What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Koss QZ-99 Noise Reduction Stereophone, Standard Packaging?

A total of 12 reviews of this product on Reddit.

1 point

·

4th Nov 2021

If you like passive noise canceling headphonesthese are my all time favorite headphones. The mono/stereo switch and the volume knob are great for fidgeting. The do play music so they might not be for you. I absolutely adore these headphones and have had my pair for a couple of years. They have held up really well for me, and I tend to be rough with electronics. I can’t recommend them enough, especially for the price compared to other headphones. You can also look into headphones made for the shooting range, or car racing, or any other loud activity. I hope this helps!

1 point

·

30th Sep 2021

For the scanner, I would go with a Uniden Bearcat. Yes, as others have states, you will have to manually program each driver’s frequency into the scanner if you want to listen to spotter audio but you get higher range and more channels available, making it more useful outside of racing. Plus if all you want to listen to is MRN you just got to set it to the MRN frequency and you’re good to go.

For headset, I currently have two RE-48’s from Racing Electronics. However, I’ve had two that have broken on me and had to be mailed to them to be replaced. Others seem to have good experience with Racing Electronics headphones, but anecdotally I would recommend a different brand. Maybe these?

1 point

·

29th Mar 2021

If you have a smaller budget but you have some money, https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000051SD1 or similar is a good option. Combine this with brown noise at a low-ish level and a pair like these got me through some loud spaces when working.

Look for muff headphones for alternatives that might work for you.

1 point

·

6th Oct 2020

I’ve had really really good luck with these headphones:

Koss QZ-99 Noise Reduction Stereophone, Standard Packaging https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000051SD1/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_fab_FK9EFbHPBWSXQ

I’ve tried all the big name isolating headphones and have found that these are the best mix of being substantial, good enough audio quality, and nice features at a good price. The volume knob on the ear is really convenient.

Honestly, just recording yourself playing is more useful than hearing yourself in your ears. With some headphones like those above, you’ll be able to hear yourself and the click/music just fine.

1 point

·

14th Feb 2019

Try Koss QZ-99 headphones. They’re actual headphones, but with passive noise reduction. The specs said ~102db reduction and are designed for use on nascar tracks to hear radio broadcasts despite the loud noise.

That said, they are not ANSI rated.

1 point

·

30th Apr 2016

I use these Koss QZ-99 and they isolate noise really well and sound a lot better than the Vic Firths. I use them for my acoustic drums as well and they’re perfect for playing music with regular drums or electronic drums. With the Vic Firth’s, I had to use a volume booster to hear the music over my playing on an acoustic set while I actually have to turn down my music on the Koss set to hear my playing.

1 point

·

1st Oct 2015

> I use these
> http://www.amazon.com/Koss-QZ-99-Noise-Reduction-Stereophone/dp/B000051SD1[1]

I’m going to have to second these headphones, I used these at Michigan this year on the front stretch row 5 and had no issues hearing my scanner, my only complaint about them is that the cord is extremely long.

5 points

·

10th Sep 2020

Sorry, Cheap and Quality don’t go in the same sentence when you’re talking about race radios.

Cheap – Get a handheld FM radio off Amazon and earbuds if you don’t already have, and hearing protection from Harbor Freight to wear over the earbuds.

Quality – https://racingelectronics.com/collections/headphones-accessories/products/headphone-platinum-behind-head-stereo-re-58-stereo and a scanner from the same company or scanner from Amazon. (Though the RE scanners can program themselves at the track)

Edit: I have heard of people using these at races, even some reviews, but I have no first hand experience. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000051SD1/ref=cm_sw_em_r_mt_dp_EcMwFbMHWJR8E

3 points

·

19th Jul 2020
1 point

·

6th Feb 2019
1 point

·

10th Jan 2017

Bought these for the races this year, worked perfectly. We only had to keep the scanner volume 1/3-1/2 way up.

Koss QZ-99 Noise Reduction Stereophone https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000051SD1/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_.keDyb0J57M5R

Bought this scanner with a 2.5 to 3.5 mm adapter and the set worked perfectly for my wife and me.

Two Way Radio,Baofeng Walkie Talkie UV-5R5 5W Dual-Band Two-Way Ham Radio Transceiver UHF/VHF 136-174/400-520MHz,65-108MHz FM with Upgraded Earpiece,Built-in VOX Function,Battery,Charger – Red https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00YMN42ZU/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_gpeDyb0A89WH8

Total set up cost only a couple bucks more than renting one for the race. Now we have them for any other race!

1 point

·

19th Jul 2012