What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers?

A total of 70 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

12th Jan 2021

You could save $50 by going with a pair of the Micca Covo-S compact speakers for your rears instead of the Micca OoO. I have a pair that I use in a 2.0 setup with my TV and they sound pretty good for my basic needs, so I’m sure they’d make great rears in a 5.1 setup.

3 points

·

6th Jan 2021

I have these cute speakers on my desk and I used to have em way too close together due to desk space.

my new desk is ever-so-slightly larger so I’ve got them separated the sound difference is magnificent! I am amazed

2 points

·

24th Jan 2021

Honestly, that’s what you should do. Maybe find a smaller speaker option, something like these Miccas and aim them straight down at the couch. Then they could either be rear height or even Atmos… though not sure about using only rear Atmos, seems like most 5.x.2 setups put the Atmos in front of the main listening position.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2021

Could always go surface mount instead of in-ceiling. Something small like the COVO-S wouldn’t be too obvious and again would be fine for Atmos height speakers. Then you just need cable channels to keep it neat and tidy.

Also I updated my links to reflect Amazon.ca since I saw you are in Canada.

1 point

·

27th Jun 2021

Using this pair, cheap and easy to mount (just using command tape to hold them up)

Micca Speakers

1 point

·

5th Jul 2017
InfoDetails
Amazon ProductMicca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers

>Amazon donates 0.5% of the price of your eligible AmazonSmile purchases to the charitable organization of your choice. By using the link above you get to support a chairty and help keep this bot running through affiliate programs all at zero cost to you.

1 point

·

24th Aug 2018

You can even start with mini satellites for surrounds. Micca Covo-s

Bipole speakers are basically more onmi-directional than aimed direct-radiating.

1 point

·

5th Sep 2017

If the mechanism for the amp is too big, then that makes sense. Like I said, I’m pretty into the audio side of things.

Thanks for the recommendation for the amp by the way, that’s very nearly double what I’m trying to spend on the whole set up. As I mention in the post, I will be using the speakers only on occasion and will still primarily be using my headphones as my daily drivers.

I took a look at the recommended bookshelf speakers list, and I’m liking the Micca COVO-S for a combination of size, prize, and aesthetics. I think I’d be willing to drop ~$30 at most on the amp itself as well.

I’m probably in the wrong sub to be bringing this up, but I guess given how little I’d be using it, I’m considering just dropping ~$20-30 on a bluetooth solution for economy and simplicity too.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2017

I mean you can get compact bookshelf speakers.

Something like the Micca Covo-S paired with a SA-36 or Lepy amp would probably be better than almost all “pc speaker” kits.

1 point

·

5th Jul 2017

You’ll be vastly better off with a 2.0 (or perhaps 2.2 setup, with those speakers) than you would be with a hodge-podged surround setup using mix-matched components. A soundbar is not designed to be a center channel speaker. Discard it, and use the new speakers you bought to create a “phantom center.” This will sound much better anyway.

If you want rear speakers, spend $40-75 on some Mica surround speakers or something. Don’t try and mess around with bluetooth transmitters or anything.

1 point

·

12th Jul 2017

Hey! I know this isn’t really headphones advice and more audiophile advice, but I’m hoping you guys can help me. Currently I have both my PC and PS4 hooked up to my Fidelio X2’s through an Uber Schiit Stack. I’ve been toying with the idea of getting desktop speakers, and because of needs and wants i’m looking at the Micca Covo-s.

My question is this. Could I have these just add on to my current set up? If so, how would the speakers decide to play the PS4 audio or the desktop audio. ^^also ^^because ^^im ^^a ^^noob ^^i ^^don’t ^^know ^^what ^^cables ^^and ^^stuff ^^to ^^buy ^^so ^^any ^^help ^^is ^^much ^^appreciated Thanks!

1 point

·

19th Apr 2017

Right now I have some old, terrible, but small speakers that I use just for my desk (I have big boy Polk Towers surrounding the TV next to the desk) for times when I want to use my computer for watching videos and such. Want to replace them with something better, but still really don’t want to spend much (as the sound quality isn’t a huge deal). Any suggestions for small (< bookshelf) sized speakers?

EDIT: For reference, something along these lines

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=pd_sbs_23_1?_encoding=UTF8&amp;pd_rd_i=B00N8265I8&amp;pd_rd_r=9P0QKEFZSRDY5P9VF5WM&amp;pd_rd_w=6dfBp&amp;pd_rd_wg=3f3Rp&amp;psc=1&amp;refRID=9P0QKEFZSRDY5P9VF5WM

1 point

·

19th Nov 2016

I’d like to purchase some computer speakers (I’ve been using headphones). What’s good under $40? I’m looking at these right now: Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers Speaker wires are also required, can I get an inexpensive recommendation?

1 point

·

10th Aug 2015

Ah, I see. If these will just be used as rear surrounds, you don’t need any sort of high end speaker. Mainly a few sound effects will be going through. So I’d just get something like this if you can’t find the Klipschs: http://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_13?s=electronics&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1439182804&amp;sr=1-13&amp;keywords=small+speakers

1 point

·

27th Apr 2015

“tiny” is pretty relative haha. The micca covo-s are even smaller. And any sub is hardly tiny. But yeah if you want any amount of significant bass with bookshelf speakers, you’ll want a sub.

1 point

·

9th Feb 2015

Check out the Micca COVO for $40. They are tiny and do really well in the surround roll.

1 point

·

3rd Jan 2015

You are going to have to pickup a set of Covo-s’, Micca’s new mini coaxial speakers. They adorable and from my initial impressions better than anything else I have heard that is the size of a softball.

^(Micro Zboombox is coming!)

6 points

·

15th Jul 2020

I bought these tiny ~$50 speakers for my desktop and they sound great all things considered!

Edit: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N8265I8/

5 points

·

27th Dec 2018

Interesting. Micca covo-s were on amazon yesterday and now they aren’t. I guess just keep an eye out for these.

3 points

·

3rd Sep 2018

Howdy. I hope I can be of assistance.

It sounds like you need something small and cheap. We’ve all been there.

What you have picked out is the way to go. I would have recommended the MB42 instead, but those went up in price yesterday apparently.

They will not sound as good as those headphones. The general consensus around here is that headphones sound better for the same price. However, I hate wearing headphones, so I listen to music exclusively with speakers.

Now, what to expect with them? They sound amazing for their price. And for their size. In that price and size bracket, those are the best you can get.

For hooking them up and what not, I recommend maybe an Amazon Echo Dot. You can hook it up via 3.5mm and play from spotify and bluetooth, set alarms, and stop them just with your voice. There is a bit of lag, but if you’re listening to podcasts it doesn’t really matter. If you already have the bluetooth receiver that you mentioned, you don’t need the dot. Also, don’t worry about them getting loud enough. They should do just fine.

I’ll make a list of everything you’ll need.


Those micca covo-s speakers

Cheap but good little amp. I don’t have one of these because I’m not a fan of the looks, but they get great reviews and a lot of people really like them.;

Speaker wire. Amazon Basics makes great stuff. If you want, you can get 100 feet of it for an extra $2 I think. You don’t need banana plugs. They’re for quick swapping of speakers, and if you only have one pair it doesn’t really matter.

Simple wire stripper. Should work just fine.

Cable to plug it in. Amazon Basics stuff is excellent quality. Especially this cable. I was honestly blown away with it when I got it. And I’m not kidding. This cable is amazing.

Your lucky day. The echo dot is on sale


That’s it. Everything you need. Enjoy!

3 points

·

15th Jul 2020

They provide a poor value compared to a bookshelf speaker system. I would take the Bose Acoustimass over a soundbar, simply because it offers some stereo separation but the drivers are just too small to really make an impact.

I think that system runs for about 1k which is more than enough to build a proper surround system with a quality subwoofer and some great bookshelf speakers.

Something like this will blow the Bose system out of the water and give you plenty of room to upgrade. I would suggest going with a 3.1 package to start if cost is a limiting factor.

http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/hybrid2mk5pkg.html

Pair it with this

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavrs540bt/denon-avr-s540bt-5.2-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html

and add these for surrounds if you want to save some cash.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8

2 points

·

12th Jun 2020

Decide on a budget and then pick something from this list. Try to demo some speakers if you can. Amazon has a good return policy so you could try a set or two at once and keep what you like best.

https://www.reddit.com/r/HTBuyingGuides/comments/dy8270/speaker_recommendations/

I would avoid most bundled systems like that as the sub is not the best and you can get cheaper surrounds.

In that price range I would do something like this. I would go 3.0 or 5.0 to start. You will likely need to save up more for a good subwoofer.

https://www.htd.com/Level-TWO-Bookshelf-Speakers

https://www.htd.com/Level-TWO-Center-Channel-Speaker

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/

&#x200B;

And here is some reading on why you should budget atleast $400 for a subwoofer if you are going to get one.

https://www.reddit.com/r/hometheater/comments/7q5jmw/why_spending_money_on_a_subwoofer_is_important_a/

1 point

·

19th Oct 2021

I have two suggestions for you, that should work even with the less than ideal speaker placement options for your L-shaped basement. The first is Bipolar speakers which can be set like 3 feet above the listeners ear-level on those two skinny pillars(so partway up on the column, see reddit thread below), or you can set the bipolar speakers on either wall left or right of the couch(I can’t see how far away one of the walls is away, so it may not work). Since it isn’t a perfect placement, I wouldn’t spend too much money on the bipolar speakers since they are only for rear surround channels of sound and would recommend the Fluance options in a heartbeat(even the cheapest options will do, but they have 3 options in there line-up).

https://www.fluance.com/bookshelf-surround-bipolar-speakers

https://www.reddit.com/r/hometheater/comments/ezf95c/bipolar_surround_speakers_placement/

&#x200B;

The second option that worked well for my friends that had small rooms/couches against a wall( or no good rear channel placement and or a wife that didn’t want to see cables) was using a set of bookshelf speakers and placing them just left or right of the couch(and slightly behind if you have the space behind the couch) on the ground and having them face upward to create the sense of spatial sound (just make sure they are elevated a little if they have a port on the back). This is only an option, but it works better than anticipated, and since you can hide the cables under the couch it is definitely easy to setup(and wife approved). If you already have speakers, I would try this out as it a cheap and easy solution, plus I tried it in my bedroom and it worked really well since the sound bounced off the ceiling and walls, making the rear surrounds feel farther away than they actually are. The Micca Covo-S speakers below are a cheap, small and easy solution as well if you don’t already have rear speakers.

https://www.amazon.ca/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr\_1\_18?dchild=1&amp;keywords=bookshelf+speaker&amp;qid=1634664374&amp;s=electronics&amp;sr=1-18

Good luck.

1 point

·

16th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers$64.98$64.984.3/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

15th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers4.3/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

14th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers4.3/5.0

&nbsp;

^Item&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Bot&amp;nbsp;Info&nbsp;|&nbsp;Trigger

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2020

For $1000:
Yamaha Receiver, $330
Emotiva B1 and C1, $430 if purchased separately using 20% back
Rocketfish wireless Tx/Rx, $120
Cheap, easy to drive Micca surrounds, $55.

Leaves you at $935 total for 5.0 system. If you want to up your budget by another $150ish you could get a decent subwoofer, which I would really recommend. If you want to up it by $450ish you can get an excellent sub at SVS right now, which I would recommend even more.

1 point

·

31st Oct 2020

what about these Miccas?

1 point

·

29th Oct 2018

Onkyo 9.2 THX Dolby Atmos, DTX
5.1.4 configuration or 7.1.2 $499

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA2GA8510524&amp;cm_re=9.2_receiver-_-9SIA2GA8510524-_-Product

Below for 5.1.4

Micca MB42X-C Center Channel – $70

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1540843764&amp;sr=8-2-fkmr0&amp;keywords=micca+mini+speakers

Micca bookshelf speakers pair 2x $120 for 4 Bookshelf speakers

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-MB42X-C-Channel-Speaker-Tweeter/dp/B009IUIV4A/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1540844054&amp;sr=8-1-spons&amp;keywords=micca%2Bcenter%2Bchannel%2Bspeaker&amp;th=1

Micca COVO-S Mini 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers – Hung from ceilling used as Atmos speakers 2x

$90 for 4 speakers

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1540843764&amp;sr=8-2-fkmr0&amp;keywords=micca+mini+speakers

Speaker Mounts for Celling Atmos speakers

Micca Subwoofer $129.00

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-10-Inch-Powered-Subwoofer-MS10/dp/B07B4MSXZ8/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1540844226&amp;sr=8-1-spons&amp;keywords=micca+subwoofer&amp;psc=1

That totals $908 leaves you some extra for banana plugs, wiring, mounts etc. which can be had for cheap on Amazon

  • Some of the speaker mount kits come with 4-6 mounts which could be used for all the speakers run $10-$30

  • If you don’t get a 9.2 Atmos you could shave about $250 off the cost and just get a 5.1 Receiver that decodes just up to Dolby True HD, and DTS – MA which would be plenty for a novice

  • The 9.2 Receiver would allow him to add another Sub or drive better speakers later if he plans to upgrade

1 point

·

29th Oct 2019

PCPartPicker Part List

TypeItemPrice
CPUAMD Ryzen 5 3600 3.6 GHz 6-Core Processor$194.79 @ OutletPC
MotherboardASRock B450M/AC Micro ATX AM4 Motherboard$69.89 @ OutletPC
MemoryG.Skill Aegis 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory$59.99 @ Newegg
StorageWestern Digital Blue SN500 500 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive$64.98 @ Amazon
StorageSeagate Barracuda Compute 2 TB 3.5&quot; 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive$49.99 @ Amazon
Video XFX Radeon RX 5700 8 GB DD Ultra Video $319.99 @ Amazon
CaseDeepcool MATREXX 50 ATX Mid Tower Case$45.99 @ Amazon
Power SupplyCooler Master MasterWatt 550 W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-modular ATX Power Supply$54.79 @ Amazon
Operating SystemMicrosoft Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit$99.89 @ OutletPC
CustomLepy LP-2020A Class-D Hi-Fi Digital Amplifier with Power Supply Black$21.90
CustomDayton Audio B452 4-1/2″ 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair$27.88
Prices include shipping, rebates, and discounts, but not taxes
Total (before mail-in rebates)$1020.08
Mail-in rebates-$10.00
Total$1010.08
Generated by PCPartPicker 2019-10-29 05:35 EDT-0400
  • CPU: Easily the best performer in its price range. Comes with a respectable fan.
  • Motherboard: PCPartPicker warns about compatibility, but this motherboard is new enough that all units support Ryzen 3000 series CPUs out of the box. Has built-in WiFi.
  • RAM: Good value, fast enough that it won’t hold back the CPU significantly.
  • Storage – SSD: Great performance that doesn’t degrade heavily as it fills up. Some other SSDs, such as the Intel 660p, have this problem.
  • Storage – HDD: 7200 RPM and isn’t a used and repackaged drive like many others sometimes are.
  • GPU: A beast. This should easily push 144 FPS at 1080p in most games. Hopefully your monitor has FreeSync!
  • Case: Looks pretty good with tempered glass windows; not sure how easy it is to build in.
  • PSU: Semi-modular for easier cable management. Tier B on the PSU tier list. Fully 200W over PCPartPicker’s estimated wattage.
  • OS: You could save money short-term by not buying a license key and leaving your Windows unactivated, but you only get feature/security updates for a year and there’s a watermark on the desktop.
  • Speakers/speaker amp: I don’t know a lot about this stuff myself, but these seem to be about the minimum possible for a not-terrible system according to /r/BudgetAudiophile. You’ll need a 3.5mm to 3.5mm or 3.5mm to RCA cord to get the amp hooked up to your PC, I think. Better speakers for more money are Dayton B652 ($31) – Micca COVO-S ($45) – Micca MB42X ($80).
1 point

·

12th Oct 2020

the cool playas at /r/hometheater say it’s good and the best wireless solution. I plan on buying this with some https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8

1 point

·

7th Oct 2020

If you need some cheap, small, and good enough to get by, the Micca Covo-S are $55 and can work for surrounds.

1 point

·

13th Aug 2020

The problem, and what I think is the solution. Am I right or wrong?:

I currently have a gen 3 focusrite scarlett solo 2i2 interface along with a dynamic microphone for work and play. I only use headphones at the moment, but plan to add speakers and a small sub to my setup very soon. My goal is to be able to retain the mic monitoring.

If I do need a separate dac/amp for incoming speakers + sub, how can I hookup my current audio interface to maintain microphone input and monitoring? The way I pictured it, both the interface and the dac/amp are plugged into the PC via USB. The audio interface’s rear RCA outputs get plugged into the amp. The computer is then set to use the focusrite audio interface as its microphone, and it’s speaker output would be set to the dac/amp.

I’d imagine if I wanna use the speakers I’m good, and if I want to use my ATH-M40x headphones I plug directly into the dac/amp. Either way the interface monitoring is outputting to that dac/amp and so using my mic should be audible right? Will there be any volume issues? And can the dac/amp accept two inputs simultaneously (PC as well as monitoring coming from audio interface)?

Future setup to consider:

I’m still looking for a good sub and amp, but due to space constraints I’m looking at the Micca COVO-S speakers. I plan to place those under my monitors with some angled speaker wedges.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2020

Does you budget include the TV stand too?

I would not skip out on a subwoofer. Besides your center channel, it is the most impactful speaker in a system.

This 3.1 bundle stands out above other bundles in that the subwoofer is actually amazing. You can always turn a good subwoofer down as to not bother others.

http://www.hsuresearch.com/products/hybrid2mk5pkg.html

Then just use some Micca Covos as your surrounds.

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8

and this avr

https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/item/denavrs540bt/denon-avr-s540bt-5.2-ch-x-70-watts-bluetooth-a/v-receiver/1.html

Other options include

Chane A1.5

Chane A2.5

or

HTD Level Three

HTD Level Three Center

You could also go with a smaller a cheaper sub if you don’t think youll need that much power.

https://rslspeakers.com/products/rsl-speedwoofer-10s/

1 point

·

19th Apr 2019

Then maybe Micca COVO-S.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2018

You would need to get an amp with the speakers.

The speakers.

An amp.

Speaker wire.

Wire strippers.

Cable to plug it in.

Edit: fixed links.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2018

How much Atmos content will you be watching?

For mains, why not bookshelf speakers on stands?

I recommend the larger 6.5″ S20 even in a smaller room and with a subwoofer for better SPL and better lows above the subwoofer cutoff.

For surrounds or Atmos if you really need it, you don’t have to stay wit the same brand as your fronts. You can also go as inexpensive and small as Micca COVO-S. Or any brand bipole surround speakers for 5.1

Also see r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker List for other options.

Also, internet direct speakers can have a much better bang for the buck than the big brands and most have 30 or 60 day trial periods. https://www.audioholics.com/how-to-shop/internet-direct-comparison A bit dated list but still a good resource. I have and recommend Ascend.

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2018

Center should match your fronts. Looks like the L/R you have is also intended to work as a C channel, so grab a 3rd one of those for a perfectly timbre matched front stage.

Leaves ~$250 for the rest which isn’t much, but you could do something like a pair of Micca’s for rears and a Dayton sub which are both low budget friendly. Might be a bit over budget all in all, but that is a tight number even for low budget stuff.

https://www.amazon.ca/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1535058534&amp;sr=8-4&amp;keywords=micca&amp;dpID=41HAIS3fUTL&amp;preST=_SY300_QL70_&amp;dpSrc=srch

https://solen.ca/products/multi-room-home-theater/ht-speakers/sub-1200/

1 point

·

23rd Aug 2018

Speaker Placement Guide and In-ceiling/wall Guides

Easy to mount mini surrounds Micca Covo-S.

If going in-ceiling HTD, Aperion, Crutchfield, A4L or budget Monoprice, Parts-Express.

1 point

·

3rd Aug 2018

You could even start out with the small Micca Covo-s for $45 or something small from Dayton Audio $30 – $60.

1 point

·

6th Jul 2018

I also recommend the Ascend CBM-170SE. Paired with the CMT-340, a great center with it’s dual 6.5″ mid-bass drivers. I tried the KEF Q100 and they did not sound as good, or full. Comparing internet direct to traditional retail may not line up. If the KEF was factory/consumer direct like Ascend, the Q100 would be $250 before markdown/clearance, or if Ascend was a mass marketer with middlemen and a marketing budget like KEF, the 170s would be $600 or more MSRP. The HTM-200 can more than handle surround duty. For Atmos, Micca Covo-s. For a subwoofer, Ascend recommends and is a reseller for Rythmik servo direct subwoofers, ported or sealed starting at $550.

RBH recently came out with their replacement for the EMP Tek E5Bi with the Impression Series.

>jstbuch1 point · 1 year ago
>
>I have personally tested around 35 pairs of speakers under $750.
>
>For my money, the Ascend Acoustics CBM-170se’s are hands down the best sub-$500 speaker on the market. The second best are the RBH R5Bi speakers.

Another popular option is Chane A1.4 with planar flat tweeters, though their shipping is higher than others.

All of these internet direct retailers also have trial periods, no hassle returns. Another is Aperion Audio.

Other surround speakers; Fluance Bipoler. Focal Chorus SR700 would look great on walls. Aperion Intimus Bipole.

For guides see; https://old.reddit.com/r/BudgetAudiophile/ start with the links on the right column on the old reddit layout.

r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker List
r/AverageJoeAudiophile Subwoofer List
r/AverageJoeAudiophile AMPLIFIRES, RECEIVERS &amp; DAC’S

1 point

·

20th Jul 2018

I think both these https://www.miccatron.com/micca-mb42x/ and these https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N8265I8?tag=mygapa-20 will be fine, the mb42x will be louder and go a little lower

1 point

·

19th Jul 2018

Start with an AV receiver and the best pair of bookshelf speakers you can afford. A great pair of bookshelf speakers will sound better than small cheapo 5.1.

Used will get you the most for your budget.

Also see the “old” reddit layout with the buying guides on the right column https://old.reddit.com/r/BudgetAudiophile

r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker List, r/AverageJoeAudiophile Subwoofer List, r/AverageJoeAudiophile AMPLIFIRES, RECEIVERS &amp; DAC’S

https://www.reddit.com/r/audiophile/comments/18nidn/beginners_guide_to_home_audio/ and https://www.crutchfield.com/lc_4/Home-Audio-How-To-FAQ-and-Shopping-Guides.html

My speaker recommendations, 6.5″: Philharmonic Audio AA with great bass, you won’t need a subwoofer right away, $200, Ascend CBM-170 are really really good entry level audiophile for $300. Read the review. You can buy a single version of both for the center, or Ascend has the larger CBM-340 center if you have the budget later.

For surround you can start with Micca Covo-s for $45.

Subwoofers: Find one of these used or save up to buy later, HSU $425 summer sale, SVS $500 or Rythmik $550.

Receivers:

Crutchfield.com if buying online for the best customer service starting at $230.

DENON AVR-S530BT 5.2-Ch x 70 Watts Bluetooth A/V Receiver $140 Accessories4less factory refurbished, have a 1 year manufacturer warranty, if it has problem it has to be sent to the manufacturer, not the reseller, for repair. While they are a great price, Accessories4less experiences can be mixed, there is a chance you may have to send it out for warranty repair. Use American Express if you have it and Amex will provide a 2nd year of warranty.

1 point

·

28th Jun 2018

I think it may be recommend that you use the same model family for Left, Right and Center speakers.

Put most of you money into your front speakers. Micca Covo speakers may be as sufficient as you need for ceiling mounted Atmos. A current Atmos Disscusion on r/BudgetAudiophile

For mains with a matching center Definitive Technology StudioMonitor 45 on sale for $99 each with the 2000 or 1000 center, 800 for sats, Micca Covo for Atmos.

Or go with an SVS package, with Prime Bookshelf, Prime Center, Prime Sats.

For other factory direct like EmpTek or SVS check out Chane A Series for fronts and center.

I have the factory direct Ascend CBM-170, not fancy looking but the best sound, drivers, and reviews I could find for a pair of bookshelf speakers with a $300 budget. Paired with the CMT-340 Center, HTM-200 for sats, Micca Covo for Atmos.

PS, Adorama has some package deal sales on Yamaha and Polk with tower mains.

1 point

·

29th Jun 2018

After you get the receiver, get the best pair of bookshelf speakers you can afford. Then something cheap for the surrounds. You don’t need a center right away, though try to get the same brand and model line as the main speakers or a single of one of the mains. Maybe a sub first.

Philharmonic AA is a great speaker for $200. Ascend CBM-170s are great neutral speakers with great reviews. Chane A Series with ribbon tweeters.

Surround Satellites Micca Covo or Micca MB42X

Accessories4less, Denon receivers starting at $129

r/AverageJoeAudiophile Speaker List

r/AverageJoeAudiophile Subwoofer List

r/AverageJoeAudiophile AMPLIFIRES, RECEIVERS &amp; DAC’S

If you can go to $800 and want tower speakers Adorama has some package deal sales on Yamaha and Polk, 40&#37; off.

1 point

·

6th May 2018

also consider the Covo-S, they have no bass at all but pretty decent otherwise.
&nbsp;
https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8

1 point

·

30th Oct 2017

get an 8th gen i7 or ryzen at that resolution and price

also those speakers will be really bad

get any of these depending on how much you wanna spend

40$ https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N8265I8/

90$ https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E7H8GG2/

130$ https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00IEDL8EM/

1 point

·

4th May 2017

just to finish this thread up, i just wound up buying these on amazon and its kicking ass:

Micca COVO-S Compact 2-Way Bookshelf Speakers

Sabaj Audio A2 Digital Amplifier

these little speakers are great for what i need

1 point

·

3rd Apr 2017

Thanks!
I’m currently using these bois, with an SMSL Q5 Pro. They sound pretty good but most importantly are small enough to fit under the monitor.

As for the wallpaper, I just got them today – they’re from ghostly international, specifically this collection

1 point

·

15th Jan 2017

Plenty of companies offer space saving solutions. What about in wall speaker systems? Virtually no footprint. Ease of use? Again, plenty of capable satallite/ sub HTIB.

Since Bose refuses to offer Specs for their lines of audio, I am unable to provide hard data to back up these folling claims. However, I do have a calibrated measurment microphone with audio analysis software and would be willing to test any of these and compare.

> Soundlink Mini2 199$<enter>
JBL Flip 3 Splashproof Portable Bluetooth Speaker = 85$ simillar size/sound quality with water resistance

> Acoustimass 3 Series V 199$
* Mica Compacts 40$
* Subwoofer 110$
*total price= 140 which is still under the bose. the benefit of this system is the subwoofer cone is larger and powered, unlike the acousitmass sub which is a 6 inch paper passive subwoofer.

>Acoustimass 10 series V 999$
*10 inch powered subwoofer 129$
*2 of these 76.87 x2
*center
total= 360 i promise it would perform on par with the acoustimass system. if you wanted more power you could easily get a better subwoofer. keep in mind they are better build quality the acoustimas are paper cones.

2000 range would be the invisible in wall system. probably all the way to atmos.

These are just examples. Keep in mind these builds are to equal to the performance of the products by bose.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2016

Hi, I saw a suggestion to buy this micca speakers. So here are my questions.

  • Do I need to buy this and what it is for? Lepy AMP

  • Do I need to buy speaker wires if I am only going to use it for echo dot or my PC?

Thanks!

1 point

·

8th Oct 2016

I got a small speaker system recently and after I plugged everything in, it was working fine for a week. Then afterwards, it just stopped working and I have no idea why. When I plug in headphones to the amplifier it the sound goes through but my speakers won’t produce any sound.

Here is my set up:
https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_3?s=aht&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1475953375&amp;sr=1-3-fkmr0&amp;keywords=micca+copva

http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/STELLAR-LABS-50-10145-/50-10145

1 point

·

19th Oct 2016

I’ll be honest, I was trying to go for a speaker built-in too, but after testing all of them, they’re really lacking. Especially for movies where you need a center channel to hear voices well – it just doesn’t happen.

If you have space constraints, I get it. Go for the built-ins. But with a little technical know-how you can hook yourself up with a very low footprint speaker system. Perhaps something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1476908023&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=Micca+Covo

and an amp to power it (don’t worry, it’s all plug-n-play)
https://www.amazon.com/Lepai-LP-2020A-Tripath-Amplifier-included/dp/B009IJTMOE/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

Even with a relatively cheap speaker setup like this it will push out SIGNIFICANTLY more sound than on-board speakers that they crammed into the panel to improve marketability.

The other option is to just buy a normal TV. Better speakers than your panels, but no where near as good a picture unless you’re willing to spend some ridiculous money. And honestly, I still think those Micca’s are better than most built-in TV speakers.

Either way, it’s just my two cents bruh. Hope you find something you like!

1 point

·

8th Sep 2016

Whoops, I sent you to the tech support thread instead of the purchase thread but will try to answer your question here anyways.

I’d dump the splitter and four BT speaker plan completely. What I would look at is a pair of Micca COVO-S with one of these Nobsound Mini Amps. It should all be small enough to fit beneath a bed.

1 point

·

30th Jul 2016

ah ok, as for other equipment, i found these and i’d like to know id there are any good, small, and inexpensive amps i could use?

1 point

·

30th Jun 2016

Was looking to add 2.1 system to my bedroom that I have, starting off with your recommended Micca MB42x, but was thinking of maybe going 5.1

I can do the the first three speakers up in the front, no problem.

With the space that I have though, would you recommend in-ceiling speakers for rears?

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_2?url=search-alias%3Daps&amp;field-keywords=micca+in+ceiling

If you don’t think in-ceilings are a good, would placing rear speakers in the back of a listener be a bad? The best I could do is having them wall mounted. Seating area is about in middle of the room.

EDIT: These for ceiling mounted rears if all the way to the back wall placement and in-ceiling speakers are not a good idea? I like the small profile which will be much easier to mount https://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

If all this sounds bad, then I guess 2.1 can do lol

Thanks!

1 point

·

27th Apr 2016

Micca COVO-S Compact speakers. They seem to have gone out of production though.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2015

lepai lp2020+ runs on 12v, perhaps those and something like this http://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8 ?

1 point

·

23rd Jun 2015

These would be your surrounds, http://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8 40 bucks

~~Since your buying everything from Amazon-I would get their cables for free shipping. Monoprice’s shipping can be a bitch.~~ Good pick on the sub.

~~This would be your wire, http://www.amazon.com/dp/B006LW0W5Y/ref=twister_B00B1ZIHHQ?_encoding=UTF8&amp;psc=1 11 bucks~~

1 point

·

2nd May 2015

Tables that get bashed have 1: built in speakers and 2: heavy/non adjustable vertical tracking force, which is why everyone says your records will wear faster. I have never owned a crosley, but I have also never seen empirical evidence that it will “destroy” your records. Maybe they will wear faster, but at this point I haven’t heard of a record becoming unplayable. Maybe someone can enlighten me on that. I have heard they skip all over the record and are just generally bad. So just avoid them.

These micca Covo are under 5 inches in size. Don’t expect bass, but I they’ll still top some tin crosley speakers. http://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1430530673&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=micca+covo

A lepai amp is $26. They used to be $20. http://www.amazon.com/Lepai-LP-2020A-Tripath-Class-T-Amplifier/dp/B0049P6OTI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1430530722&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=lepai+amp

With some speaker wire and an rca cable you’ll be good to go. That’s a pretty damn compact setup for under $75.

1 point

·

9th Mar 2015

I have to disagree with you on one thing. If you honestly think you know what sounds good and you know jack shit about speakers… well I don’t think you know what sounds good.

Anyway, I’ll give you my absolute cheapest possible desktop system.

http://www.amazon.com/Micca-COVO-S-Compact-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1425881291&amp;sr=8-4&amp;keywords=micca

http://www.amazon.com/Lepai-TRIPATH-TA2020-Stereo-Amplifier/dp/B003P534SW/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1425881409&amp;sr=8-9&amp;keywords=lepai+amp

Buy both of these and you’re good to go. Bass will be ok but not great. The amplifier is some of the dirtiest and most distorted power you can get but it’ll still be better than what’s in those computer speakers.

Honestly if I were you, I’d save up another 70 dollars and go with the cheapest system recommended in the sticky.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2015

When I move next month. I am wrapping a set of Covo’s to waterproof them and putting a lepai amp or similar somewhere in there.

0 points

·

12th Jan 2019

Basically, I would love to just get a random $20 Logitech set whenever I’m too lazy to wear my headphones however most I’d imagine would not have the ability to connect to my interface which would be a huge help in terms of consolidating my setup instead of having to switch sound outputs each time.

With that idea in mind…

Micca Covo S
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00N8265I8/ref=dp_prsubs_1

Nobsound Amp
https://www.amazon.com/Nobsound-Bluetooth-Amplifier-Wireless-Receiver/dp/B06Y67PZB1/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1547321338&amp;sr=8-1-spons&amp;pi=AC_SX236_SY340_FMwebp_QL65&amp;keywords=nobsound&amp;psc=1

SoundSwitch with a HotKey
https://soundswitch.aaflalo.me

0 points

·

3rd Aug 2018

The KEF Q650 eats up alot of your budget at $500 and is a generation newer than the Q100. You can use a single Q100 on its side for $170 since they are coaxial, just not visually symmetrical. https://www.accessories4less.com/make-a-store/category/spkcenter/speakers/center-channel-speakers/1.html?brand_f[]=KEF

Internet direct speakers can have a better bang for the buck than the big brands. https://www.audioholics.com/how-to-shop/internet-direct-comparison A bit dated list but still a good resource.

For fronts, I recommend Ascend CBM-170 $300 +shipping. Best true budget audiophile speakers I have found and own for under $500 for both home theater and music. Better than the Q100 I demoed against them. Read the many great reviews. For the center, CBM-340 $300+ shipping or even a single CBM-170. $28 in cart discount when buying all 3.

For surrounds you can start out with small inexpensive Micca Covo-s for $45 or something from Dayton Audio $30 – $60.

0 points

·

21st Mar 2015

Why don’t you use these as the rears?, they’re pretty small enough if you’re concerned about size of speakers.