What is the opinion of Reddit about the
La Roche-Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Face Cleanser, Daily Facial Cleanser with Niacinamide and Ceramides for Sensitive Skin, Moisturizing Face Wash for Normal to Dry Skin, Fragrance Free?

A total of 21 reviews of this product on Reddit.

12 points

·

27th Nov 2019

Yes! I use the Toleriane one for normal to dry skin. Honestly, I’d classify it for all skin types; since I do use it and I have oily to combination skin. I’m guessing it’s because it’s oil-free, too. It helps me a lot during the midwest winters when it’s really dry and cold out. Here’s a link to the Amazon page.

3 points

·

14th Nov 2017

“LA Roche-Posay Hydrating Gentle Cleanser for normal to dry skin” it’s a 13.52 Oz. This is the one to get if your face feels “tight” after washing prior to putting lotion. Otherwise they have cleanser for oily skin.

I got mine at Target, but it’s also on Amazon

2 points

·

19th Apr 2019

That cleanser is only sold by Amazon, no third parties.

https://www.amazon.com/Roche-Posay-Toleriane-Hydrating-Gentle-Cleanser/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=sr_1_fkmrnull_3?

So there is no opportunity to buy from a third party or commingle.

Did you contact la roche to confirm it was fake?

If so, what did they say?

1 point

·

22nd Sep 2021

If it’s not out of your budget, try this one

1 point

·

22nd Feb 2021

I think La Roche-Posay has a milk cleanser and its around 17 AUD. But if the Avene works best for your skin, that’s up to you.

Ps. Your skin is beautiful and I can’t wait to see your Before-After pic 🙂 Goodluck!

La Roche-Posay cleanser

9 points

·

30th Apr 2019

27, no acne, severe dryness, sun damage, aging skin. Here’s some photos! I’m sorry about my eyebrows, don’t judge me, I’m growing them out.

Big questions: I’ve tried a few moisturizers but never liked them as much as just replacing with actives. Do I NEED to? What would you recommend? Tried the CeraVe Night Cream, which was really great but I had minor break outs, CeraVe cream (in the tub) which is way too thick, the CeraVe Daily Moisturizing Lotion which was…. fine but didn’t wow me at all, and the Laniege Water Whatever, which my husband had a severe reaction to so I had to return so I could touch his face with my face.

I feel like I’m not super happy with the exfoliating portion here. I used to feel like the Glycolic Acid was so great but I’m just underwhelmed, same with the lactic acid, and the AHA is probably just way more than I need for my complexion. Any opinions on the La Roche Posay Toner that’s part of the Toleraine set?

In order of appearance:
Product: La Roche-Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Cleanser (This is literally the only thing I won’t remove or replace, it is my personal HG)
Frequency: Used every evening, most mornings for Hydration/Cleansing
Buy from the La Roche-Posay Website, Amazon
Review: I flippin’ love it. It’s my favorite cleanser by far. Never any irritation at all, but no dryness either. No tightness. No obvious odor.

Product: The Ordinary AHA 30% + BHA 2% Peeling Solution
Frequency: 1 time a month, at most, as an exfoliant
Buy from the Deciem Website (I’m not going to bother linking Amazon for TO products, they’re not competitive in terms of pricing)
Review: Everyone loves it, for my needs it’s overkill but it’s worth noting that a sparse use doesn’t dry me out any worse or cause any tightening, which is impressive! Sometimes I use it because I worry I don’t exfoliate enough?

Product: The Ordinary Glycolic Acid 7% Toning Solution
Frequency: 1-2 times a week, exfoliation
Buy from the Deciem Website
Review: Low odor, minimal sting, no dryness. I used to feel like it was HG status but I don’t love the slight tackiness?

Product: The Ordinary Lactic Acid 10% + HA
Frequency: 1-2 times a month, exfoliation
Buy from the Deciem Website
Review: I’m a big fan of this product with sparing use, but it does sting a bit and I wouldn’t use it more than this.

Product: The Ordinary Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5
Frequency: 1-3 times daily, after ever wash, for hydration
Buy from the Deciem Website
Review: everyone’s obsessed with HA, and for good reason. I love to put on just the plain HA on a damp face, it feels like my face is drinking water.

Product: The Ordinary 100% Plant-Derived Squalane Oil
Frequency: 1-3 times daily, after ever wash, with the HA+B, for hydration
Buy from the Deciem Website
Review: This is my HG oil. I used to layer and try out so many, Marula, Argan, Rose Hip Seed, Sunflowed, Yadda Yadda, the Squalane performs better and looks better than anything else. If you don’t have SOME brands Squalane already then a) you must be newer here than me even and b) you need to get it

Product: The Ordinary 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil
Frequency: 4-7 times weekly, as needed for extra overnight moisture
Buy from the Deciem Website
Review: it works and makes me feel less blocked up than other heavier oils (I had TO Marula and Argan that I ended up using on my hair instead), I don’t love the smell though, and it doesn’t sit on the skin well. It’s a night time only.

Product: Nuetrogena Ultra Sheer Dry-Touch Sunscreen 100+ SPF with Helioplex
Frequency: anytime I go outside, I live in Florida
Buy from the Nuetrogena Website, Amazon
Review: It doesn’t feel quite as good as it could, but the sun is INTENSE here and as you can tell from my freckles, I can’t be messing around with that.

2 points

·

30th Jun 2018

Complete beginner here, 18/m/Italy, normal to oily skin (I think).

I want to buy a cleanser, a moisturizer and a sunscreen to get started.

This is what I found so far:

CLEANSER

1)https://amazon.it/gp/product/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?smid=A7RPS653NN4UB&psc=1

MOISTURIZER

1)https://www.amazon.it/Gel-pulizia-viso-della-Sebamed/dp/B003NTJJR0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1530338786&sr=8-1&keywords=Sebamed+Clear+Face+Care+Gel

2)https://www.amazon.it/Clinique-Dramatically-Different-Moisturising-Cream/dp/B00TLD7MRG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1530338766&sr=8-2&keywords=Clinique+Dramatically+Different+Moisturizing+Gel

3)https://www.amazon.it/Cetaphil-Crema-idratante-usare-quotidianamente/dp/B0000538B0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1530338907&sr=8-1&keywords=cetaphil+moisturizer

4)https://www.amazon.it/Neutrogena-Sensitive-oil-free-Facial-Moisturizer/dp/B000052YOX/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1530338987&sr=8-1&keywords=neutrogena+moisturizer

SUNSCREEN

1)https://amazon.it/Anthelios-fluide-TT-AP50-F50ML/dp/B0185ZU5JC/ref=sr_1_4?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1530337582&sr=1-4&keywords=anthelios

2)https://amazon.it/Roche-Posay-Anthelios-spray-fresco-invisibile/dp/B01N7H0PYQ/ref=sr_1_9?s=hpc&ie=UTF8&qid=1530337582&sr=1-9&keywords=anthelios

3)https://www.amazon.it/CeraVe-SPF-Sunscreen-Stick-15ml/dp/B00CICLTAI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1530338191&sr=8-1&keywords=cerave+spf+50

I seriously need advice on what to buy and where to buy it from (I’ve only looked amazon up for now).

Preferably, I’d like to buy not too expensive products but quality is a priority.

1 point

·

15th Apr 2022
1 point

·

13th Jan 2022

Hey there 🙂 I am not, but I am using this cleanser with great results. https://www.amazon.com/Roche-Posay-Toleriane-Hydrating-Gentle-Cleanser/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

​

Before buying this, I was NEVER a cream/lotion cleanser gal, but this hasn’t broken me out and is considerably less stripping than foaming cleansers I’ve used in the past (including the Vanicream one).

1 point

·

2nd Dec 2021

I’m older as well, in my late 30’s- and I cannot stress enough that hydrating serums (like hyaluronic acid) make a HUGE difference. I use pure aloe too (over my serums and under my face cream) to help retain moisture- aloe helped me heal my skin barrier. I second the LRP cream cleanser because it’s super hydrating and has never left my skin feeling stripped or irritated. I also use the big tub of CeraVe cream, it’s the best face cream I’ve found. I also seal everything in at the end with a facial oil. The key to using multiple hydrating products is to give each layer 30-60 seconds to absorb before applying the next layer. During the day I skip the facial oil and apply SPF as my last step. I use a Japanese Nivea brand sunscreen that’s literally the holy grail of sunscreens- absorbs quickly, not greasy at ALL, and doesn’t leave a white cast on the skin.

Product links:

La Roche-Posay Toleriane Hydrating Gentle Facial Cleanser, Daily Face Wash with Ceramide and Niacinamide for Normal to Dry Sensitive Skin, Oil-Free, Fragrance Free

Asterwood Naturals Pure Hyaluronic Acid Serum for Face; Plumping, Anti-Aging, Hydrating Facial Moisturizer Product – A Hero Ingredient; Fragrance Free, Paraben Free, 237ml/8 oz

Lily of the Desert – Aloe Vera Gelly – 12 OZ (Pack of 2)

CeraVe Moisturizing Cream | Body and Face Moisturizer for Dry Skin | Body Cream with Hyaluronic Acid and Ceramides | Normal | Fragrance Free | 19 Oz

SheaMoisture Overnight Face Oil for All Skin Types 100% Virgin Coconut Oil for Daily Hydration 1 oz

Nivea Super Sun Protect Water Gel SPF 50/PA+++ (Face & Body)Pump Type 140 g x 2 Sets (Japan Import)

1 point

·

20th Nov 2021

It’s hard because different products work differently for different people. Despite see ing “natural”, oils can actually be super irritating to some people. I would strongly recommend using a very gentle cleanser such as this Toleraine cleanser (https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=cm_sw_r_apan_glt_fabc_933JWG7VME3ACBC742EZ) and then a simple non irritating moisturizer such as Soon Jung Barrier Intensive Cream which is what I use (https://sokoglam.com/products/etude-house-soonjung-2x-barrier-intensive-cream?variant=43554871369&gclid=CjwKCAiAs92MBhAXEiwAXTi259kl074Cu83_YninXNj8BIojyDirLBCcJotRIdBEaRqi-JYOMUspMBoC8XQQAvD_BwE) or another simple moisturizer with ceramides (https://www.sephora.com/product/ceramidin-tm-cream-P434363) and NOT using any other products or actives (especially no acids like AHA, BHA, or manual exfoliation). Really though, time is your best friend!

1 point

·

6th Aug 2021

Damn. What does it say about my skin that I started using differin and my skin didn’t even flinch? Many many years of actives I guess. 🥺

Definitely sounds like barrier damage. I’d stick with a basic, hydrating cleanser like cerave, vanicream, or LRP Toleriane. The latter is my choice if I have any kind of irritation. A basic, soothing, and super moisturizing moisturizer. And of course giving the differin a rest.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_EWXSCEBVQJTDDBXTHGWB

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B004JKNYL4/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_ZZ6KA131ZVYJKNNHCMS8

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0060OUV5Y/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_i_3R5HY9XBSZ6GNBTESXAH

The above are my choices for angry skin, BUT a cerave cleanser in a small bottle may be a little less spendy. A lot of folks love their moisturizer too. You’ll just need something balm-like to seal the moisture in. At least I did. Vaseline Or Aquaphor would work. Pure aloe if you have any is a good option. In any case, I hope you get it under control soon, and can slowly reintroduce your actives.

1 point

·

19th Apr 2019

That cleanser is only sold by amazon. No third party options are available. What due diligence was op supposed to do?

https://www.amazon.com/Roche-Posay-Toleriane-Hydrating-Gentle-Cleanser/dp/B01N7T7JKJ/ref=sr_1_fkmrnull_3?

1 point

·

19th Aug 2020

Hey! Just wanted to let you know that Automod has removed your comment because it contains an Amazon referral link, which we don’t allow in the sub.

Could you please edit the URL for the La Roche Posay cleansers so that everything from (and including) “tag=” is removed? That way, the product page will still be visible – but no one can make a profit from the link. Here’s the tag free link for an easy copy & paste: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N7T7JKJ/

If you’ve done that, please reply to this message so I can approve your comment (ps this is such a well thought out and informative comment!!) 😀

edit: oh also this comment sorry!

1 point

·

28th Sep 2019

I’ve tried it all: minocycline, doxycycline, aczone, onexton, epiduo forte, radio-frequency microneedling, etc.

Switching your bedsheets + pillowcases regularly is a good tip, however I don’t recommend washing your face with only warm water. That’s a bad idea. Wash your face with a nice, gentle cleanser instead (I like LRP’s Gentle Cleanser ). At nights, you can just moisturize your face. This one by Neutrogena was recommended to me by my derma and is the one that I’ve had the best experience with. In the mornings, finish off that small routine by applying a sunscreen (here’s my favorite physical sunscreen, tinted too which helps with the look of my acne scars ). No need to do this at night.

If you have a decent skincare routine and eat low glycemic index foods (somewhat healthy diet) and still have acne, it’s likely due to genetic proclivity for acne. Personally, my acne issues stemmed from my hormones along w genetic proclivity.

Accutane is the best and only real fix for acne. Hit a cumulative dose of 140+ mg/kg and you’ll be good to go.

Generally, some sort of anti-inflammatory can help too. Try Turmeric w Bioperine (that has been lead tested). If you need more, talk to your derma about Prednisone in conjunction w Accutane.

1 point

·

7th Oct 2018

(PART 1) I couldn’t fix my painful dehydrated skin until i incorporated urea and lanolin, and regular use of petrolatum into my skin care. But idk how you feel about those… It took me a good year or year and a half to fix my dehydrated skin from overexfoliation.

Also, putting on occlusives right away after you wash and put on humectants is super important. Otherwise it can dry you out more.

So what I do is use a very gentle, non-foaming cleanser (I use LRP Gentle Hydrating) and while my face is still wet, put on all my hydrating toners and serums. Then go into lotions and creams RIGHT AWAY. You can watch Dr. Dray on YouTube who describes why this works.

When my skin was SO full of pain, from extremely dry, tight skin and irritated acne-like cysts everywhere, the only thing that didn’t hurt like a mf was Vanicream. It took me hundreds of dollars and tons of trial and error and babying my skin to get it back to normal. Now I can use AHA, azelaic acid, vitamin c, and even tretinoin and hydroquinone without a problem!!!

It took me hundreds of dollars and tons of trial and error and babying my skin to get it back to normal. Now I can use AHA, vitamin c, and even tretinoin and hydroquinone without a problem!!! 

No one or two products fixed my dehydrated skin. It took a TON of research over the years learning which ingredients were the most healing, moisturizing, how they work, etc.. And an entire routine around hydrating and moisturizing as much as possible. 

And i know everyone raves about the cosrx snail essence, but it didn’t do shit when my skin was that dehydrated. But there IS some evidence of snail healing damaged skin. The point is to put in as much healing and soothing ingredients into your routine as much as possible. 

I always make sure to include ingredients like: panthenol (derivative of vitamin b5), allantoin, urea, hualuronic acid, glycerin, aloe, colloidal oatmeal, ceramides (huge!!!), niacinamide (especially useful for brightening and healing your skin), petroleum (there is NOTHING out there that reduces transepidermal water loss like petroleum can. I tried to be all ~natural is better~ for a while, but realized it wasn’t doing anything to help fix my skin), etc.

And not just adding these helped fix my skin, but leaving things out was a HUGE step in finally letting my skin heal. I avoid these like the plague: fragrance, natural (essential oils) or synthetic, alcohol anywhere other than sunscreen, sodium lauryl sulfate (sodium LAURETH sulfate is the gentler one, but I avoid that for my face too anyways. Any surfectants can be aided to be milder by adding cocamidopropyl betaine), all acids until my skin could handle them (interestingly enough, vitamin c serum actually helped my skin hold more water instead of hurting me), and things that I know irritate my skin.

Things that were/are biggest contributors of keeping my skin moist and hydrated, in no particular order:

Thayers Unscented Alcohol-Free Witch Hazel – the first thing that goes on my skin after washing. It’s just water, aloe, glycerin and witch hazel. It’s so simple but idk why my skin likes it so much, lol. It’s HG for me.

Hadalabo Premium Lotion – HG, must have. ALWAYS put occlusives on top, do not wait for it to dry. Hyaluronic acids, urea, algae. This is my one non-negotiable skin care item.

Aveeno Eczema Therapy Cream – Super moisturizing. Colloidal oatmeal, glycerin, panthenol, petrolatum, a ceramide, dimethicone. (Also, people demonize silicones, but they are not bad ingredients. They are actually really helpful in keeping in moisture, providing slip, and smooth feel for skin and hair. And no, they don’t prevent other things from reaching the skin.) And Aveeno Eczema Therapy Night Time Balm for something heavier but has same ingredients. You can use both.

And of course, CeraVe Moisturizing Cream – ceramides, cholesterol, must have skin-identical lipids that dehydrated skin lacks, hyaluronic acid, petrolatum, dimethicone. This by itself didn’t help a whole lot, but with an army of all the different gentle, soothing things, it helped tremendously.

CeraVe PM– same as the cream, but much lighter and has 4% niacinamide I believe. Niacinamide has been key to helping my dry-ass skin. It does SO many things. I DIY 6% niacinamide and 5% n-acetyl glucosamine to boost the niacinamide even further. But you can find this ingredient in loads of AB things and Olay products. Make sure the Olay stuff is fragrance-free if you get them. I like the Olay Anti-Aging Face Cream a lot. You can use the CeraVe lotion if you for some reason can’t tolerate niacinamide, but want something lighter than the cream.

Aquaphor Healing Ointment – SLUG LIFE is a MUST if you have dehydrated skin. You can use Cerave healing ointment too, but it’s redundant if you use the cream or lotion. It’s not as occlusive as aquaphor. Aquaphor isn’t just a more pricier Vaseline as people suggest. It does have white petrolatum that is oh-so helpful, it also has healing ingredients like panthenol and bisobolol, and also lanolin alcohol and glycerin for humectants. I put on a THICK layer of this when I go to bed.

If you wanna go a step further and go super saiyan, and you aren’t sensitive to lanolin, you can use Lasinoh Lanolin before or after Aquaphor. I can’t stand the smell of lanolin, but this one is medical-grade and doesn’t have a smell. Lanolin is SUPER helpful because of it’s crazy humectant properties but it also acts as an occlusive.

For just uber Panthenol healing, you can get something that stars Panthenol as the main star ingredient, like DML Forte Cream or Timeless Skin Care Vitamin B5 Serum. I don’t use the cream anymore, but I do still use the serum. It looks expensive, but if you get the refill sale, it’s about $7/oz (idk what country you live in, but this is the price for me in the U.S.). I HIGHLY recommend their vitamin c, e, ferulic acid serum as well when your skin can handle it. It works out to about $8 an ounce if you get it during refill sale. It stays good for a while in the fridge. I wrap it in foil and transfer it to a 1 oz dropper bottle for using it in my bathroom. It gives glow to your skin like NOTHING ELSE, and boosts your sunscreen (the antioxidants slow the degradation of sunscreen ingredients, giving a huge boost to your sunscreen) and has helped me with water retention. If you can’t get it on refill sale, use the HotandFlashy (I also recommend her Youtube channel) code hf5off to get $5 off. It’s a forever coupon code.

1 point

·

25th Apr 2018

If you like the creamy cleanser feel, you could try La Roche-Posay Toleriane Face Wash Cleanser. I think rinses cleaner.

1 point

·

1st Aug 2017

Not sure if its in different packaging outside the US, but its in a pump. Amazon Listing

-1 points

·

22nd Oct 2020

My skin isn’t fine, It feels really dry, I used the… idk why this is so funny to me, I used the subs logo’s moisturizer😂, Its a bit heavy but good overall.

I use the la roshe possay cleanser, The one for dry skin.

I use a Hyaluronic acid water, And sometimes i will go in with micellar water from cerave, Whenever i sweat a lot or smthin.

I tried using a chemical exfoliant from cerave but my skin broke out like crazy

I am quite new to skincare, I got directed to hyram, dr dray, And Lia Yoo

The problem i have is: How do i get rid of pimples on my face? Especially ones that have been there for a while, And how do i lessen wrinkles? I am 19 its been 19 years without anything touching my face lol

I should be checking in with a dermatologist right? Instead of asking online

+I am a bit confused about my skin type… which is a crucial problem i know, But i might see a derm next Thursday