What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Logitech Illuminated Ultrathin Keyboard K740 with Laser-Etched Backlit Keyboard and Soft-Touch Palm Rest – Black?

A total of 41 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

12th Jan 2021

What brand is the keyboard? Are you using Mac or PC? I wonder if Logitech has keyboards that are silent.

I’d recommend a wired Apple keyboard as it’s pretty quiet. Problem is they can be expensive 😞 I bought mine about five years ago.

I found this: Logitech Illuminated Ultrathin Keyboard K740 with Laser-Etched Backlit Keyboard and Soft-Touch Palm Rest – Black https://www.amazon.com/dp/B001F51G16/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glc_fabc_a-p.FbYK0YJSF

Should be okay and affordable 😄

1 point

·

5th Jun 2021

Are there any decent low profile, brown (or other silent) switch, RGB keyboards for under $100? I am currently using a Logitech K740 and while it’s nice to type on, I am definitely interested in upgrading to something that has RGB.

1 point

·

30th Nov 2020

I have been looking for weeks and months.

What I mean by an office keyboard is: this

But I need a tenkeyless one.

Any suggestions? I need a Quiet (no clacky sounds), Tenkeyless, low travel keyboard (like an office keyboard but obviously better quality).

Something like the Apple Magic keyboard would be perfect but it’s too uncomfortable to type on.

1 point

·

20th Mar 2019

Check out the Logitech K740

It has had some reported issues if you get one from a bad batch, but it is quiet and is advertised as such, on top of being visible in the dark.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Ultrathin-Laser-etched-Soft-touch/dp/B001F51G16

I halve pasted a link if you want to check out some review on Amazon of it.
It’s also $51

1 point

·

31st Mar 2016

Elaborate? Are you saying you want a rubber dome keyboard?

If you want something that’s not ‘mechanical’ that doesn’t feel like trash, I’m a fan of the Logitech Illuminated keyboard, I got one for work and used to use one at home before I lost it and replaced it with a mechanical one: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-920-000914-Illuminated-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16/

Not rubber dome though, IIRC it uses scissor switches, similar to a laptop keyboard.

1 point

·

12th Nov 2015

My Logitech K740 is finally starting to die after many years of great service. I loved this keyboard and it performed incredibly well before the era of the mechanical keyboard.

Now, I’ve been looking for a mechanical keyboard for quite some time. However, my one big concern is noise. I play in a relatively small apartment and don’t want to disturb others with the loudness of some mechanicals. I’m so excited for this. No messing around with o-rings, fantastic build quality from the looks of it. Can’t wait to pick one of these up.

1 point

·

5th Jan 2015

>I prefer low-profile keys (quieter and have had Laptops in forever)

I went with a Logitech K740 because of this reason and I really like it. It isn’t the best for gaming, but I do just fine with it.

1 point

·

5th Nov 2010

It’s expensive but the Logitech Illuminated Keyboard is a nice one. It’s like a non-gamer version of the G15. Fairly thin keys but not laptop-like. $64 at Amazon

1 point

·

12th Jul 2010

The Logitech Illuminated Keyboard isn’t technically a gaming keyboard, but it’s the nicest keyboard I’ve ever used. I actually type a lot faster on it. It’s also backlit. If the LCD and macros are going to just be a novelty, that’s what I’d spring for.

240 points

·

30th May 2018

That’s a Logitech Illuminated Keyboard. It’s far from being expensive, but it’s not some piece of crap either.

11 points

·

21st Jul 2015

This was on the news this morning, this company is trying to get into the game. Guess we’ll have to see what they can do. Going to be hard to compete as Amazon’s already entrenched and has assets everywhere.

Interesting, you earn Jet cash when you shop at other retailers in their brand listing. I’ll bet slickdeals is all over this. At first glance it looks like you could earn all kinds of free stuff just by doing your regular shopping online.

Edit: Just for kicks I looked at a random logitech keyboard. They posted their price, matching the Amazon price and another -20something. Checked cart and it was 20 bucks off, free shipping, no tax. Will definitely keep an eye on this place.

Edit2: Here’s the link if anyone was curious, https://jet.com/LogitechR-Illuminated-Keyboard-Black/c9e73fa35e604c7aa2d8cf9701fe418f

Edit3: More curiosity led me to search the part number. It’s this, and not that great of a deal. You save a buck from the real Amazon item location. http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-920-000914-Illuminated-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1437493017&sr=1-1&keywords=920-000914&pebp=1437493028601&perid=07QHDGVR4JB3XQXXWSF3

Shenanigans.

1 point

·

8th Aug 2021

There’s the old Logitech K740 illuminated keyboard. The keys have a classic laptop typing feel to them. It’s been around for years, but they still sell.

1 point

·

19th Nov 2020

Need help looking for a keyboard that fits some requirements. I haven’t been able to find one that ticks all of the boxes. I’m USA-based. Right now I have a Logitech K740 from a decade ago https://smile.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Ultrathin-Laser-etched-Soft-touch/dp/B001F51G16 . Newest K740 iteration seems to be down on quality to save money, sad. Seems that’s how a lot of Logitech stuff is now from what I can get from reviews.

Needs:

  • RGB
  • Onboard memory for static RGB rainbow (I’m a messy bitch who wants a static rainbow to type on, but doesn’t want iHUBx 3 running in the background and always updating or not existing on Linux when its real Linux hours)
  • Silent tactile switches (I expect I’ll have to put rubber spacers and the QMX things, if they’re Cherry, to get it quiet enough) [let me know if there’s other things that do what QMX clips do, looks like I’d have to import them from Europe]
  • Wireless with non-bluetooth option (for leet gaming)
  • Wrist-wrest included or a perfect match available

Wants:

  • Easy access volume buttons, if it spins even better
  • Charge with USB-C, or AA’s is cool but doubt that exists anymore
  • Less money is bester

Don’t care:

  • If it’s got a numpad or not

I’ve found the Corsair K70 RGB MK.2 with brown switches https://smile.amazon.com/CORSAIR-K70-Mechanical-Gaming-Keyboard/dp/B07D5S5QKF/ which does everything except be wireless and be truly silent (but can be adjusted). The Razer BlackWidow V3 Pro https://www.razer.com/gaming-keyboards/razer-blackwidow-v3-pro/RZ03-03530200-R3U1 fails the onboard memory (rip on linux) and the silence (it has a clicky tactile only, unfixable). I’ve looked at the Keychron K1/K8 but the RGB functionality looks weakly lit and doesn’t seem to include static rainbow in its preset RGB parties, along with only bluetooth wireless connectivity and semi-accessible media buttons – too many missing boxes, but the keyboards do look nice and simple.

Didn’t know the company existed till a bit ago, let me know if there’s others out there. I’ve looked over Logitech/Corsair/Razer/Cooler Master and they weren’t quite there (or in Logitech’s case, every keyboard has an Achilles’ heel of keys breaking or RGB lights going out or the spacebar sucking) – but maybe I missed something or there’s a smaller player like Keychron that has it just right. Pls help

1 point

·

1st Apr 2019

DiNovo Edge is of course long gone, it was 250USD at launch (probably the most expensive Logitech keyboard ever), and was a niche product that had very little volume.

K740 on the other hand, should be relatively trivial to find. It’s still listed both on Logitech US and Logitech SA, and is available from Amazon and eBay. Though finding one that ships abroad might be a chore, I’d suggest you look into local options.

1 point

·

28th Jul 2019

Price History


These savings aren’t just Black and White.
^(Info) ^| [^(Developer)](/user/The_White_Light) ^| [^(Inquiries)](/message/compose?to=The_White_Light&subject=PriceKnight+Inquiry) ^| ^(Support Me!) ^|

1 point

·

25th Jan 2018

http://www.wasdkeyboards.com/index.php/products/code-keyboard/code-104-key-mechanical-keyboard-2568.html

Minimilast black keyboard with brown switches and ABS keycaps, a little on the pricey side.

https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=3165

Almost exactly the same with out the backlight, but it has PBT keycaps. This one is closer to your budget.

Edit: https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Ultrathin-Laser-etched-Soft-touch/dp/B001F51G16
I have one of these and the typing experience is good, only good if you like scissor switches.

1 point

·

13th Feb 2017

Logitech Illuminated keyboard. I have one (not my daily driver though) its not bad at all.

https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Thin-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16

1 point

·

17th Nov 2016

The Logitech K720 seems to have good reviews and is backlit. Though, I did read one review (the top one) saying the F keys aren’t blacklit.

1 point

·

1st Jun 2016

Like this? https://www.amazon.com/Logitech-920-000914-Illuminated-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16

Google? https://www.google.com/search?q=slim+backlit+keyboard

Side note: how are the lights on the Shine 5? I have a Shine 3 White and I am extremely disappointed with how many dead leds I have.

1 point

·

28th Apr 2016

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-920-000914-Illuminated-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16
It has laptop style scissor-switches but longer travel.

1 point

·

23rd Mar 2016
1 point

·

4th Oct 2015

I have a Logitech, and it has the long delete key. Mine is the UK version but it seems the US version is the same.
Highly recommended.

1 point

·

13th May 2015

well i would say this:

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-920-000914-Illuminated-Keyboard-K740/dp/B001F51G16

but, you can get a wired Apple keyboard for $50, so if thats too expensive, so is that.

then i would try this:

http://www.amazon.com/AmazonBasics-KU-0833-Wired-Keyboard/dp/B005EOWBHC/

but, a quiet cheap keyboard…would probably be pretty mushy.

1 point

·

8th Feb 2015

The EVGA SuperNovas are some of the nicest PSUs you can get, and they’re relatively reasonably priced as well, considering their high quality.

Personally, I love having tons of screen real estate, so both of my computers run 4k screens. Naturally, they’re still very expensive, so 1440p ends up being a good alternative for most folks. I’ve heard good things about the AOC.

Mouse and keyboard are tough to recommend, because they’re very much a personal preference thing. I prefer the low profile scissor style keys (I have a Logitech Illuminated Keyboard K740 and a Performance MX mouse that travels with me to and from work, mostly because I have a glass desk and don’t want to deal with a mousepad.

1 point

·

21st Jun 2011
1 point

·

5th Jan 2011

Sort of off topic but I just picked up this keyboard: http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Ultrathin-Keyboard-Backlighting/dp/B001F51G16 Awesome

1 point

·

13th Jan 2011

http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Illuminated-Ultrathin-Keyboard-Backlighting/dp/B001F51G16/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1294904266&sr=8-1

Not sure about the font, but I enjoy that it’s a little bit different than what I see on a day-to-day basis.

1 point

·

29th Nov 2011

Logitech Illuminated Ultrathin Keyboard: This is the one I’m currently using and my favorite out of the many I’ve used over the many computers I’ve been in.

1 point

·

22nd Dec 2010

This sexy backlit Logitech keyboard has software to disable the function.

0 points

·

2nd May 2014

Its not fully Illuminated, only the F keys and the alt keys are. This is fully illuminated.

0 points

·

16th Feb 2014

I like the Logitech Ultrathin Illuminated personally.

0 points

·

29th Aug 2010

I think your caps lock key is stuck – Need a new keyboard?