What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers for Home Theater Surround Sound, Stereo, and Passive Near Field Monitor, 2-Way (Black, Pair)?

A total of 85 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

10th Feb 2017

I got them off amazon. Pretty cheap. They actually have a mesh grill on them. I just took them off. Link

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2022

You don’t really need all of that, just look for a receiver or amplifier at Goodwill, the ones in my area always have tons, with time you’ll have a better idea of what to look for, but you’ll probably find brands you’ll recognize, Yamaha, even a few old Denon models, one of which I now use as with main stereo setup. Many will have a headphone output built in, look for that if it’s important to you. You’ll also have no trouble finding some passive speakers there or invest in some better ones with the money you saved, these were my first set and I still really like them Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers for Home Theater Surround Sound, Stereo, and Passive Near Field Monitor, 2-Way (Black, Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_EXKX0Q3P6YE57XDWWMPD?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

And if you are really set on new for what you were looking for, the PYLE PP444 is pretty well respected, even if the brand sometimes isn’t.
For the headphone amp, the Schiit Magni Hershey seems good. But you also don’t need a preamp and a headphone amp together

1 point

·

14th Nov 2021

Get a cheap DVD player at the thrift store (make sure it has a coax or optical out on the back). Spend your money on a solid entry-level DAC, like a Schiit Modi. Lastly, go to Amazon and get some Micca speakers. You’ll have a great sounding little system.

Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers for Home Theater Surround Sound, Stereo, and Passive Near Field Monitor, 2-Way (Black, Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_FBW5YJXW3SWG7JJW2B7J

1 point

·

12th Nov 2020

The linked speakers are powered. As long as those are the ones you got you are fine. Just run the speaker cables from the powered side through the sub’s speaker level input and then to the unpowered side.

If you got the cheaper unpowered ones, then yes you’d need an amp.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2020

Yeah I think really filling all the space is going to be hard at our budget, hopefully we can find a good deal on the PB-2000 which would at least get us closer to filling the room. For the surrounds what would you recommend? I was also looking at the Micca MB42 as well, it’s larger than the COVO-S but at a similar price.

1 point

·

14th Oct 2020

Logitech doesn’t make good speakers. If you’re looking for good sound, don’t look at Logitech.

The Miccas are fine, but the MB42 isn’t much more expensive and is much better.

1 point

·

16th Jul 2020

this micca mb42x?

A passive speaker setup would require at least:
– cable from PC 3.5mm port (AUX) to RCA ports in integrated amplifier
– an integrated/stereo amplifier which allows volume control and drives the passive speakers
– speaker cables from amplifier to each of the speakers (might need wire cutters and strippers)
– speakers
– empty space behind speakers, depending on the speakers 20-50cm maybe?

you also need to match the speakers and the amplifier – speakers should have a range of allowed output power in given impedance/ohm. Overpowering or underpowering could break them.

Installing such setup is no small investment considering the cables could easily cost more than $50 or $100, more than the price of the small amplifier suggested by amazon on the page. You might want to do more research and plan for future upgrade before purchase, or consult some HiFi shop for advice.

1 point

·

25th Oct 2019

Looking at the Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers . What options do I have for an amp? I’m trying to stay budget if that’s possible. Also, are the Micca’s good for that price? Or should I be looking at different options? Thanks.

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2018

Have you checked out Micca’s?

Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers With 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter (Black, Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_3XvTAbR4GWJYA

I set my parents up with these, along with the matching center. For the price, they sound pretty good. And if you want to upgrade over time, you can make them your rears and get new fronts.

1 point

·

8th Jan 2017

Looking into ordering the Micca MB42 (non X version) from Amazon (international shipping), as they are 40% off at the moment.

Any reason I should not do this? The absolute cheapest recommendation is the MB42X, but I’m not an audiophile so I’m a tad unsure (I just want a really good sound and a solid price vs performance ratio).

Also, is there a next level up contestant? I don’t mind spending the money (Up to $500), as I’m all about bang for the buck.

Cheers!

1 point

·

25th Dec 2016

You are welcome, you will need a preamp, amp, and speakers or a preamp and powered speakers as well. U-turn has an option to put a preamp into the turntable as well. There are plenty of good budget options or you can go the route I took and look at some vintage receivers which will have a preamp (labeled as phono). I found a solid receiver to be in the $40 – $100 range for that. Check your goodwill/savers/salvation army for some good speakers.

I have also seen people recommend these speakers:

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A

I know that adds a bit more than you wanted to spend, but now a few lawns or something and you will have a setup you can be proud of.

1 point

·

6th Aug 2016

Gotcha. One last question, if I decided to ditch those Sony speakers would these Miccas be a good substitute? I’ve seen them recommended all over /r/vinyl and /r/audiophile

1 point

·

28th Aug 2016

Well I was hoping to not spend that much, and I don’t really have the room for them. But I’m kinda interested in those now. Is there a big difference between the MB42X and the MB42?

Oh, and how do you know what amp to get for your speakers?

1 point

·

4th Aug 2016

I have a Magni 2 Uber and a Modi 2 Uber which drive my K7XX. Recently have been looking for desktop speakers and have got my eye on the Micca MB42s. Will the Magni 2 Uber drive these speakerS?

1 point

·

10th Jul 2016

You could always replace the fronts I recommended with the ELAC B4 saving $100, and then use something like Miccas for your surrounds (https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/) saving another $100. For your question about the subs, the SVS will ultimately be much better, but the Klipsch one isn’t going to be a slouch. Also for the speakers, it depends on how much you really care about sound, as the Pioneer speakers will still do great.

Edit: the Klipsch sub is now on sale for 175.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2016

I was referencing these speakers, which were a popular “first speaker” here for awhile.

Also, I’d definitely look into treatments if I were you. Speakers and associated gear are just part of the equation, the room itself is super important!

1 point

·

19th Oct 2015

I agree with /u/PhixieFool. Also, I can attest for the Lepai amp and I would suggest these Micca Speakers; they’re what I use and have been great. Also in the same price point as the Dayton Audio Speakers.

1 point

·

25th Mar 2015

Alright, we could probably get something on amazon or the like with reasonable shipping, but for $100 your options are pretty limited. I had these for a few weeks and they were actually fairly solid for near-field listening. They could put out decent bass as long as you were sitting near them and you could get them back into a corner.

edit: there are also a few Yamaha and Sony bookshelf speakers that are regularly well-received for around $100. I don’t know the models off the top of my head, but they’re fairly easy to find.

33 points

·

26th Aug 2019

nobody has explained their recommendations.

you don’t get good volume on dialog because of crappy channel mixing from your TV.

that’s not a dig on your specific TV… all TV’s suck at this. in fact, most receivers suck at mixing down from 5.1/7.1 to stereo.

for any content generated in surround, something like 95% of the dialog volume is mixed to the center channel.

if you’re listening on a pair of stereo speakers, you get to hear what the TV thinks is best, in terms of balancing the volumes between the channels.

folks here are recommending receivers that would give you 5.1 channel audio, and then also suggesting three speakers.

the three speakers are your Front L+R, and the all important center speaker.

receivers do a moderately good job of mixing all the surround channels to just the Front L+Rs, and if you have the center speaker, it will still get all of that delicious dialog.

your budget is a little tight, but doable.

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/yamrxv379bl/yamaha-rx-v379-5.1-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html $150

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ $60 for your front L+R pair

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HH2GINM/ $50 for your center channel

check out your sound settings for anything called “normalization” or “equalization”.

this will cap the maximum volume difference between the audio channels. so in effect it will reduce the loud parts, and bring up the volume on the quiet parts. this may be sufficient for you to like what you hear, or be sufficient for you to just get some nicer speakers and be quite satisfied.

if the “equalization” setting fixes the quiet/loud problem, but you just want more oomph, i would recommend

eris 4.5’s https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00GP56OYA/ $180

or

fluance ai40’s https://www.amazon.com/Fluance-Bookshelf-Amplifier-Turntable-Bluetooth/dp/B07CLDGXX1/ $200

both are self-powered, and need nothing other than a cable to connect them to your Tv.

i have eris e3.5’s and they are simply great.

i have fluance floor speakers, and they’re also great, so i would expect good performance on the ai40’s.

ai40’s come with more features – a bluetooth input option, and a remote to control the volume, source.

11 points

·

17th Sep 2018

Glad to have you join! I’ll make a list of everything you’ll need.

If you’ll be upgrading in the future, it’s a better idea to go with an amp and passive speaker setup, rather than active speakers. Then, next time you want to upgrade, you just need the speakers.

Here is that list:

Speakers

Nice little amp. SMSL makes really good budget stuff, and this amp is perfect for a set of desktop speakers. 20 watts per channel is plenty for being close to the speakers.

Speaker wire. Amazon Basics makes great stuff. If you want, you can get 100 feet of it for an extra $2 I think. You don’t need banana plugs. They’re for quick swapping of speakers, and if you only have one pair it doesn’t really matter.

Simple wire stripper. Should work just fine.

Cable to plug it in. Again, Amazon Basics stuff is excellent quality. Especially this cable. I was honestly blown away with it when I got it.


That’s it. Everything you need.

If some point down the road you decide you want a sub, look at Dayton. They make a 8 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch. Dayton Sub 800, Dayton Sub 1000, and Dayton Sub 1200 respectively. They can be had for around $100 to $150 depending on which one you get. I’d recommend getting one on Ebay if you’re going to, and wait until they do one of those sales where the whole store is 15 percent off or whatever they are.

Hope this helps!

5 points

·

20th Jul 2020

For a subwoofer I would look at Hsu Research. The VTF-2 or VTF-3 would be a great choice.

http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/vtf-3mk5HP.html

I would look at doing some internet direct speakers for your front channels. Chane, HTD, Hsu and Aperion are all great brands in your price range.

https://www.chanemusiccinema.com/index.php?route=product/category&path=100

And some cheap surrounds

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=pd_lpo_23_t_1/139-1802493-2897362?

A cheap AVR

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavrs540bt/denon-avr-s540bt-5.2-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html

3 points

·

5th Dec 2016

If you are willing to spend a little more you can pick up a cheap 2.0 digital amp off amazon and get some small bookshelf speakers like you were saying.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1480922309&sr=1-3&keywords=bookshelf+speaker

https://www.amazon.com/SMSL-SA-36A-TPA3118D2-Amplifier-Black/dp/B017W13OR0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1480922292&sr=8-2&keywords=smsl

Although this cost about twice the price I would be willing to say its worth it.

3 points

·

26th Jan 2017

You might like these too.

Of course, I found a pair for $5 at goodwill but if I’d knew before hand on amazon I would probably still buy these bad boys.

3 points

·

19th Aug 2018

I made a shopping list for you. This will be better than any pre-made system you can get.

Some speakers

Cheap but good little amp. I don’t have one of these because I’m not a fan of the looks, but they get great reviews and a lot of people really like them.

Speaker wire. Amazon Basics makes great stuff. If you want, you can get 100 feet of it for an extra $2 I think. You don’t need banana plugs. They’re for quick swapping of speakers, and if you only have one pair it doesn’t really matter.

Simple wire stripper. Should work just fine.

Cable to plug it in


That’s it. Everything you need.

If some point down the road if you decide you want a sub, look at Dayton. They make a 8 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch. Dayton Sub 800, Dayton Sub 1000, and Dayton Sub 1200 respectively. They can be had for around $100 to $150 depending on which one you get. I’d recommend getting one on Ebay if you’re going to, and wait until they do one of those sales where the whole store is 15 percent off or whatever they are. But, you will probably listen to them and decide you don’t need a sub anyways.

Hope this helps!

2 points

·

6th Aug 2018

No problem!

Here is that list:

The bigger speakers

The smaller speakers

Either speaker will work. The bigger ones will have a bit more low end and you’ll be happier without a sub. However, they also take up more room, so if you’ve got a little tv stand, they might not be the best.

Cheap but good little amp. I don’t have one of these because I’m not a fan of the looks, but they get great reviews and a lot of people really like them.;

Speaker wire. Amazon Basics makes great stuff. If you want, you can get 100 feet of it for an extra $2 I think. You don’t need banana plugs. They’re for quick swapping of speakers, and if you only have one pair it doesn’t really matter.

Simple wire stripper. Should work just fine.

Cable to plug it in. You’ll want to check to make sure your tv has a 3.5mm jack, but if it does, this is perfect. Again, Amazon Basics stuff is excellent quality. Especially this cable. I was honestly blown away with it when I got it.


That’s it. Everything you need.

If some point down the road you decide you want a sub, look at Dayton. They make a 8 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch. Dayton Sub 800, Dayton Sub 1000, and Dayton Sub 1200 respectively. They can be had for around $100 to $150 depending on which one you get. I’d recommend getting one on Ebay if you’re going to, and wait until they do one of those sales where the whole store is 15 percent off or whatever they are.

Hope this helps!

2 points

·

9th Aug 2018

Yeah of course! I’ll make something for around $100 for you.

Some speakers

Cheap but good little amp. I don’t have one of these because I’m not a fan of the looks, but they get great reviews and a lot of people really like them.

Speaker wire. Amazon Basics makes great stuff. If you want, you can get 100 feet of it for an extra $2 I think. You don’t need banana plugs. They’re for quick swapping of speakers, and if you only have one pair it doesn’t really matter.

Simple wire stripper. Should work just fine.

Cable to plug it in


That’s it. Everything you need.

If some point down the road you decide you want a sub, look at Dayton. They make a 8 inch, 10 inch, and 12 inch. Dayton Sub 800, Dayton Sub 1000, and Dayton Sub 1200 respectively. They can be had for around $100 to $150 depending on which one you get. I’d recommend getting one on Ebay if you’re going to, and wait until they do one of those sales where the whole store is 15 percent off or whatever they are. But, you will probably listen to them and decide you don’t need a sub anyways.

Hope this helps!

1 point

·

27th Dec 2021

A soundbar is going to give you better sound, or at least better control over the sound for a reasonable price. You can get mounts to attach it either above or below the TV on the mount, or you can even just mount it directly to the wall behind the TV firing down and it will still sound much better than the TV’s speakers.

If you’re dead set on bookshelf speaker, I can vouch for micca speakers being fantastic for the price. I use a pair of these as computer speakers, along with a small class D amp. Audio quality is spectacular and they will easily fill a room with sound, even at only 20W.

1 point

·

24th Jun 2021

I have purchased a pair of passive speakers and a receiver, I understand that they are very cheap, but I want to try our cheap ones first then as I go along get more expensive ones as I learn more

1 point

·

24th May 2021

If I were making a home theater on a budget I’d look at your local Good Will or second hand store. You can sort of reliably get a pretty high end system from 5-10 years ago for like $50 – $75.

Below are a couple I like, just to look at.

$60 Micca MB42 Speakers + $60 Fosi BT10 amplifier

$200 Audioengine A1

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2021

I’m not sure what your space situation is? I use these in my apartment and they work extremely well and put out some great sound.

1 point

·

9th Oct 2020

These are the ones I have on my pc/ps5 setup, I have them ran through a home AV reciever tho
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_fab_uaiGFbA5Y0REA

1 point

·

28th Sep 2020

Hey all, was looking for a desktop speaker set up and found these Micca bookshelf speakers over here.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A?th=1

I currently have an amp I’m using for my microphone and was wondering if it’d work with these speakers. Any help you could give would be much appreciated thanks!

Amp: https://www.amazon.com/BEHRINGER-Audio-Interface-1-Channel-UM2/dp/B00EK1OTZC

1 point

·

13th Aug 2019

5.1.2 would be my preferred speaker setup, so I am all ears for a decent receiver.

For the Micca – which ones for the surround? There are 2-3 different varities.

https://www.amazon.ca/Micca-MB42X-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A?th=1

1 point

·

16th May 2019

Thanks for your reply and advice. The all in one system was inherited when I bought my house. The previous owner installed two ceiling built-in speakers for the back left/right of the 5.1 setup. If I can confirm that those speakers are 4+ ohms, I am considering doing a full replace on the rest, so getting:


Dayton Audio SUB-1200

Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers

Micca MB42-C Center Channel Speaker

DENON
AVR-S530BT 5.2-Ch x 70 Watts Bluetooth A/V Receiver


Assuming I can check the two built-in ceiling speakers (which are a lot newer than the philips setup) and confirm they will work does that list make sense?

1 point

·

22nd Apr 2019

Can’t beat TheeZe for the price

1 point

·

28th Nov 2018

Whoops, at first glance I thought they were the same as mine.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_NkF.BbC918BCK

1 point

·

30th Aug 2018

I’d say to save up more money. If you have an amp already, then passive speakers are pretty affordable. These Micca’s are $50. If you’re needing powered speakers, then the $100 Edifier R1280T’s are the cheapest I’d recommend.

1 point

·

14th Jan 2018

I just purchased my first speakers and amp for my Audio Technica LP120, and I noticed the sound is fairly quiet. The speakers I bought were the Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers and the amplifier was the SMSL SA50 50Wx2 TDA7492. Has anyone else used these? And if so, is it quiet from the speakers or amplifier, or both?

1 point

·

10th Dec 2017

I have those same exact micca speaker for the front as well as the micca mb42 speakers for the rears to make my 5.1 setup. Got the dayton 1000 sub but I got the denon s530 instead due to my budget. Very happy with the setup. No issues at all, sound is amazing.

1 point

·

1st Dec 2017

I’m trying to decide between Micca MB42 bookshelf speakers and Polk Audio T15’s. My budget is pretty slim so I was wondering if anyone else has experience with either of these

1 point

·

20th Nov 2017

i recommend getting this instead

https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/list/b7KvTH

the empty blank of 81$ is for these speakers

https://www.amazon.ca/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/

1 point

·

24th Nov 2017

So looking at biting the bullet today. I have a gift card I haven’t used for Amazon and have been putting money away while researching a bit. I think I’m going to go with the AT LP120 since it is on sale on Amazon currently. I’m confused on what way to go about speakers and everything. Should I just get powered speakers? or go for an amp and passive speakers? Does it matter?

I was contemplating going with this:

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B009IUIV4A/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I2GAXTSK4RVSVI&colid=7GC4NM9HCY51

and this:

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B0049P6OTI/_encoding=UTF8?coliid=I52MGOSS1G19C&colid=7GC4NM9HCY51

Any thoughts? Or advice on another way to go?

(I live in Canada by the way if you are giving any advice on other Black friday deals)

1 point

·

30th Oct 2017

i got these speakers recently and there way too small… thats what i get for going cheap 🙁 https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009IUIV4A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1 i can’t find decent stands that have a smaller base…

1 point

·

25th Sep 2017

I don’t know what size those are but the 6.5 inch are here-
https://www.parts-express.com/speaker-surround-re-foam-repair-kit-for-6-1-2-speaker–260-915

I have to say I’m not sure I would spend 26.90 plus shipping to refoam those. Those looks pretty cheap and I’m not sure how good they sounded fresh from the factory. Looks like a mylar dome tweeter and a very inexpensive woofer. Might be time to cut your losses and get something that will sound great like https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ for $59.

1 point

·

6th Jun 2017

Not a projector, but I have a pair of Micca MB42 speakers and cheapy SMSL Q5 amp. The put out a good amount of sound for the size, certainy enough for an apartment. The other good thing about that amp is you can plug in various different devices. Your PC (USB) , your phone, your games console (optical input). And it’s smaller than a couple of DVD boxes.

Post your setup when you finish it!

Links: https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A

https://www.amazon.com/SMSL-Q5-Pro-Digital-Amplifier/dp/B014P5I93A

1 point

·

11th Jun 2017

I am using a 10 year old Sure 4 channel tk2050 amp board a 350w 24v meanwell clone psu and I use Equalizer apo and my sound card as a crossover/eq.

If I had to do an easy budget computer system today, I’d go tpa3116, psu, Micca 4in bookshelf, and a skar shallow 12

The skar over grs because I like a foot rest under my desk anyway, and the grs 8 ported is too big for that.

1 point

·

12th Apr 2017

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009IUIV4A/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

These are the ones I found for my room, they’re only 50, but they’re REALLY good

1 point

·

26th Apr 2017

Ok, posted this last night wanting to get an opinion on this receiver on CL for my first setup, or this receiver on eBay, but also want to ask another question… Am I better off for a budget setup in a small apartment doing TT/Pre-amp –> Receiver –> Passive speakers, or TT/Pre-Amp –> Powered Speakers? I’m looking at both the Micca MB42 and the Micca PB42X

1 point

·

15th Mar 2017

I’m going to recommend a pair of BIC America DV62si speakers since these are 90db sensitive. They are $120 on amazon and parts-express. If you want to add a center channel then grab the DV-52CLRB for another $70 making $190 total.

I understand that’s more than you wanted to spend so here is an alternate: Micca MB42 speakers as left and right channels for $60 a pair and the MB42-C center channel for $50

1 point

·

24th Jan 2017

I agree about the 481 if you can afford it. The networking options are great. I feel like this will a great addition to your HT setup. The app control alone is awesome. That being said $100 toward your speakers could go a long way.

Here are some options to consider.

AVR – Yamaha RX-V481 refurb $300 or Denon S720W refurb $300

Speakers – Pick one

Sub – (if you didn’t get a set that has a sub) Dayton Sub 1200 $130 + Kable Direct sub cable $15 I would go with the 12″ if you can fit it as it’s on sale for the same price as the 10″ from Amazon.

1 point

·

7th Sep 2016

I’d get these with an inexpensive amp like this

1 point

·

22nd Aug 2016

Most HTiB systems are barely one step better than a sound bar. Onkyo in particular has had too many quality/reliability issues of late for me to recommend them.

Since you haven’t stated I’ll assume you are in the US. That said I’d do this:

Receiver $210: http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/yamrxv381/yamaha-rx-v381-5.1-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html

5.0 speakers $200: http://www.fluance.com/home-theater-systems/av5htb-dynamic-home-theater-surround-sound-speaker-system

Subwoofer $150: http://www.parts-express.com/dayton-audio-sub-1200-12-120-watt-powered-subwoofer–300-629

If this were me and I HAD to get a 5.1 system with that budget this is what I’d do. That said, if this were me I’d use the $600 and get a nice 2.0 system and add to it as my budget recovered until I had a full 5.1 system.

I’d use the same receiver as above but these speakers: http://www.htd.com/Products/level-three-speakers/Level-THREE-Bookshelf-Speakers

When the budget recovers get a nice subwoofer $365: http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/stf-2.html

Then the matching center channel $210: http://www.htd.com/Products/level-three-speakers/Level-THREE-Center-Channel-Speaker

And finally a set of Micca MB42 for surrounds $60: https://smile.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1471873252&sr=1-2&keywords=micca

This way takes longer and requires patience but you’ll end up with a set of speakers you can keep for decades through multiple receiver/TV upgrades.

1 point

·

16th Aug 2016

What cables/hardware do I need to buy to connect my speakers to an amp and play sound from my PC? I’m in the UK if that helps….

The speakers : https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A

The amp : https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lepai-Tripath-TA2020-Class-T-Amplifier/dp/B0049P6OTI

Thanks for any replies!

1 point

·

7th Aug 2016

I’ve heard good things about the Micca MB42.

1 point

·

6th Jun 2016

hey, do you mean these?

1 point

·

27th Jun 2016
1 point

·

10th Jun 2016

I need to know if the SMSL SA-98E 160WPC is enough for these Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers. Thanks, I’m totally new to this and don’t want to mess anything up (trying to stick to a 250AUD [185USD] budget.)

1 point

·

9th Dec 2015

Would those speakers be much better than these?

Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers with 4-Inch Carbon Fiber Woofer and Silk Dome Tweeter, Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=cm_sw_r_other_awd_vVkAwbVCJKWPG

They’re also pretty well-reviewed.

1 point

·

8th Nov 2015

I’ve seen good things about these speakers

would this be a better place to start?

and this sub

1 point

·

8th Nov 2015

I’ve seen good things about these speakers

would this be a better place to start?

and this sub

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2015

Creating a whole new Mac Setup based around my 13″ rMBP. I’m starting from scratch this Black Friday/Cyber Monday and was wondering what you guys thought of the list of things I have compiled so far: (Still need to find a decent monitor)

Micca MB42 –http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I2EOI8W0FNXWXR

Random Lamp- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00J5DZJJU/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I1WGISPEI3IOPE&psc=1

Logitech MX Master-http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TZR3WRM/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I311LL35LP4IM3

Desk Organizer-http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H5CVCN0/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I3MQ7Y7JWKEISN

Arrow Mousepad- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZR8U37U/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pd_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I19UBCI56DJXHJ

Headphone Stand for Beats- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LF4W4QI/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I11B5ISJUNDQSE&psc=1

4 Port USB Hub- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KOHQU58/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I2BXKCN48AJ3VG

Griffin Technology Elevator Laptop Stand- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0044RUSZM/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=I2DEUPMXRHLHP0

Not sure if I should get a mechanical keyboard or a normal apple style keyboard like the Logitech Wireless Solar Keyboard K750 for Mac- http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005L38VRU/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=KM1P668GTJ82&coliid=ITIT4UTRTYW6A&psc=1

Not sure which would be better for me as I am a high school student who does not game but types up a lot of papers :).

Thanks for the help and any input on what I’m missing would be appreciated!

1 point

·

21st Oct 2015

You haven’t provided much info, but I’ll just go ahead and tell you what to do anyway.

  1. Buy a pair of Micca MB42 bookshelf speakers: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A

  2. Install the crossover kit in them: http://www.miccastore.com/crossover-upgrade-for-micca-mb42-bookshelf-speakers-p-114.html (this saves you $20 on the Micca MB42Xs)

  3. Buy an SMSL SA50 amp: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F0H8TOC/

  4. Connect it all up with speaker wire and a 3.5mm to RCA cable.

1 point

·

25th Aug 2015

Does your case not have a front panel headphone jack that you can plug into?

A commonly recommended setup if you want decent sound quality for cheap would be to get these 4 items:

Micca MB42 Speakers – $50

Lepai LP-2020A+ Amp – $30

3.5 mm to RCA cable – $3

Speaker Wire – $8

Of course that adds up to almost a $100 altogether so perhaps you will just want to go with your standard 2 channel powered computer speakers, for example this:

Creative Inspire T12 2.0

It even has the headphone jack like you wanted.

1 point

·

9th Jul 2015

Admittedly not a fan of Polk and Onkyo has too many reliability issues for me and even if they didn’t they aren’t a speaker company, they are an electronics company. With a $1k budget this is what I’d get:

Receiver $250: http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavrx1100w/denon-avr-x1100w-7.2-4k-receiver-wi-fi/bluetooth/airplay-w/3-yr-warranty/1.html

L/R and center $345: http://www.wavecrestaudio.com/products/hvl-1-two-way-loudspeaker-pair

Surrounds $50: http://smile.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1436470972&sr=8-5&keywords=micca

Subwoofer $365: http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/stf-2.html

This setup would annihilate either of the two systems you are considering. This would be a system for the long haul.

1 point

·

25th Jun 2015

got it. People online seem to be mixing these speakers with this amp and I’m maybe leaning towards that or the m-audio ones you pointed out.

1 point

·

17th Apr 2015

Non-mobile: www.amazon.com/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=mp_s_a_1_3?qid=1429228774&sr=8-3&pi=AC_SY200_QL40&keywords=micca+mb42x&dpPl=1&dpID=41VzGIA31cL&ref=plSrch

^That’s ^why ^I’m ^here, ^I ^don’t ^judge ^you. ^PM ^/u/xl0 ^if ^I’m ^causing ^any ^trouble. ^WUT?

1 point

·

9th Mar 2015

I was told to repost this here.

EDIT (due to response on initial thread): Also, I’m not looking to upgrade speakers and/or amp. Just wondering if the audio interface I’m looking at will serve as a DAC and a mic receiver.

From what I understand this setup will work for what I need. But, I have a limited knowledge of all this. Hopefully someone here can confirm this for me.

Source: PC via USB

Current setup:

What I would like to do is add the Behringer UM2 as a replacement for the UCA202. I’ll be using the UM2 for mic input, can I output audio as well? Or do the RCA outputs output only what’s being received from the mic? I read through the description, but it doesn’t seem to mention anything about DAC capabilities, and I’ve no idea what 2×2 usb means.

Also, I hope this doesn’t come across as me being lazy (like my last post did), cause I will be continuing to research while I wait for a possible response.

Thanks!

1 point

·

4th Feb 2015

how big is this room.?
maybe you could start her off with a pair of these little miccas 4″ bookshelf for $69.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=sr_1_6?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1423029210&sr=1-6&keywords=micca

and also get her this marantz slimline receiver. $269
then later on later on get her a center channel micca for $40 to match the bookshelves. you can float it
under the tv or whatver with just one bolt I’m sure.

Marantz slimline receiver $269. really nice. 4.5″ height. take it with you if you break up.

http://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/marnr1403/marantz-nr1403-slimline-5.1-av-receiver/1.html

Micca Center $40.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-C-Channel-Speaker-Tweeter/dp/B00HH2GINM/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1423029438&sr=1-1&keywords=micca+center+channel

0 points

·

22nd Mar 2017

Hello I’m retarded but love music could anybody knowledgeable help me out real quick? I’m trying to create a nice speaker system for house parties and what not. I was planning on buying Micca MB42 Bookshelf Speakers and Polk Audio PSW10 10-Inch Powered Subwoofer

However, again I’m a little slow and I’m not sure if these are compatible (or even how to determine that, I was gonna call both companies but i figure this will be easier) and for the Micca speakers it says “Note: MB42 speakers are not self-powered and require an amplifier or receiver to play music” – what does this mean?

If anybody can help, I’d appreciate it and if you need me to clarify anything just ask. thanks!

0 points

·

27th Mar 2017

So i recently bought a pair of book shelf speakers, Micca MB42s and a subwoofer, Polk Audio PSW10. Now im just looking for an amp receiver for all these devices, not really sure what I need to make it all work and sound good? Hopefully someone here can recommend something (preferably on amazon) and thanks guys love this sub

0 points

·

22nd Jul 2015

I would advise against Bose as they will be useless to upgrade, of small speakers only 2 really come to mind. The Micca’s are great little speakers and require a dedicated amplifier, Check out r/zeos for lots of option.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42-Bookshelf-Speakers-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A

http://audioengineusa.com/Store/A2-plus-B-Powered-Desktop-Speakers

I would suggest pairing either of these with an 8-10 inch subwoofer to get the low end you are missing out on. Most Micro speakers aren’t anything special but the A2s have very good sound quality and you won’t need to worry about upgrading.

Another option is to scoot your desktop over and try this
http://microship.com/resources/resourcepix/speaker-complete.jpg

0 points

·

4th Mar 2013

Some asshole on this reddit normally recommends the MB42 over the B652, because to him the B652 is total ear piercing torture.