What is the opinion of Reddit about the
Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair)?

A total of 33 reviews of this product on Reddit.

2 points

·

25th Aug 2017

Shows

Inquisition/Volahn/Uada

Marduk/Incantation

Other

Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair)

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A7J534G/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_apa_oyXMzb4ET68FT

Bought it used and it didn’t come with the speaker wire. Amazon gave me a $75 partial refund which is great bc I’m sure I can easily find cheap wire. The right speaker sounds great at least

1 point

·

15th Apr 2021

They’re actually pretty cheap because they’re discontinued (to be replaced by a not much better model). They’re the Klipsch R-15PM, and you can find them for $250 nowadays. https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G The sub is a Klipsch R-12SW, which is around $200. It’s good for the price, but it doesn’t go suuper deep.

1 point

·

10th May 2019

Get some bookshelf speakers and a receiver or pick up some powered speakers and use those. Sound bars are garbage. I use the Klipsch R-15PM and love them, there are many cheaper options out there as well.

1 point

·

18th Aug 2018

As I said above, bare minimum recommendation would be a $50 phono preamp and $100 Edifiers. I’d recommend jumping up to some Klipsch R-15PM’s instead. Better speakers and they have a built-in phono preamp. For ~$350 you get RCA inputs, AUX in, Optical in, USB in, Bluetooth, a subwoofer out, and a remote all in one package. Literally just need a turntable and R15PMs for a complete setup. I even have a Chromecast Audio connected via the optical input and I can cast music from my smartphone as well. It’s a damn fine all-in-one speaker setup.

1 point

·

27th Dec 2017

Hi audiophiles! I got a turn table for Xmas and wanted to get speakers to do it justice. I picked up a pair of the Klipsch R-15PM’s. I just finished setting everything up and I am a little disappointed in the high end. I played a pretty old copy of Freebird and a brand new EP from Brothers Comatose (new bluegrass). Both of them sounded very clear, but just seemed sort of flat, and I think its because the highs just weren’t coming through.

Are these speakers not great, or are my ears just spoiled from listening to music with the loudness blown out of proportion?

1 point

·

11th Aug 2017

I’ll give it a shot. The turntable is your audio source. The way it works is that a stylus (needle) runs along the groove of a record, and the vibrations of that needle are converted into an electrical signal that outputs from the turntable. That electrical signal is very weak, and is also—due to the nature of how vinyl recordings are mastered—compressed in a way that makes the low end of the signal (bass) weaker than the higher end (treble). Because of that, a phono preamplifier is required, to boost and equalize the electrical signal to what is called line level; this allows the signal to now be further amplified to a listenable level, without introducing too much additional electrical noise. Now that line-level signal has to continue on to an amplifier, which—as the name implies—further amplifies that signal, and sends it on to the speakers, which convert that amplified electrical signal back to vibrations that travel to your ears as (presumably) music. So, in summary, a typical chain of components would be: turntable –> phono preamp –> amplifier (either a stereo receiver or integrated amplifier) –> speakers.

Some turntables have the phono preamp built in, and they will be advertised as such. If your turntable does not have a built in phono preamp, you would need to either buy one, or find a receiver or integrated amplifier that has the phono preamp built in. Or, you could find a pair of active speakers that have a phono preamp, and and amplifier, built into them, such as these: https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2017

Thanks for the help, I was looking at these and it looks like it comes with a remote. I’m fairy certain the TV has a headphone jack, so that seems like a pretty straightforward setup, unless there’s something I’m missing…

1 point

·

25th May 2017

You could grab these as they already have a phono stage built in. Only downside is that the volume control is on the back 🙁

1 point

·

7th Feb 2017

Have you seen these? Https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1486492327&sr=8-1&keywords=Klipsch+powered+bookshelf

Phono ready, Optical and USB in and bluetooth. Won’t give you surround for movies though.

1 point

·

16th Feb 2017

I’m a fan of Edifier’s budget systems, but they’re not really monitors.

The LSR305 excels as a studio monitor and JBL’s DNA endows it with high efficiency and room-filling power. Unless you need the extra features of the Edifier, I see no reason to choose it over the JBLs.

You might want to consider the Klipsch R-15PM. All the features of the Edifiers, greater power and efficiency than the JBL, and subwoofer output.

https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G

1 point

·

31st Jan 2017

Look no further! They got everything you need in a bundle if you scroll down, no discount though 🙁

1 point

·

28th Dec 2016

I am looking for something for my medium sized living room. Preferably powered that has a sub-out, an optical in (for TV), and 3.5mm in (echo dot).

Right now I am considering Klipsch R-15PM. Is there anything else similar that I should consider? I will eventually add a sub to this.

Looks are part of the consideration for me but certainly second to sound quality. The looks of the Klipsch are very classy and appealing to me. These are going in a living room and not a theater so they will be used far more for music than movies, if that matters. Any help is appreciated.

1 point

·

4th Jan 2022

Klpisch R-15PM has RCA/phono/3.5mm/optical/bluetooth/USB DAC along with subwoofer output. 50w RMS amplifier built-in.

Klipsch discontinued these (replaced with the R-51PM) and they’re now showing up at well under MSRP of $499.

Walmart & Amazon have them for $275 and there’s a seller on eBay (99.1% positive with ~90 sold) that appears to have more than a hundred new, sealed units for $175 with free shipping.

Guttenberg (Audiophiliac) had generally positive reviews with one of the caveats being the market price at the time ($499). At $175, or even $275 for that matter, these are a great option for budget, secondary, or desktop amplified speakers.

1 point

·

13th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

13th Oct 2021
ItemCurrentLowestReviews
Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair)4.4/5.0

 

^Item Info | Bot Info | Trigger

1 point

·

11th Oct 2021

These are good. Only a little more than your budget.

Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A7J534G/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_NS909M62GFW0KCWGT302

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2021

Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor – Black (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A7J534G/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_glt_fabc_AE6Q7BMVYBMAXYA8JR25?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1

No preamp needed with these guys either. Plus you can add a subwoofer.

1 point

·

22nd Nov 2018
1 point

·

7th Dec 2017

Ditch the Sharp speakers and start over. You can find nice speakers in your price range regardless of being active or passive.

Check out:

Active, all-in-one
https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G

Active, still need preamp or volume control
https://www.amazon.com/JBL-LSR305-Professional-Studio-Monitor/dp/B00F1DEI8G

Passive:
https://www.amazon.com/KEF-Q100-Bookshelf-Loudspeakers-Black/dp/B0047K3X1M

https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-RP-150M-Bookshelf-Speaker-Ebony/dp/B00RXHEIHE

1 point

·

11th Oct 2017

I’ve got a PC + TV above it setup (desk for PC use and couch behind it). I’m looking to deck it out with some great speakers for music (house / edm, hip hop), tv, video games.

Budget is $400. Ideally I’ll get dual input so I can plug in both my TV and PC with minimal cables, as well as bluetooth. Open to anything (receiver + passives, actives, building my own), but would just like to get the most bang for my buck :).

I’ve researched the following, but I’m open to any recommendations!

1 point

·

3rd Jul 2017

I have These speakers here. According to the reviews they have a built in preamp. Do I even need the NAD in this case?

1 point

·

19th Apr 2017

Looking to buy a pair of powered bookshelf speakers for apartment living room. Budget can stretch up to ~$350, but cheaper is ideal if it doesn’t require notable sacrifice of sound quality. Primary use will be music (source: laptop & phone. Genres will vary: plenty of rock, occasional classical, electronic, etc.). I’m open to adding a subwoofer down the line, but looking for a setup that can hold its own without a separate subwoofer.

Current contenders:

HIVI SWAN M200MKII (great deal at $150)

Klipsch R-15 ($350)

JBL LSR305 ($280)

Suggestions out of these options as well as other recommendations are welcome. Thanks in advance!

Edit: added to the running: HIVI Swan M200MKIII (list $519, sale $278)

1 point

·

16th Mar 2017

Will these work for you? Better than a sound bar.

https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G

1 point

·

9th Feb 2017

Maybe just keep it simple. Everything you need is built in:
https://www.amazon.com/Klipsch-R-15PM-Powered-Monitor-Black/dp/B01A7J534G

And just use any DVD player for cds.

1 point

·

15th Mar 2016

Nope, these:
Klipsch R-15PM Powered Monitor Speakers with Bluetooth (Pair) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01A7J534G/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_awd_H0c6wbA3V95SV