upgrade individual components of the setup, which I could do if I was buying passive speakers, an amp, a pre-amp, etc. I’m really trying to decide how much I can splurge on this right now. I’m so excited to start building a record collection, and I really want a high quality sound, but I know these cost money.

1 point

·

4th Feb 2022

small speakers small sound

You want these Neumi

1 point

·

9th Jan 2022

The soundbar fits under your TV if that is all the room you have. A pair of wider spaced speakers will give you stereo separation and can be used with both the turntable and the TV.

The Samsung soundbar seems to lack an analog audio input and only has a single digital optical input and Bluetooth so you would need to convert the turntable audio to digital in order to connect through Bluetooth or the digital optical input plus a digital optical switch if it will also be connected to a TV.

Also Why you shouldn’t buy a soundbar, with actual justification however that is from r/hometheater where the budget is larger than $100.

AT-LP3 was a $200 purchase? Consider spending just as much or more on speakers as on the turntable or buy used for half the cost for the best value. What is a Craigslist or nearby zip code to search for used options?

4″ Edifier R1280*<em>DB</em>* $99 adds digital optical input for your TV and Bluetooth over the T version without.

Larger 5″ Neumi BS5P $159 also have analog input for the turntable, Bluetooth and digital optical input.

Or stereo or AV receivers and passive speakers starting at $119 and $65.

Setup Guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Placement, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

7th Jan 2022

AT-LP60X to Eris 3.5 works. The Eris are small 3.5″ speakers often used for a desk or small studio setup.

Larger powered speaker options:

Larger passive speakers and a mini amp: For any size room. Then each part can later be upgraded one at a time. 6.5″ Dayton Audio B652 AIR $65 with included speaker wire powered by a Pyle BDA20BT $47 mini amp with Bluetooth or a lower cost Moukey MAMP2 $29 mini amp with Bluetooth.

Setup Guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Placement, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

6th Jan 2022

You could connect a Bluetooth transmitter to most any turntable with a built in or external phono stage preamp.

Better and better value turntables with Bluetooth than the Sony and T1:

Unless you must have fully automatic which the Sony is.

The Pro-ject T1 like the Sony lacks user adjustable anti-skate and has high wow and flutter for a $300+ turntable.

Consider passing on overpriced Bose speakers.

You could get a pair of Bluetooth speakers for both the TV and the turntable.

Or even better for a turntable and TV is an AV receiver with 4K HDMI and Bluetooth and many have multi room WiFi streaming. Then start with 2, 3, or 5 passive speakers. 2 for stereo music and TV or more than 2 for TV surround sound.

Passive speakers on sale:

Or floor standing towers, then you don’t need to buy or build speaker stands:

Or 5 speakers for the AV Receiver:

Plus speaker wire, Pure Copper 16 AWG or thicker 14 AWG. Then How to Install Speaker Wire and How To Strip Speaker Wire.

Setup Guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Placement, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

28th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
NEUMI BS5P 75-Watt Powered Bookshelf Speakers, Bl…$159.99$159.994.3/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2021
1 point

·

6th Dec 2021

> My budget is <$150 for the turntable, <$120 for the speaker (would like two if possible but I’m aware this budget is super tight) and then it looks like I need an amp or something?

Buying one speaker is not a thing. If you want to enjoy music with anything approaching decent quality you need two speakers, to listen in stereo (the way all music since the 1960s has been intended to be played).

For $270ish total (assuming that’s USD), get these:

https://www.walmart.com/ip/Crosley-C6-Bluetooth-Turntable-Black/646319039

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

The turntable is much better than the LP60X because it has an adjustable counterweight and a standard cartridge mount, which are two things that separate real turntables from toy turntables. It comes with a built in phono preamp so no need for a separate one.

And the speakers are self-powered, meaning they don’t require a separate speaker amplifier.

1 point

·

5th Dec 2021

You’re not playing music or movies, which is where the bass is. Human’s voice is in the mid-range, which any bookshelf speaker will play. A subwoofer is completely unnecessary in a classroom.

Neumi BS5P for US$130/pair is the cheapest bookshelf speakers that I recommend (after looking at all budget options) that will be MILES ahead of the built-in speakers in your Viewsonic. According to the website, it has 3.5mm audio out (which you can use a 3.5mm aux cable to dual RCA cable connecting to the Neumi). Alternatively, you can use the SPDIF AUDIO OUT (from your TV) as well.

You can see a full review of them here. I suggest you stuff the ports as recommended in the link. The limitation of this 2-way traditional bookshelf speaker’s design is the very narrow horizontal directivity. This means that if you go off axis from the tweeter vertically, the sound changes drastically. To get the best sound, you need make sure that the students all sit above the tweeter’s plane of reference, from 0 degrees on axis, to a maximum of 30 degrees above the tweeter vertically. In other words, make sure the line of sight is within 0 to 30 degrees above the tweeter, to get the best sound.

I haven’t tried running a splitter cable to 2 sets of bookshelf speakers, so I can’t comment on it’s effectiveness. Clever solution to get multiple speakers all playing the same sound, if it works well.

A huge step up from these will be the Kali In-5 studio monitors for US$700/pair. That’s because this is a 3-way coaxial bookshelf speaker, which means it has perfect horizontal and vertical directivity. In other words, it doesn’t matter where the students are in relation to the tweeter, all will hear the best possible sound. What i mean is, students can be +-50 degrees horizontally and +-50 degrees vertically to the tweeter and will hear the same sound. This makes this speaker ideal for a large audience, where they’re sitting in various horizontal and vertical planes.

I hope that makes sense. Please ask if you have questions.

1 point

·

4th Dec 2021

Try to avoid the ambient light during movies, especially if you go for a projector.

The TK700 is a “gaming” projector which aims for maximum brightness and minimum input lag. BenQ does this by using a 4 segment RGBW colour wheel, so the colour performance will be a bit worse than the HT3550, which uses a 6 segment RGBRGB wheel.

Screen choice is fine. Anything around 1.0 gain is good, I wouldn’t go higher than 1.2 as it can lead to hot spotting (noticeable bright spots).

Best cheap active bookshelf speakers are these, at least with the updated firmware.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

https://www.erinsaudiocorner.com/loudspeakers/neumi_bs5p_take2/

You can’t use active speakers with most AV receivers, so I wouldn’t invest more. (Active speakers require RCA pre-outs, the cheapest receiver which has them is $500)

Another option is see what you can find locally in terms of used AV receivers for $50-100. Even ones from the pre-HDMI era are perfectly usable for entry level home theatre, you can hook up a lossy 5.1 signal via optical cable. In which case you can get the passive version of those Neumi speakers.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YZDS9LF

1 point

·

25th Nov 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
NEUMI BS5P 75-Watt Powered Bookshelf Speakers, Bl…$129.99$129.994.6/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

6th Nov 2021

Have a look at the NEUMI BS5P (Amazon.com), Fluance Ai41 (Amazon.com) or Fluance Ai61 (Amazon.com). For a straight forward 2.0 setup any of these will be an upgrade from the TV audio. The Fluance’s have more powerful amps and subwoofer pre-outs with built low-pass crossovers should you want to go 2.1.

1 point

·

6th Nov 2021

I would suggest the NEUMI BS5P over the R1280DB and yes there will be a significant different versus the built in speakers.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2021

Get the NEUMI BS5P powered bookshelf speakers.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2021

The only powered speakers I’m aware of with HDMI are Klipsch’s The Fives and at $700 they are way overpriced.

Optical has no device control protocol so you’d have to use a separate remote to control the volume for any speakers connected by optical.

Another option would be to connect via the headphone jack (3.5mm to RCA cable). The headphone jack on most TV’s is a variable level output which means you could control the volume with your TV remote. You just set the speakers to about 3/4 and then adjust the volume via the headphone output.

Decent 2.0: NEUMI BS5P

Step Up 2.0: Fluance ai61

1 point

·

30th Sep 2021
1 point

·

20th Sep 2021

Not worth reusing those speakers. The quality is so low that any amplifier you hook up to them will be worth 10x what the speakers are.

Your best bet is a cheap pair of powered bookshelf speakers. Neumi BS5P are a bargain, if you update the firmware and plug the ports. If you add a cheap subwoofer you will be able to fill a medium sized room.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

https://www.erinsaudiocorner.com/loudspeakers/neumi_bs5p_take2/

https://www.parts-express.com/Dayton-Audio-SUB-1200-12-120-Watt-Powered-Subwoofer-300-629

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2021

If you want powered speakers, 4″ for a small room, Jamo S 801 PM ~~$299~~ $149 on sale with Bluetooth.

Larger 5″ Neumi BS5P $129 may not be any better.

1 point

·

18th Aug 2021

pretty low budget to get anything both budget and audiophile.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

probably closest to $100 and decent. Try plugging the ports to improve sound

1 point

·

12th Aug 2021

If you must have studio monitors then PreSonos Eris 4.5 are supposedly better than Mackie CR5.

Or get a stereo receiver Yamaha R-S202 ~~$149~~ $119 with Bluetooth and 5.25″ Jamo S 803 ~~$229~~ $109 speakers. Then you can later upgrade one part at a time.

Or if you must start with inexpensive entry level powered speakers, NEUMI BS5P $129 and upgrade to an analog stereo receiver and passive speakers later.

Instead of the hollow plastic AT-LP120X, a turntable with a solid MDF plinth:

  • Fluance RT82 $299 has auto stop and then the new optical sensor speed controlled servo motor for low wow and flutter and speed variation. Pass on the older RT80 and RT81 that lack the new speed sensor. Pass on the RT83 since the cartridge is not any better.
  • Audio-Technica AT-LPW40WN $299 has the same speed sensor motor as the RT82, adds a basic built in phono stage preamp, but does not have auto stop.
  • Crosley C10 $291 is designed by Pro-ject, see the Pro-ject tonearm on it, and is basically an Essential III for lower cost.

Setup guide: Turntable, Phono Preamp, Amp or Receiver, Speakers

Audio Guides, Speaker Wire, Accessories and Vinyl Care

1 point

·

11th Aug 2021

If you really don’t want a receiver, you could start with powered speakers:

For a small room 4″ Jamo S 801 PM ~~$299~~ $149 are a better option than Edifiers.

Or larger 5″ NEUMI BS5P $129 as another low cost starter option.

1 point

·

13th Jun 2021

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

are probably the best cheap powered with some type of low end.

If you really want bass and decent mids/highs…Here is one idea

Aimiya A04 amp, Micca MB42x speakers and Monoprice 12″, 150 subwoofer. Thats about 225 or so

1 point

·

4th Jun 2021

It will make sound, and that is about the only positive comment I have.

You would be far better off with a pair of Neumi BS5P, updating the firmware, and stuffing the ports.

https://www.amazon.com/75-Watt-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers-Bluetooth/dp/B08LV4SMH9

https://www.erinsaudiocorner.com/loudspeakers/neumi_bs5p_take2/

This isn’t really applicable to home theatre though. Most people here are running an AV receiver and at least 1 subwoofer as well.

1 point

·

15th Apr 2021

If you can go up to $200, buy these two things:

An elliptical stylus upgrade (this will give you better sound and also slow down the wear on your records).

Neumi BS5P speakers

Or, if you want the option to add a subwoofer at a later date, change the Neumis out for these: Edifier R1700BTs speakers