What is the opinion of Reddit about the
LANCOSC LED Magnifying Lamp with Clamp, 1,500 Lumens Stepless Dimmable, 3 Color Modes, 5-Diopter 4.3″ Real Glass Lens, Adjustable Swivel Arm Lighted Magnifier Light for Reading Craft Close Work-2.25X?

A total of 15 reviews of this product on Reddit.

3 points

·

14th May 2021

I have one of these LED magnifiers. It lets me change between a nice daylight-ish and a warmer shade for the evening. I wouldn’t use it for picking very specific colors, as the CRI is unlisted and probably not-great, but it gives off plenty of shadow-free light.

3 points

·

18th Dec 2020

I used something like this at an engineering internship for literally everything small. I have 20/20 vision, but fuck this helped clearly see everything. I only used it to see a resistor once (we didn’t even deal with electronics, it was more personal) but damn it helped

1 point

·

1st Nov 2021

Getting good, precise paint is about half technique and half tools. For me being a bit older, I find great benefit in having a magnifying lens on a swingarm, even though my normal vision is still pretty good. This was the first thing that looks pretty similar to what I use.

Getting my hands comfortable and not in a stress position is mostly my problem, but when I get in the zone, it all goes out the window until after the fact. 😉 That said, the ultra-fine detail brushes that also have a good grip are worth the extra money for me. Finding some that feel good in the hand and you can customize the tips if you need to with a razor knife or whatever you have that can make a clean cut without hurting yourself goes a long way to the end result.

If you can’t get it with paint and the eye has enough clean space, I’ve also tried printing eye details on my printer directly onto decal paper. You really have to have a good dpi for this to work though, like 600-1200 for your printer. I got my start in digital as a texture artist so I have tools to do this, but if you don’t, finding high quality source material may be a hiccup.

I’ve not tried the micro pen pengu mentioned but that sounds like a solid idea.

5 points

·

15th Jan 2021

I once did a very small project 1 over 1 on 28ct linen and did manage to bury the thread under the existing stitches to finish off.

I also cursed a lot and told myself never again… and my finished piece was only about 1.25″ square for a necklace! Since then, I have discovered magnifying lamps which would really help you on a project such as this. Maybe your husband will be super awesome and buy you one so you can stitch his gift with enjoyment? Ha Ha!

Here’s the one I’m using and I’m really happy with it:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Best of luck!

3 points

·

14th May 2021

Off topic, but she might benefit from a magnifier lamp if she wants to keep stitching smaller stuff.

2 points

·

1st Dec 2020

does it absolutely need to clip your Qsnap? i recently got one with a longer arm that I clamp onto a tv tray next to me where i keep my supplies and i love it!

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

2 points

·

12th Jul 2020

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07YZQDVKK/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_i_NwXcFbB5C6QQX

The actual construction is poor, feels super cheap. It does the job and does it well though, has made making custom cables and soldering projects so much easier.

1 point

·

13th Jan 2022

Looks solid, I would call these easily board ready! Don’t worry about all the “Painted my first Legion Mini!” people on here, 95% of them have been painting for years.

​

some suggestions – get a mounted magnifying glass and a light, they are incredibly helpful – this style: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1 is awesome. it really helps you see exactly what you are doing

​

second: use a handle for your minis! Some people use blue tac and pill bottles, I love these – https://www.amazon.com/Citadel-Outils-Poignee-peintre-mk2/dp/B08MC88KWZ and if you have a 3d printer you can just print your own and out

​

third: make sure you are using an arm rest of some sort. if you are attempting to hold the mini in one hand, and the brush in the other, and not leaning on / resting on anything, you are going to greatly increase the issue. Make sure you have an ergonomic setup where your arms / elbows are fully supported so you only have to do minimal movements and not try to stabilize your whole arm.

​

lastly – Primer is where its at for Storm Troopers! I’m a huge fan of Rustoleum Primer (I haven’t had great luck with paint+primer) – specifically I love this stuff: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002BWORRW/?th=1 for storm troopers. it covers great, when you spray them from about 24″ away (may need 2 coats) but then you only have to hit the under coat… alternate option is go black then paint on the white… but its more painting.

​

​

also – don’t be afraid to use a bit of wash to make them look a little dirty, and you can also come back in with a super tiny amount of white paint and clean up around the visors if you want… but honestly, I wouldn’t. they look fine

1 point

·

6th Nov 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
LANCOSC LED Magnifying Lamp with Clamp, 1,500 Lum…$45.99$45.994.5/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

5th Nov 2021

I have this one from amazon:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&psc=1

It clamps easily to the tv tray I place next to me when I stitch and the arms are long enough I can position it above me or between me and my project comfortably when I need magnification (super helpful when stitch on dark, high count linens!). Bonus, it has adjustable settings for brightness and color temperature too. I often stitch on 40 count fabric and this lamp makes it so easy for me… I love it!

1 point

·

8th Jan 2021

Make sure the magnifying lamp has a long enough arm; the first one I bought was a cheaper model that was nice but the arm only extended so far and wasn’t ideal. Here’s the link to the one I got on amazon that’s much better:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

2nd Jan 2021

I have found that I absolutely can’t use magnifiers with fresnel lenses, which is what most of the big magnifiers are. They make everything look like a blurry mess. It might have something to do with my nystagmus. So I either have to find an alternate way to look at things, or deal with shadows.

This has been the best magnifying lamp I’ve ever used (and I’ve tried many of this type over the years). The magnification is good, with little distortion and shadows, and the ring light around it is bright and even. It’s not as big as some magnifiers of this type, but that just makes it easy to move around.

If you want to read books, nothing has ever worked better for me than the Kindle Paperwhite. You can adjust the font size and the front light on the eInk display provides really good contrast (which you can also control). It also doesn’t cause the eye strain that looking at an LCD screen can.

As for miscellaneous magnification needs, if I’m just looking at something small/quick, I take a picture with my phone and zoom in or use the weZoom magnifier app.

Otherwise, I have this lighted pocket magnifier that I like.

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2020

I sit on one end of the couch and use a wooden tv tray next to me to a) hold my supplies (thread for current WIP, snips, ect…) and b) clamp on an adjustable magnifying lamp so I can see well and comfortably. If I don’t need the magnification I position the light just over my shoulder and if I do, like when working on 32ct linen, I position it between me and my work.

I can’t recommend the lamp I got enough, here’s the link:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

1 point

·

30th Nov 2020

I’ll second the vote for nice needles! Tulip, Bohin and John James are all excellent brands, sizes 24, 26 and 28 are most commonly used depending on the fabric and number of threads used and I know at least one of them sells a package with various sizes.

Also, if your lady needs more light a magnifying light is really wonderful! I just bought one from amazon and now I can’t live without it. It has a long adjustable arm, adjustable brightness, 3 light tones and easily clamps onto the tv tray I keep my supplies on while I stitch on the couch. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07YZQDVKK/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

A gift certificate for etsy she can use to buy any patterns or supplies her heart desires!

The DMC collector’s tin of the newest colors (#1-35) that was released a few years ago would also make a great gift, it’s really lovely set of colors. Michaels has it for $29.99 and you can use a 40% coupon to get it for way less.