What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Logitech Z-5500 THX-Certified 5.1 Digital Surround Sound Speaker System?

A total of 24 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

20th May 2019

It’s okay. I ordered a $99 pair of powered speakers from Amazon Prime Now and they wound up sending me two sets of them, so now I can return a set and I basically got mine for free then. Everything works out!

Loving my record player and the vinyl I’ve picked up so far.

Also I replied to the other guy but basically I got this set 9 years ago for $322 (mentioning price cause it’s selling for 1700 now somehow?): https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002WPSBC

1 point

·

8th Jun 2018

Big aluminum knobs are synonymous with volume control. See the best sound system logitech ever made as an example. https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

Why should you have to get used to anything that isn’t an outright improvement.

1 point

·

23rd Nov 2015

So I recently got a Rega RP1 and a Rega Fono mini A2D which is then connected to my Schiit Magni headphone amp. Would it be possible to connect the turntable to this? http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

I’m not sure if they’re good for turntable/music, but my friend said that they were so I might try them out.

1 point

·

2nd Apr 2013

Logitech 5.1 speakers. They really sound quite nice, the sub is quite large for a set of PC speakers. Would work well for a home theater set-up as well, includes an optical audio input. Great condition over-all, I think the sub may have a few scratches but that’s the only flaw. I think I may even have some extra speaker wire to throw in. Check out the reviews in the Amazon link and make an offer. Looking for 350ish.

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&qid=1364941545&sr=8-7&keywords=logitech+5.1

1 point

·

15th Nov 2010

For bang for your buck, I’d recommend the Logitech Z5500. I’ve had this system for a few years and have been very pleasantly surprised with the fidelity & power. While being considered pc speakers, they are THX certified and have fiber optic as well as coaxial inputs. The Dolby Pro-Logic II also does a decent job of upconverting your stereo music into surround.

Amazon

Bose are very clear, but are often overly bright and lack mid range. If you decide to blow your budget, I think you’d be much happer with speakers from Klipsch.

1 point

·

18th Aug 2010

Nice! Multi-function devices are exempt from the large color screen rule. What do you use to stream from home? Do you have playlists setup beforehand or is managing a 1.5tb collection from a mobile device easier than it sounds?

I wish I had the room for a ‘proper’ setup at home, but for now I’ve got the older version of these. They do the trick; I’ve even got a turntable hooked up to them. One day I’ll piece together a nice home audio setup.

1 point

·

22nd Jun 2010

I’ve had a Logitech setup that’s been belting out some great sound for years. Just make sure you get one with a sub and 5.1 sound or better. They even have some THX certified speakers that sound pretty good.

6 points

·

1st May 2018

They are going for $1399.99 on amazon RN…

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

I’m not a snobbish audiophile but, I certainly have way more invested into my HT than I should and, a pair of A5+s sit on my desk. I do enjoy high quality audio. What’s so special about this set?

6 points

·

16th Sep 2020

Logitech Z-5500 still the best 5.1 speaker system to date. Its a real durable setup too. it survived my HS/College life and still serves me well into my 30s :). You can still find this setup, but it goes for crazy prices these days cause they stopped making it =/. https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

2 points

·

23rd Nov 2015

Duder, this is what I use, and not only is it cheap, but it sounds amazing, has optical and coax audio inputs, 3.5mm audio input, comes with a remote, and allows you to adjust the volume of each speaker pair. Second link is cheap bluetooth solution.

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

http://www.frys.com/product/8582969?source=google&gclid=Cj0KEQiAj8uyBRDawI3XhYqOy4gBEiQAl8BJbZHcWyM6MhM04Wo2-n4gTbQ-0RI_Sn28QjkIWLRFf0QaAkXs8P8HAQ

1 point

·

12th Nov 2021

I have a Philips pus8505 TV, “digital offset” is in the TVs audio settings. The speakers are Logitech z5500.

TV: https://www.philips.se/c-p/58PUS8505_12/8500-series-4k-uhd-led-med-android-tv-och-ambilight

Speakers: https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

1 point

·

27th Sep 2021

i looked these up on amazon and every other pic is a mascara picture lol Logitech Z-5500 THX-Certified 5.1 Digital Surround Sound Speaker System https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0002WPSBC/

1 point

·

11th May 2020

Can’t think of the name of it, but it’s the main control box to the surround sound system. Input, setting, volume adjust, all that fun stuff. Basically mine is a Logitech Z-5500. It’s a good system considering I got it from Ebay for around $350 or so about ten years ago. Also, if it helps, and Amazon link:

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

As for making sure they don’t have any virtualization effects enabled, I have no idea how to do that, so I don’t think anything like that is enabled since this is a fresh install. Also what do you mean by SBX…sorry for the newb questions, but I really don’t understand how to do this, and while I could try on my own, I think asking for help would be the more expedient route. That said I do plan to give a look through SBC again just to familiarize myself with something I might have missed.

​

EDIT: I went to Control Panel -> Sound -> Selected Speakers -> Properties, and there wasn’t an enhancement tab. I tried changing the settings a little, but it didn’t make any difference.

1 point

·

20th May 2019

I bought this set 9 years ago: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002WPSBC

(it didn’t cost anywhere near that price at the time. it was $322)

1 point

·

14th Apr 2019

would these work with the logitech z5500? i am missing two speakers and itd be nice to add those in instead

1 point

·

28th Dec 2015

My gaming PC setup

These ungodly speakers I got years ago

All of my airsoft gear easily totals over $1,000

1 point

·

19th Nov 2015

Oh right, sorry. Logitech z-5500 and am running Win7 Ultimate 64 bit.

1 point

·

12th Feb 2015

I have had these speakers for quite awhile now.

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

Are they still on par with today’s speakers? I really don’t know much about speakers =\

1 point

·

27th Aug 2010

Not exactly a home theater, but if you live in a small apartment this might be a good choice for half your budget.

Logitech Z-5500

0 points

·

14th Feb 2017

I setup a Logitech Z-5500 in my bedroom with TV, Xbox One, cable box and PC connected, and a Logitech Harmony remote. It sounds great for a HTIB in the bedroom. I play music and movies, games and TV at varying volumes throughout the day/night.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-THX-Certified-Digital-Surround-Speaker/dp/B0002WPSBC

Here’s the modern version of the product, both are THX certified (if that matters):

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Z906-Surround-Sound-Speakers/dp/B004M18O60

And then if your budget is lower, there’s non-THX versions of these PC surround systems for less, from Logitech and others. Just check into what connections you have/need vs what these offer.

If you can’t put the sub on the floor, you could plop it up on a desk (far from ideal, but an option) with a foam pad, something like this or you could DIY:

https://www.amazon.com/Auralex-Acoustics-SubDude-II-Subwoofer-Isolation/dp/B00DI5AXNI

Note I ran my own speaker cables and connector pins with my Z-5500 since the cables they come with are super thin and kinda meh. Good luck!

0 points

·

3rd May 2016

Sorry but they never really made good speakers. For 1000, you can build a much better real home theater than this. About on par with a Bose system, 3″ drivers with an 8″ sub isn’t a real theater system, even if they paid for a THX logo.

I’m not bashing anyone who has bought one, they’re not bad. You can just get everything else and more with a cheaper receiver + speaker combo.

0 points

·

23rd Dec 2015

>what the difference is between “faux 5.1” and true 5.1 sound

True 5.1 comes from 5 actual speakers and a subwoofer (the .1 part of 5.1). Faux 5.1, while I’ve not seen that term used, would be trying to create the 5.1 experience with fewer speakers. Some headphones do this and while a good pair can be convincing to your ears it’s not real 5.1 surround.

5.1, or Surround Sound, gives direction to the sound. In movies most of the dialog comes from the center speaker because the actors are in front of you, sounds occurring to the left or right of the screen come from the left or right speaker respectively. The rears are mostly used for ambient, non directional, sounds.

>Do I need a sound card……..Does the quality of the sound card affect much

No and it depends.

The on board audio is very good these days. You’d want a sound card if you were really serious about getting the absolute best sound reproduction. There’s a quality difference but for most things you’d be hard pressed to tell the difference.

>Do only special sources offer 5.1, such as Blu-ray?

Most DVDs and pretty much all Blu-rays will have 5.1 sound as well as many games. Not so much for music.

>Should I consider a system with a soundbar, or one with many speakers?

No sound bars, they’re crap. They range from real crap to almost decent crap but they’re still crap.

>Is there a noticeable quality or price difference between wired and wireless or Bluetooth?

Can’t speak to the price difference but I’d be suspect of wireless and only go that route if you absolutely can’t run wire to the rear speakers. Just as with networking, wired is best, more reliable.

>Do I need a receiver

No, your motherboard has everything you need. Look at the manual, it explains how to connect a 5.1 system, what gets plugged into what. You can hook up to a receiver and add any speakers you want but it’s not necessary, a good PC speaker set will do you just fine.

>What are some better recommendations?

Logitech has a good range PC speakers, the inexpensive to the expensive (for a PC speaker system). And then there’s the insanely expensive.

Read the reviews, pay attention to the speaker wire length, especially for the rear speakers. The more expensive ones may have more, and more convenient, controls.

Depending on your room you may want to put the rears on a stand.

0 points

·

24th Aug 2010

That’s a real tough price point to hit for for 5.1 home audio.

That said, the computer speaker markup isn’t quite as inflated and these kick ass for the price:
Logitech THX Certified 5.1
I have an older version of this model and it sounds great.