What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Monoprice – 116150 Modern Retro Over Ear Headphones with Ultra-Comfortable Ear Pads Perfect for Mobile Devices, HiFi, and Audio/Video Production Black?

A total of 21 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

9th Aug 2018

I do not since I’m not involved with either Monoprice or Amazon, which frees me to claim it’s because Amazon listings are very often complete junk. Just the title alone – Monoprice Ultra-Comfortable Modern Retro Over Ear Headphones – Black with 50mm drivers for Studio PC Apple Iphone iPod Android Smartphone Samsung Galaxy Tablets MP3 – gives all the clue one needs.

Not all vendors have all relevant details of all their products on a useful web site, but Monoprice does a good job. Just don’t bother navigating with the menu or searching for non-specific terms.

1 point

·

16th Jan 2022

Monoprice 116150 Ultra-Comfortable Modern Retro Over Ear Headphones – Black with 50mm Drivers for Studio PC Apple iPhone iPod Android Smartphone Samsung Galaxy Tablets MP3 https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_PGBSSCX5NZJ4QM58XC24 is the monoprice retro these? The koss are not available in Canada.

1 point

·

14th Jan 2022

Here you go Monoprice – 116150 Modern Retro Over Ear Headphones with Ultra-Comfortable Ear Pads Perfect for Mobile Devices, HiFi, and Audio/Video Production Black https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_Y5Q5WP1EDVJJEE05CEP0?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

19th Apr 2021

Budget – $80 but flexible

Source – Fiio X1, LG G8x, PS4 controller, and PC.

Requirements for Isolation – I stay at home and listen to music or play games a lot at night, or while my girlfriend watches TV, so I’d need some decent isolation.

Will you be using these Headphones in Public? Possibly, but not very often.

Preferred Type of Headphone – Over ear

Preferred tonal balance – I don’t really know too much about this but I like some bass but not super heavy.

Past headphones – I’m currently using some of these Monoprice Over Ear headphones but they aren’t the greatest. I miss my ATH-M30x’s. I didn’t get much of a chance to listen to them as they were stolen when I had them in 2016, so I can’t really say much other than I enjoyed them.

Preferred Music – Wide range. I listen to Dirty Heads, Tech N9ne, Slipknot, Marilyn Manson, Hollywood Undead, but also Epic Rap Battles of History and similar stuff. I also listen to quite a few audiobooks, so I’m not sure how that changes things.

What would you like to improve on from your set-up – Just better quality headphones that aren’t way over my budget.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2021

You should be depending on your headphones/speakers to give you good bass not your OS. Your OS should simply be sending the 1’s and 0’s of your media to your DAC and not fucking with anything.

If you want good bass for cheap get monoprice retro headphones for $26. They’re bass cannons that actually sound decent in the mids and highs as well.

3 points

·

6th Mar 2018

I’ve been waiting for these headphones to come back in stock for around 2.5 months and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Amazon (Shipped and sold by Amazon) is still backordered 1-2 months.

EDIT: Monoprice just added their own listing on Amazon for $29.99 + Free Shipping

If anyone is interested in these, it’s recommended to upgrade to the Brainwavz XL pads.

As it just so happens those pads, are on sale as a lightning deal on Amazon atm

2 points

·

15th Aug 2018

I’d suggest Monoprice Retros with A separate modmic attachment. (Smile amazon links).

1 point

·

29th Dec 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Monoprice – 116150 Modern Retro Over Ear Headphon…$43.27$-4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

29th Dec 2021

Maybe the Monoprice Retro? It’s not noise cancelling but it’s closed back so should have some noise isolation at least.

1 point

·

5th Jun 2019

> Monoprice 8323

i tried out a ton of different closed back headphones and these landed on budget, comfort, great sound.

https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Ultra-Comfortable-Modern-Retro-Headphones/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=sr_1_2?keywords=monoprice+retro&qid=1559768865&s=gateway&sr=8-2

its $30 bucks on amazon and brainwavz xl are $30

https://www.amazon.com/BRAINWAVZ-Large-Replacement-Memory-Earpads/dp/B076SGPZ2D/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?keywords=brainwavz+xl&qid=1559768917&s=gateway&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1

for $60 bucks TOTAL, you really should both looking for anything else.

Even the awesome comfy/fun Takstar 82 are $80 bucks or DT770 which are great are like $100.

can’t argue with great sound/great deal.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020

If you don’t mind in earphone, check out raycon great qaulity, wireless, with built in mic, and average about $60.

Otherwise checkout (( Monoprice Modern Retro Over Ear Headphones with Ultra-Comfortable Ear Pads Perfect for Mobile Devices, HiFi, and Audio/Video Production https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_6.nwFbVRVFS0R )) for around $30 and I would recommend getting getting ear pads for it which will set you at $55.

And for a mic you can get a modmic that clips on the headphones (Antlion Audio ModMic Uni Attachable Noise-Cancelling Microphone with Mute Switch Compatible with Mac, Windows PC, Playstation 4, Xbox One, and More https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YN25KWN/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_DcowFbXRWVYV8 ) ~$50

1 point

·

9th Feb 2020

They appear to be on Amazon UK at a pretty good price.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2019

The Monoprice retros should fit the bill. I normally wouldnt recommend them without these replacement pads because theyre pretty uncomfortable without them, but i think its the best over ear for the budget.

1 point

·

3rd Nov 2019

Monoprice retros with these monster pads. Most comfortable headphone ive worn while also sounding great if you dont hate bass.

1 point

·

21st Nov 2019

You can try getting a directional shotgun mic, but when using speakers you’re always going to broadcast your game sounds to everyone else. It’s basically unavoidable.

Why would using headphones be a compromise? You can get some stupid good headsets for not a lot of money these days, same goes for dac/amps. I’m using the Monoprice Modern Retro headphones (replaced the pads with Brainwavz XL) through a Fosi Audio Q4 dac/amp and it’s a killer combo. The Modern Retros hit way way way above their weight class in terms of price, if they sold for 4x as much they’d still be a good deal. If you want open back look at something like the Audio-Technica ATH-AD500X (or the 700X or the 1000X depending on budget), but open backs may leak a lot of sound too depending on your listening volume.

There’s a reason why headphones/headsets are commonly used when gaming and voice is involved. There’s really no way around blasting people with your speakers every time you talk (and heaven forbid if you use open mic).

1 point

·

28th Oct 2019

I think the monoprice retros with good pads are too cheap not to try. They have much more bass and width than the 58x. The 12 foot attached cable might be a dealbreaker, but they sound great and are alot more comfortable than the 58x imo.

I think they compliment each other pretty well

1 point

·

19th Oct 2019

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_vkRQDbZ6QA0A2

I’ve got through 3 pairs of these, but only because I lost one and the other was destroyed by my cousin :|. They’re super great though, paints a soundscape for sure.

1 point

·

15th Sep 2019

If you’re looking for a cheap option for long gaming sessions, the monoprice retros are great with this little clip on mic. Personally, the Ricardos start to become uncomfortable after about 3 hours, but with comfy pads the retros will never bother me.

The microphone sounds really good for the price but you might have to play around with sensitivity or push to talk.

1 point

·

14th Jun 2018

I have no experience on the Tascam headphone, so i can’t say much about it..
This is the Monoprice Retro Amazon link

0 points

·

7th Oct 2019

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01M7Z0VKR/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Nb4MDb9XPS379

Don’t know if the cable is 10ft but it’s a long cables and you can always use a headphone extension cable.