What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard GATERON Red Switch Wired Backlit Mechanical Mini Design (60%) 68 Kyes Keyboard White Magicforce Qisan?

A total of 35 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

7th Jan 2018

The caps are no longer longer on Ali-Express, which is unfortunate. These were the only clean-font-non-split keycaps I could find for $15.

I own the Gateron Red version of the keyboard. Amazon Link here.

1 point

·

26th Dec 2020

If you’re limited to Outemu switches I’d buy the reds.

Outemu browns and older Cherry MX browns have some of the worst feeling tactile bumps because they’re so scratchy it feels like there’s sand in them.

If I were you, I’d avoid “gaming keyboards” altogether and just buy the cheapest board that has Gateron switches.

Example:

https://www.amazon.com/Discount-Mechanical-Keyboard-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E57PXKA/

1 point

·

12th Dec 2020

I understand you are on a budget but if you are considering a royal kludge you could consider a magic force with gateron switches instead of the outemus if you prefer. Personally with a budget that tight I wouldn’t spend it on better keycaps right off. Get a nice board and upgrade the caps later if you can.

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2BWS6C5Q4ETXK&dchild=1&keywords=magicforce+68+gateron+red&qid=1607753814&sprefix=magicforce+68+gater%2Caps%2C188&sr=8-1

1 point

·

10th Jun 2016

Everybody have their own preference, but cherry mx red is my first mechanical keyboard switch that I use. I used specifically it for 2 years, then when I try brown out, I don’t like it. Brown feels like a dirty red to me–red with slight bump, so slight I’m not sure why the bump is there in the first place.

But for you, someone who’s used with brown, red might feels different. Definitely let me know when you tried red out, I’m curious of your reaction 😀

So I have magicforce 68 gateron red, I bought it from amazon here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E57PXKA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Honestly I hate it. Not because it’s bad, but because right now I’m too used on having a heavier keyboard as I have aluminium plate, aluminium case, etc. The magicforce build is solid but it is still plastic. I’m assuming your logitech g710 is a solid plastic too so I don’t think you’ll have problem adjusting with magicforce.

The gateron red in magicforce is uniform, stable, and responsive. It’s amazing for gaming in my experience when I played dota 2 with it.

1 point

·

28th Jul 2016

Magicforce 68. They’re $40-70 on Amazon. $40 for nonbacklit, $70 for backlit. Last I checked, reds weren’t in stock but blues were and they’re pretty nice for the price. I love mine. I use it at home sometimes for gaming.

Edit: They have one gateron red backlit left in stock.

1 point

·

16th Dec 2016

From amazon, took a bit of browsing as there are a lot of different choices but I ended up going with this one https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E57PXKA/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Not sure if I even saw one with Gateron Browns :/

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2020

Check out the Qisan Magicforce 68 off Amazon.

I’ve owned the cheaper non-backlit version with Brown switches for more than a few years now. It’s pretty decent for the price.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

Had this same problem. I now have a stable full of different tenkeyless keyboards:

A split goldtouch kb (office issued) is good bc you can make it practically normal shaped and adjust as needed.

Several 65%% and 80% mechanical keyboards. My petite mom uses this as well https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=sr_1_6?keywords=magicforce+keyboard&qid=1581401557&sr=8-6

Microsoft sculpt kb (ten keys numpad is a separate thing)

1 point

·

19th Feb 2019

Hey guys! I’m switching to pc after years of using laptops and I need suggestions! People say the k70 rgb mk2 from Corsair is bad and it seems like this keyboard is used a lot in this sub. is this keyboard for $63 on amazon good? Thanks!

1 point

·

7th Jan 2018

The links to the keycaps in which to buy them for $15 is unfortunately no longer on Ali-Express, which is unfortunate. These were the only clean-font-non-split keycaps I could find.

I own the Gateron Red version of the keyboard. Amazon Link here.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2017

Noob here. I’m looking at getting this magicforce 68 as my second keyboard: https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E57PXKA. The “font” on the keycaps are pretty ugly. I’ve seen a few guides and videos on swapping the key caps but where do I look if I want to replace all of these keys?

1 point

·

27th May 2017

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard GATERON Red Switch Wired Backlit Mechanical Mini Design (60%) 68 Kyes Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_LMrkzb3Q7V68D

considering that you can get one with gateron reds, or clears (or blacks when it’s back in stock), for 62.99 shipped, WITH keycaps and cable, and springs for another 5 bucks, possibly less if they’re not gold plated, your asking price doesn’t make any sense. GLWS tho

1 point

·

7th Feb 2017

I replaced the keycaps, which were sold as a complete set on massdrop!

The keyboard is the Magicforce 68 key

1 point

·

6th Oct 2016

Keyboard: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E57PXKA/. Good entry-level mech.

Mouse: Zowie (any current model), Rival 300, Deathadder chroma, Logitech G302/G303/G402/G403/Pro, Fnatic Flick. Really depends on what fits your hand better.

Mousepad: All cloth mousepads are pretty much the same as far as gaming performance goes. Get anything you can find on amazon/ebay/aliexpress that is big enough (though at least 40 cm wide)

1 point

·

24th Nov 2021

I think the G610 Orion is about as cheap you can go. There are low profile cherry mx red keyboards for like $60, but I’m not sure if you’d want the low profile. I don’t think there’s actually much of a difference between low profile cherry mx switches and standard ones though. Avoid the silvers, however, because they register too fast.

https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=sr_1_1_sspa?keywords=qisan+magicforce+gateron+red&qid=1637772812&sr=8-1-spons&psc=1&spLa=ZW5jcnlwdGVkUXVhbGlmaWVyPUFPMEhOMktIWVY1OEcmZW5jcnlwdGVkSWQ9QTA1NDU0NTAxMkZZODhERVdXM1QzJmVuY3J5cHRlZEFkSWQ9QTEwMDc3MDYzS0FHNDlYVjM2MDJIJndpZGdldE5hbWU9c3BfYXRmJmFjdGlvbj1jbGlja1JlZGlyZWN0JmRvTm90TG9nQ2xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

Here you go: a gateron red keyboard. Jakads owned a magicforce gateron brown keyboard back in the old days so this should be fine. You can’t go cheaper than this man. There’s shit like GK61 and DK61, but don’t fall for the trap. It has cool features like hotswapping, but the polling rate is only 125. Don’t by outemus either, they are so heavy.

1 point

·

7th Dec 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_mTtZFb16NMV9E

The negative reviews about w not working is due to them changing polling rate and not knowing fn+w fixes that.

1 point

·

17th Jun 2017
1 point

·

12th Aug 2020

Thanks a lot! It’s a Magicforce 68 with Gateron red switches. I don’t have a link for the exact model because it was a gift, but here’s a link for the same model in white: https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce/dp/B01E57PXKA

1 point

·

14th Mar 2020

You can grab a backlit Magicforce 68 with Gateron Reds off Amazon for $56 if you can stretch your budget a bit.

1 point

·

15th Jul 2019

Magicforce (Qisan) 68 w/ Gateron Red (Prime Day $50)

​

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_U_sGolDb1ZEREBN

1 point

·

26th Mar 2018

I’m looking for a pre-built keyboard, as I currently have neither the time nor resources to start building right now. (I’d definitely choose Kailh BOX switches if I were building, though.) This Qisan Magicforce 68 has Gateron red switches. Not sure if they feel the same or lighter relative to Cherry reds, for example, so any comparisons would help. Alternatively, I think I saw a Gateron black switch version, so how do Gateron blacks feel relative to Cherry or Kailh blacks? Looking at force curves only tells so much.

I have a… 75%? right now as my first mechanical keyboard. I’m returning it though – Qisan Magicforce 82 with Gateron brown switches – due to key chatter, but it turns out that I dislike the proximity of the Home cluster next to the arrow keys anyway. Leopold aside, I think that’s the most common pre-built layout, unfortunately, so it’s 60% or TKL for me. (Also staying low-budget while I explore layouts and switches right now.)

1 point

·

28th Feb 2018

If you want a good first, without much of a learning curve (meaning the loss of the ten key, or arrows), I’d suggest the Magic Force. It’s less than $100 and comes with Gateron Brown Switches which are a favorite among a lot of people here. Yea, it’s missing the ten key, but has the arrows.

If you want something with a ten key, the prices begin to skyrocket. You’ll be spending about $150-$200 for a pretty standard full size board with Cherry/Gateron switches. There are full size boards with “better” switches, but the price goes up even more.

My personal favorites are the 60% boards, which have no ten key or arrows. Of course you can easily program these keys as a function layer on top of other keys, but to each their own. You’ll find countless boards of this type, and a lower cost option is the Poker. The one I linked is the New Poker 2, which is USB C powered.

The last option is to build your own, which CAN be cheaper than buying a pre-built board. The main cost here comes with the key caps themselves.

I like to buy parts from US companies, mainly for shipping reasons. So check the following for the hardware needed to build a board. Be aware that some soldering tools/experience is required.

www.1upkeyboards.com

www.novelkeys.xyz

www.mechanicalkeyboards.com

www.switchtop.com

www.flashquark.com

If buying overseas is your thing, and you enjoy the 3 weeks or more shipping times, check the following. By the way, there are more sites in this category, I just don’t know them all:

www.aliexpress.com

www.kdbfans.com

1 point

·

7th Dec 2017

> magicforce 68

Thanks for the suggestion. I found these on amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E57PXKA

I’m new at this but can I switch them with any keycaps I want (will it affect performance)? The “font” is kind of an eyesore. Does this sub have recommended keycaps?

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2016

Under 100 Bucks, Reds/Silents/Speeds, White or RGB? Easy. Magicforce 68.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E57PXKA/ref=s9_acsd_hps_bw_c_x_6_w

1 point

·

22nd Oct 2016

Is it this one? Description says Gat reds but the picture says Kailh…

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2016

—Link—; Seems like the price puts it with Gats. Not sure though. Any chance you can tell?

0 points

·

7th Apr 2017

Inferior switches. If you want to save some money and still get excellent switches, go with this https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-GATERON-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E57PXKA/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491589304&sr=8-1&keywords=Magicforce+68+red

Assuming you don’t mind white.