What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Meze 99 Neo | Wired Over-Ear Headphones with Mic and Self Adjustable Headband | Closed-Back Headset for Audiophiles | Gaming | Podcasts | Home Office?

A total of 16 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

20th Jul 2021

https://www.amazon.co.uk/MEZE-AUDIO-99-Neo-Over-Ear-Headphones-neo-black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4

These are the meze neo I found….are they the same u recommended? I’m still bit skeptical when I look at the reviews and the additional plastic thing going over the head is kind of a deal breaker for me……I’m losing my mind trying to find a decent headphone

1 point

·

17th Nov 2020

So for the headphones, this line up perfectly for your needs

https://www.amazon.com/Meze-Neo-Headphones-Silver-Black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=Neo+99&qid=1605603811&sr=8-1

Could you also send the link for the mic your planning on getting so I could see if you need a mixer or not. Only of your getting an xlr mic you need a mixer, otherwise you really don’t need one and you can just plug the mic straight into your PC.

1 point

·

21st Jan 2022

A good bit of your budget, but the Meze 99 Neo is a great sounding headphone with a lot of bass, enough bass that bass heads like them

https://www.amazon.de/Audiophiler-Over-Ear-Headphones-High-Quality-Materials-black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/

1 point

·

4th Jan 2022

Comfortable + “good” sound quality are different from person-to-person.

Also, do you want a headset that is open or closed back? You mention for “discord calls and such” […]. Will you be using these for gaming as well?

For closed backs I currently have Meze 99 Neo’s, but these are a bit bassy. There are also the Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro’s and DT 990 Pro’s that are also closed-backs that are usually recommended for comfort and sound quality. They are also cheaper than the Meze’s I linked.

I also have a pair of Sundara’s that I also use for listening to music but also gaming. But that’s outside you’re price range I believe.

For mic, one that is not attached to headphones are usually the best way to go. My fiancée got me the Blue Yeti for Christmas 3 years ago and it’s still going strong and can’t recommend it enough.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2021

Oh, there could be a newer version I’m not aware of. I saw a used pair available for $130 on amazon.

Here’s a link:

https://www.amazon.com/Over-Ear-Headphones-Adjustable-Closed-Back-Audiophiles/dp/B06XKJ2GK4

1 point

·

20th Sep 2021

You like a good bit of extra bass, Meze 99 series is excellent

https://www.amazon.co.uk/MEZE-AUDIO-99-Neo-Over-Ear-Headphones-neo-black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/

1 point

·

27th May 2021

Sorry me again. I just realized the ones I was looking at (neo Schwarz) are 16 ohms instead of 32. Are they another model? Here: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_glt_i_PP6KDWPZGJ2Z65KMMDED?psc=1

1 point

·

19th Apr 2021

Really appreciate your comment. It seems like that model is not available in Canada, or at least where I am. Any idea if this model I found is comparable?

https://www.amazon.ca/Meze-Classics-Walnut-Silver-Headphones/dp/B06XKJ2GK4?th=1

1 point

·

20th Feb 2021

So,

For wireless the QC35II is a good choice, also the anker sound core is nice and affordable. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twKHdjKuSp0

​

For wired closed backs:

There is the Meze 99: https://www.amazon.com/Meze-Neo-Headphones-Silver-Black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/ref=sr_1_3?dchild=1&keywords=meze+99&qid=1613808941&sr=8-3

Or the noir: https://drop.com/buy/massdrop-x-meze-99-noir-closed-back-headphones

it is far more attractive than the 770, but i cannot say how different the sound would be, and i think not an upgrade.

From here there is the shure srh1540, but it is pretty expensive but a better sound

​

I would try open backs if you had the opportunity if it was only for home listening. there are many competitive headphones under 300 bucks

A more neutral tone would be the HD560s, but alot of people like the mid range boost from something like the 6xx from drop.com.

tygr 300r – semi open, but hard to find.

Hifiman Deva and sundara – open but here we are over 300 bucks

1 point

·

20th Nov 2020

The Noir 99 are a Drop special edition. Maybe the Neos?

https://www.amazon.com/Meze-Neo-Headphones-Silver-Black/dp/B06XKJ2GK4/

Also look into Vmoda M100.

DT770 are not basshead headphones. Basshead’s who get them complain about them.

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2020

I am not an audio expert. New to the hobby. So please consider this as my tossing in an option and nothing more.

Might I suggest the Meze 99 Neo’s (Amazon) or the 99 Noir (Drop.com). Same headphone to my knowledge. Neo is black plastic cups and Noir’s are wood in material(?) and color. I do not have both so cannot confirm. I do have Neo’s.

Closed back. Good bass. I am treble sensitive and these do not hurt me. I had to bend the clamp force out a bit. I also did pad swap to larger pads for comfort. On ear pads hurt my head behind my head where my glasses touch. Balanced or single ended with different cables. Included cable has microphone. I cannot speak to microphone quality but at least wanted to point out the option. The only thing that bugs me is they are universal left or right. The cable determines which is left and which is right.

They are $200. Include tax and maybe shipping and it is over your budget.