What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Magicforce by Qisan?

A total of 140 reviews of this product on Reddit.

15 points

·

18th Jan 2021

FYI: here’s a 68

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_olCbGbSBYSM6R?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

The percentage sometimes refers to key count, but “65” has come to mean, more or less, a 16-unit-long board with arrows on the far bottom right.

6 points

·

21st Jul 2017

Personally, I don’t think you can go wrong with a Magicforce 68 as an entry level mechanical keyboard. Qisan sells them on Amazon with Outemu switches, another Cherry MX clone similar to Kailh switches, for about $40 here.

4 points

·

31st Aug 2017

TBH, I’d just buy a cheap one off Amazon. I use the Magicforce Mechanical Tenkeyless with brown switches, it was 30 bucks, and it works great. I also am a transcriptionist, so I type all the damn time, and it’s stood up to a whole lot o’ typing and it feels great. Any of the other knock-off switches and cheaper brands are usually pretty good, too. No need to buy a more expensive mechanical keyboard now that they make them cheaper now. You’re just paying more for a name.

It’s 40 now: https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0

It’s good. Have to use function keys for F-keys, but I don’t find it to be a problem. They have similarly priced ones with F keys.

3 points

·

11th Jul 2017

At 2:29 PM EST, the Qisan Magicforce 68 w/ Outemu Brown switches goes on sale for Amazon Prime day here. That is, if you currently have Amazon Prime of course.

Since you’ve not specified RGB, desired switches, programability requirements, &c. this may not be exactly what you are after. This is the cheapest ‘board that I have used and it works fine: Qisan keyboard $40

2 points

·

8th Jun 2017

I got mine from Amazon. Mine has Kailh blacks but they come in various gateron and cherry varieties as well. This one is only $40 USD as of posting. It’s my first mech and I love it. I know now that I prefer tactile switches, but you never forget your first 😉

2 points

·

30th Dec 2017

Not quite that cheap, but I really recommend the Magicforce 68 as a first board. $40 on Amazon, it was my second to try out the smaller size boards after I got a big ol’ Corsair to try out.

2 points

·

31st Jul 2020

Grab something like a Magicforce 68 with Browns off Amazon for $39.

You can stuff the inside of the case with shelf liner to reduce the pinging and help stabilize the keyboard by adding a bit more weight to it. Not the best solution but you can also get O-rings to help dampen the downstroke though this will affect the feel since there is less key travel.

This is what I did with my wife’s Magicforce and she loves how much quieter it is (she works late and needs it to be quiet when typing).

If you’re a heavy handed typist, Reds will make more noise if/when you’re bottoming out the keycaps. Browns will make less noise but only a little depending on your typing habits.

1 point

·

19th Sep 2021

You need to decide what’s most important to you because the lower down the budget ladder you go the less worthwhile it becomes to mod it.

If you can save up some you could go for a 60% keyboard like a GK61 readily available on Amazon and mod that. Decent keyboard, hotswap and should be good to start you off.

My personal recommendation is just to go with a cheap budget keyboard and go from there if you need something to use right now.

A 65% Magicforce 68 can be had for $39 USD leaving you some extra cash for keycaps and other mods down the line.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2020

I have used this keyboard for about a year now and love it. As far as mice go my recommendation would be the G-Wolves Hati, although it’s a little on the more expensive side. I would stay far far away from anything from Glorious brand. I have had nothing but bad experiences with them.

1 point

·

28th Jun 2016

Welcome! As with all deep hobbies, take a breath and enjoy a day or two of research before committing to too much. Honestly, just clicking around here on new posts for a day or two, and then heading over to /r/mechmarket/ and just clicking every new listing is a fine way to get started. I link that mechmarket because I’ve found it invaluable in learning what’s what, and you’re almost guaranteed to find exactly what you want there over the next week or so.

To answer your question directly, just like alose said, a Leopold or Ducky One will be great. There are many options.

A cheap(er) option is the Magicforce. I got one to try out a blue switch keyboard and was surprised how nice it is. You can get it in white with brown switches on Amazon. $40. Search for Qisan brown switch or just use this Amazon link (no affiliate BS, just linking you.)

1 point

·

21st Jul 2016

Yep I asked about it in the daily question thread.

Debating between it and this Qisan 68 off Amazon.

I like the Drevos layout/formfactor better but I’m leaning towards getting Qisan now and investing more in an 84 key in a year or two.

Right now I just need: small, brown switches, media function keys and ~$50.

1 point

·

30th Dec 2017

Not quite that cheap, but I really recommend the Magicforce 68 as a first board. $40 on Amazon, it was my second to try out the smaller size boards after I got a big ol’ Corsair to try out.

1 point

·

14th Mar 2019

second this, if your just looking for value and for gaming I love a Magicforce68 (amazon) its got backlight (that makes it gaming maybe?) and its smaller, and its cheap.

1 point

·

10th Jun 2019

Mechanical switches vs rubber dome that you would find in a less expensive keyboard. Think of the keyboards that came with desktops that Dell would send you. Mechanical switches usually have a nicer feel and a longer life. They vary widely in switch type, needed pressure to actuate the keystroke, noise level. Hop on over to /r/mechanicalkeyboard and poke around. There’s a ton of info (and keyboards) there.

That being said. I have an off brand 60% keyboard with Gateron Brown switches. I just missed the sale on Massdrop for the wireless version, but when it comes back around I’m for sure hopping on that train.

1 point

·

1st Apr 2019

This is about the best you’ll do for around that price!

Qisan Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_gtBOCbNW96SFS

1 point

·

8th Jan 2019

Amazon.com ships to Canada. It’ll take a bit longer, you’ll probably pay a bit more for shipping, and potentially import fees, but it’s still cheaper in the long run. Source: Canadian

Here’s one with Outemu Browns. Outemu Browns are Cherry MX Brown clones, which are a decent switch to start with IMO. Ordering this to Ottawa is $52 USD (~ $70 CAD atm).

Can anyone recommend a keyboard that is tkl and also has raised keys similar to this board: https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0

I find that many of the keyboards I like tend to not have a dedicated F key row. I am not willing to give those up unfortunately as many games that I play require the use of those.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2018

O-rings on blue switches will only go so far. The click is internal so it will still be pretty noisy even with the dampeners.

I see this one for $40 🙂
https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1521124007&sr=8-5&keywords=qisan&dpID=41MDmUOhuPL&preST=_SY300_QL70_&dpSrc=srch

1 point

·

16th Jan 2018

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_uaAxAbKWDN8DZ

Magic force is a great board and great price. Works well for an entry board (this one has no 10key).

You can also get it with cherry switches, or backlight if you wanna pay a bit more money.

1 point

·

12th Sep 2017

Nice! I just tried out a few mechanical keyboards for the first time at fry’s this morning, fell in love, and I’ve been shopping around for one all day!! Is this your keyboard? I was leaning towards this since it looks like a great intro 60% keyboard. Anything you don’t like about it or would do differently? What’s the significance of the PBT doubleshots? I just read up a little – they’re more durable?

1 point

·

1st Aug 2017

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_EFhGzbP0YH8S1

That’s the one i have. Outemu brown switches. Got this one over the ones eith gaterans or cherries because it has regular font on the keys rather than “gaming” font and no leds/rgb

1 point

·

11th Aug 2017

You can go to this link: https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1502491480&sr=8-3&keywords=qisan+magicforce+68

and pick up a keyboard with brown otemu switches for $40 USD. Pretty good deal if you ask me, especially considering its brand new and has a standard layout.

1 point

·

6th Aug 2017

There are very few large manufacturers that are making mechanical keyboards like these. Or mechanical keyboards in general. Razer and Corsair, and logitech are probably the most notable, but they make 75% or 100% keyboards almost exclusively. Plus they market to gamers which is another conversation entirely.

Just about everyone who makes enthusiast keyboards that lead to “frothing at the mouth” are part of the community as well, as is the case with the whitefox.

As per why people are “frothing at the mouth”, its a novel way of redesigning something people haven’t given a second thought since the IBM Model M standardized the layout 30 years ago. Less is actually more. I’m a programmer and I have a keyboard with a similar 65% layout, I almost never miss the keys removed (only the numpad upon occasion). Its an essential part of people’s lives, why shouldn’t we be excited about making it better?

As an aside, when you actually look at smaller mechanical keyboards produced by large manufacturers they’re actually much more affordable: https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

8th Apr 2017

A good starter board would be the magicforce 68 which is the most common entry level board

1 point

·

28th Apr 2017

I ordered planck, and the hotswappable e-element keyboard on massdrop for my home use. I’ve been having fun with this cheap one in my offcie before it broke. (On the second week mark) Now I’m in for a new mech keyboard.

  • Looking for either cherry brown or clears.
  • Dvorak layout. (I have to enter bios password so key mapping isn’t good enough)
  • Rather have a white colored keyboard since my office layout is bright colors. Not a must though.
  • No need for lighting.
  • Prefer 10 keys. But not a must, I can do without them.
  • Preferably under 100$, but can go over a bit.

Can anyone suggets me a keyboard?

1 point

·

17th Oct 2016

Thanks, by the way, I’m looking at this one:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8KO2B0/ref=crt_ewc_title_srh_2?ie=UTF8&smid=A3DP4U0YSMI802&th=1

and I’m wondering why it’s $40 compared to its other counterparts which are closer to $70? Is it because this particular model isn’t lighted?

1 point

·

4th Oct 2016

This makes a good first board. They have it with different switch types and brands. It’s built very solid and feels like a premium product for the price. For $20-30 more you can get it with Cherry or Gateron switches (and backlit). The keycaps are butt ugly IMO but they’re easily replaced if you like it. If not you can keep it as a spare or return it. But it’s cheap enough to get your feet wet without much investment, and get used to a smaller design. It’s not very hard to get used to the few keys you have to use the FN key to access.

Really it’s just about impossible to find out what kind of switches you like until you try them. Cherry MX clears would be an easy transition from a rubber dome keyboard because they feel a bit similar in weight and tactile feedback, but they’re a bit harder to find especially in budget boards. Blues are a good starter switch if you’re doing a lot of typing and don’t mind the clicking sounds, and even the Outemu blues are pretty good (the other Outemu switches are so-so). If you’re doing a lot of gaming, well, blacks and reds seem to be the preferred gamer switches. I tried blacks and had a lot of repeated characters due to no tactile feedback. Browns are more common and have a tactile bump. It’s a weak one, not as pronounced as blues, but it’s there, and they don’t make a clicking sound as you type.

1 point

·

22nd May 2016

I remember on massdrop there was a big thing about this cheap and tiny mechanical keyboard that was called magic force or something, and i seem to have found it on amazon. is this the real deal and a good product for my first mechanical keyboard? thank you.

http://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=ox_sc_act_title_4&smid=A3DP4U0YSMI802

23 points

·

21st Apr 2019

Hardware

Software

  • Wallpaper: Here (The wallpaper I wal‘d for the color scheme)
  • WM: GNOME
  • Terminal: urxvt
  • Font: Roboto Mono (I think)
  • Audio Visualizer: Cava
  • Pipes.sh Command: pipes.sh -p 5 -R
13 points

·

25th Jan 2018

You can get a MagicForce 68 for $40 on Amazon.

6 points

·

5th Jun 2018

When you’re starting out you don’t really need to consider much aside from size and switch type. I’ll start at the beginning since I don’t really know where you are in terms of experience.

Here’s a page that describes switches graphically: https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/comments/45f9wr/one_page_summary_of_cherry_mx/

Your top choices for a beginner board from a place like Amazon would be blue, brown, and red switches. Browns are probably the most popular. They’re relatively light to press and have a slight tactile bump (called tactile switches). Red switches are about the same weight as browns but don’t have a bump (linear). Blues are the same as brown switches but also have a small mechanism that makes a *click* sound when you press them. I find them super annoying but a lot of people like them. Find some videos on youtube for sound clips to find out what you prefer.

For the size of the keyboard you’ll want to consider what keys you need. A lot of beginners stress that they want a full-size, standard layout board. I did as well, but I’d urge you to consider how often you REALLY use the numpad, FN row, and arrow keys. My board at home doesn’t have any of these, and it doesn’t bother me at all. That said, if you work from home you may find those things useful. You can browse the selections on this page to get an idea of sizes and layouts and what keys will/won’t come with the layout you choose: https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_list&c=115

I always suggest this board for a beginner that wants something solid and inexpensive: Link

It has brown switches, it’s a 65ish% layout so it has arrow keys, and it’s a solid starter keyboard and a good transition to different layouts. From there you can figure out if you really like that layout or you want more, and if you like tactile switches or want to try something different.

6 points

·

27th Nov 2018

Check out the Magicforce 68 on Amazon.

3 points

·

23rd Nov 2020

Higher priced ones offer better build quality. But you also need to remember this is a niche hobby so things get expensive. You don’t need to spend more.

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0/

You can also do DIY and use your own switches if you just buy this keyboard’s PCB.

A bit more expensive https://www.amazon.com/DREVO-Bluetooth-Mechanical-Detachable-Compatible/dp/B08368J5QK/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&keywords=Drevo+Calibur&qid=1606128825&s=electronics&sr=1-2

More expensive https://www.banggood.com/APP-Control-Anne-PRO-BlueRedBrown-Switch-RGB-Wireless-bluetooth-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard-p-1064055.html?

3 points

·

10th Aug 2017

Did you know Amazon will donate a portion of every purchase if you shop by going to smile.amazon.com instead? Over $50,000,000 has been raised for charity – all you need to do is change the URL!

Here are your smile-ified links:

https://smile.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=sr_1_3


Never forget to smile again | ^^i’m ^^a ^^friendly bot

3 points

·

12th Sep 2017

Am I missing something obvious? Not to be mean but this board without the keycaps is $40 on amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0/

3 points

·

16th Dec 2017

Welcome to the sub!

If you’re looking for less expensive options there are a ton of boards on Amazon in the $30-60 range that would be great for figuring out what you like in a board. The MagicForce and Aukey options are fairly popular, and have a design that allows for fairly easy cleaning. There are also different switch and size options there so you can shop around for something that looks nice to you!

There are loads of people here who know more than me, but I hope that helps!

2 points

·

16th Nov 2020

Magicforce 68 off Amazon for $39 USD. Outemu Browns in a 65% layout.

2 points

·

21st Jul 2016

Update: Thanks guys went with the Qisan Magic force 68. Overview of the nicer backlit version and overview of the cheaper $40 version . Sorry I managed to grab the last one Amazon had in stock 😀


I read through the what keyboard should I buy and even the cheapest ones were a little out of my price range and or didn’t have the features that I’m looking for.

Looking for an inexpensive compact Keyboard with brown switches (I’ll settle for blue if it saves me money). I also need function keys for volume and media control.

I think this Drevo Gramr 84 key brown is one of the few keyboards that’s exactly what I’m looking for. Here’s a reddit thread on it from 10 days ago with an unboxing/review.

So I think it’s a solid buy I can’t justify putting a lot of money into a keyboard but my desk is small, I’m tired of my shitty membrane keyboard, and this seems to fit the bill.

Alternatives I’ve found so far. Nexus Moda v2 and the Coolermaster storm quickfire.

2 points

·

6th Sep 2017

I suggest you buy a magicforce keyboard. You can get brown switches for 40$: Amazon Link. Or red switches for 63$: Amazon Link. Another red switch 39$: Amazon Link.

2 points

·

18th Sep 2020

If you are on a tight budget, I would recommend the Qisan Magicforce 68.

American link

British link

There are different options to choose but for £30 it’s very good. It comes with brown switches which might not be the best for everyone, that’s why you can chose a different model. However I am not entirely certain whether the switches are hot swappable. But once again if you are on a tight budget, this one is definitely a considerable option.

Also very nice setup OP and I hope you find the KB you are looking for.

2 points

·

31st Jul 2020

Magicforce 68 for $39 on Amazon.

2 points

·

23rd Mar 2019

Magiforce 68’s are only about $40, don’t gotta break the bank for a smaller kb 🙂

1 point

·

19th Mar 2022

look like the oem shine thru caps that come stock with the magic force kbs https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

8th Feb 2022

That’s a pretty tight budget, but a for a stock board at that price the MagicForce is decent. Should be available in a few colorways/switch options. Avoid blue “clicky” switches for a quieter keyboard.

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

That said if you want something reeeealy quite you’ll probably need to save up and build it yourself.

1 point

·

8th Dec 2021

Magicforce 68 for $39 USD off Amazon. There you go.

1 point

·

2nd Nov 2021

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_DWY5WTP96DA83Y8TZ4HB

1 point

·

10th Jul 2021

Again, i do recommend going somewhere you can try some switches/ mech keyboards first. This will at least give you an initial impression as to whether you even like the feel or sound.

As to my recommendation:

Qisan A decent 60% keyboard without any bells or whistles. The linked one is brown switches (actual tactile) but they have ones with blues or reds. I started with this one myself. Was nice, I used it for a year before I upgraded to a different one. I still have it in my electronics closet, and it still works. I think it’s been 4 years.

plugable tkl I don’t know much about this one, but I have seen it get recommended before at it’s price point as a good board for the price.

Velocifire tkl This one intrigues me. I was doing some looking, and was seeing others recommend this. It’s tkl, compact, but it’s Bluetooth wireless. Often any wireless jacks the price up. It looks like a decent keyboard. I don’t have any direct experience with it. But, to be honest, I think i may pick one up myself, to try as a travel keyboard for future recommendations if I like it.

Ducky One 2 I’m only putting this here if it turns out you like mech keyboards. This is the 60% I still use and my wife daily drives. It’s cheap enough (at about 100usd) and has the ability to come with a wide array of switches (I use the Gateron Silent Browns in mine, my wife uses Kailh box silent pink switches). It has good construction and a good sound profile, which can be dependant on switch choice too.

Again, if you can find a place that has a switch tester, or multiple keyboards you can try with different switches; do that first. Then if you do like them, and you become more switch interested, you can grab a hot swappable keyboard. Switches tend to be cheaper than full boards after all.

1 point

·

15th Apr 2021

This one looks quite nice and has decent reviews

1 point

·

4th Apr 2021

It’s the Quisan magicforce 68.
It’s the cheapest (acceptable and white) mech keyboard. It’s the only one below 100$ that has brown (otemu) switches.
🙂 Amazon

1 point

·

7th Nov 2020

If you mean white keycaps with translucent legends that is quite possible, i.e. Razer Huntsman Mini Mercury or Qisan Magicforce 68

1 point

·

4th Nov 2020

That’s not going to get you much for a brand new keyboard I’m afraid. The closest thing I can recommend is a Magicforce 68 for $90 CAD off Amazon.

If you can save up and stretch your budget to $140 the Durgod Taurus K320.

1 point

·

28th May 2017

Enjoy the redragon k552. Buttons a bit too loud though.

I enjoy the feel of my Logitech g510. I think that is a membrane keyboard but it feels different from other membrane keyboards. I’m not big into the technicalities of mechanical keyboards so i don’t exactly know how to explain it but I’ll give it a try.

I’m looking for a mechanical keyboard from amazon for my secondary pc. Would like 60%-87key keyboard, similar feel to the g510, the k552 feels nice but feels too rigid and clicky for me. Around $30-$60 if possible.

Some that i have looked at that interest me.

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_iIKkzbX9SWYHR

Qisan Gaming Keyboard Mechanical Wired Keyboard Blue Switch Backlight keyboard 82-Keys Extreme Simple Design Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01890YINM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_1IKkzb61W5XE4

Corsair Vengeance K65 Compact Mechanical Gaming Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DOWCQ0I/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_VJKkzbPC5VNCP

1 point

·

28th May 2017

Enjoy the redragon k552. Buttons a bit too loud though.

I enjoy the feel of my Logitech g510. I think that is a membrane keyboard but it feels different from other membrane keyboards. I’m not big into the technicalities of mechanical keyboards so i don’t exactly know how to explain it but I’ll give it a try.

I’m looking for a mechanical keyboard from amazon for my secondary pc. Would like 60%-87key keyboard, similar feel to the g510, the k552 feels nice but feels too rigid and clicky for me. Around $30-$60 if possible.

Some that i have looked at that interest me.

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_iIKkzbX9SWYHR

Qisan Gaming Keyboard Mechanical Wired Keyboard Blue Switch Backlight keyboard 82-Keys Extreme Simple Design Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01890YINM/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_1IKkzb61W5XE4

Corsair Vengeance K65 Compact Mechanical Gaming Keyboard https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DOWCQ0I/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_VJKkzbPC5VNCP

1 point

·

26th Jul 2017

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apap_vOj4KERcSTxaW

I bought it through Amazon if you prefer that over ebay.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01872MCIA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_-9fEzbKDM4XNH

Second one is same thing but back-lit for $30 more lol. Oh and cherry mx instead of outemu. That makes more sense I think.

1 point

·

10th Dec 2018

This particular board is just okay. I’ve never personally owned one but the general consensus is that the board feels quite cheap materials wise for the price you’re paying.

Here’s an old post about it if you want to read from an owner.

For that price I’d say save up one more paycheque and buy a Cooler Master MasterKeys S for around $75. That one is better built, has thicker more durable PBT keycaps and is worth the price.

If you have around $100 you can get any variation of the Ducky One 2 TKL keyboards off MechanicalKeyboards.com or for $20 more any one of the Leopold FC750R keyboards. Those will be worth every penny and last you for many, many years to come. I’ve owned both (and still use a Leopold FC980) and can attest to their quality.

If you really want an entry level one grab a Magicforce/Qisan 68 for $39 off Amazon . It’s not a TKL but is a 65% (the Function row is accessible via FN+1 etc.) has decent build quality with Outemu Browns and worth the asking price. I have a couple that are in use with several computers my kids use and they’re still alive and well.

1 point

·

6th Mar 2019

Not a 60% but a Magicforce 68 is $40 on Amazon and great value for the money. I own a couple that I use with various computers and they’ve held up really well.

1 point

·

4th Jun 2019

Awesome, I can get this thing brand new for $40 off amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

4th Jun 2019

I might be mistaken but I think I found the same keeb for $40 brand new on Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_apa_i_b8G9CbRY1Z77A

1 point

·

25th Sep 2019

Just the first thing on Amazon, not sure about the keycaps.

1 point

·

25th Sep 2019

Price History


Don’t Rook too long, these prices might not last.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^|

1 point

·

9th Sep 2020
1 point

·

8th Oct 2020

Qisan magicforce is a good budget keyboard. However, it is micro USB.

1 point

·

3rd Oct 2020

the qisan magicforce is hard to beat. sorry we at r/mk let you down.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2020

The Wiki recommends the Magiforce 68.

I prefer the Keychron K6.

You can also check out this article from Switch and Click which focuses on 65% keyboards.

1 point

·

21st Sep 2020

You can check the Wiki.

Off the top of my head, there’s the MagiForce 68 for example.

1 point

·

8th Sep 2020

Thank you! It’s actually pretty inexpensive to build; $40 for the keyboard itself, and another $25 or so for the PCB and other hardware.

1 point

·

28th Aug 2020

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0 what i am using now while I wait for my ID80. IMO best bang for your buck

1 point

·

27th Aug 2020

Thanks! Keyboard here, caps here if you’re interested.

1 point

·

28th Jul 2020

Look for Magicforce 68. It comes with red or blue outemu. I am personally using it with blues but will swap them for Kailh Box Heavy – Dark Yellows.https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

The body is Excellent. But blue switches are garbage to be honest.

1 point

·

7th Aug 2020

Grab a Magicforce 68 off Amazon for $39 and get yourself some nicer keycaps with the money you save.

1 point

·

28th Oct 2019

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

Exist, at least without backlit on outemu blue and brown. In amazon Spain outemu version is 20 euros cheaper than gateron version

1 point

·

26th Sep 2019

I’m looking to get my first keyboard. I’m debating between this Magicforce and this Red Dragon

I don’t know enough about my switch preferences to really gauge which one I’d like better for that reason. I also plan on getting custom keycaps so that’s less of an issue as well. So, I’m really torn between the two. Which one would be a better fit for a newbie mechanical keyboard user?

The ugly branding on the red dragon turn me off a bit but I don’t want to disregard the possibly better option for something silly like that.

1 point

·

30th Aug 2019

Magicforce68. This has outemu browns which are almost the same.

1 point

·

30th Jun 2019

I don’t know either of those brands but this one is good

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awdb_t1_PmbgDbRQGFVM9

/r/mechanicalkeyboards may have more info on the ones you posted.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2019

Wow. I am just getting back on from mobile. The links I posted are absolutely shredded. Sorry about that format.

​

Thanks for the response. How do you feel about the Magicforce?

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

19th Apr 2019

Wow. I am just getting back on from mobile. The links I posted are absolutely shredded. Sorry about that format.

​

I think this Magicforce has grown on me a lot.

​

https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

9th Feb 2019

As a newbie here, I’ve been looking for keyboard for a long time and can’t seem to find one that matches my criteria. Any help?

-Less than 80$ cause broke

-At least some back lighting or RGB

-Compact (Preferably 60%-TKL, something like this)

-Don’t really care about switches, just not really loud ones like blues

Might just end up getting this with some keycaps.

1 point

·

6th Feb 2019

Definitely, it’s a Magicforce 68 here & the keycaps are here!

  • Brown mechanical switch, Cherry MX clones
  • Gold plated switch contact points
  • Comes with decent caps, i just wanted a change of color and sprung for the double shot
1 point

·

30th Dec 2018

Personally I don’t know if there’s a best keyboard because in the end it all boils down to preference.

Pok3r is always a solid choice, I have one with MX Reds and I love it.

If you’re willing to stretch the keyboard size to 65%, you have the Magicforce, I’ve heard good things about it and it’s (in my mind) featured pretty often here.

I would also feature the Ducky One 2 Mini, it’s a 60% keyboard from a reliable brand but I can’t for the life of me find a good link to it.

I hope this helps you find the keyboard you want!

1 point

·

16th Dec 2018

Here’s a good starting point.

Might I mention the “satisfaction” of using a mech, as well?

1 point

·

10th Dec 2018

You can get a TINA from KBDFans for $160. All you need to buy are your preferred type of switches in the proper quantity. Always buy at least 10-20 more switches than you need in case you need spares–trust me, you will.

If you want a 75% the KBD75 is a great choice and is popular among the community here.

You can buy the kits from most places which is typically everything you need except switches and keycaps. Those you need to supply yourself or buy separately. KBDFans has a good selection of switches and keycaps if you want to buy everything from one place.

Be warned: building your own custom keyboard can get expensive depending on what you’re after. If you’d prefer to get started with a cheaper pre-built keyboard, get a Magicforce 68 off Amazon and you can go from there.

The cheapest route is to buy a case, a plate, switches, keycaps and handwire it yourself.

1 point

·

13th Nov 2018

Best option in this price range

Be sure to check out r/mechmarket (this is a popular keyboard there, as well).

Enjoy!

1 point

·

8th Jul 2018

Thanks bud. How easily can I replace those keycaps in the future if I go with those. Also, what are your thoughts on this ?

1 point

·

13th Jul 2018

/u/linguisticabstractn created a great build, so I’ll cover the peripheral side of things in this post.

You can buy pretty much the cheapest 144hz monitor and it should work fine, just look at the reviews to see if the colors are relatively accurate and not washed-out.

The mice I’d recommend are the Logitech G403 Prodigy and G203. They’re both inexpensive and very accurate; I have the G203 myself. The only real difference between the two is the shape and that the G203 is a little smaller than the G403.

PC enthusiasts often encourage buying a $100+ mechanical keyboard, but IMO those models are wayyy overhyped. You can buy a cheap(er) keyboard on Amazon that works just as great without compromise.

I have [this one](https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=sr\_1\_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1531499180&sr=8-3&keywords=qisan+magicforce+68](https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B… and it works great. I’d also recommend [this one](https://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Mechanical-GK-FORCE-K83-RED/dp/B01BMJ0Y4O/ref=sr\_1\_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1531499208&sr=8-8&keywords=mechanical+keyboard](https://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Mechanical-GK-FORCE-K83-RED/dp/B01BMJ0Y4O/ref=sr_1_8?ie=…. If you want RGB, I’d say [this one](https://www.amazon.com/Redragon-K556-Mechanical-Keyboard-Aluminum/dp/B01NAI2TXC/ref=sr\_1\_13?ie=UTF8&qid=1531499208&sr=8-13&keywords=mechanical+keyboard](https://www.amazon.com/Redragon-K556-Mechanical-Keyboard-Aluminum/dp/B01NAI2TXC/… is also a good choice.

1 point

·

4th Jul 2018

Not Cherry, it’s Magic Force’s switch. Here’s a link to some more info: https://www.amazon.com/Qisan-Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce/dp/B01E8KO2B0

1 point

·

4th Jun 2018

I got this one because it was inexpensive

I share a study with my fiance, and she hasn’t complained too much about it.

1 point

·

25th May 2018

EEk. I really can’t recommend anything sub $50 on amazon except this but I would much rather go with their Gateron switches which runs $62. For other options, I can recommend this sale. It’s not the prettiest, but it’s a fantastic board for $20 more that will last you forever. These last two although cost more, would actually have resale value if you wanted to put it on ebay or mechmarket.

1 point

·

14th Mar 2018

This Qisan Magicforce uses offbrand Cherry MX browns and is really comfortable. Give this a try.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_Y7xQAbHH7P7R4

1 point

·

15th Mar 2018

Magicforce would be my suggestion. Comes in other switches too. Not sure what the prices are like in the UK.

1 point

·

20th Feb 2018

I know Magicforce has a ton of fans on this sub.

Hey, I’m considering buying my first mechanical keyboard. I only have a laptop at home, and while the keyboard is fine it’s only comfortable for typing or looking at the screen (awkward to stare down at the screen, or arms are at an awkward angle higher up if the screen is at a better height).

I would mainly be using the keyboard for light programming. I would also prefer a smaller, lighter keyboard for portability. I would prefer to go cheaper, and get a keyboard that I can mess around with and learn how to customize and/or repair without worrying about breaking an expensive keyboard.

This Magic Force 68 is the only compact keyboard on the buying guide. I wanted to confirm that the keys are standard sized so that I could easily learn how to make modifications.

Alternatively, this Plugable 87 key keyboard is only a couple of dollars more and only slightly larger. It doesn’t have a detachable cable though.

There is the Anne Pro, which seems to be fairly popular but wasn’t mentioned on the buying guide. The wireless or wired feature, and the compact size would be really nice but I’m not sure that it’s worth twice the price.

Thoughts?

1 point

·

28th Dec 2017

If you’re talking about this set

save yourself the trouble of the strange caps and just buy it for almost half the price here:

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_SmwrAbMYPWT4V

1 point

·

26th Nov 2017

You should look into this Magicforce mechanical keyboard.
Great reviews, great price, and you can get it in whatever mech switch you want.

(not an affiliate link)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_l1LgAb3KZPXFQ

1 point

·

30th Nov 2017

I’d highly suggest avoiding a Corsair and am not going to comment on the Razer.

Look at a Anne Pro from Flashquark based in the USA or slightly less from Anne Pro from banggood.

You could also look at a Magicforce68 or maybe check out the discounted returned items on mechanicalkeyboards.com such as the Pok3r, etc.

1 point

·

26th Nov 2017

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_muRgAb7RNX06F

1 point

·

27th Nov 2017

I ended up buying this it’s pretty nice and works fine with the PS4.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8KO2B0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

8th Oct 2017

I switched to a mechanical keyboard and though I won’t say it’s necessary, I really do like them.

That being said, there is no “best keyboard for ____”. Mechanical keyboards are operated by mechanical switches (duh), and there are several varieties of switches that all feel very different. I watched a bunch of youtube videos about the different switches and ended up just buying a cheap keyboard to try. You can also buy “switch samplers” to try them all out yourself.

I highly recommend buying a cheap mechanical to make sure you like it before you go all in on a nice keyboard.

https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0

This is exactly what I bought (Research the switches before you buy!). It’s cheap, but very very good. From there I moved up to a Poker.

https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=1558

1 point

·

25th Aug 2017
1 point

·

11th Jul 2017
1 point

·

26th Jul 2017

Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by Qisan https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_RUaEzbQ6SDCAN

Cheap and great quality if interested.

1 point

·

21st May 2017

Hey guys! First post here. I’m using a MacBook Air(2013 base model lol) a Dell SE2717HX RVJXC 27″ Full HD 1920 X 1080 Monitor( got it from Costco so was like $20 cheaper) Logitech Z313 speakers. This keyboard https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8KO2B0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
and an older Logitech Anywhere Mouse MX. I have the Audio Technica M40X’s too. This is the overhead lamp from Ikea http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70309604/ The Desk is from Ikea too. http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/S19932558/#/S79932555

1 point

·

27th Apr 2017

Okay, so I’ve owned a Corsair K65 for a year now and still barely know anything about mechanical keyboards, but I’m learning more everyday. I love the MX Cherry Reds I have on it and have o-rings to dampen the noise, but I want something equally quiet or even quieter with some more feedback. I don’t like clicky so I think MX Browns are good, if anyone has suggestions for me i’d appreciate it. I want a more compact keyboard, but I can’t live without arrow keys, so I think a 68-key is best for me, and ideally it would be both wired and wireless, but that seems like a rare find. So either wired or wireless is fine, I just hate the bulky wire on my Corsair. I’ve also got a Tai-Hao Hawaii keyset coming in a couple months from Massdrop.

Now for my big question, can someone tell me the big difference between these two keyboards and why the prices are so different? Why would it be worth it to save up for the Varmilo?

Varmilo

Magicforce

1 point

·

4th Apr 2017

the magicforce 68 is pretty much the best budget board out there. But if the idea of no F row turns you off, the Corsair k65 is on sale on amazon.com right meow.

1 point

·

5th Mar 2017

If you’re looking for a cheap but well made and high quality mechanical keyboard, I highly recommend the Magicforce 68 or tomoko 87.

You can get more advice at r/mechanicalkeyboards

1 point

·

17th Feb 2017

For anyone wondering by the way, this a magicforce 68 with Outemu browns, link to purchase if interested (not an affiliate link, I’m no scumbag) https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01E8KO2B0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

11th Jan 2017

Gracias por el dato! voy a ver si consigo alguien que me importe este https://www.amazon.com/Mechanical-Keyboard-68-Keys-Magicforce-Qisan/dp/B01E8KO2B0 estaba en la lista de los mas economicos y se ve bastante agradable (a mi gusto)

1 point

·

25th Oct 2016

The Magicforce 68 is a great, low price mechanical board

No lighting on this version (there are others with white or blue) but it leaves you some dollars for a mouse.

1 point

·

28th Jun 2016

For TKL(ish) in ascending price, magicforce 68, Quickfire Rapid.

For Full size in ascending price, Rosewill RK9000, Quickfire XT.

If you can pull your budget up to the $100ish range you have way more options.

1 point

·

12th May 2016

Do you know what switches? You should try some mechanical keyboards at Best Buy or Microcenter to get a feel for the different switch types.

Generally, you are better to get a separate wrist rest, as most any that come with a keyboard are just cheap plastic. Personally, I like my Grifiti for a wrist rest.

As you are used to using a Laptop keyboard, and presumably want a more portable keyboard, I would suggest a 60%.

The Magicforce 68 I a great bargain. There is nothing that equals the build quality in this price range.

For a bit more, and even better build, would be the KB Paradise V60 in Clears or Gateron Browns. Clears and Browns are tactile, yet quiet switches. Generally they are considered good for both gaming and typing.

For a bit more, there is the Pok3r. You get a metal case, and programmable keys over the V60.

60% keyboards have everything a larger Tenkeyless have in keys, but some keys like Home are only available by pressing the Function key.

If you want a TKL, then your best options are a CM Storm QFR or Ducky One TKL. CM makes a good quality board. Ducky is better but correspondingly costs more.

0 points

·

21st Jun 2021

>$85.99

Imagine paying $86 for a $10 keyboard with Thinkpad stickers on it.

Half the price, double the experience.

0 points

·

2nd Dec 2019
0 points

·

6th Jun 2018

This keyboard should work: Qisan Mechanical Keyboard Gaming Keyboard Brown Switch 68-Keys Mini Design (60%) Gaming Wired Keyboard White Silver Magicforce by https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01E8KO2B0/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_Mr7fBb597ZJXG

0 points

·

6th Dec 2016

No you need more. You definitely need a PCB to hold all of the diodes, switches and mount the controller and usb female port. Here is what a blank PCB for handwiring looks like. With the amount of time it takes and price on all these little parts, it is not that much more to get a ready-to-go pcb, and it is a hell of a lot less head aches. Custom boards are expensive. If you want a semi-custom at a fraction of the price project. Get your ideal switches, and get a cheap board like this. Open it up, desolder the outemo switches, and throw the key caps in the trash. Resolder in your zealios or whatever you got. Get a good key cap set and you got yourself a sweet board for much less than what you are taking about.

I think the best thing about a custom is making a board with all the best parts with your ideal layout, which comes at a premium. If you’re building a cheap custom, it will just be another “meh” board. Desolder/resolder switches of an already built board will get you further for cheap, and will be more ideal than cheaping out on all custom parts.

-2 points

·

13th Feb 2019