What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Mechanical Gaming Keyboard,MechanicalEagle Z-77 Multicolor 9-Mode Backlit 87-Key Hot-Swappable TKL Keyboard with Blue Switches – Spare Switches and Tool Included – Black?

A total of 52 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

30th Jan 2017

These Chinese ones are pretty much all the same. For about a year and a half now, random Chinese companies have been buying them up wholesale from Chinese factories, putting their own random branding on them, and then shipping them to the US to sell them via Amazon Prime.

Back when Amazon allowed companies to give out freebies and/or coupons in exchange for positive reviews, I snagged this one for $16 (and no, I didn’t review it):
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DBVH16U/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It’s extremely similar to other ones I found reviewed on YouTube including identical logos (despite being branded by a different company) and the same broken English instructions so it’s safe to say most of the stuff from China is identical.

Some people say these ones use counterfeit/clone Cherry MX blue switches but that is a disservice. These Goate/Otemu ones are pretty decent. They’re not as good as Cherry MX blue but they’re definitely worth the cheap as hell price that they are asking for.

A mechanical keyboard for $20 is a no brainer.

I’ve been using the one I bought since April at work and I’ve had no problems. I answer customer service emails for a small company so I put it through a lot of work.

1 point

·

17th Mar 2021

to add to his build, i personally liked this cheaper keyboard better

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_7NS7RYHYSEDNA1CD67Z5?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

gives you more money for a better mouse too. i think a razer death adder would be a pretty safe bet being one of the more popular mice out there depending on what your son would be doing

1 point

·

30th Jun 2019

Granvela MechanicalEagle Z-77 Multicolor Backlit Mechanical Keyboard Tenkeyless Wired Gaming Keyboard with Blue Switches – DIY Replaceable Switches – Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_i_iNdgDbHM0GE1A

Its TKL, I use to use it but Ive since upgraded (or downgraded depending on how you look at it ) to a 60% ducky one 2 mini. Its really great for 33USD, I dont really have any issues with it.

1 point

·

27th May 2019

On this keyboard, the switches are soldered. Even if they were Cherry Blues, not worth the time to remove. Much easier to get a Z-77 , comes with 5 spare switches and puller

1 point

·

20th Nov 2018

The older HyperX Cloud headset is sometimes under $75. It’s based on a good set of cans and the mic is decent. Honestly, the cheaper headsets on Amazon are normally good for their price. Logitech’s cheaper USB headsets are decent (just don’t install the software for the surround sound, it’s terrible. Everyone will tell you otherwise but the headset sounds better and louder without the software installed.)

Keyboard is harder to pin down. There are plenty of cheap options with RGB. I have two like this one and a friend of mine has a different one that’s about the same price. Clicky, tactile mechs. Loud, not quite as good as Cherry switches, but way less expensive and it’s in the ‘good enough’ range of quality. There are plenty on Amazon and most are decent without ever being good. Still a step up from a rubber dome keyboard.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2018

Hey,

I’m looking for a recommendation for a quiet, LED backlit, tenkeyless mechanical keyboard with Cherry MX Brown switches. It’s for work, and I write a bunch of software for SoC validation. Ideally my LEDs would be RGB and programmable to different colors. Budget is like under $150, <$120 would be really nice.

My current keyboard is a $40 designed-and-made-in-China Amazon keyboard with knockoff blue switches and it is REALLY loud. Amazon link to the keyboard I have here. It’s got Outemo blue switches I think.

I have found that my wrists and forearms do start to ache if I’m typing for a while as well. So that’s why I’m trying to stick with lighter switches (I was a big fan of MX Greens partly because I’m a MX Blue fan first and foremost, but 1. MX Greens are rarer and 2. my coworker has MX Greens and they are a little loud but not bad at all on his Poker keyboard, but I could definitely feel the difficulty in pressing each key compared to lighter keyswitches).

Thanks in advance.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2017

Nope, this isn’t backlit. This has tactile Brown switches, and all of the Z-77’s appear to have clicky Blue switches. So that’s a big thing to consider. You’ll also want to think about what form factor you want; this one is smaller than the Z-77’s.

Edit: I’m guessing this is why you asked, but this Z-77 will be on sale in ~20 mins.

1 point

·

3rd Mar 2017

I’m currently using a Mechanical Eagle Z-77 and it’s great for the price. Backlit, but not RGB programmable unless you get the version that’s $5 more I believe. The colors are very vibrant and looks nice, much better than you would expect. Uses an imitation of Cherry MX Blue switches. Overall, I’m satisfied with it and it’s only $40.

1 point

·

10th Oct 2016

I just built a pc but I hate my cheap board. I have a tight budget but I did find this, anyone know any other good mechanical keyboards if this one is bad?

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2016

> G Skill KM780

This keyboard is the kind of thing that makes /r/MechanicalKeyboards cry. I have this keyboard which is rainbow backlit (not RGB) and knockoff MX Blue switches. It’s cheap and TKL, two things I love and I haven’t had any issues with it. I had a K70 with Brown Switches once and I didn’t like them nearly as much as Blue switches. I also never use the number pad and have a small desk.

I don’t know much of anything about mouses, I use a Kensington trackball.

>HyperX Cloud II

I say to go for a headphone+microphone combo instead of a headset. You end up with better headphones and a better mic for less money. Having said that, this is probably about the best headset you can buy since it’s based on an actually nice pair of headphones just paired up with a less than great mic. I have some recommendations if you want to hear them, but I think you’ll probably just want an all-in-one package.

As /u/MrEitsab has said, I think getting the mouse first would be best if you can’t get everything all at once. Toss up between the keyboard and headset after that.

1 point

·

23rd Oct 2016

I have one of these guys. I like it. I like Blue Switches and the backlight is at least nicer than one solid color. I also like the TKL form factor.

1 point

·

2nd Oct 2016

If you don’t mind missing the macro keys sure.

I would suggest this keyboard over the Redragon since I remember hearing problems with key rollover and I think the rainbow backlight is a bit nicer looking.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2016

You can sometimes find old IBM model M keyboards on eBay for that much. They’re great and sometimes I wish I had one, but I like using TKL.

I’m personally using this keyboard and I love it. I think the rainbow backlight is a bit better than one color and I personally prefer the size of a TKL keyboard. There are a handful of other options out there but this is the keyboard I own.

1 point

·

18th Sep 2016

I just picked up a mechanicaleagle z77 for $35 bucks. Knockoff blue switches but the thing feels and looks incredible. Look up some reviews, not all knockoff mechs are bad.

1 point

·

13th Sep 2016

It depends on who you ask and what switches you use. I started off with Cherry MX Brown switches, but I can tell you right now that I never really liked them. It isn’t to say they weren’t better than rubber dome, they were, but I didn’t really care about them. They didn’t ‘feel’ that great to me, just slightly less mushy and uncertain.

After a few years with my first mech, I switched to a much cheaper keyboard with Outemu Blue switches and I can say that I love it. Some say they don’t like the clicky-ness but I love every thing about it. It’s so satisfying and really honestly feels really good while typing. The best keyboard I have ever used was an IDM Model M2 keyboard that I regret selling, and it was very clicky and awesome.

This is the keyboard that I have. I like TKL keyboards, my last two have been this form factor and most cheap Mechs are this size as well. Some people can’t get rid of their ten keypad but I used it so rarely, I’d rather have the more ergonomic setup as well as desk space. This was the cheapest keyboard around at the time, but there are some that are cheaper now.

1 point

·

26th Sep 2016

I use a MechanicalEagle Z-77, it’s not bad for the price but not a top quality keyboard really. The lighting options are amazing and just for the looks, it’s awesome, but the feel of the own-brand switches is not so good. Feels fairly imprecise and cheap.

1 point

·

30th Aug 2016

Personally I got this one: https://www.amazon.com/MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1472575477&amp;sr=8-1&amp;keywords=granvela+keyboard

But if I were to purchase another mechanical keyboard I would’ve gotten one with a full-sized layout, but that’s just because of a specific scenario where I needed a numberpad.

1 point

·

29th Jul 2016

I have one of these and I like it a lot. It has Blue style switches, which I love, and a fixed ‘rainbow’ backlight. I didn’t think I would care for the rainbow backlight but after a while I figure I like it more than just red or white. It’s solid and I prefer TKL keyboards because I have a small desk and I like having my mouse closer to my hands.

4 points

·

29th Aug 2016

This is the MechanicalEagle Z-77 and it’s on Amazon for $40. Based on this review it seems like a pretty good mechanical keyboard for the price.

1 point

·

11th Jul 2021

The cheap mechanicals are pretty nice, most of the expensive cherries suck cause theyre made to feel like membrane for some reason. The blue or browns you’d get on a $30 are just as good.

https://www.amazon.com/Granvela-MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Tenkeyless/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=sr_1_2?dchild=1&amp;keywords=mechanical+eagle&amp;qid=1625989991&amp;s=electronics&amp;sr=1-2

Id recommend this though, lasted me for years, good build quality, good switches, and cheaper.

1 point

·

23rd Dec 2020

Budget was 100$.

My mechanical keyboard was 30$, though they no longer sell it…

https://www.amazon.com/Granvela-MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Tenkeyless/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&amp;keywords=eagletech+mechanical&amp;qid=1608739899&amp;s=electronics&amp;sr=1-1

is close but lacks a numpad… Their new one wiht a numpad is 50…

I guess the pi 4 kit is 100, I was looking at the pi 3b which is what I have… Still not a bad choice.

https://www.amazon.com/CanaKit-Raspberry-Premium-Clear-Supply/dp/B07BC7BMHY/ref=sr_1_4?dchild=1&amp;keywords=raspberry+pi+3&amp;qid=1608740051&amp;s=electronics&amp;sr=1-4

So my numbers are sadly out of date…

1 point

·

7th May 2017

Hello, I’m looking to get in the game with my first mechanical keyboard. I Was wonder about the quality of this Mechanical Eagle or if it would better to get the Magicforce recommend in the wiki.; Also, if you have any under suggestions, I’m looking for something 50$ or under on Amazon.

1 point

·

25th Apr 2018

I see 338 reivews from amazon including a Q&A section. what more were you looking for sir?

1 point

·

31st Dec 2017

MechanicalEagle Z-77 Multicolor Backlit Mechanical Keyboard Tenkeyless Wired Gaming Keyboard with Blue Switches – DIY Replaceable Switches – Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_GAhsAbV3RZQDK

1 point

·

17th Jul 2017

Not really any mechs lower than $40. But I know Amazon and NewEgg has some around 40-60 with Kailh, Gateron or MX clone switches. Stuff like this https://www.amazon.com/MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Keyboard-Replaceable/dp/B01DBVH16U

1 point

·

17th Jun 2017

I have one of these guys. It has a ‘rainbow’ backlight, so it’s not exactly RGB but it has different colored backlights.

My wife uses this similar keyboard that’s actually full RGB, smaller and a bit more expensive. Both of these keyboards have full sized versions that are also inexpensive.

I’m not great when it comes to mouses, I use a decent trackball mouse but most people hate them despite being obviously better.

1 point

·

30th Apr 2017

MechanicalEagle Z-77 off Amazon?

1 point

·

21st Apr 2017

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01DBVH16U

Im very very happy with this purchase.

1 point

·

28th Feb 2017

thanks so much for your detailed response and advice. My gut instinct is to immediately throw money I don’t have because this shit looks so cool. But I should probably wait for a deal..

I requested to be included on that drop..you think it will go through?

What do you think of these for starters? Would most caps like the ones we are talking about work well with these keyboards?

keyboard 1 keyboard 2

1 point

·

9th Feb 2017

MechanicalEagle Z-77 (RGB | Non-backlit) comes with blue Outemu switches (clones of Cherry). They’re really loud though.

1 point

·

9th Jan 2017

If you don’t want to shell out a lot of money, go for the E-Element Z-77. If you have money to spend, go for the MasterKeys Pro S.

Edit: Links and punctuation

1 point

·

16th Dec 2016

https://www.amazon.com/MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Keyboard-Replaceable/dp/B01DBVH16U

This is a good buy. I have the 104 Key White Version though, but it’s nice. Loud, clicky blue switches which may or may not be for you though.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2016

I’m using the following, https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01DBVH16U/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&amp;psc=1

I got it for 9$ last week and have been using it since it’s been delivered as my daily driver.

1 point

·

28th Nov 2016

Bought this one on amazon a few days back, it’s pretty good. Prefer these Cherry MX clones over real Cherry MX blues.

1 point

·

12th Oct 2016

There are others keyboards with CiY: Glorious PC masterrace but $100 rip, MechanicalEagle Z-77, Another Mechanical Eagle

etc…

1 point

·

13th Sep 2016

I used to type on a Truly Ergonomic Computer Keyboard. I loved the crap out of it to be honest. It had Cherry MX Brown switches (they are sold with Kalih switches now but the first generation used Cherry) and it didn’t take up much space. The photos show the keyboard with the palm rest, but it can be taken off and the keyboard has a more 60% feeling after that. It was great. The keyboard had a bunch of QA issues, though. I typed on it for years but eventually some of the keys just stopped working.

After that I switched to this cheap mech with knock-off Cherry MX Blue style switches. It’s actually really great. I like Blues a hell of a lot more than I liked Browns. The lighting is a bit gimmicky, but it’s better than just flat lighting.

Gaming on the TECK was always a slight challenge. Browns aren’t the best for gaming, and given the issues I had with the switches I had never felt comfortable or accurate gaming on it. The Z77 has been the opposite. It feels great to game on. I love the clicks.

1 point

·

5th Jul 2016

Here is a fully mechanical keyboard for 40 bucks:

https://www.amazon.com/MechanicalEagle-Multicolor-Mechanical-Keyboard-Switches/dp/B01DBVH16U/ref=sr_1_31?ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1467737121&amp;sr=8-31&amp;keywords=mechanical+keyboard

Mouse: Logitech makes great reliable mice.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-G300s-Optical-Gaming-910-004360/dp/B00RH6R7C4/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&amp;ie=UTF8&amp;qid=1467737870&amp;sr=1-1&amp;keywords=Logitech+G300S

I don’t know much about the keyboard honestly, but IMO, I’d rather have a cheapish mechanical keyboard than a nice rubber dome keyboard.

0 points

·

25th Jul 2017

I bought a cheap Chinese &quot;replaceable&quot; keyboard with crap cherry clones for $36, bought 50 Gateron Brown keys off ebay for $10. In the end i will have keyboard that can easily be modded for ~$46.

0 points

·

7th Nov 2016

Usb hubs wouldn’t really work for my setup unless it was weighted and had a relatively long cable. That is a nice looking keyboard though, are there any thoughts on this brand though? It’s much cheaper, for one.