What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers, 30-Watt RMS Power, Active Near Field Studio Monitors, 2-Way (Black, Pair)?

A total of 243 reviews of this product on Reddit.

4 points

·

22nd Sep 2016

They’re terrible and that guy is an incompetent profiteer who earns money with amazon affiliate links. I can’t tell you how many people come here with issues caused by his plain wrong guides, or unsatisfied with their purchase he recommended.

Low end Klipsch speakers sound like a megaphone as soon as you turn up the volume a little.

Our entry level recommendations are in the sticky. For the same price you can get a pair of Micca PB42Xs that are much better.

2 points

·

9th Mar 2021

These speakers are Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers. I got them at the link provided.

I usually use Spotify from my laptop, set at “High Quality”. This pairing sounds pretty great to me.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021

Just a heads up OP, these speakers are only $119 new.

Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers with 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Pair) https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_R58Z08BMW814CYW74KS7

If you lower your price I’m interested.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2020

Hi guys, I just bought a Micca PB42X

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NXAEPDC/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&th=1

and there seems to be an ambient high pitched squealing sound whenever it’s powered on. Do I need to change the wires? Or is this due to it being self powered?

1 point

·

8th Nov 2020

I guess it depends on what you are using the speakers for but bookshelf speakers should generally be much better than a soundbar. These look nice and are well under your budget.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2020

I’m going to throw my 2 cents in here. (having owned A2+s and some more $$ Yamaha studio monitors)

These sound amazing – and for the price, I don’t see the point in buying anything else ever again… https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NXAEPDC/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

10th Oct 2020

Went for the JDS and I love it! Exactly the setup I needed. I like the fact it has the switch and the rca output, like you mentioned, but I just want to check one thing before I try this… Can I plug my powered Micca PB42x speakers into that output? I just want to make sure I can use the switch and seamlessly listen through those without damaging them, instead of having to unplug my turntable from the headphone amp and into my speakers every time. Thanks!

1 point

·

29th Aug 2020

I have the recommended PB42X speakers attached to my computer using ther recommended 3.5 mm to RCA cable. However, my audio will randomly cut out on the right side. A small wire wiggle right behind the RCA inputs usually fixes it, but it’s finicky.

When I was researching the issue, I found that it may be a short on the speaker inputs and switching the RCA inputs might help. The result of which was the audio randomly going out on the left side (and the audio being flipped).

This all leads me to believe it may be an issue with the cable of some sort. Before I buy a new cable, could this be caused by anything else?

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

You probably need powered monitors unless you’re also adding an integrated amp or receiver. Micca PB42X is my go to for powered monitors in the $100-150 range. If you want to go lower than that others may chime in with options.

Micca PB42x

1 point

·

11th Aug 2020

Micca PB42x

The powered Miccas are slightly over budget at $120 but are probably worth the stretch. I bought a pair for my brother and he loves them.

1 point

·

12th Aug 2020

So you paid $80 or more for a Bose Soundlink Micro, and you expect to pay $40 to get speakers that can fill up your whole room with sound??? Hope you don’t have sound quality expectations.

My recommendation is a little over your budget and you have to get over your Amazon aversion

Micca PB42X

https://www.amazon.com/Altavoces-estanter%C3%ADa-parlante-altavoces-PB42X/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

1 point

·

15th Oct 2019

Want to get a budget subwoofer

I just got this sub’s recommended budget speaker (Micca PB42X) and I’m looking to get a cheap subwoofer with it. I’m into bass EDM and loud low-end sound is very important. (I care more about loudness over quality) I’m looking to spend under $100. What would you recommend to go with it?

1 point

·

4th Sep 2019

What are you powering the Micca MB42X with? Or do you have the powered/active PB42X?

Note that I tore out and replaced the amp with the U-Turn Pluto. That’s a PHONO PREamp.

1 point

·

6th May 2019

Good to hear – a hearing aid will be a better place to put money than better speakers, particularly if you can convince him to consistently wear the thing and keep its calibration updated. FWIW if you’re a member, Costco has decent rates for this sort of thing.

However, built-in computer monitor speakers are…typically pretty bad, and for at least one of /u/transam617’s recs not present. You might want to consider something like a Micca PB42X or a similar $100~ powered pair of bookshelf monitors – they’ll get louder and sound better than the monitor speakers. I wouldn’t necessarily put them before a hearing aid, though, if it’s a tossup between the two 😛

1 point

·

7th May 2019

Fix your second long amazon link to remove possible affiliate links.

Corrected: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

Your post has been removed after it was reviewed by a moderator.

Something was wrong with your post so we decided to remove it.

This could be something technical, like linking to a dead link or a mistake we noticed like a double post.

Feel free to contact the mods about the details as to why we got to this conclusion and to ask what you can change/improve to get it approved for this subreddit.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2018

> For the Micca setups, you’ll need this to connect directly to a computer:
3.5mm TRS to RCA – use this for connecting (either of) the Micca alternatives directly to a computer.

I’m not sure this is totally correct, it appears the PB42X’s have a 3.5mm input jack also, based on the images on the Amazon ad.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2018

Each RGB brand has their own software. It’s not a big deal if they’re different brands. If they’re the same brand, it’s kinda cool to be able to control it all through one program. But these are probably the best gaming speakers with RGB. It’s a good choice.

So the other thing is, do you think he would care that these are made for gaming? Is he really into music? He might like speakers like these instead if so:

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

1 point

·

30th Aug 2018

Hi,

I realy want to go for the Micca PB42X set up as pc speakers cuz its around the budget i want to spend but i can’t find a way to get these in belgium :c any help wil be very much apreciated!

1 point

·

4th Feb 2018
1 point

·

18th Dec 2017

And of course if she doesn’t want to deal with an amp she could get the Micca PB42x powered speakers for around $110. Depending on the TV outputs her husband should be able to plug them directly into the TV.

>Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers With 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_C59nAb0HEQ83G

1 point

·

9th Nov 2017

OR, you could get the Micca PB42X which are those Micca speakers with an amp built in which are right on budget at $100. If you’re just going to stick with a 2.0 those are perfect. The MB42X is arguably the best value budget speaker you can get.

1 point

·

12th Nov 2017

I recently purchased my AT-LP 120 and it’ll be coming in on Tuesday. I just was wondering what speakers would you reccomend me to buy to go with it? I would prefer to get active speakers and I’m honestly thinking of getting these https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC but I would like more opinions/options from all of you. I wanna make sure it sounds good with a decent pair of speakers.

1 point

·

19th Oct 2017

So if I were to buy a pair of speakers like the Micca PB42X, I would be able to hook them up to the Magni 2 Uber along with my headphones?

1 point

·

5th Oct 2017

Pretty good for the price. If you need something for a compact space these would get the job done. They would be much better than soundsticks or a set of computer speakers from Logitech.

The Micca PB42x provides a much fuller sound for $50 more if you have some extra room in your budget.

1 point

·

9th Oct 2017

Type “powered speakers” into Amazon and you’ll get a bunch of options. Something like THESE tend to be popular around here.

1 point

·

15th Oct 2017

Active speakers are totally fine to pair with an LP-120. Since the turntable has a built in phono preamp, if you add active speakers that’s an complete setup right there. I don’t own them, but the Micca PB42X tend to get recommended here a lot.

Edit: Typo

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2017

Honestly, if you’re willing to drop the extra $20, these are probably the best bang for your buck. Unless you save up for the Audioengine A2+’s 🙂

1 point

·

29th Sep 2017

Yeah I’m super excited about it! Quick question, if I want to try and use the SL-7 with a pair of Micca PB42X speakers I already own what would I need? They look like they have phono input, but I’m not sure if I need a phono preamp and an amp or not.

1 point

·

29th Sep 2017

Thanks so much for all the info! This was such a pleasant surprise. I’m trying to figure out if I can use the SL-7 with a pair of Micca PB42X speakers I already own what would I need? They look like they have phono input, but I’m not sure if I need a phono preamp and an amp or not.

1 point

·

29th Sep 2017

Cool, thanks so much for the info! I know next to nothing about turntables. If I want to try and use the SL-7 with a pair of Micca PB42X speakers I already own what would I need? They look like they have phono input, but I’m not sure if I need a phono preamp and an amp or not.

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2017

Micca has this set, I think they sound OK but I don’t think they have “decent bass”. I think they sound like computer speakers.

Audioengine A2+ are respected and people like them, I can’t speak from experience.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2017

all speakers need a cord to go to the PC, a power cord and one between the speakers, some a vol knob which adds complexity. I prefer a seperate dac / headphone amp combo running to a big speaker amp and speakers but for super simplicity then a I’d get a pair of powered monitors. https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B00NXAEPDC

1 point

·

26th Jul 2017

So would these recommended ones be a good companion for a Chromecast audio? Would probably get 3 pairs for the house. They have aux in, so no amp needed? It seems the recommended cheap amp is out of stock.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/?th=1

1 point

·

20th Jul 2017

The simplest way to get the setup working would be buying some active speakers, such as these. I would not bother with an external pre-amp. Do not use your electric guitar speakers it will sound terrible.

1 point

·

8th Apr 2017

Depends on what kind of multi-room system you are looking for.
It’s not a bad idea, but it may not be the cheapest or straightforward solution.

Any powered speaker will do. Take a look at the Micca PB42X

You might be better served by just using a Chromecast Audio instead though.

1 point

·

26th Mar 2017

I’m looking to buy a cheaper pair of speakers, I have never really dabbled in this sort of thing so I do not know much to look for. I just want a nice balance of base so its not super grainy and difficult to make out, but not unnoticeable.

Budget range is around $200 AUD with some room to move.

I did see these but really I have no clue what any of the description means. Heck, even an explanation of terms or what to look for could help.

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2017

The Micca PB42X listed above is about the price I’m looking for. But it’s out of stock now, will it be coming back? If not or “who the fuck knows”, is there another good choice in the price range?

Edit: I’m not sure if this matters, but I need to get a headphone amp at some point too.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2016

These are the recommended speakers from up top of this stickied note. They’re in your budget and good for a 2.0 setup. You could also get the passive versions and a small amp, up to you.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2016

/r/audiophile recommends these speakers at a similar price point, $120.

Any recommendations between the 2 for PC gaming? The Micca’s don’t have a subwoofer, but its possible the sound quality may be better.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2016

For speakers look at the Miccas.

You will need RCA between turntable and phono stage and RCA between phono stage and active speakers.

1 point

·

27th Oct 2016

These are some great self-powered monitors. They are built on the MB42X platform but are a bit less expensive in the end, unless you already have a DAC and an amp.

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2016

Or just these which are the new active version. I just got them and they’re great.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2016

> Micca MB42

Those are standard speakers.

Powered speakers require AC power and will either come with an adapter or have PSU built-in. They will also come with line audio inputs rather than speaker inputs.

The example you show has regular speaker inputs (and nothing else) and thus are unpowered, regular speakers.

Compare the back of the speakers you found with these: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC?psc=1

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2016

Hey so I went ahead and bought the Micca PB42x Powered Bookshelf Speakers recommended since they fit my price range. Now I’m just wondering what would be the right sub woofer to buy along with it?

Thanks

edit: Also apparently the speakers come without a power supply or wires, I assume the power supply should reflect the subwoofer I choose to pair the speakers with?

1 point

·

29th Jul 2016

Don’t get me wrong, games will look better, but many people make it sound like you can only be good at games with a 144hz monitor.

Check out /r/zeos from some really great guides on all things speakers, amps, DACs, and headphones. These self-powered studio monitors are really great and you can buy a decent sub to go with them. They’re not particularly cheap, but even crappy logitech 2.1 systems are weirdly expensive.

1 point

·

25th May 2016

Getting into vinyl is the last thing you wanna do on a tight budget, I know from experience haha. Be prepared for all your disposable income to be dropped into it. :p

As far as speakers may I suggest these? My buddy got some and they sound pretty damn decent.

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2016

I wouldn’t even consider a bluetooth speaker for a new permanent setup in a home. Sonos or Chromecast Audio with some bookshelf speakers.

Play 1 is $199, while a CCA and some speakers will save you about $50.

Sonos is great and setup is easy (I have 3). But if you want to save a bit of money, it’s possible without sacrificing quality.

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2016

Micca PB42X fit your budget (they’re powered speakers so you won’t need a separate amp) and should outperform any pc speakers at this price point.

1 point

·

23rd Feb 2016

The JBLs might not fit but how about the Miccas? They’re 9.5″ x 5.8″x 6.5″, considerably smaller then 12.3″ x 10.4″ x 14.3″ JBLs. You should be able to fit them on your desk quit comfortably.

Micca PB42X might also be an option, they’re basically the MB42Xs with a build in amplifier.

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2016

Those speakers would be a better option than the computer speakers for a few reasons. However, you would need some kind of amplifier to power them. You can search for micro stereo amps on amazon and find a bunch of different asian made models for $50 or less.
They do, however, make a powered version of those same speakers:
http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1456178349&sr=8-3&keywords=powered+bookshelf

If you really can’t swing any more than $100 for speakers you probably would be better off to just buy the cheap computer speakers and use them until you can afford to spend a bit more on something better or get out to a place that sells used gear. Here are a few decent options for under $100. They won’t be amazing or give you audiophile sound quality or anything but they will be better than a portable speaker and probably better than logitech computer speakers…. (you can find these all on amazon)

M-Audio AV32 10-Watt Professional Studio Monitor $79
Behringer MS16 Compact Stereo Speaker $79
Samson Studio GT Active Studio Monitors $99
Hercules DJ 4769226 Hercules XPS 2.0 60 DJ SET $76 (i’ve actually heard these and they are pretty good for small speakers)
Alesis M1 Active 320 USB Studio Monitor Speakers $79

Personally, if you can’t go out and look for used stuff, want to stick with amazon and can’t afford more than $100, i’d buy one of the sets listed above to tide me over until I could save enough for a proper amp and speaker setup.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2016

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC
These are powered, so you don’t need an amp. But like other powered speakers, you will need to plug it into a wall power outlet.
Yes you can connect your laptop to these using a 3.5mm cable.
This came from the sidebar and is well recommended.

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2016

Save your $50 and put it toward these: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

They’ll sound much better than many computer speakers and they’re quality enough that they’ll last you until you can upgrade in a few years.

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2016

Under 150, I could go into a couple of options, or I could cut to the chase after doing this research the past couple weeks being in the same exact position as you needing speakers in that same budget. For powered, to be honest, I would go with the Micca PB42x. Same as the highly regarded MB42x, but powered. I had these ordered but decided to go the passive route.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NXAEPDC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_1&smid=AFKH6OU9WWNFS

The powered speakers market is small as it is, specifically low-budget. Not to mention a lot of it is monitors, which aren’t as optimal for vinyl systems (from the very little I’ve read, unless it’s preference).

1 point

·

31st Jan 2016

I would recommend the powered Micca PB42x speakers,

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NXAEPDC?psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00

They are a step up from the ones you posted and come with an amp in them so they are easy to use. Well worth the extra money if you can. Sound amazing.

1 point

·

17th Dec 2015

If your’re looking to upgrade from the built in speakers get a pair of Micca PB42X powered speakers to connect to the RCA output of the TV. It’s a bit more than your budget but you’ll be much happier with them than the sound bar.

BTW: Your post is against the second item on guidelines.

1 point

·

31st Dec 2015

Not really, but for a bit more you can get the Micca PB42X which are the recommended budget speaker set here.

EDIT: I also remember reading somehwere that the M-Audio AV32 were a step down from the previous AV30.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2015

I agree. That’s a decent first setup, except for the speakers. Honestly, what kind of sound quality do you think you’re going to get out of $29 speakers?

If it were me, I’d just go LP120 –> Micca PB42X and be done with it. Those Micca speakers will be loads better than the Dayton Audio speakers. If you want to upgrade your turntable later down the road you can, but don’t chince out on (arguably) the most important component of your hi-fi setup.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2015

Does the tv provide RCA ouput? If you want the least hassle possible then you can go for the Micca PB-42x since it is self powered. That is assuming you aren’t forced to place the speakers against a wall since they are rear-ported. With wall placement the Daytons and Lepai you mentioned would do fine.

EDIT: Wow, those Miccas have climbed in price. I purchased them a while back for $100 as a gift for my brother.

EDIT 2: You can also try posting this on r/BudgetAudiophile if you want some more suggestions.

1 point

·

26th Oct 2015

Not just me. RCA is very common in audio, and apparently I am the only on that has a decent pair of headphones that I want to wear. Also things like things like the Micca PB42X take only analog inputs, so it sucks if you want some of those without getting more cable clutter, because you have to use that adapter instead of a 3.5mm.

1 point

·

11th Aug 2015

Since the LP120 already has a built in pre-amp, you do not need to buy another.

You can buy a pair of powered speakers and plug the turntable directly in to them for a super simple setup. These powered speakers are one of the better choices on a budget.

1 point

·

1st Jul 2015

In that case I would suggest these, http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

There not going to shake the apartment, but they should be quite satisfying for background music over drinks or joints, & should bump for nearfield(desktop) use.

1 point

·

2nd Jul 2015

These are adequate for a very cheap system, but if I may suggest a slightly more costly but much better alternative. These are pretty much plug and play, you can use the regular aux cable or use the L/R RCA, right now these are actually $20 more than where they are usually priced, but since your buying from Amazon just watch the price and return those cyber acoustics within 30 days and trade up for these.

I actually had the cyber acoustic and upgraded to the Miccas MB42X with a Lepai amp, about the same price as the pb42x, and its a tremendous sound difference.

Check out /r/audiophile and head to the daily purchase thread for similar options. Or just search for cheap setups, with $100 you can get a fairly decent setup that will be much better than the cyber acoustic. Even though its $60 more its so worth it especially if its your primary audio.

1 point

·

26th Jun 2015

I recently bought these and they’re pretty good. I don’t know much about audio but they sound great.

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2015

I’m currently building my first setup and think i’ve finally decided to bypass a receiver and just use a pre-amp to powered speakers. I’m looking at these on amazon. My decision is based mostly on space restrictions. I need to keep the components to a minimum . . . but i know the majority of redditors here favor a proper receiver with a phono in.

1 point

·

27th May 2015

I’m guessing you’d like to keep things simple. You can keep the amount of extra equipment you need down by getting powered speakers. Something like this would be a good start. http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

1 point

·

17th Apr 2015

I think these are pretty great for the price. I don’t have a ton of experience with extremely high-end audio, but these sound great. I have no regrets about purchasing them. They are the same speakers that /u/Duryn suggested, but with a built in amp.

1 point

·

10th Mar 2015

There are no “good” sounding pc speakers.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1426021525&sr=8-5&keywords=micca

These aren’t great, but they’ll get the job done better than any “PC speaker.”

1 point

·

17th Feb 2015

/r/Zeos

You might want to read around there and find something you like.

I’m using the unpowered version of these, but if I was brand new to the whole speaker scene, I might end up getting those powered Miccas..

1 point

·

3rd Feb 2015

So I’ve think I’ve settled on the Micca PB42X as an entry speaker system, but just wanted to ask a quick question as a complete newbie to this sort of stuff.

First of all, is this a good option? Eschewing the separate amp recommended here is an extra $46 saved, but is doing that fine? And if I ever decided to buy an amp, would I be able to integrate it with these speakers?

[Edit] Additionally, it seems pretty important to get these speakers at ear level height. Is there any recommended speaker stands for these that aren’t too terribly expensive? I’m planning to use these as my desktop speakers, if that matters.

1 point

·

31st Jan 2015

I currently do not have any audio equipment and want to get a setup for my computer. Do you guys recommend any existing wireless speaker in the market that I could also use for other purposes?
If you do not recommend any wireless speaker, would you recommend the PB42X instead of the MB42X?
Thanks!

1 point

·

26th Jan 2015

No, those speakers are passive, and therefore need some kind of amplification to get sound. You can hook them up to an amp; receivers have amps in them. Alternative, Micca makes powered speakers as well. If the connections are compatible, you should, generally, be able to hook up a source (phone, etc.) to powered speakers.

1 point

·

7th Jan 2015

The Fiio has an headphone amp, not suited for speakers. But you can use its line out to connect an amp (or actives speakers).

Micca also has an active version of those for $20 more

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2015

PB42x by far.

Going to be way better than tiny computer speakers with 2inch full-range drivers and a crappy sub.

I’d point you to separate speakers and amplifier but this is the easiest solution and fits your budget.

4 points

·

11th Sep 2016

There’s a PB42X refurb on amazon right now for $75 shipped.

Get it while it’s hot: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

4 points

·

2nd Oct 2017

First, do NOT get those speakers or any speakers made by a gaming company. You want to get speakers made by an audio company. That being said, I think the Micca PB42X (Amazon link)
would be perfect for you. If you can’t find them in France, look for the Micca MB42X (Amazon link). Check out the wiki
I have $XXX.XX to spend, what should I buy? BOOKSHELF SPEAKERS
on /r/BudgetAudiophile.

3 points

·

25th Feb 2021

> Am I correct to think that this will be a better listening experience than spending around $100 on normal PC speakers?

Yes, a proper pair of speakers is going to sound better than any of the “PC brands” like Logitech or Creative.

$100 is a super tight budget if you want separate components. $120 can get you Micca PB42X, but the passive version is $90 plus a $70 amplifier. I’d personally rather have the separates, but that’s quite a bit more than your budget.

This setup from Dayton is all black and in your budget, but unfortunately won’t sound nearly as good as the Miccas.

2 points

·

8th Dec 2020

The only thing you can get new for that price will be powered/active speakers. Most speakers are passive, and need an amplifier or AV receiver (which has a built-in amplifier) to power them. The speakers you linked are passive, so even though they are $100, you would have to spend another $100 or so to buy a stereo amplifier for them.

In the $100 powered speaker range you can get something like these or these.

The Micca’s are probably a slightly better speaker, but the Edifiers come with a remote which is nice.

2 points

·

9th May 2017

Go with Micca MB42X for $90 or the newer Micca PB42X which is only maybe $30 more at $119.

If you want to spend more and have more space, go with JBL LSR305 but they’re around $300. You may be able to get them cheaper used on eBay if you look around.

You also want to get a DAC so you will have better audio. Check out the Schiit Modi 2 (Amazon link). Or you could go with the newer DAC/amp combo, the Schiit Fulla 2 which has great reviews.

Always check eBay for deals.

2 points

·

29th Jun 2015

$100 budget is going to limit your search. Here are a couple you might look into:

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC
Go on sale for $99 with some regularity.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=1042837&gclid=CNi6r_ertMYCFVE9gQodHEYG4g&is=REG&m=Y&Q=&A=details

You will also need a phono stage (preamp) as well. You can go budget with the Behringer PP400 or take a bit of a step up with with the ART DJ Pre II. Another option to look at the the TC Electronics TC-753, which offers the phono stage, as well as an additional input for MP3 player or whatnot.

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2021

These are the speakers I have. They’re powered and I believe have a preamp in them. They’re basically just standard bookshelf speakers.

I was looking at this turntable, which seems to be bluetooth enabled (likely just to send)

Maybe the solution is to just hook up a bluetooth receiver to the speakers, and then pair both my phone and the turntable to that?

1 point

·

18th Jun 2021

I don’t like the edifiers, but that’s just personal preference. Here are a couple reccomendations:

$120 Micca PB42x no BT

$70 BB powered bookshelf speakers

1 point

·

28th May 2021

Micca PB42X

  • $120.00 and they don’t suck
  • Under budget which leaves room for some extras
  • Banana Plug Cables – a lttle pricey and you only need the one… Might be a reach
  • Acoustic Foam Pads – isolating your speakers is underrated

So, yeah, my Micca Fanboy is showing. Anyway all of the above might be available in EU, don’t know (saw that a bit late, sorry).

1 point

·

9th Dec 2020

Not as pretty as the the other setups here, but this is my work from home setup. I can be on my work laptop and personal computer both at the same time.

On Desk: work laptop (mac) on left, personal modern performance laptop (black pc) on right.

Red laptop on the side: It’s just an old pc from 2013 that’s used for downloading and seeding anime torrents. It’s the only real use it has.

Under the monitor are switches to toggle peripheral devices. The switches:

– 3 to 1 HDMI switch – to toggle which laptop is connected to the center monitor.

– USB 3.0 switch – to connect my keyboard, mouse, and 2 other USB devices; and then at a push of a button, toggle which laptop those USB devices are connected to.

– aux port switch – to instantly toggle which laptop is playing audio to the external speakers in the back.

The Speakers in the back are the Micca PB42X , which are speakers recommended in the buying guide in /r/Audiophile

I tried to keep things ergonomic: all monitors are adjacent to each other, and are eye level. Keyboard has palm rest, and that keeps my wrists level when typing. the mouse is one of those vertical ones that are supposedly more ergonomic. The chair is a Staples Hyken which I can rest my elbows on while using keyboard / mouse. and my feet are kept on the ground the whole time.

1 point

·

9th Dec 2020

Not as pretty as the the other setups here, but this is my work from home setup. I can be on my work laptop and personal computer both at the same time.

On Desk: work laptop (mac) on left, personal modern performance laptop (black pc) on right.

Red laptop on the side: It’s just an old pc from 2013 that’s used for downloading and seeding anime torrents. It’s the only real use it has.

Under the monitor are switches to toggle peripheral devices. The switches:

– 3 to 1 HDMI switch – to toggle which laptop is connected to the center monitor.

– USB 3.0 switch – to connect my keyboard, mouse, and 2 other USB devices; and then at a push of a button, toggle which laptop those USB devices are connected to.

– aux port switch – to instantly toggle which laptop is playing audio to the external speakers in the back.

The Speakers in the back are the Micca PB42X , which are speakers recommended in the buying guide in /r/Audiophile

I tried to keep things ergonomic: all monitors are adjacent to each other, and are eye level. Keyboard has palm rest, and that keeps my wrists level when typing. the mouse is one of those vertical ones that are supposedly more ergonomic. The chair is a Staples Hyken which I can rest my elbows on while using keyboard / mouse. and my feet are kept on the ground the whole time.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2020

OP, I am in the passive camp like your other responders, but if you don’t have the space or don’t want to deal with what can be overwhelming at first, you can take a look at powered bookshelf units. They’re similar to the studio monitors others have mentioned in that they have amplifiers built in, yet they’re designed for consumption and not production like said monitors.

These Klipsch R-51s are on sale for one more day, but they’re pricier than your main Logitech link. These Miccas are the powered versions of what someone else noted, and these Edifiers are generally loved as an easy out from buying Logitech audio gear.

If you’re feeling saucy, you can take a whack at these Cantons. They’re white though and the return policy for A4L is meh, so you’ll be eating some money if you don’t like them and want to return them. Canton is a German speaker company that isn’t really available in the states, but they have made respected gear for a long time and there’s a good chance they would be the best sounding option I’ve listed.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2019

You have 2 good options…

Those are the two best 2.1 channel bookshelf speaker sets for around $100 or less.

1 point

·

8th Nov 2019

Edifiers are good for the money.

These Miccas are, too: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/. You’d need to add a bluetooth receiver. Run you about $30 on Amazon.

1 point

·

26th Dec 2019

The Micca PB42X is often noted around here as having bass, and the Edifiers in your price range are generally liked. You will not be able to get great bass in your budget though.

This Dayton Audio pair is a cheaper option.

These powered Cantons have a sub out for later expansion, but returning them is not going to be as easy or cheap as using Amazon. It’s also difficult to find information about them because Canton doesn’t have much of a stateside presence.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2020

I’d at least check out the Fluance RT82 or the AT120 for that price. You can pair the Micca speakers Micca RB42x
With either and still have money in the budget for a Schiit Mani preamp if you get the Fluance. If you go with the Audio Technica, you’d have the built in preamp and could spend more on the speakers and look at the Edifier line of speakers or maybe even Kantos if you can justify the extra money.

1 point

·

4th Sep 2020

So these would work with a turntable with a built in preamp, and that’s all that I would need?

1 point

·

3rd Sep 2020

Transparent Zero | Vanatoo are another good compact option. Or less pricey Micca PB42X .

I recommend passive speakers and a mini amp for more flexibility.

1 point

·

31st Aug 2020

In general, speakers are the most important part of the chain and should comprise the bulk of one’s budget if all you’re doing is speakers and an amp. Others may disagree with me, but IMO you’re unlikely to hear much of a difference (or any) between the cheap class D amps on lower tier speakers like those in your budget range. It’s more about the features and form factor, which does indeed seem to be important in your case.

You can also look into powered stereo speakers w/a sub out. This will remove the need for an amp and it’ll simplify the process. This does, however, make it impossible to upgrade in a modular fashion, so keep that in mind. Edifier is a go-to on this sub, and these are on sale. Another option often recommended is the Micca PB42X. Both of these are designed primarily for desktop use and will have a small form factor, yet they’ll still be bigger than the Logitechs.

Those are some boopable noses too. I’m sure they’ll appreciate the upgrade! We lost our corgi last winter, and the morbid joke between my wife and I is that the old girl smelled 2020 coming and said “fuck this!” Starting to come around to being ready for another doggo though…just not enough to take the training plunge with two toddlers.

1 point

·

27th Aug 2020

These are the ones I was referring to:

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

But honestly the edifiers you bought should last you a good long time. Good luck, and enjoy them!

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

Sounds like you’ll need active speakers rather than passive. That said, you can pick up the Sony or Yamaha 2 channel amplifiers for $150, but that doesn’t leave much room for speakers. Check out the Dayton Audio B652 Airs at parts-express.com. you can also try finding an amplifier used locally, which should be pretty easy. For active speakers, check these out.

Micca PB42X

Also, if you want a small desktop amplifier, check out the SMSL SA300 or this Micca, both have subwoofer outputs, which you’ll eventually want.

Micca Origain AD250

1 point

·

26th Aug 2020

I think you’d be pretty stoked with these, if you can get them.

Micca PB42X

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2020

Anyone know where i can get the Micca PB42X? I am looking for a second pair to place in my garage but it doesnt seem like amazon sells them anymore.

1 point

·

25th Jan 2020

These are the best powered speakers in that price range: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

Sadly they seem to be a little harder to get in Europe. I don’t see them at Thomann or Amazon UK.

1 point

·

12th Dec 2019

That’s a great budget setup, great choice! Get the fosi, the schiit is not going to add any value over the fosi for a low end setup like this.

EDIT: So is the DAC a requirement? If your PC has audio out and your spending $100, would go with one of these instead:
https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

Or:

https://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-mk402btx-powered-bluetooth-4-2-way-bookshelf-speaker-pair-with-35mm-aux-in–300-467

Or:

https://www.amazon.com/Edifier-R1280T-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B016P9HJIA

1 point

·

14th Nov 2019

Stop looking for “PC speakers” (which are cheap and crap) and just start looking for “speakers”. That might help. YOu can find adapters for that 6.5mm to 3.5mm. Hopefully others can provide more detailed help.

/r/audiophile is good for this. What’s your price range?

these are awesome and this converter for $10 will make it work.

1 point

·

1st Nov 2019

To use Micca PB42X computer speakers with your TV your TV needs to have variable volume 3.5mm or RCA output in order to use your TVs remote for volume control or you will need to add another device with a remote between them.

If you want 4″ powered speakers, Edifier R1280DB have a remote and also a digital optical input for your TV.

An used $50 HD 1080 AV recevier will give you the option of adding a center speaker for better movie and TV dialog. You can boost the center level independently for so you don’t need to raise the overall volume as much.

Home Theater Guides: r/HTBuyingGuides FAQHow to Set Up a Basic Home Theater SystemHow to Set Up Your Home Theater ReceiverTV vertically centered at eye level while seatedr/hometheater

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2019

Micca PB42X are the easy answer.

1 point

·

5th Sep 2019

Look at the proposed systems above both are small enough to fit on a desktop and are fairly cheap as well.

to quote: ”

In an effort to cut down on some of the repetitive questions, here are the absolutely cheapest systems we are willing to recommend.

Accessories

For the JBL-based setup, here are some accessories if you want to connect the speakers directly to a computer without an external DAC:

  • 3.5mm TRS to 6.3mm TS cable – use this if you’re connecting the LSR305 directly to a computer
  • JBL Active Speaker Starter Set – includes the Nano Patch+ volume controller, two isolation pads and TRS to XLR cable. Use this if you want a physical volume controller to go along with the JBL speakers.

For the Micca setups, you’ll need this to connect directly to a computer:

  • 3.5mm TRS to RCA – use this for connecting (either of) the Micca alternatives directly to a computer.

If you’re going for the Micca MB42X + SMSL solution, you’ll also need speaker wire:

1 point

·

11th Sep 2019

Micca PB42X is a great powered pair around $100. You can get a bit cheaper buying the unpowered MB42X and suppling your own amp or getting a cheap desktop amp off Amazon.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2019

The most commonly recommended speakers under $100 here are the Micca MB42X and there are powered versions for $110 called the PB42X

1 point

·

20th Sep 2019

Those are the powered version. You want this one instead:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_GJbHDbZ12V53N?th=1&psc=1

Those with an amp would be a better long term solution.

1 point

·

20th Sep 2019

Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers With 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_GJbHDbZ12V53N

1 point

·

9th Jul 2019

I need to buy speakers. It will be mostly for music-series-vids with the pc and ocasionally with my smartphone. I will be most of the time 1 1/2m away from them and I have a good space behind the place I will put them. My room is like 5x6m but the speakers will be kinda in the middle of the room. I don’t listen at a extreme volume level.

Micca PB42X

Edifier-R1280T-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers

​

Recommendations? most of the people outside this reddit recommended me the Edifiers over the Micca. I’m all ears anyway!

1 point

·

11th Jun 2019

Looks like the Micca PB42X.

Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers With 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_FF-.Cb5G65H8D

1 point

·

11th Jun 2019

Looks to me like the Micca PB42(X).

Link (Amazon): Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers With 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_FF-.Cb5G65H8D

1 point

·

27th Jun 2019

This is still on sale if you just want to spend the minimal and hear some noise: https://www.reddit.com/r/bapcsalescanada/comments/c5s0fw/speaker_system_21_multimedia_stereo_powered/

This is an okay entry level speaker: https://www.amazon.ca/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_9?crid=3JZ77O0BYID26&keywords=micca+mb42x&qid=1561467089&s=gateway&sprefix=micca%2Caps%2C157&sr=8-9

Anything under a couple hundred dollars is just noise maker. Speaker is a rabbit hole. If you want really really good ones (you’ll also need a separate amp by that point), expect to spend close to 4 digits and up.

1 point

·

27th Jun 2019

Price History


Never fear, PriceKnight is here!
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fc63qmm%2Frbuildapcsalescanada_general_discussion_daily%2Fes6exz0%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

1 point

·

7th May 2019

Hi all. I bought these things and I think I realized I want to go a bit bigger/I kinda bought the wrong things:

Micca PB42x Speakers

Nobsound NS-15G Amp (im dumb and got powered speakers on accident, another reason to return them)

I think instead I’d like to do a set up with KEF Q150s, but am unsure what else I need. Apparently they sound better with bass (I’m in an apartment but it’s a highrise with good thick walls so I think I’ll be ok?) and I was thinking about going with this. I was hoping that amp up there would be good enough, but I want to be able to switch between computer/turntable/tv/maybe stream audio from a phone so I think I need a receiver.

So I guess I’m mainly looking for suggestions on accessories for receiver/amp/wires. I already have some rca to rca cables and rca to 3.5mm cables, but I assume I will also need a subwoofer cable (?) and some speaker wire + banana plugs (??!!) so I would really appreciate some help here. Help is much appreciated, cheers 🙂

1 point

·

14th Apr 2019

If I want to connect my JDS Labs Element AMP/DAC to the Micca PB42X, will something like this work?

Or would it be better to use an RCA-to-TRS since the speaker has it? (I think that’s what the aux plug is called, right?)

1 point

·

24th Feb 2019

Also, as per the Purchase Help Thread, these Micca PB42X are a good recommendation.

1 point

·

8th Jan 2019

In the “Purchase help" thread over on /r/audiophile the standard recommendations are:

The Micca speakers are pretty small and should fit your desk. Pity they don’t come in white though 😉

1 point

·

8th Jan 2019

Most small bookshelf speakers (as mentioned above) should be fine in combination with the MHC-EX5 for well under €100. But if you want the best sound in a new system for under €400, you could do worse than following the suggestions of the guys over on r/audiophile, in their “Purchase advice” thread.

The cheapest systems they feel they can recommend are:

Both are powered monitors, with amps built into the speakers, saving you hassle and desk space. Both systems are wildly popular and should blow your mind (especially in games) if you are used to basic computer sound. Personally I’d spend the extra money for the JBLs (just go read the comments on Amazon).

  • Reportedly excellent for electronic music (and everything else)
  • Works well in a near-field setting (i.e. speakers on your desk)
  • Also sold as single speakers ($129 – Prices seem to vary, so shop around)
  • You could add the matching powered sub ($350) if you want to go all-out
  • And you could add another two speakers for an awesome 5.1 system
  • Options include a starter kit ($91) with a physical volume knob
  • Or just get the cable ($8.45) to connect the speakers to your PC

And if you are lucky you won’t get too much audible noise from your motherboard’s line-out. If not, you might have to look into an external DAC.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2018

So I’m very new to this, and I’m planning to buy a Micca PB42 with a FiiO E10K, and I have just a few questions.

  1. ^Will ^these ^two ^work ^together? Just want to confirm just in case.

  2. This is my desk, would you recommend buying stands to place the speakers behind and above the monitor, or would just placing them to the sides be fine?

Thanks in advance.

1 point

·

25th Nov 2018

Not under $100 but I’d looking at these for that price range. Supposed to be amazing quality for the price.

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B00NXAEPDC

https://www.reddit.com/r/Zeos/comments/3nzift/guide_powered_studio_monitors/

You may want to look at the other guides in that subreddit too.

1 point

·

15th Aug 2018

Hey I’m currently in the market for budget speakers as well. I spent a few hours reading reviews yesterday and in addition to B4’s, the other 2 speakers that seemed pretty solid were:

These Micca speakers

and

These PreSonus Speakers

Personally, I’ll be going with the Micca’s. I’ll be using them for music primarily.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2018

Micca PB42X

Great budget speakers in a small size perfect for desk use.

Audio Technica M40x or the Open Back alternative

Great budget cans.

I’ll update if I think of others.

Edit: These Sennheisers would be a good open back choice as well

M Audio AV42 would be good but unless you get them on sale, they will hinder the headphone budget. The AV32 would be an ok option budget wise but I think I’d go with the Miccas over it.

1 point

·

21st Jun 2018

2.0 (stereo) is what you’re looking for. 2.1 is stereo with a subwoofer.

And yes you can use these kind of speakers, you just need a 3.5 to rca cable or adapter.

I’d also recommend looking at the Micca PB42X. Haven’t listened to them, they’re expensive to get over seas, but I’ve heard good things about them, and they even have a 3.5 input.

1 point

·

30th Apr 2018

I like the way they look, but for the price I would suggest the Micca PB42X instead.

1 point

·

4th Feb 2018

Doing some research and they make a powered version of these speakers. I just ordered them. Check them out. Stands here

1 point

·

22nd Jan 2018

Oh, sorry I hadn’t looked at the back panel photo properly. Yeah, it seems that there are 3.5mm outputs for centre/sub and rear l/r speakers.

Basically, you can use any active (having it’s own amplifier) speaker with an analogue (XLR, RCA, 3.5mm, 1/4″) input as a centre channel or surround sound rear.

That means that you can use a soundbar as a centre channel but soundbars are usually stereo. That’s not a problem, you could further split the centre channel signal and feed a stereo soundbar with that.

You may want a sub.

You could use something like a pair of Micca PB42x or JBL LSR305s as rears.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2018

Powered monitors (no amp needed):

Micca

Mackie

Presonus

JBL (Reddit’s #1 go to)

1 point

·

14th Dec 2017

miccas have been recommended for around that price

1 point

·

25th Dec 2017

Just got my first sound system for Christmas (Powered Micca PB42X + Polk Audio PS10), however I don’t know how to connect these. Should I have gotten (well, asked for) the non powered ones and a seperate amp with a sub out?

1 point

·

8th Dec 2017
1 point

·

11th Dec 2017

Seeing a lot of recommendations for pricey pieces of kit that have pretty poor performance per dollar. If your budget is more than $40, I’d skip anything marketed as “computer” speakers. If it’s in the budget, for simplicity’s sake I’d go for some Micca PB42X’s ($120). Monitors mean he can plug them right in, and they sound really, really good. I’d vent to say that, if monitor sound was good enough, he won’t be able to tell much difference between these and more audiophile focused and pricey pieces. There’s a reason why Zeos loves these speakers… Well, the non powered version, at least, but I don’t think what you get from a dedicated amp will matter much unless you want to bring down the roof, and a dedicated DAC will probably only matter if you get buzzing and crackling over the speakers.

I was going to recommend Micca Covo-s’s with an amp for ~$60, but those don’t seem to be available anymore…

Below $40, I’d go with something like this. Cheap, sounds pretty good, gets plenty loud, doesn’t take too much desk, and has a nice on-desk volume knob. A million times better than monitor speakers or $10 computer speakers, but it does fall short of proper bookshelves, even on the low end. There’s no replacement for displacement, as they say, but for $40 or less, they beat my parent’s home-theater-in-a-box in everything except absolute volume.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

Absolutely. Being that I’m already spending $300 on the table, hopefully no more than $250 for both the speaker and pre-amp.

I was already considering the Micca PB42X and Edifier R1280T, but I have no idea on pre-amps to consider.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2017

Cheapest I’d recommend are these: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

Below that just buy some computer speakers.

1 point

·

15th Nov 2017

Sounds like you want Chromecast Audio plugged into some nice powered speakers, like these or these or these or these.
Edit: I’m not commenting on how well it’ll work. I don’t own a Chromecast. It just seems to work on paper for what you’re asking.

1 point

·

17th Oct 2017

Need help pairing a decent cheap subwoofer with Micca PB42Xs.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

1 point

·

9th Oct 2017

If you want a K cpu and 3000MHz RAM, get a Z motherboard. With a B250 chipset, you can’t OC the cpu and RAM is limited to 2400MHz.

Windows 7 does not support newer Intel gens like Kaby Lake. There’s a hack but I don’t see why you’d want to hack a new PC and Windows 7 is already 8 years old.

There are better cpu coolers for the money: 35cfm is low, and the heatsink is small.

One fan is enough to cool a GTX 1060, save some money by getting the smaller version.

Pick a better power supply. Modular or semi-modular for smaller computer cases.

Do you need a sound card for something specific?

WiFi: ac support.

Monitor: IPS for Adobe? You’d have to choose between IPS and 144Hz because a monitor with both is too expensive for your budget.

Keyboard/mouse combo instead of just keyboard.

Speakers: Micca PB42X or Edifier R1280T (Edifier R1700BT if you want Bluetooth, more acoustic power and a nicer remote controller).

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

TypeItemPrice
CPUIntel – Core i5-8600K 3.6GHz 6-Core Processor$259.99 @ Newegg
CPU Coolerbe quiet! – PURE ROCK 51.7 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler$28.89 @ OutletPC
MotherboardASRock – Z370M Pro4 Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard$121.98 @ Newegg
MemoryG.Skill – Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 Memory$148.55 @ Newegg Marketplace
StorageCrucial – MX300 1.1TB 2.5" Solid State Drive$270.88 @ OutletPC
Video EVGA – GeForce GTX 1060 6GB 6GB SC GAMING Video $264.98 @ Newegg
CaseThermaltake – Core V21 MicroATX Mini Tower Case$49.99 @ Newegg
Power SupplyCorsair – CXM 550W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply$38.99 @ Newegg
Operating SystemMicrosoft – Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit$89.89 @ OutletPC
Wireless Network AdapterGigabyte – GC-WB867D-I PCI-Express x1 802.11a/b/g/n/ac Wi-Fi Adapter$39.00 @ B&H
MonitorAcer – GN246HL 24.0" 1920×1080 144Hz Monitor$187.49 @ B&H
KeyboardLogitech – MK120 Wired Slim Keyboard w/Optical Mouse$13.89 @ OutletPC
OtherEdifier R1280T Powered Bookshelf Speakers – 2.0 Active Near Field Monitors – Studio Monitor Speaker – Wooden Enclosure – 42 Watts RMS$99.99 @ Amazon
Prices include shipping, taxes, rebates, and discounts
Total (before mail-in rebates)$1684.51
Mail-in rebates-$70.00
Total$1614.51
Generated by PCPartPicker 2017-10-08 23:03 EDT-0400
1 point

·

2nd Sep 2017

Mica PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers. I think they are still small enough for desktop.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

I assume you already have a USB dac for your headphones, but if not, you can find them for anywhere from $30-300.

The Schiit Modi 2 is really well liked as a desktop DAC for $100, bit if that’s too much for just a desktop DAC, look into the Fulla 2. It is really versatile!

http://www.schiit.com/products/modi-2

1 point

·

27th Sep 2017

I would recommend staying away from audioengine, there are better options for the price.

$120 – Micca PB42x: These will sounds better than the Audioengine A2+R, but the build quality is not the greatest. These are ‘the baseline’ for cheap speakers that sound decent.

$200 – PreSonus Eris 4.5: These will provide more bass and sound better overall than the Audioengine A2+R. Build quality is very good on these as well.

$283 – JBL LSR305 + $120 – Scarlett 2i2 + $16 – 2x(XLR to TRS cable): This setup is amazing for the cost. I have been using the JBL LSR305 for quite a while now and they never disappoint. I’ve heard better, but those speakers are way more expensive. These can be connected directly to your computer through a 2xTRS to 1/8″ cable, but I don’t recommend it. When I tried that the speakers produced a terrible hissing noise. I recommend the Scarlett 2i2 over other audio interfaces due to its reliability, balanced speaker outs, and great mic pre-amps if you ever decide to get a XLR mic down the road. The cables are needed to connect the speakers to the interface.

1 point

·

30th Sep 2017

Here’s what I am rocking. If you username is a reference to the DJs tritonal, you’re gonna need a sub too

1 point

·

28th Sep 2017

Check these out https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

Edit: Don’t trust insignia, trash brand

1 point

·

5th Sep 2017

Would the powered version hold up or would an external amp with passive speakers work better?

1 point

·

29th Sep 2017

My dad just gave me his old Technics SL-7 turntable and I’m super excited to start using it. What else do I need to use with a pair of Micca PB42X Bookshelf Speakers that I already own? Both a phono preamp and an amp? I’m in college, so whatever’s most frugal while still doing justice to the turntable would be great. Thanks!

1 point

·

4th Aug 2017

Looking good! Does this vertical monitor setup work well for you? I’ve been considering to set my monitors up like you did (they’re currently side by side) and am concerned about getting neck aches from constantly looking up.

Regarding speaker recommendations, these two are great for desktop setups (taken from /r/audiophile’s Purchase Help Thread):

(The JBLs might be a little too big on your desk, but perhaps you would also be willing to upgrade to a bigger desk for these :P)

1 point

·

11th Aug 2017
  • Looking to purchase: a pair of bookshelf speakers
  • Budget: $200 total
  • Location: USA
  • Context: My dad gave me his old AIWA A30 amplifier and I’m looking to start a new set up from scratch. Eventually, I’ll connect a turntable to it, but at the moment I’ll probably just stream music through an audio chromecast.
  • Also, aside from wires – anything else you all could recommend with any leftover from the $200?

I know you (collective r/audiophile hivemind) suggests the Micca PB42X speakers

But I’ve also come across the Pioneer SP-BS22-LR that have had pretty good reviews.

Then there are always the super budget Dayton 652’s

Any thoughts or comments are always appreciated, thanks!

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2017

Micca-PB42X.

Go to /r/audiophile or /r/BudgetAudiophile for expert help.

1 point

·

19th Jul 2017

What do you think about the self-powered speaker option https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC ?

1 point

·

4th Jul 2017

I’ll start off with the a basic setup and expand from there. All speakers require power which is supplied to them by an Amplifier. The Amplifier (Amp) takes signal from your source (Computer, Phone, Turntable, etc) and boosts it. You’ll come across two different kinds of speakers, Active and Passive. Active speakers simply have an amplifier built into the speaker like so, while passives like so require an external amplifier.

A DAC (Digital to Analog Converter) takes the 1’s and 0’s from your computer and convert it into something the amplifier can understand. Basically all devices have one built in, but external ones exist that may be better. For simplicity and/or budget, I’d skip this as your computer already has one built in and this generally improves the sound the least.

So let’s build a simple 2.0 system with the speakers I linked above. If you chose to buy the passive version (MB42X), you’ll need an external amplifier like this. To set that up you’ll go:

  • PC -> Amplifier -> Speakers

If you chose to buy the active variant, setup is a bit simpler though keep in mind you’ll lose a volume knob. Often times powered speakers don’t have build in volume knobs or they’re in a hard to reach location. This is where a preamp comes in, which generally allows for volume control and multiple inputs. The one I linked adds a volume knob and allows you to connect two sources at once then switch between them. So you can go:

  • PC -> Speaker (With no knob, you’ll have to control volume through windows0
  • PC -> Preamp -> Speaker

Headphones add another layer to this whole thing. I’d probably just leave them plugged into the computer, but volume might get wonky.

Lastly, subwoofers often end up being harder to integrate than you’d think. If you’re on a budget, I’d honestly skip it.

1 point

·

4th Jul 2017

you’ll need powered speakers if you dont have a amp. maybe theses? https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

1 point

·

10th Apr 2017

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

It says it at the top in this post. At least read it.

1 point

·

13th Apr 2017

I have some Micca PB42X powered bookshelf speakers, and I want to know if I could use this Paradigm Bluetooth subwoofer with it on my computer (no sound bar). I have a Bluetooth dongle.

1 point

·

26th Apr 2017

I know several people on here use these.

1 point

·

19th Mar 2017

Okay… so I’m looking at the speakers, speaker wire, converter, and 3.5mm cable?

Will the coverter mess with the sound quality at all?

1 point

·

24th Feb 2017

You think that would be better than the option that someone else posted on here? It’s these speakers. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_Xj0RybZ2MG0H3

1 point

·

18th Feb 2017

Is it possible to hook up a subwoofer to these Micca Pb42x bookshelf speakers?

1 point

·

15th Feb 2017

New dude here, been thinking about upgrading my Pc speakers.
This is what I’ve come up with so far
Micca PB42X + Polk Audio PSW10 + ASUS Xonar DX 7.1

Whadda ya all think?

1 point

·

13th Jan 2017

These are the speakers I’m trying to switch to and from headphones with from the same source (PC)

1 point

·

12th Dec 2016

This is the default recommendation for that price range.

I can’t speak for them, but many people do.

1 point

·

6th Dec 2016

You might want to save a little more money. You will need some powered speakers. The Micca PB42X or the Edifier R1280T would both work.

The at-lp60 and the Micca’s would be $200 before tax, but you might want to upgrade the turntable to one of the others listed here.

Just make sure to get one with the preamp built in. The U-turn Orbit will be $249 with the preamp.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2016
1 point

·

25th Nov 2016

Start with these.

If it’s not enough bass, you can add a subwoofer, later. You’ll probably get what you need out of these, though.

These might also work very well. I haven’t heard them.

1 point

·

9th Nov 2016

These are supposed to be pretty good, if you have the desk space.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2016

JBL LSR305’s are on sale right now. Best option by far. If you’re looking for something a little cheaper, go with the Micca PB42X. If you can find some empty counter space, the speakers will sound a hell of a lot better closer to ear level compared to on top of the fridge.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2016

The cheapest we are willing to recommend are these:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC

1 point

·

11th Nov 2016

If you’re looking for an active speaker set, the Micca PB42x would fit your needs nicely.

1 point

·

7th Nov 2016

Make sure to get a pair of powered speakers, like these

1 point

·

21st Nov 2016

I am considering getting into the world of vinyl music and have been doing a little research. I am currently considering the Audio Technica AT-LP120BK-USB, which has a built in phono pre-amplifier, meaning I can plug it into “active” speakers directly to begin listening to music.

I have been looking on Amazon and found the two speaker sets below. Which would you consider the better set? Are there any other recommendations in that price range ($100-$130)?

Micca PB42X – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_S_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=1PDI7ICM94BJN&coliid=I2NYMIBIDES9L5

Edifier R1280T – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016P9HJIA/ref=psdc_3236451011_t1_B00NXAEPDC

Thanks!

1 point

·

27th Sep 2016

I’ll just start by saying increasing your budget WILL make a nice difference in the long run and the quality can easily increase without even doubling it. And you really can’t just take the receiver or do you just want something smaller?

Simple answer: powered micca, $120. https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

But if you are like me, you have 5 other things to connect and digital inputs are better and a remote is amazing etc etc. Which is why a receiver will win out. Not to mention the room correction abilities, surround options, and ease of adding a subwoofer if you want actual bass. Check Craig’s list for a deal.

If budget won’t be as strict in the near future, you can always get a small desktop amp and the passive micca mb42x or the Dayton air speakers and still stay well under $150 while saving /looking for a receiver.

Smsl and topping also have desktop amps that take up very little room and even offer a remote on some. Ali express has some intriguing options that I’ve heard good things about if you sniff around. https://m.aliexpress.com/item/32309637147.html#autostay

Check the sidebar for other options.

1 point

·

28th Sep 2016

Those would be fine, but if you’re going that route these will be much better:

Micca PB42X Powered Bookshelf Speakers (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_HJ26xbMD3G3C1

Or

Edifier R1700BT Bluetooth Bookshelf Speakers – Active Near-field Studio Monitors – Powered Speakers 2.0 Setup Wooden Enclosure – 4 inch Subwoofer – 66w RMS https://www.amazon.com/dp/B016PATXSI/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_WK26xbAJ6BZBC

1 point

·

25th Sep 2016

Hey all! Looking to set up a basic, relatively cheap 2.0/2.1 (built-in subwoofers) sound system for a living room projector, primarily for use with an Xbox One. Doesn’t need to be very loud or huge on audio fidelity, but after taking a look at the subreddit I’ve got the following parts list, but I wanted to make sure everything looked correct with the DAC and how it would work with the Xbox.

Thanks for the advice/help!

1 point

·

27th Sep 2016

$120 for the self-powered PB42x is your basic entry level awesome-sauce, well loved by many audiophiles. They also are easy to power off 6S li-ion batteries- they advertise 18V DC power input (and come with an 18V wall power adapter) but accept up to 25V no problem (and rock a little more with the higher power).

How much space are you trying to fill up? Do you just want to do near-field listening? A small room? Bigger? What kind of budget? Audioengine makes some solid good self-powered speakers, in a range of prices. M-audio’s AV series is pretty famous self powered monitors. JBL has the LSR305 and LSR308 which are well respected. Check https://www.reddit.com/r/Zeos/ and https://www.reddit.com/r/BudgetAudiophile/ for more. You can also get separate amplifiers and speakers of course.

1 point

·

28th Aug 2016

> ## Proposed systems

In an effort to cut down on some of the repetitive questions, here are the absolutely cheapest systems we are willing to recommend.

Then you can get a chromecast audio for $30 to let you play wirelessly.

1 point

·

22nd Jul 2016

Micca make an active version of the MB42X, called the PB42X.

1 point

·

18th Jul 2016

Go for the $120 Micca PB42X.

1 point

·

30th Jul 2016

Hi, I’m new to the whole vinyl thing, and after reading through the guides I was looking at my first setup consisting of the Fluance RT80 played through some Micca PB42X Powered Speakers.

Am I correct in thinking that this is all I’d need to get started (besides some records, of course!), or do I also need an amp or something? I’m also open to any suggestions as far as improvements or saving money. Thanks!

1 point

·

26th Jun 2016

These are supposed to be pretty good: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

This power brick will help them output a higher volume:
https://www.amazon.com/SUPERNIGHT-100-240V-5-5×2-1mm-Converter-Adapter/dp/B00LUIKY4S

You’ll need an RCA to 3.5mm or 3.5 to 3.5 cable.

1 point

·

27th Jun 2016

I’m looking for a simple active speaker that accepts aux input and has a powered USB port. Bonus points for the PlayStation style power cord.

I plan on pairing each speaker with a Chromecast for a full house audio system.

I’m hoping I can get better quality speakers than the typical portable Bluetooth types. I don’t want to pay for batteries and waterproofing if I don’t need them. I also am trying to avoid the Sonos and Bose types. They seem expensive and come with their own wireless connectivity and smarts that the Chromecast will provide.

[edit]
Here are some suggestions and/or speaker sets I’ve found in my searches. Let me know which one you would prefer:

The D. W7 is the only existing speaker in the setup. I managed to get a great open box deal on this for $150.

1 point

·

17th May 2016

I have a set of these if you’re interested

1 point

·

26th May 2016
1 point

·

1st Mar 2016

On a budget you get these powered speakers and this phono stage

1 point

·

12th Feb 2016

How small? What’s your budget? For $119 the micca pb42x are a great small speaker choice. Can you fit JBL LSR305s?

1 point

·

18th Jan 2016

The Micca PB42X and a ChromeCast audio if you use Spotify.

If you don’t use spotify, then a Bluetooth receiver such as this one would work. Since you’re using iProducts, Bluetooth AptX doesn’t help since they don’t support the protocol.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2016

Micca PB42X ($120)

JBL LSR305 ($269)

I know that’s a big jump from $120 to $269 but there’s not a ton in-between that is any good. I like the Audio Engine A2+ for $250 but honestly for $250 you might as well jump up to the much better JBLs.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2015

Would I be able to connect these with some powered bookshelf speakers, Micca PB42X, and my PC? PB42X is connected to PC via standard 3.5mm stereo input

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2015

These Micca speakers are one of the few entry level speakers people buy in this sub. But, if you can swing $250, I would highly suggest the Audio Engine A2+.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2015

You could save $50 by getting the powered version Micca PB42X. I wouldn’t get the SMSL amp unless you were planning on replacing the Miccas down the line.

1 point

·

9th Sep 2015

You could always get the pb42x and skip the smsl amp. I doubt you would notice a difference unless your trying to fill a room.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

1 point

·

15th Sep 2015

Or would it be a good idea to get these and axe getting an amp? http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

It would add a cost of about 23 dollars to what I was previously thinking of getting.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2015

For earbuds, look here: http://theheadphonelist.com/earphone-buyers-guide/

Decent stereo around $50 doesn’t really exist. Absolute cheapest that isn’t complete crap would probably be these: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1438985299&sr=8-7&keywords=micca+speakers

1 point

·

17th Jul 2015

These are the best, inexpensive powered speakers out there IMO: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

I think you should stick with the turntable and preamp (clearly biased)! And don’t forget a record brush!

1 point

·

30th Jun 2015

I would suggest these for a bit over $100: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00NXAEPDC/ref=pd_lpo_sbs_dp_ss_2?pf_rd_p=1944687702&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B00E7H8GG2&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1XRXC8ADDWEFYQBFCDM1

These are the powered versions of the recommended mb42x’s up top.

Unfortunately they recently got a price hike from $99 to $119-but I still think there a great buy for desktop use.

Video review: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=LyMrRk-aVGQ&feature=youtu.be

1 point

·

24th Jun 2015

Hey there! I am going to be the first to say this but will most likely be the last; there is a weekly sticky that is meant to take in the questions that get asked a lot. check it out and also the previous weeks’ if you have a chance.

With that being said, the LP120 is a good casual listener table. It will have the built in pre amp and since you are concerned with space this is advantageous. This means that you can plug in directly to powered speakers to minimize on what space is taken up. These kinds of speakers have a simple built in amp that will take care of amplifying the speakers.

Here’s an older thread asking about powered speakers Link.

Most common I have seen on this sub Micca-PB42X.

These options shouldn’t take up any floor space if you have shelving or book cases or anything of the sort.

But if you are set on getting floor speakers, It would be worth your while to check out CL, GW, or anything like that since you may be able to pick up a nice amp/integrated amp and floor speakers for a good price.

1 point

·

30th May 2015
1 point

·

21st May 2015

Awesome. So would the Micca PB42X and the Dayton 650 sub go well together? Or do you have a different suggestion?

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sub-650-6-1-2-60-watt-powered-subwoofer–300-625

1 point

·

26th May 2015

You can get it for $119 @ http://www.chanemusiccinema.com/swan-multimedia/M10 when u get ur paycheck.

Another good choice would be these: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC $100-not a 2.1 however

1 point

·

17th May 2015

How are these?

1 point

·

28th Apr 2015

U can skip the amp and get the powered miccas if u desire: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC 99$

1 point

·

16th Apr 2015

Have you considered the pb42x instead http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC to skip having to buy an amp?

1 point

·

2nd Mar 2015
1 point

·

2nd Mar 2015

These are the active version of the suggested speakers. It’s as low as you can get.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

1 point

·

31st Mar 2015

Micca PB42X. Already powered, just plug and play. If you think you may be doing upgrades frequently, then look for the non-powered ones + a budget amp.

1 point

·

1st Feb 2015

It seems like the current batch is on sale due to a printer error on the back. They are selling for $99.95 each on Amazon.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2015

I have only heard good things about these. Thinking about grabbing a pair for myself.

1 point

·

6th Jan 2015

Micca recently came out with an active version of them.

Not sure how it sounds, should be ok.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC/

0 points

·

25th Jun 2019

Price History


We don’t Horse around here.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^| [^(Report Bug)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=Bug+Report&message=%2Fr%2Fbapcsalescanada%2Fcomments%2Fc568x6%2Frbuildapcsalescanada_general_discussion_daily%2Fes071x6%2F%0D%0A%0D%0A___%0D%0A%0D%0APlease+explain+here+what+you+expected+to+happen%2Fwhat+went+wrong.)

0 points

·

3rd Jun 2018

What kind of audio chipset is your PC running and what kind of audio outputs do you have access to? Also what kind of listening range are we talking about, at your desk, fill a room, fill an apartment?

The suggestion of the JBL LSR305s is solid, but if your talking about a gaming and music at your desk and you have a decent sound chipset I would recommend these:

https://smile.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B00NXAEPDC/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1527990073&sr=8-2&keywords=micca%2Bmb42x&th=1

If you want to ‘Rock Out’ in you bedroom/office the JBLs are a great option.

I would only go with a full externally amplified ‘System’ for a living room or open apartment personally. Just my 2 cents though.

0 points

·

15th May 2018

Recievers will be over $100 usually so maybe out of your budget. Powered speakers on the other hand, do not need a receiver, just need to be plugged in. These Miccas or these swans are usually the cheapest ones recommended

Here’s also a good list of speakers on the sidebar. Look for ones that are “powered” under tech specs, rest you will probably need a receiver.

0 points

·

15th Feb 2018

there is sidebar here with lot’s of speaker recommendations.

maybe something like Micca PB42x there are powered so no need to worry about amp. or you can just get passive Speakers such as Pioneer BS22 but you need AMP or avr with those.

0 points

·

9th Sep 2017

> Also open to taking recommendations for some wired (active!) bookshelf speakers in the same price range with comparable sound profile.

  1. Anything in the $30-40 bracket for bookshelf speakers is useless – they have so many glaring problems that they’re pretty much a waste of money
  2. You can’t really compare a bookshelf speaker to any reasonable portable speaker in terms of “sound profile”.

In other words: Your expectation to find anything enjoyable in that price range is “slim to none”. Over in /r/audiophile, the absolute cheapest thing we’re willing to recommend is the $120 Micca PB42X, but: If you’re willing to buy used, it’s often a better idea to have a look around Craigslist or a similar classifieds site for used solutions.

0 points

·

21st Mar 2017

Depends on the speakers you have, unless they’re $20 bargain bin grade I’d go for it. You don’t HAVE to have a separate preamp anyway, you could just directly hook it up to a pair of good powered speakers. Though you get way more flexibility with separate components. Here is a good breakdown of different setups.

Currently my setup is LP 120 directly connected to JBL LSR 305s.

You could also go with a headphone setup if you hate sharing.

0 points

·

18th Jul 2015

Does her TV have an analog output?

If so, http://www.amazon.com/Micca-PB42X-Powered-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00NXAEPDC

You could use the tv remote for speaker volume